mini orchard
post Oct 17 2022, 04:15 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(hotNcool @ Oct 17 2022, 03:32 PM)
you got the same repaint related problem like me,
i cover it with 1 layer of nippon matex ,  but another layer is needed to completely cover it,
the rest of the wall, not yet done, an paint expert uncle suggest us put sealer 5400 before color paint, we makan the word he say ' it will last longer' because we lazy to repaint it after a decade or so...
some sifus here suggest that good wall without chalking feel can just paint with matex or maxilite , if you got the budget then (expensive ) sealer will also do
i learnt a lot bout paint here! so graceful
Hope you share your experienced with others.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 17 2022, 04:15 PM
mini orchard
post Oct 19 2022, 09:27 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Autocountstick @ Oct 19 2022, 02:51 PM)
Hi Bro, thanks bro, just want to ask after first coating 1 layer only? and paint nippon/dulux 1 layer? enough to cover up the dark wall?
but i saw some video paint 2layer of nippon/dulux permanent layer to cover the dark wall. sifus please help us....
Is not about 1 + 1 = 2.

Painting is about judgement. If you dont like what you see, then add another coat.

mini orchard
post Dec 8 2022, 03:05 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(zytan87 @ Dec 8 2022, 11:22 AM)
hi all sifu, can i use nippon paint sealer with jotun topcoat? or need to use same brand for both?
Can mix and match.

Why sealer ? Any economy paint like maxilite is also a 'sealer' ... cheap and fast dry for next coat compared to sealer.
mini orchard
post Dec 9 2022, 10:24 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(zytan87 @ Dec 9 2022, 08:31 AM)
because i want to repaint outdoor fencing, so better to use sealer tongue.gif
from my survey found out that nippon paint sealer is cheaper and jotun topcoat is cheaper, so i am thinking these two use together can last long or not...

for indoor i use sealer for lately done plaster ceiling, my contractor said will have some powder drop off after few years if dont use sealer. other repaint wall and ceiling  all i use nippon maxi white RM75/drum
The purpose of sealer is to prevent moisture from penetrating the other side of the wall. But if is shared garden brick fencing, it doesnt serve its purpose if the neighbour dont do anything.

In my opinion, it is better to use a weather shield paint and do it every few years and you get a new coat .... that what I did.
mini orchard
post Dec 9 2022, 11:33 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(zytan87 @ Dec 9 2022, 11:23 AM)
means that i just wash the fencing then just apply the topcoat on it will do? if like that i can save alot of time tongue.gif
i am thinking to use jotun antifade, say can last for 8 yrs...
Yes.

Fencing will get dirty very fast esp if there are trees and plants near to it. Overgrown trees will prevent quick drying of wall after raining and it gets moldy faster no matter what paint.

0.0160sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:59 PM