Lenovo SC, faulty product experience

Lahaha
post Mar 17 2022, 11:36 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 15 2022, 04:58 PM)
Btw im also a Lenovo user (Yoga model) using since over 7 years already.

When i bought the laptop noticed got weird sound (i think fan sound) so i brought it to Lenovo at IBM Tower to fix. Left it with them for i think 1 week and collect back no more sound.

But missing 1 cover screw lel.
Any idea if they entertain changing battery service for Lenovo laptop that is out of warranty?
I am using an Ideapad laptop and my wife been using it plugged in and always forgets to switch off the power at night.
Kairyu
post Mar 17 2022, 11:44 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 17 2022, 11:02 AM)
yes, very true. i dont know what brand to go with. lenovo has the best prices, that other brands cannot offer. same prices but lenovo always have better screens, metal chassis etc. haiya......
Get what you pay for bro. Can consider the Acer Swift 5 if you like it thin. RM4.3k, 14.95 mm, 90% screen to body ratio.
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 17 2022, 12:16 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Lahaha @ Mar 17 2022, 11:36 AM)
Any idea if they entertain changing battery service for Lenovo laptop that is out of warranty?
I am using an Ideapad laptop and my wife been using it plugged in and always forgets to switch off the power at night.
nope, dont think so. but u can ask for a price with them.
edit: u better diy. just figured out there's a quotation price for out of warranty devices.

This post has been edited by miyeonevermioff: Mar 18 2022, 08:54 AM
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 17 2022, 12:35 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kairyu @ Mar 17 2022, 11:44 AM)
Get what you pay for bro. Can consider the Acer Swift 5 if you like it thin. RM4.3k, 14.95 mm, 90% screen to body ratio.
thanks mate. am checking it out rn
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 17 2022, 12:38 PM

295 posts

still waiting.....
BeastX
post Mar 17 2022, 01:29 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

Lenovo Vantage.... Battery conservation mode... keeps your battery at 60%, extending your battery life-span...

Order a OEM battery for around RM100.....

You should learn to change the battery yourself.... Most Lenovo laptops are built for easy service... a less than 5 minutes job for the experienced...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Mar 17 2022, 01:31 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 17 2022, 04:04 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

gonna costs a bomb for the service.
better ownself buy the battery and DIY its not hard, u just need to buy the special "star" screwdriver from Mr DIY costs RM5.
very simple just remove the back cover can remove the battery d.

QUOTE(BeastX @ Mar 17 2022, 01:29 PM)
Lenovo Vantage.... Battery conservation mode... keeps your battery at 60%, extending your battery life-span...

You should learn to change the battery yourself.... Most Lenovo laptops are built for easy service... a less than 5 minutes job for the experienced...
chkwong
post Mar 18 2022, 08:49 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 17 2022, 12:16 PM)
nope, dont think so. but u can ask for a price with them.
Tat's likely to cost a bomb.

Had a similar experience with another famous brand, they quoted more than 4x the price of OEM battery and more than RM100 service charge. Ended up change the battery myself. Cost less than RM200. Try laptopbattery.com.my, had so far changed 2 laptop batteries, of different famous brand. All good and working. Before you change, do a power report output from windows cmd.

powercfg /batteryreport
acbc
post Mar 18 2022, 08:51 AM

9,050 posts

For Lenovo, always opt for ThinkPad. Anything else is crap!
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 18 2022, 08:53 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(chkwong @ Mar 18 2022, 08:49 AM)

Had a similar experience with another famous brand, they quoted more than 4x the price of OEM battery and more than RM100 service charge. Ended up change the battery myself. Cost less than RM200. Try laptopbattery.com.my, had so far changed 2 laptop batteries, of different famous brand. All good and working. Before you change, do a power report output from windows cmd.

powercfg /batteryreport
yaya. yesterday i was curious and checked out lenovo's accidental damage protection.damn, they even charge quotation price for like rm55 or above forgot liao. better diy. v easy. youtube got alot videos. since its out of warranty haha.
Lahaha
post Mar 18 2022, 03:03 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Mar 17 2022, 01:29 PM)

Thanks for informing me of the Lenovo Vantage setting. I usually don't use it while overcharging it. My wife started using my laptop when we are both stuck WFH since starting MCO. I should have let her use the desktop instead while I use the laptop. Haha.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 17 2022, 04:04 PM)
gonna costs a bomb for the service.
better ownself buy the battery and DIY its not hard, u just need to buy the special "star" screwdriver from Mr DIY costs RM5.
very simple just remove the back cover can remove the battery d.
DIY it is. I think I got received some free gift tiny screwdrivers that I was why the tip looks so weird. I think they are the laptop screwdriver.

QUOTE(chkwong @ Mar 18 2022, 08:49 AM)

powercfg /batteryreport
Found the battery on Shopee, RM150.
Going to DIY and replace it myself. Hope I don't f-up. Haha
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 19 2022, 02:10 PM

295 posts

found out lenovo twitter provides support via chat... lets see how it goes in a few days.
Kairyu
post Mar 21 2022, 10:58 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 19 2022, 02:10 PM)
found out lenovo twitter provides support via chat... lets see how it goes in a few days.
Good insight into lenovo cs for me. Keep us posted!
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 21 2022, 01:49 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kairyu @ Mar 21 2022, 10:58 AM)
Good insight into lenovo cs for me. Keep us posted!
thumbsup.gif will update here.
still no response from them yawn.gif
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 22 2022, 10:43 AM

295 posts

walau eh, after 6 business days baru reviewing bangwall.gif
dragging time ranting.gif

This post has been edited by miyeonevermioff: Mar 22 2022, 10:45 AM
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 22 2022, 02:15 PM

295 posts

praying

This post has been edited by miyeonevermioff: Mar 22 2022, 02:16 PM
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 25 2022, 12:05 PM

295 posts

hello guys.... good news. tongue.gif
just received a call, refund is approved smile.gif
the faulty laptop will be collected from the service center return to lenovo.
the representative said that refund will be issued around 10 days.

kaitojas
post Mar 25 2022, 05:08 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 25 2022, 12:05 PM)
hello guys.... good news.  tongue.gif
just received a call, refund is approved smile.gif
the faulty laptop will be collected from the service center return to lenovo.
the representative said that refund will be issued around 10 days.
is it full refund?
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 25 2022, 08:42 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(kaitojas @ Mar 25 2022, 05:08 PM)
is it full refund?
yup, full refund.
kaitojas
post Mar 28 2022, 06:20 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 25 2022, 08:42 PM)
yup, full refund.
Any deduction like admin fee?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0316sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:07 PM