Lenovo SC, faulty product experience

TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 15 2022, 04:17 PM, updated 4y ago

295 posts

Long story short, my ideapad 5 pro 14 inch has stuttering issues. lenovo sc wasting time, and stated need several months for refund process.
Specs as below:

contacted service center for the first time since last year December. Ended up wasting 2weeks because I do not have video proof, unable to claim warranty. ok fine i understand.

this year 17 Jan I recorded video of the stuttering and sent them. never update me unless i message them. always say will update me, never pun.

the technician even sent me a wrong mediatek driver while my laptop has qualcomm wifi adapter. wadepak

same, zero update unless i pm. and technician say ooo i asking lenovo. ?? take so many day for wat? wasting time from 19 jan to 8 feb. very funny, like his technician is learning how to fix laptop

22 feb, got informed say my unit facing processor issue. then no update again. whole month has passed and u tell me this thumbsup.gif

9 march cannot tahan, i go ask again. this time say graphic card problem. nani ??

10 march say amd processor issue again. nani???

they sent me an amd article but my friend who has this exact same laptop as me dont have this issue. so till this date i dont really believe its the processor issue although amd has confirmed it.
they said that amd will only start releasing bios fixes early may. my laptop duno when update.

crazy. i duno i buy this laptop for wat. means my laptop gonna sit at SC for half a year+.

i asked for refund. sc say ok we will send email to apply for refund. they said " fyi the refund process need to have black and white proof and will take several months for the refund process. ohmy.gif

lenovo laptop have nice prices but their sc is a joke

This post has been edited by miyeonevermioff: Mar 18 2022, 04:16 PM
gwping
post Mar 15 2022, 04:38 PM

144 posts

I am frustrated reading your story........ feel sad for you....
gwping
post Mar 15 2022, 04:38 PM

144 posts

TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 15 2022, 04:50 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(gwping @ Mar 15 2022, 04:38 PM)
i really wan to mad.gif bangwall.gif vmad.gif ranting.gif lenovo
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 15 2022, 04:56 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Mind to elaborate more about the stuttering issue?

Is it only during video playback?
If yes, is it only certain video maybe like high resolution 4K or 8K video?
Or certain video file type?

Did u did a factory restore and try again?
wailam
post Mar 15 2022, 04:57 PM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

PC? i thought it was a laptop?
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 15 2022, 04:58 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Btw im also a Lenovo user (Yoga model) using since over 7 years already.

When i bought the laptop noticed got weird sound (i think fan sound) so i brought it to Lenovo at IBM Tower to fix. Left it with them for i think 1 week and collect back no more sound.

But missing 1 cover screw lel.
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 15 2022, 05:08 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 15 2022, 04:56 PM)
Mind to elaborate more about the stuttering issue?

Is it only during video playback?
If yes, is it only certain video maybe like high resolution 4K or 8K video?
Or certain video file type?

Did u did a factory restore and try again?
at all times, any programs, any situation. whole pc stutter. i noticed this because i always play music in the background. the first time i encounter this issue is the audio. like stuttering. thought was an audio issue at first. so i updated audio drivers. can occur anytime, and it cannot be triggered. eg chrome, spotify, media player.
as time goes by, i noticed that it is not an audio issue. the whole pc, windows stutters. like not just programs. video and audio stutters.
i have attached a link below, if u wanna have a look.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XflSt8MW27...ew?usp=drivesdk

yes. since i have screen flickering issues on my first ideapad l3i, i can consider myself quite good at troubleshooting.
i have performed a clean install of windows 10 via usb iso file on this ideapad 5 pro. same issue. feels like hardware problem already.

tbh there's another issue that apparently also happens on my laptop only.
taskbar flickering. they say is w11 issue but my friend also dont have this issue.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1B2jajlbmAP...ew?usp=drivesdk

This post has been edited by miyeonevermioff: Mar 16 2022, 03:58 PM
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 15 2022, 05:09 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(wailam @ Mar 15 2022, 04:57 PM)
PC? i thought it was a laptop?
my bad. edited.
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 15 2022, 05:14 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 15 2022, 04:58 PM)
Btw im also a Lenovo user (Yoga model) using since over 7 years already.

When i bought the laptop noticed got weird sound (i think fan sound) so i brought it to Lenovo at IBM Tower to fix. Left it with them for i think 1 week and collect back no more sound.

But missing 1 cover screw lel.
1 week. nice. me coming to 3 months smile.gif
am considering yoga slim 7 pro but...... smile.gif
spacecopgaban
post Mar 15 2022, 11:40 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 15 2022, 05:08 PM)
at all times, any programs, any situation. whole pc stutter. i noticed this because i always play music in the background. the first time i encounter this issue is the audio. like stuttering. thought was an audio issue at first. so i updated audio drivers. can occur anytime, and it cannot be triggered. eg chrome, spotify, media player.
as time goes by, i noticed that it is not an audio issue. the whole pc, windows stutters. like not just programs. video and audio stutters.
i have attached a link below, if u wanna have a look.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XflSt8MW27...ew?usp=drivesdk

yes. since i have screen flickering issues on my first ideapad l3i, i can consider myself quite good at troubleshooting. i have performed a clean install of windows 10 via usb iso file. same issue. feels like hardware problem already.

tbh there's another issue that apparently also happens on my laptop only.
taskbar flickering. they say is w11 issue but my friend also dont have this issue.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1B2jajlbmAP...ew?usp=drivesdk
did you monitor processes in the task manager/resource manager when the laptop was with you?

taskbar flickering issue looks like some periodic activity happening on one of the taskbar icons.
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 16 2022, 12:01 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(spacecopgaban @ Mar 15 2022, 11:40 PM)
did you monitor processes in the task manager/resource manager when the laptop was with you?

taskbar flickering issue looks like some periodic activity happening on one of the taskbar icons.
nope. somehow from my research online, some are having latency issues by using smtg called latencymon. not sure how that works tho.

nah the taskbar flickers even theres no animation in the taskbar. literally nothing. no notifications, no messages. it just flickers for no reason.
Matchy
post Mar 16 2022, 03:46 PM

1,328 posts

have you tried reinstall windows?
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 16 2022, 03:58 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Mar 16 2022, 03:46 PM)
have you tried reinstall windows?
yeah, refer to post #8 in this thread
chkwong
post Mar 16 2022, 05:08 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 16 2022, 03:58 PM)
yeah, refer to post #8 in this thread
Yours is the i3-1115G4 2-core CPU rite? I have a fren having occasionally stuttering issue. And I had warned that person not to get a 2-core cpu.
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 16 2022, 05:22 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(chkwong @ Mar 16 2022, 05:08 PM)
Yours is the i3-1115G4 2-core CPU rite? I have a fren having occasionally stuttering issue. And I had warned that person not to get a 2-core cpu.
no, refer to 1st post spoiler. ryzen 5 5600u, 16gb ram
Kairyu
post Mar 17 2022, 10:34 AM

226 posts

Sorry to hear that. Customer service very big factor in me choosing a brand to stick with. Had the same trouble with Asus long ago so I switched to Acer. Haven't looked back since.

Pick a brand that will give you reassurance that your device is in good hands. All devices fail eventually. Minimising downtime and heartache is important.
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 17 2022, 11:02 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Kairyu @ Mar 17 2022, 10:34 AM)
Sorry to hear that. Customer service very big factor in me choosing a brand to stick with. Had the same trouble with Asus long ago so I switched to Acer. Haven't looked back since.

Pick a brand that will give you reassurance that your device is in good hands. All devices fail eventually. Minimising downtime and heartache is important.
yes, very true. i dont know what brand to go with. lenovo has the best prices, that other brands cannot offer. same prices but lenovo always have better screens, metal chassis etc. haiya......
potatolala
post Mar 17 2022, 11:05 AM

141 posts

Consider Thinkpad for your next laptop
TSmiyeonevermioff
post Mar 17 2022, 11:08 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(potatolala @ Mar 17 2022, 11:05 AM)
Consider Thinkpad for your next laptop
i am a picky person, sweat.gif
i want a laptop with thin bezels. but only thinkpads above rm5000 has thin bezels.

i know thinkpads are built to last though. but bezels shouldn't affect hardware ma.......

This post has been edited by miyeonevermioff: Mar 17 2022, 11:08 AM

0.0241sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:45 AM