Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V40, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

blacktubi
post May 19 2023, 04:46 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ May 19 2023, 04:23 PM)
Hi guys, I want to do relocation request for my new hosue which is also a new area. Saw that tm ppl already came and installed fibre box right behind my house. Submitted the relocation request by their fb and they say cannot find my new residential area under their coverage. Can advise how to proceed ya? Scare no port. I also saw got 3rd party tm dealer setup booth outside my residential area.
Probably still not onboarded into the system and the TM agents got an early heads up to collect subscription first.
blacktubi
post May 19 2023, 04:51 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ May 19 2023, 04:50 PM)
Any idea how long will appear in their systems?
Probably in a few weeks
blacktubi
post May 20 2023, 09:51 AM

-
8,418 posts

Oltromen Ripot

Thanks for all the hard work

Do you ask for the OLT password so you can use a third party fibre modem?
blacktubi
post May 20 2023, 12:09 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 20 2023, 10:01 AM)
Is this it? It was offered to me by technician , so I just screenshot without understanding what it is for.
I found it keeps pre-populated under [Setup > GPON Settings > PLOAM Password] (check the printout) despite me resetting the ONR a few times.
Anyway, that same config field have "Show Password" checkbox to see its plaintext.

if it isn't, i'll look for it later. bit sleepy, didn't sleep whole night looking for the "bridge".
since I am using "bridge" set up, I didn't map-/tag port 2,3, so it's just a matter of connecting cable to either port 2,3 and can already easily access the ONR through fixed IP to match segment.
Yup, that's what you are looking for.

blacktubi
post May 21 2023, 06:12 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 21 2023, 02:26 PM)
I only did use back the ZTE BTU only yesterday, as sanity testing as to make sure I have a known good device configured before I started tweaking the D-LINK ONR.

If I remember correctly from yesterday, it managed to get around 650Mbps/500Mbps as well. It was a let down but yesterday it was just shrugged off and didn't expect to revisit that memory in the context of today's activity AND to now assess the valua of that reading.

Maybe tonight. Maybe.
If I can re-find that ancient device already at the bottom of my hoarding.
Can you get 940Mbps on speedtest if you connect your PC directly to the D-Link router on stock TM configuration?

If you can't even get 940Mbps this way, something is really wrong with your subscription.
blacktubi
post Jun 18 2023, 06:55 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(chong601 @ Jun 16 2023, 11:23 PM)
I honestly just hate the D-Link router at this point.

This is just doing 300 Mbps upload and almost zero downloads.
Complain, escalate it to MCMC

If we are not doing anything, nothing will happen

In fact, I think the routers provided by TM is getting worst compared to their Wireless AC era. The Wi-Fi 6 routers provided by TM perform quite poorly.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jun 21 2023, 09:44 PM
blacktubi
post Jul 10 2023, 09:59 PM

-
8,418 posts

Reminder: PNB, EPF, KWAP, Khazanah collectively own more than 50% of TM

Go figure why the price cut isn't happening quickly rclxs0.gif

Here's what more likely to happen: TM giving free speed upgrades and some value added service at the same price.

Could even come in the form of free mobile plans with contract to prevent people from downgrading to the cheapest plan.

By doing so, it won't dilute their ARPU and revenue too much. At the end of the day, TM still a listed co. tongue.gif
blacktubi
post Jul 13 2023, 08:30 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Jul 13 2023, 05:00 PM)
So when want to download something, it'll download fast lmaoo

right now on 300mbps and waiting so long for games to download on ps5

have to use umobile 5g hotspot

1tb but that is finishing

also thinking of upgrading home wifi to ubiquiti enterprise system

sick of underpowered tplinks and crashing asus routers
I kid you not, the stability on Ubiquiti might be worst than TP-Link or ASUS

One firmware update might broke the entire network laugh.gif
blacktubi
post Jul 14 2023, 01:26 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jul 14 2023, 11:53 AM)
you mean Ubiquiti is very bad ???
only best TP-Link or ASUS ???
Did I said that in the post? laugh.gif

Anyways, I used to own Ubiquiti UniFi gears, the performance are great when they didn't mess up the firmware. I have the U6-Pro and it used to do 800Mbps until they ruined something and it only do 500Mbps now and it's still not fixed.

Meanwhile, the free Unifi D-Link Wi-Fi 6 router can deliver over 650Mbps on WiFi easily.

Just lurk around Ubiquiti subreddit or the forum and you'll see where I am coming from.

https://www.reddit.com/r/UNIFI/comments/13b...u6_pro_sub_400/
https://www.reddit.com/r/UNIFI/comments/143...rks_keep_dying/
https://www.reddit.com/r/UNIFI/comments/13i..._be_stable_now/
https://www.reddit.com/r/UNIFI/comments/12o...ort_is_useless/
blacktubi
post Jul 14 2023, 04:20 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Jul 14 2023, 03:06 PM)
ripp i was thinking of getting the pros too! it seems really cheap in the usa and i'll be going for a holiday soon.

as for your speed issue, i saw linus from ltt had similar issue with u6 enterprise at home, did enabling flow control on your switch help? are you using ubiquiti switches too?
Nope, I am not using their switch. Didn't bother to tinker much with it as it just feels very janky to me.

I needed something that work without much supervision needed.
blacktubi
post Jul 16 2023, 02:59 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(uni_lib @ Jul 16 2023, 02:48 PM)
SG do the same as TM. Except Time give right hardware that support 2.5G LAN.
https://www.singtel.com/content/dam/singtel...esh/2g-mesh.pdf
Most you can utilize for 2G if you have cloud storage or setup your own cloud storage server at home since upload speed is 1G.
Media streaming for 4K content around 30-40Mbps not so much.
https://www.speedtest.net/result/d/670760bd...4b-16e3cfdc5c74
TIME upgraded their infra to XGPON for their 2Gbps plan. That's why their 2Gbps plan is not available for all their customers.

That's probably why TIME is confident to provide 2Gbps output from their router rather than trying to enforce a soft limit or trying to prevent full utilization.

Unifi is still relying on GPON for their 2Gbps plan.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jul 16 2023, 02:59 PM
blacktubi
post Jul 19 2023, 11:57 AM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Jul 19 2023, 11:38 AM)
i don think the VR600R/VR600V i got support vlan any specific item in spec i able to check?
No, it doesn't with Unifi fibre. It's a DSL product.
blacktubi
post Jul 30 2023, 11:02 AM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jul 30 2023, 10:42 AM)
So the new Netflix feature is only applicable for the new UPB and not for the previous version..anyone can advise on this matter.
Only available on Unifi Plus Box that runs Android TV according to TM

The older HyppTV box with custom Android interface doesn't support Netflix DRM

blacktubi
post Jul 30 2023, 11:05 AM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE((o.o) @ Jul 28 2023, 09:50 PM)
Interesting, let me study a bit if getting a switch can fix this issue cause it's a waste to get new routers to slightly upgrade the wifi signal in the house.
I did an article on this long time ago and it still works today

https://www.blacktubi.com/guide/make-any-ro...-work-on-unifi/

If you are buying TP-Link, make sure you get at least the easy smart switch series and not the lowest range of dumb switch

IINM, someone tested Netgear switches can work too
blacktubi
post Aug 12 2023, 10:27 AM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(ckh83 @ Aug 12 2023, 09:12 AM)
I just get 2 d link dir x3060z for swu 3.0.
But i found 2.4ghz and 5ghz is using separate ssid.
Cannot find setting to combine it like earlier tp link deco m4.
Is it it must split ssid?
Believe it or not, the Deco M4 might perform better despite being WiFi 5.
blacktubi
post Aug 12 2023, 10:51 AM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Aug 12 2023, 10:34 AM)
Agree on this. I put my pair of free Deco M4 (free from that YES package) at my parents house. 800bmps package. Last holiday season, more than 50 devices actively connected (huge family gathering). The connectivity - solid rock.

[attachmentid=11475998]
[attachmentid=11475999]
It’s better than all free Wi-Fi 6 router EasyMesh system from TM now. They perform rather poorly despite being AX3000.

EasyMesh is a bad protocol. Performance is poor and couldn’t come close to those OEM proprietary mesh performance.

The Deco M4 comes with proper 802.11k/v/r fast roaming.
blacktubi
post Aug 12 2023, 10:07 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Aug 12 2023, 06:44 PM)
I have a question. We all know that Maxis uses TM / Unifi infrastructure. But how much infra do they share? only the fiber connection? or even at PPPoE level?
Those who know are not not allowed to tell you tongue.gif

To put it in layman terms, the fibre network from your home up to TM's main exchange is controlled by TM. Then it's connected to Maxis' network there. Each ISP have their own VLAN ID and password.

But what can be sure is each ISP maintain their own network, hence there's a difference in routing and peering.

As for the behind the scene OSS, provisioning and activation, it gets really complicated and those who know signed a NDA.

QUOTE(ckh83 @ Aug 12 2023, 06:20 PM)
Thanks for the reply.
Tested with deco m4 and dir x3060z both located at the same place. On one at a time.
Pc connect to mesh node through lan.
Deco can reach > 250mb.
Dir ax reach only 3060z 10-20 mbps. Signal strength not as expected

Changed back to use deco m4. Haha
That's a surprise, I know the DIR-X3060Z is slow, but I didn't know it's that bad.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Aug 12 2023, 10:09 PM
blacktubi
post Aug 13 2023, 06:45 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Aug 13 2023, 04:00 PM)
Thanks for the ELI5 explanation.

I have a problem with my connection, in fact, 2 problems. First of all, my fiber connection will blink PON once a while. Sometimes every 4 days, sometimes every day, sometimes 7 days, etc. Usually it will be around every 4 days. When PON blinks, connection will drop, and it will take about 1 to 2 mins before it comes back up. (PON becomes stable after that)

The other problem is, even without PON flashing, the PPPoE will disconnect/reconnect, and I will get a new IP. This happens more frequent, sometimes up to few times a day. Everytime it happens, my connection will be lost for around 10 to 15 seconds, which is annoying if I am in a call.

Will this problem improve by migrating to Maxis?
Sounds like a case of poor fiber signal or unstable modem.

Changing ISP won’t solve the PON disconnection.

I will suggest getting TM over to check the Fibre reading and the fibre modem, might need to redo the Fibre connectors.

Ask them to provide you with the reading for verification too
blacktubi
post Aug 15 2023, 09:31 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Aug 15 2023, 06:37 PM)
Yes, or YouTube with good sing program(if Chinese la).
Now my uncle who subs to Astro for like 30 years also rare watch already, need to let grandson watch YouTube kids for learning lol.

Astro only worth now for those mamak outside night/midnight for sport now.
Astro stream quality is still class-leading especially for sports. High bitrate, clear channel with good audio. Delay is slightly lesser as well.

Unifi couldn't even come close.
blacktubi
post Sep 9 2023, 09:22 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Sep 9 2023, 05:38 PM)
Don't wake up... next to useless Fami is still here  whistling.gif
Close to 50% of TM is hold by a combination of KWSP, KWAP, Khazanah and etc.

Why would they hurt their own investment portfolio tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2636sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:10 PM