137 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Motorcyclist Thread V3 !, version 3 edi??

patt_sue
post Sep 29 2007, 05:22 PM

867 posts

i wanna ask....what is the estimated cost to do top overhaul on my ex5....
wevilli
post Sep 29 2007, 06:02 PM

noob fella
867 posts

QUOTE(patt_sue @ Sep 29 2007, 05:22 PM)
i wanna ask....what is the estimated cost to do top overhaul on my ex5....
it depends on your things/product. Normally it will come near to RM 250 + -

how bad is your bike ? change piston + rings = RM 40... valve seal RM 30 (Japan) , valve ( condition ok or not ?RM35) , timming chain RM 35, rebore block RM 20, Workmanship ( RM 35 ? i dont know.. i do myseft) , gaskets RM 12, timming gears one set 3 pieces ( RM 50 ++ ) , lubricant 4T RM 12 ?... after rebore.. dont use sync oil. use mineral oil for the block and piston to set in.
tsg
post Sep 29 2007, 11:38 PM

Idontcare Club
14,610 posts

[quote=wevilli,Sep 29 2007, 04:42 PM]
sorry been quite busy lately.. with my dissertation. sad.gif
how come the rod can be out of balance ? That bike is Modenas Kriss II. Normally if you dont do anything with the rod / crankshaft the thing wont out of balance. Even if you bore the block or change bigger ones... wont harm the rod. hmm.gif

OK.... maybe it is just the screw area is not center. Because you dint use the special tool to open the nut ?
Dont worry.. if it is just the crew area that is not balance it is ok... you can check.. move the crankshaft by holding and moving the rod itself ( front and back ) then observe the main part only.. not the screw part.
Should be fine ...

*Dont worry... most of the time i found out that only the screw area is un-balanced only.

by the look at the place... it seems that you are in a motorshop. Look at those holes on the floor. laugh.gif

humm,me personally unsure what's the prob.its just when using the electrical starter ,can see the rod unstable rotate and my bike wont start...yeah the mechanic want to do balancing etc open the enigine...i said...wait 1st i ask lowyat.net biggrin.gif ...hummm the total price for repair is rm60 the mechanic quoted...what do u think?

This post has been edited by tsg: Sep 30 2007, 12:07 AM
patt_sue
post Sep 30 2007, 12:25 AM

867 posts

QUOTE(wevilli @ Sep 29 2007, 06:02 PM)
it depends on your things/product.  Normally it will come near to RM 250 + -

how bad is your bike ? change piston + rings = RM 40... valve seal RM 30 (Japan)  , valve ( condition ok or not ?RM35) , timming chain RM 35, rebore block RM 20, Workmanship ( RM 35 ? i dont know.. i do myseft) , gaskets RM 12, timming gears one set 3 pieces ( RM 50 ++ ) , lubricant 4T  RM 12 ?...  after rebore.. dont use sync oil. use mineral oil for the block and piston to set in.
thanks for the info...
nabelon
post Sep 30 2007, 12:29 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

for the first few kilometers for new bike, a two stroke bike to be precise, do i need to put in mineral based 2t ? or is it different from four stroke breaking in
wevilli
post Sep 30 2007, 01:02 AM

noob fella
867 posts

humm,me personally unsure what's the prob.its just when using the electrical starter ,can see the rod unstable rotate and my bike wont start...yeah the mechanic want to do balancing etc open the enigine...i said...wait 1st i ask lowyat.net biggrin.gif ...hummm the total price for repair is rm60 the mechanic quoted...what do u think?
hymn... RM 60 is normal price. Fine with the price. Since the bike is open already... i think better to do balancing. But have to open the whole engine... from engine head , block and the gearbox. doh.gif

How you see the thing is not balance ? if the screw there is not balance doesnt mean that the crankshaft is not balanced. I have open few bikes that have the same problem. When i check... most of it is only the screw, because some machanic uses screw driver to bang out the screw on the auto-clutch. They dont use special tools. That why some of it will result as such case.

Is your rod in good shape ? because since opening.. you might want to change it. One shot finish fixing everything internal.

Added on September 30, 2007, 1:14 am
QUOTE(nabelon @ Sep 30 2007, 12:29 AM)
for the first few kilometers for new bike, a two stroke bike to be precise, do i need to put in mineral based 2t ? or is it different from four stroke breaking in
What i have experienced from 2T bikes is , when the bike is new ( brand new bike).... fuel and 2T comsumption is high. After breaking in..... you will notice that fuel comsumption will be lesser. I wont recommend you to use cheap mineral oil. It is a bit different between 2 stroke & 4 stoke bike. But both also need the piston ring to set in. Use motul thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by wevilli: Sep 30 2007, 01:16 AM
nabelon
post Sep 30 2007, 01:43 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

what is the best speed to break in 125z ? and what bout suzuki smash 110 ? heard thats its 70 for 125z and 55 for smash.are these correct ?
wevilli
post Sep 30 2007, 02:12 AM

noob fella
867 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Sep 30 2007, 01:43 AM)
what is the best speed to break in 125z ? and what bout suzuki smash 110 ? heard thats its 70 for 125z and 55 for smash.are these correct ?
------------

ook.... people do get wrong perception on this !

If you read automobile book... they stated that every new engine cannot rev more than 80% of total speed.

so.. why people say go only 80 km/j because that theory from Honda Ex5 --> top speed 100km/j so .. 80% is 80km/j

but if you refer to this.. they mention different method of break-in... http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

one thing they did mention that " DonT use Synthetic Oil also "

THIS THEORY I COPY AND PASTE FROM THE SITE

On the Street:
Warm the engine up completely:
Because of the wind resistance, you don't need to use higher gears like you would on a dyno machine. The main thing is to load the engine by opening the throttle hard in 2nd, 3rd and 4th gear.

Realistically, you won't be able to do full throttle runs even in 2nd gear on most bikes without exceeding 65 mph / 104 kph. The best method is to alternate between short bursts of hard acceleration and deceleration. You don't have to go over 65 mph / 104 kph to properly load the rings. Also, make sure that you're not being followed by another bike or car when you decelerate, most drivers won't expect that you'll suddenly slow down, and we don't want
anyone to get hit from behind !!

The biggest problem with breaking your engine in on the street (besides police) is if you ride the bike on the freeway (too little throttle = not enough pressure on the rings) or if you get stuck in slow city traffic. For the first 200 miles or so, get out into the country where you can vary the speed more
and run it through the gears !

Be Safe On The Street !
Watch your speed ! When you're not used to the handling of a new vehicle, you should accelerate only on the straightaways, then slow down extra early for the turns. Remember that both hard acceleration and hard engine braking (deceleration) are equally important during the break in process.
woopypooky
post Sep 30 2007, 07:15 PM

1,292 posts

want to ask, y yesterday rain whole day, so i din use my motobike, and today i started it, find so hard, ned 5 min to start it.
its a 2nd hand motobike, year 2002, so anything wrong that i should replace or do about it? i scared one day it wont start anymore, since i will be going home for semester break 1 month.
wevilli
post Sep 30 2007, 07:24 PM

noob fella
867 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Sep 30 2007, 07:15 PM)
want to ask, y yesterday rain whole day, so i din use my motobike, and today i started it, find so hard, ned 5 min to start it.
its a 2nd hand motobike, year 2002, so anything wrong that i should replace or do about it? i scared one day it wont start anymore, since i will be going home for semester break 1 month.
please do check the plug cable & the plug head. It might be wet. After drying it.. should be fine. nod.gif
shiloong7081
post Sep 30 2007, 09:58 PM

928 posts

saw this cool EL sticker selling at LYN.
just wondering is it possible to install it on my bike?and how do i install it?
EL Sticker
fyi, mine is wave 100.
ekestima
post Oct 1 2007, 10:46 AM

930 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Sep 30 2007, 09:58 PM)
saw this cool EL sticker selling at LYN.
just wondering is it possible to install it on my bike?and how do i install it?
EL Sticker
fyi, mine is wave 100.
cool item there. but put on bike dunno can last or not always under the sun. hmm.gif
NaGeNaZ
post Oct 1 2007, 04:31 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

Guys help me !!! cry.gif

Today i start my Yamaha Lagenda 110 , as usually pull the starter lever open, then electric started my engine. Suddenly come out a lot of white smokes from the exhaust pipe. After 5 seconds it dissapear and functions normally.

What is the cause of this ? Engine oil burning in side the piston ??? cry.gif
hihihehe
post Oct 2 2007, 02:58 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Oct 1 2007, 04:31 PM)
Guys help me !!!  cry.gif

Today i start my Yamaha Lagenda 110 , as usually pull the starter lever open, then electric started my engine. Suddenly come out a lot of white smokes from the exhaust pipe. After 5 seconds it dissapear and functions normally.

What is the cause of this ? Engine oil burning in side the piston ??? cry.gif
try to change ur 4t oil...
NaGeNaZ
post Oct 2 2007, 03:55 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 2 2007, 02:58 PM)
try to change ur 4t oil...
Today i just change the 4T oil and spark plug. Shell VSX and NGK plug for RM 28. Hope dont have this problem again...
icon_rolleyes.gif
TSAdvanz
post Oct 3 2007, 02:31 AM

669 posts

anyone had mod their EX5 front drum brake to disc brake b4? need some suggestions on that...
wevilli
post Oct 3 2007, 04:39 AM

noob fella
867 posts

QUOTE(Advanz @ Oct 3 2007, 02:31 AM)
anyone had mod their EX5 front drum brake to disc brake b4? need some suggestions on that...
you need suggestion like what ? you can either use SS2.. or Lagenda or.. others Honda hurricane also can !

I thought in V2 got discuss this matter before ? shocking.gif

If got block ... comfirm your motor will get "tahan" nod.gif

lms2005
post Oct 3 2007, 10:34 AM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(wevilli @ Oct 3 2007, 04:39 AM)
you need suggestion like what ? you can either use  SS2.. or Lagenda or.. others Honda hurricane also can !

I thought in V2 got discuss this matter before ?  shocking.gif

If got block ... comfirm your motor will get "tahan"  nod.gif
prepare "kopi" for them laugh.gif if add sugar they will said tata when u leave laugh.gif
xenon koh
post Oct 3 2007, 05:10 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Oct 3 2007, 10:34 AM)
prepare "kopi" for them  laugh.gif  if add sugar they will said tata when u leave  laugh.gif
sounds familiar....... rclxm9.gif
hihihehe
post Oct 3 2007, 05:55 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(xenon koh @ Oct 3 2007, 05:10 PM)
sounds familiar....... rclxm9.gif
sure lar
quote from 1 of the famous MV
lol

137 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top