Investment Kenanga Digital Investing (KDI), KDI Invest, KDI Save

abcn1n
post Feb 21 2022, 07:42 PM

2,379 posts

KDSave guarantees the principal sum right?
abcn1n
post Feb 22 2022, 01:07 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Feb 21 2022, 09:22 PM)
risk similar to MMF
Thanks. Principal not guaranteed then.
abcn1n
post Feb 22 2022, 04:27 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Feb 22 2022, 09:21 AM)
you can say it is not guaranteed since it is not FD or saving account protected by PIDM.
all investment tools are not guaranteed by PIDM AFAIK, but it is very low risk.
Thanks. Just invested a small amount first to try out

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Feb 22 2022, 10:02 AM)
if we start losing our principal.. nobody will dare invest in MMF funds already.
Interest rate not guaranteed then more likely.. could fluctuate between 1-3%.

PIDM protected means if the company go bust, you get to claim some amount based on their limit.
For these online MMF funds don't have such protection so there's a risk on that.
Most of them are tied to big banks anyway.. so easy to go bust?  laugh.gif

still best to diversify your investments, don't put all in one basket.
anything happen to 1, you still have others that are ok.
Thanks. Just invested a small amount first to try out

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 22 2022, 12:33 PM)
jfi, a forummer mentioned the "problem" of this CMF fund just last month....
sweat.gif historically it was "safe", maybe top instructions or circumstances changed overtime, etc...things can change. sweat.gif
Damn.Scary

abcn1n
post Feb 22 2022, 04:38 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Feb 22 2022, 04:33 PM)
Will it be a good idea moving all the money from other CMF, eg. Versa/SA Simple into KDI Save since it is giving better returns? A bit worried to put everything into one basket.
IMHO, bad idea. Better to spread it out for safety purpose
abcn1n
post Feb 23 2022, 02:00 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 22 2022, 09:18 PM)
if get 0% return is considered bad already, mana boleh capital pun hilang
so many things in life we do we dont ask for guarantee.
thumbsup.gif

Would you put 7 figure sum in it? I know you will easily reach 6 figures soon. If capital is pretty much secure, I would dare to put much more but had not so good experience with Opus money market fund last time (can't remember exactly but something like what I withdrew was less than what I deposited for my last round) plus recently mum showed the AmanahSyariah Cash Mgt Fund which plunged because of Serba Dinamik.

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 22 2022, 09:32 PM)
Cut-off time is 11am AFAIK.

I calculated based on my 1 day interest 0.00819875776 * 360 days = 2.9515527936 (if using 360 day rule) or 0.00819875776*365 = 2.9925465824%.

The previous number was probably me randomly rounding my daily interest to get the rough approximation, either way its like a few cents difference, I couldn't be bothered to be accurate  tongue.gif
My transaction since yesterday still pending. Thanks for the 11am cut off time info

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Feb 23 2022, 02:03 PM
abcn1n
post Feb 23 2022, 03:57 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 23 2022, 02:07 PM)
yup, this was highlighted by MUM earlier too.
When I mentioned 'mum', was referring to MUM as per what you posted (not my mom) smile.gif
abcn1n
post Feb 23 2022, 09:02 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 23 2022, 04:52 PM)
i just did a test withdrawal from KDI Save this morning at around 10am. Now it's been completed. that's very speedy!  thumbup.gif

As for the withdrawl from SAMY Simple, which I requested since Monday morning, is still sitting in the account now, waiting to be executed  cry.gif
Wow. Fast withdrawal for KDI Save

abcn1n
post Mar 5 2022, 11:01 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 26 2022, 08:51 PM)
No lah, limit 3% upto 200 only, but for parking more i still ok ,
highest in the money market, think Versa also dont pay 2.25%
Thanks for your answer

abcn1n
post Mar 6 2022, 03:13 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 5 2022, 11:47 PM)
but i am getting 5th account...will be there still no worry
Didn't know could get more than 1 account. Maybe I should try opening more than 1
abcn1n
post Sep 24 2023, 09:20 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 5 2022, 10:57 AM)
all robo advisors will use US etf, hence by default all dividends are charged 30% tax. The amount you receive is after tax.

no estate tax if we use robo advisors since the companies like Stashaway are the custodian.. they using their account to buy ETFs on behalf of us. Also if you read the page on Stashaway your investments is safe even if they go bankrupt: https://www.stashaway.my/help-center/360009...s-my-money-kept
KDI also same, under Saxo: https://digitalinvesting.com.my/faq/ (read under Security and Protection section> "What happens to my investments if Kenanga Digital Investing (KDI) closes down, gets acquired/goes public?")

If you self invest in US stocks or ETFs, estate tax only applies if you have USD60k and above in brokers like IBKR. Some people workaround this by sharing their login and passwords with their loved ones (as long you don't get caught).

If wanna self invest and avoid estate tax, then invest into Irish Domiciled ETFs e.g. VWRA, VUAA, CSPX, etc (these are similar to US etfs but are for European or non US people to invest in - they will have the word "UCITS" in their ETF name). They also charge lower dividend tax at 15%. Why robo advisors don't invest in them? Their excuse is liquidity. I am guessing it's due to higher fees involve when buying them too.  smile.gif

whether KDI will help us claim back withholding tax you can send a chat inquiry to KDI via their site.. I think got people here ask before. But so far from most people who use Invest the performance is better than Stashaway.
Yes 0.3 to 0.7% is their management fees depending on the amount you invest in KDI Invest. All robo advisors got this fee. You can try below RM3k if wanna avoid this fee.
If hate this fee, I suggest self invest using IBKR.. but using that you'll need to pay Wise transfer fee also.. And also currency conversion fees. However they are 1 off. Also need to learn more on how to do them. You can check Ziet Invest youtube video on how to open SG CIMB account, using Wise transfer to IBKR.. all in his videos.
Good info. Thanks
abcn1n
post Oct 11 2023, 06:52 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 1 2023, 01:25 AM)
I use KDI save personally cause I like the same day withdrawal and money is growing daily. Versa-i also same day withdrawal not the versa. But never like that they need to top-up so much for just to make it 4.3%.

KDI save 4% up to RM50k
Versa-i 4.3% up to RM30k only 3.28% without rebates
https://versa.com.my/versa-cash/

Let's not forget you need to wait for next month until they credit you the rebate/tipup with versa. You don't get that with KDI save as money is growing daily.

No management fees with KDI save while you are paying management fees with both versa.

Depends on what you want. You want straight to the point or do you want some twist and turns? Does the extra 0.3% matter to you? How long do you want to depend on rebates/topup (I believed KDI save is also also being top-up by kenanga cause their base rate is 3.5% for money above RM50k. Next tier is 3%.
https://digitalinvesting.com.my/kdi-save/

Some people will just screw it. Make use of whatever promo while promo still available. Some people always go for highest return. Some people use both to maximise the interest quota (<RM50k in kdi save, <RM30k in both versa and versa-i) cause does not want to get lesser returns.

Personally I never used bank account anymore for storing my money. Been years. The last bank account I used was Maybank egia-i at 4.5% and ocbc 360.
Thanks for this post. Forgot that I had opened one in the past last time. Old already sweat.gif

0.0247sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:22 AM