Investment Kenanga Digital Investing (KDI), KDI Invest, KDI Save

Takudan
post Oct 16 2024, 12:34 AM

1,056 posts

Review as a user of KDI Save since 2022:
- they did improve it since inception. I remember complaining how biometrics wasn't a thing lol, and we used to have no referral bonus. Now got but I don't have any friends laugh.gif
- I like the simplicity relative to its competitor, but... One might think it's "boring"
- wishlist: auto debit feature
- comparison to Versa Cash copied from my own post in Versa:
I'll admit, it's a good incentive to make undisciplined spenders to save.... But I'm just not one of them.

Compared to KDI Save, Versa Cash is winning because of these events, but the former has a very slightly higher base rate without the need to do anything fancy. Take my words with train of salt: the difference I speak is almost negligible lol...
- Start: RM 10k+ as of Jan 2024 for both
- YTD: RM 7k (same deposit date)
- Versa event bonus (RM 50+60) in Jan 2024
- difference as of now: Versa Cash +RM 108.59 including the bonus
Takudan
post Oct 21 2024, 02:01 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(tropik @ Oct 20 2024, 02:36 PM)
Biometric login on my Android not always consistent, most of the time still need to key in.
Eh it's fine on my phones. Maybe your fingerprint faded or if the problem is exclusive to the app, try checking settings? Maybe dormant app permissions removed, or the app cache/data was cleared etc...
Takudan
post Dec 2 2024, 02:47 PM

1,056 posts

Do you guys really adjust your "financial tasks" to such an extent, say I want to deposit 10k but I know no interest over the weekends, so I put the 10k.... Elsewhere(where???) so that I can deposit the coming Monday?

Personally I dislike shifting my schedule when I have the "mood" to do specific things lol, so I am puzzled to read so many forumers trying to min max this. (Admittedly, the one thing I would shift my schedule for is when I need to transfer money overseas to secure better rates)
Takudan
post Dec 6 2024, 11:36 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 6 2024, 10:17 PM)
depends on how much you can earn 
with that  RM10k if you dont deposit to KDI when the urge comes.

if your RM10k is in saving account, nothing much to lose lah.
deposit any day you like.

for people who can  earn RM1 a day somewhere
they  may not wanna lose RM3 over weekend.
Now let say you can earn RM10 a day with the money  you have in hand
would you happily throw RM30 to the bankers?

I would withold my urge Friday afternoon
deposit only coming Monday at the click of the keyboard
pass RM30 to people lying on corridors than bankers
if you think RM30 is useless then i can understand your not so humble view.
true also.. but  i wont do it for such tiny amount.
Well... You have a good point that questioning the chump change is a privilege. I'm also happy to know it doesn't count so at least I'll be wiser not to trigger withdrawal on Friday, at my own loss (without even getting the principal).

But we're talking about say, RM 50k maximum (any more than that you'll enjoy less interest so people normally park excess elsewhere). I punched the calculator 4% p.a. rate compounded daily, and it tells me RM 10.96 for 2 days. Now, in reality, if someone would care about RM 11 that much, then I find it contradictory that the person would have RM 50k lying around in the first place.

I guess my personal issue with withholding my tasks like this is that I would then forget when the time comes, and end up losing more lol.
Takudan
post May 30 2025, 03:45 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ May 30 2025, 09:36 AM)
sometimes i think do my OLD MUMMY method. FD and fixed income . slowly but surely might just do the trick.
Capital forever conserve. We can educate and say NOT INFLATION hedge. $$$ not growing blah blah
but i see her.. every month just
take FD interest cukup for her lifestyle. vs try to invest here there everywhere.. long run i think come up to the same. Win some lose some

Just chase FIXED INCOME and FD return enough
Either your mom is super frugal or she's a millionaire...
Assuming you're around my age (based on your username (19)88?), I think you should have a portion of money rolling for at least a decade to accumulate for your retirement, on top of your liquid emergency funds.

That makes EPF a viable option, and/or DIY index-based ETFs to ride through the short term volatility. I can't say for sure what suits you, maybe if you really cannot stomach any shortfall then low risk fixed income is indeed more suitable for you emotionally.

...I hope I don't sound "arrogant" by implying my risk appetite is greater than yours; my intention is to say everyone walks their own, unique financial journey as it's tightly coupled with personal values, emotions, preferences, circumstances and goals.
Takudan
post Jul 3 2025, 09:07 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jul 3 2025, 05:32 PM)
I have a question about KDI Save. I thought the first 50k will will be tier 1 which is 4% however, all of my fund are considered tier 1 now even though it had surpassed 50k.

I am not sure if this is just a UI glitch but my monthly statement is still regard all my fund as tier 1
Interesting, I had never looked into my statement until I saw yours. I see similar discrepancy where I have an excess of 1.8k in tier 1, and the rest in tier 2.

I don't know if the interest is accurately reflected based on these excess... Did you happen to verify that you're still getting 3.91~3.92%* interest rate, accrued daily? (*I forgot exact number)
Takudan
post Jul 4 2025, 01:33 AM

1,056 posts

I think the first 50k interest is credited as tier 1. I compared my statement to with the previous month, the number correctly adds up. That means, ideally you want to keep your tier 1 amount untouched as it'll nicely snowball at the highest rate... Now question is, we withdraw the number shown in our tier 2, does it correctly take out from the tier 2 pool, or from our tier 1 (until flat 50k)?

I'd think this is a happy mistake on their end and so it'll also likely be the first outcome (tier 2), which sounds logically less technical effort, but I can't be bothered enough to try laugh.gif

0.0787sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:44 AM