Reminder to turn off the Eco-Idle function

ktek
post Feb 8 2022, 09:43 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

ive been using & i know how to control it the way i wants.
perodua is so easy man.
gear d + brake deep+ good batt = eco

gear n wont. brake soft until stop wont. low batt wont
wchinwai
post Feb 8 2022, 09:44 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(even_steven @ Feb 8 2022, 09:36 PM)
I've been using Eco-Idle since I bought my car. The delay is negligible for automatic transmission. If you say the delay can cause accident, that means your judgement of safety to cross the junction is off. Those who have the mindset of "sempat lagi ni", will have this risk. If you are a defensive driver and always make sure the road is clear to cross, you won't have this issue to worry about.
Eco-Idle help to save fuel. TS want to turn it off.
You drive a MYVI as well?
Without knowing how i drive, you can summarize my judgement tongue.gif
even_steven
post Feb 8 2022, 09:44 PM

Perut Jauh Kedepan (PJK)
636 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Feb 8 2022, 09:38 PM)
local car or foreign? Seems like local one the delay is 1-2 seconds and its bad...i wonder how much fuel can that save (what you see) vs how much damage on the car engine/battery (what you dont see that easily)?
Local car. Perodua Bezza. The delay is not much different like when you're pressing the gas to accelerate faster on automatic transmission on normal car. Not instantaneous but not too long either.

As for the fuel save part, it does save a bit of fuel in exchange for a higher battery performance needed. That means battery price is more expensive. But not by much. Around RM100 more than normal batteries.

I would say if you drive daily and always stuck in the jam, the fuel saving is more than the extra price on the battery for every 1-1.5 year.
ktek
post Feb 8 2022, 09:46 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

want restart just twist steering other than u lepas brake as many ppl did.
there r much worst implementation out there

amscouzach57
post Feb 8 2022, 09:46 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(wchinwai @ Feb 8 2022, 09:25 PM)
because when you stopped for a longer time such as traffic light or at junction, the engine will "switch off". When you press the accelerator, it will start the engine.
To me this is dangerous as this causes delay which might cause accidents.
I second this. I had something similar on my Mazda 6 (I-Stop), it is very annoyingly dangerous when the engine stopped when you're at junction or about to enter the roundabout.

Although it takes a second, it could be a second too late for the window of opportunity provided.

I've disabled it via the obd.

Now I don't have to press the disable button everytime I start the car.

Pros: my car battery & starter last longer.
Cons: my car consumes more fuel?

This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Feb 8 2022, 09:48 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:47 PM

3,520 posts

I've been using Eco-Idle since I bought my car. The delay is negligible for automatic transmission. If you say the delay can cause accident, that means your judgement of safety to cross the junction is off. Those who have the mindset of "sempat lagi ni", will have this risk. If you are a defensive driver and always make sure the road is clear to cross, you won't have this issue to worry about.
I dont own the 3rd Gen Myvi.

It is for my clients actually, who are elderly and if there is something which looks presentable that can be placed in their car as a reminder, that would be great.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 8 2022, 09:47 PM
ktek
post Feb 8 2022, 09:49 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(even_steven @ Feb 8 2022, 09:44 PM)
Local car. Perodua Bezza. The delay is not much different like when you're pressing the gas to accelerate faster on automatic transmission on normal car. Not instantaneous but not too long either.

As for the fuel save part, it does save a bit of fuel in exchange for a higher battery performance needed. That means battery price is more expensive. But not by much. Around RM100 more than normal batteries.

I would say if you drive daily and always stuck in the jam, the fuel saving is more than the extra price on the battery for every 1-1.5 year.
emergency time. fuel level 0 zero distance range 0 zero
eco will save ur days
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 09:50 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Feb 8 2022, 09:46 PM)
I second this. I had something similar on my Mazda 6 (I-Stop), it is very annoyingly dangerous when the engine stopped when you're at junction or about to enter the roundabout.

Although it takes a second, it could be a second too late for the window of opportunity provided.

I have never thought about it but I will look into this on behalf of my client. Thank you so much, really appreciate it.
ktek
post Feb 8 2022, 09:51 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

m6 eco activate or not during steering position not straight.
example u twist left drive then brake. he istop ?
wchinwai
post Feb 8 2022, 09:51 PM

429 posts

thanks for your opinion bro...thats what i meant. Sometimes its dangerous especially when the eco-idle kicks in when you least expected it.

even_steven
post Feb 8 2022, 09:53 PM

Perut Jauh Kedepan (PJK)
636 posts

QUOTE(wchinwai @ Feb 8 2022, 09:44 PM)
You drive a MYVI as well?
Without knowing how i drive, you can summarize my judgement tongue.gif
My summary is based on my own experience. I used to be like that.

Mind you, before I bought the Bezza, my daily driver is a manual Kancil L2S with turbo.

The difference in response is night and day. I have to readapt my driving style to the new car.

I am one of the worst offender of the mentality of "sempat lagi ni" during my kancil driving day.

So now, different car, different response time, different way of driving.

Don't ask your car to adapt to your driving style, you need to adapt to your car capabilities.

amscouzach57
post Feb 8 2022, 09:55 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 8 2022, 09:51 PM)
m6 eco activate or not during steering position not straight.
example u twist left drive then brake. he istop ?
I didn't realised that, it has been more than a year since I've disabled it.
wchinwai
post Feb 8 2022, 09:59 PM

429 posts

QUOTE(even_steven @ Feb 8 2022, 09:53 PM)
My summary is based on my own experience. I used to be like that.

Mind you, before I bought the Bezza, my daily driver is a manual Kancil L2S with turbo.

The difference in response is night and day. I have to readapt my driving style to the new car.

I am one of the worst offender of the mentality of "sempat lagi ni" during my kancil driving day.

So now, different car, different response time, different way of driving.

Don't ask your car to adapt to your driving style, you need to adapt to your car capabilities.
thanks for sharing bro.
I drive kancil mostly and sometimes the myvi.
I am not "sempat lagi" driver.....coz my kancil only 600cc.....

The MYVI always give me surprises when the eco-idle kicks in.
My routine when entering MYVI is....1) LOCK DOOR 2) DISABLE ECO-IDLE.....haha

This post has been edited by wchinwai: Feb 8 2022, 10:00 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 10:07 PM

3,520 posts

Save fuel, ok how much ? Data ?

I don't know where you got that data from but if I have the time and money I would like to put that to real life test and see if that is true or crap.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 8 2022, 10:56 PM
ktek
post Feb 8 2022, 10:13 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

u may calculate eco save not much fuel....
for sure u wont waste more fuel than non eco !

for green person. it helps our earth. not becos of save money
constant_weight
post Feb 8 2022, 11:06 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 8 2022, 09:50 PM)
I have never thought about it but I will look into this on behalf of my client. Thank you so much, really appreciate it.
My friend fully press the start-stop on/off button then insert a cardboard in the button gap.

Make the button forever stuck at pressed position.

It is a Mazda not sure if same applies to all car. I guess worth to try since it is the cheapest.
constant_weight
post Feb 8 2022, 11:30 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 8 2022, 10:07 PM)
Save fuel, ok how much ? Data ?

I don't know where you got that data from but if I have the time and money I would like to put that to real life test and see if that is true or crap.
I don't have numerical data on the saving, but can give you some perspective on how frequent the engine runs during start-stop.

On ICE car with start-stop, not much saving on our traffic and weather conditions. Engine will start itself after mere couple of minutes due to hot weather, sometime even engine off and starts again in 10s. Only in a chill cool night, engine can stays stop for over 4-5min.

Hybrid is also doing poorly on Friday evening off work rushing home, especially in big city where sometime 20min not moving an inch, traffic light less than 100m away take 40min to 1 hour to cross.
Over 50% of the time during the idle/slow crawling engine is running also, well better than ICE with start-stop yet still poor experience. Nevertheless with engine 50% off during idling would yield some saving and start smoother than ICE start-stop due to larger motor.

So what's the point of these system? At smooth urban traffic that one can drive 40-60km/h constantly, and don't wait over 2-3min on traffic light. Then they are fantastic. I still remember one time at US, we were going to a place where Google map shown all red. But during the trip, I was like this is minor jam, then my Bangkok colleague was like this is NO JAM. I think that tells how the start-stop and hybrid shines on certain part of the world.

Lastly move up to PHEV if you hold some charge for traffic jam use, then can see the start-stop usefulness. Usually 20-40min of idling consume 1km of range, depending on the weather/exterior temperature. So hold 5km range for spare normally can last few hours of jam. Planning the trip has becoming a habit for me.
dares
post Feb 8 2022, 11:46 PM

834 posts

I once saw a Myvi performing reverse parking at the mall. When the driver stop to shift into reverse gear, the idle stop kicked in and the engine died, then promptly restart as the driver starts to reverse into the parking bay.

One of the most idiotic thing I've seen a car do.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 8 2022, 11:46 PM
TSRoman Catholic
post Feb 8 2022, 11:53 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Feb 8 2022, 11:06 PM)
My friend fully press the start-stop on/off button then insert a cardboard in the button gap.

Make the button forever stuck at pressed position.

It is a Mazda not sure if same applies to all car. I guess worth to try since it is the cheapest.
Thank you for that idea. Hopefully that will do the trick.

I thought of bringing up the OBD idea with the Service Center guys but I reckon I can already hear their answers to that.

At least your idea will provide another option to the retirees.

So far the available options are

1. Install by pass cable
2. Change the system via OBD
3. Cardboard trick to depress the button
4. Post-It-Note & press the button after the Ignition switch is on.
5. Or the retirees could just leave it and live with the inconvenience and hopefully the fuel savings outweighs the battery costs. LOL

According to the retired couple their car is almost 4 years old now and their mileage is said to be 10,000km. Although the battery is still able to start the car but the Battery & Starter Test had shown a Replace Battery status. It will fail completely in less than a month's time. This will be their 1st battery change before they travel to KL soon.
Quazacolt
post Feb 9 2022, 07:39 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 8 2022, 09:29 PM)
Retirees are trying to save on expenses by using as little resources as possible.

Turning off the Eco-Idle function will allow their battery to last much longer than if the function was turned on.
Is your parents car a Myvi?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:35 PM