Who is a better player?, Nemanja Vidic or Daniel Agger?

TSblinky
post Sep 20 2007, 03:28 AM, updated 19y ago

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Was having a conversation with a friend who supports Manchester United (I'm a Liverpool supporter), and we got into the topic of Vidic vs Agger.

Both comparatively new to the English game and their respective clubs.

Both plays the same position.

Both doing effectively well on their own level.

Vidic is more of a no-nonsense tough tackling defender.

Agger is more of a technical and creative defender.

So, who is it going to be?

p/s I hope Manchester United and Liverpool fans will be able to participate in this conversation without biasness. It takes a bigger man to admit that a player from your rival team is indeed a better one, if he really is in your own opinion.

Have fun smile.gif

This post has been edited by blinky: Sep 20 2007, 03:33 AM
kobe8byrant
post Sep 20 2007, 03:31 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

You haven't given us your opinion and with your p/s stuff, most people WILL want to be bigger men and answer you. Me? I'd go for Vidic any day. He keeps clean sheets and he scores goals. What more can you ask? He win you games and he makes sure you dont lose
TSblinky
post Sep 20 2007, 03:32 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Sep 20 2007, 03:31 AM)
You haven't given us your opinion and with your p/s stuff, most people WILL want to be bigger men and answer you. Me? I'd go for Vidic any day. He keeps clean sheets and he scores goals. What more can you ask? He win you games and he makes sure you dont lose
Though I'm a Liverpool supporter, I have to say Vidic. One of the most solid defenders in EPL for the last season.

However, I can see that Agger has plenty of potential left to develop compared to Vidic.
faris21
post Sep 20 2007, 03:45 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

Pool fan will choose Agger while Red Devil fan will say Vidic is better
zickey
post Sep 20 2007, 03:47 AM

VAPENESTJELUTONG
2,125 posts

no one is better.. both got their own advantage and disadvantage..

p/s : agger also scoring goals.. remember a winning goal against chelsea in semi final CL last year? before that thunderbolt just like riise i forgot against which team.
lilredridinghood
post Sep 20 2007, 03:49 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(zickey @ Sep 20 2007, 03:47 AM)

p/s : agger also scoring goals.. remember a winning goal against chelsea in semi final CL last year? before that thunderbolt just like riise i forgot against which team.
westham i think, I'd say Vidic too...
JuNz-V
post Sep 20 2007, 05:32 AM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

not being bias here.. but i really think agger is no close match for vidic..
just being straight forward, sorry if i've offended anyone..
AskarPerang
post Sep 20 2007, 06:47 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

match winner against West Ham. thumbup.gif
Sweet left foot he has.

I think he is very suitable to play as a cover up for the left back in case the left back push up too far ahead and not in time to track back.
sujen07
post Sep 20 2007, 06:51 AM

31 posts

hahahaha i wud say vidic lor .. ,considering his body and all ... and vidic also scores goals .. the last 1 was a match winning agains everton tongue.gif
zickey
post Sep 20 2007, 07:19 AM

VAPENESTJELUTONG
2,125 posts

agger still young i believe when agger at vidic's age he's better than vidic now biggrin.gif
air_mood
post Sep 20 2007, 07:53 AM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

Clearly Bramble is better than the both of them put together. Bramble and Boumsong, ahhh...what a dream partnership.
cw_wang
post Sep 20 2007, 08:10 AM

6 Star Player
1,045 posts

vidic! vidic! vidic!
hk_loo
post Sep 20 2007, 08:26 AM

1,750 posts

neither ... terry the best

lawsh
post Sep 20 2007, 08:30 AM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Sep 20 2007, 07:53 AM)
Clearly Bramble is better than the both of them put together. Bramble and Boumsong, ahhh...what a dream partnership.
hell yeah, just like how some pundits said (was it shebby?), they are 20 goals a season defenders whistling.gif brows.gif thumbup.gif
Hevrn
post Sep 20 2007, 09:20 AM

4,017 posts

I'd go for Vidic. Solid at the back, aggressive during set pieces, attacks the ball with such gusto and wins crucial headers
qspn
post Sep 20 2007, 09:44 AM

1,534 posts

Although i hate to admit i think vidic is the better defender at the moment. Agger is slightly smaller build and has less physical present. But in years to come i think agger will b the better player. He has plenty space to improve. Ps. He has a good sweet left foot. biggrin.gif
emperor^10
post Sep 20 2007, 10:02 AM

---ManUtd Forever---
1,159 posts

Vidic can score...
Grengo01
post Sep 20 2007, 10:17 AM

7 star but no spesial tag...
4,669 posts

It is no comparison. Both have their strengths, Vida is almost a complete Centre Back, Agger? Nuff said.
kenzo
post Sep 20 2007, 10:20 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Sep 20 2007, 10:17 AM)
It is no comparison. Both have their strengths, Vida is almost a complete Centre Back, Agger? Nuff said.
well bro, chill la, lets the guys have some fun debating la, well thats what forum are for right? in my opinion both doesnt play similarly n have their own strength, depending how u look at it, well i guess both are equally good la.
Grengo01
post Sep 20 2007, 10:21 AM

7 star but no spesial tag...
4,669 posts

aha... smile.gif I forgot... ok guys!!!! argue away.... sorry bro kenzo... hehehe.. busy reading Anwar's expose on the judiciary scandal...
johnjenin
post Sep 20 2007, 10:55 AM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

Vidic! Urat dawai tulang besi

This post has been edited by johnjenin: Sep 20 2007, 10:55 AM
razuryza
post Sep 20 2007, 11:24 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

after this..got many thread comparing which forwards, midfieders,defenders is the best..erm...kinda useless thread....
Halfhearted04
post Sep 20 2007, 11:29 AM

Sloth
1,942 posts

this thread present me with a rare opportunity to use this smilies rclxlh.gif rclxlh.gif rclxlh.gif
Alternation
post Sep 20 2007, 11:32 AM

912 posts

with Vidic's occasional blunders and Agger's not reaching his true potential yet, i would go for Toure and Terry anytime.
madmoz
post Sep 20 2007, 11:33 AM

4,250 posts

mods, boleh tutup tak? kinda useless ler this thread, no?
skulless
post Sep 20 2007, 11:44 AM

Over rated general
958 posts

it's a waste of time trying to discuss who's better. it's all biased opinions here.
zimhibikie
post Sep 20 2007, 12:05 PM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

Use players comparison on Football Manager 2007/08 laaaa
rEDs
post Sep 20 2007, 12:34 PM

җ- Z e B r a H e a D -җ
2,213 posts

victor andrag pawns all....
zaFrOoNaLdO
post Sep 20 2007, 12:58 PM

FM fReaK!
1,508 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Sep 20 2007, 07:53 AM)
hah>>>?? shocking.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif shocking.gif

to me vidic is better...but u can combine each of their advantages, they will be complete CB!
agger have cun left foot, can shoot like a midfielder/striker,vidic can head without fear, so combine, they are complete ! thumbup.gif
Duke Red
post Sep 20 2007, 12:59 PM

6,112 posts

I tried not to be drawn into this argument but my resistance proved futile. I like both of them for different reasons. Vidic is more straightforward and no nonsense, much like our Carra. Agger on the other hand has a better touch and plays the ball more ala Alan Hansen. Both can score, Vidic with his head and Agger more with his feet. Both have also been prone to errors but with experience, they will only get better. As for who I prefer, I'll go with Agger because I feel he complements the more straight forward Jamie Carragher.
zaFrOoNaLdO
post Sep 20 2007, 12:59 PM

FM fReaK!
1,508 posts

QUOTE(rEDs @ Sep 20 2007, 12:34 PM)
victor andrag pawns all....
lol!he is the kedah defender rite?
jason18689
post Sep 20 2007, 04:11 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

as a liverpool fan...
i go for Vidic too...
he can score goals from conners or freekicks...
he is strong in the air....

his characteristic makes me feel like he is a very good candidate for the movie "300"....SPARTAA !!!!
LOL...
akRia
post Sep 20 2007, 04:16 PM

...~+noob+~...
1,998 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Sep 20 2007, 03:45 AM)
Pool fan will choose Agger while Red Devil fan will say Vidic is better
then why u even bother to post then since u got no opinion?

VIDIC! anytime of the day, current performance Vidic outrun agger, but agger too doing very good. vidic's header last epl game is awesome.
kenzo
post Sep 20 2007, 04:17 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Sep 20 2007, 04:11 PM)
as a liverpool fan...
i go for Vidic too...
he can score goals from conners or freekicks...
he is strong in the air....

his characteristic makes me feel like he is a very good candidate for the movie "300"....SPARTAA !!!!
LOL...
yeah man kinda think of it, i think ur right,he really suits, haha hmm.gif
lolz_5167
post Sep 20 2007, 04:28 PM

Broken Heart Staff
1,085 posts

two of them will make a ideal partner at the back..

one with a great header and another one with a good long shot...

both of them still young but Vidic is better than Agger especially his physical and tackle.. rclxms.gif

BTW i am liverpool fan..Vidic is a good player tat is no-nonsense type..rather than some defender would give a rough comments biggrin.gif
Mie
post Sep 20 2007, 04:41 PM

GOONER
1,718 posts

this thread need poll. laugh.gif
lolz_5167
post Sep 20 2007, 04:46 PM

Broken Heart Staff
1,085 posts

ya..

but tat make no sense...man.utd fan is majority here
alien2003
post Sep 20 2007, 04:46 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 20 2007, 12:59 PM)
I tried not to be drawn into this argument but my resistance proved futile. I like both of them for different reasons. Vidic is more straightforward and no nonsense, much like our Carra. Agger on the other hand has a better touch and plays the ball more ala Alan Hansen. Both can score, Vidic with his head and Agger more with his feet. Both have also been prone to errors but with experience, they will only get better. As for who I prefer, I'll go with Agger because I feel he complements the more straight forward Jamie Carragher.
Yeap. Just like how Vidic complements Rio for Man Utd.

Actually there is no fix/default guidelines on deciding who is better? How to consider as better? In what sense? In terms of shooting skill like Agger? Or heading skill during setpiece like Vidic?

How nice if there's a way to merge their ability together biggrin.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Sep 20 2007, 04:47 PM
zaxxshoxx
post Sep 20 2007, 04:47 PM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

i'll go for Vidic... he got the ability in the air , no nonsense , read the game well and score vital goals.
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Sep 20 2007, 04:53 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

i choose vidic too as same reason with most of u all but agger will make better partnership with carra. I think agger have lots of potential to develop himself into one of the better defender, vidic seem to already reach his limits. anyway, its just my opinion icon_rolleyes.gif
qspn
post Sep 20 2007, 05:19 PM

1,534 posts

when it comes 2 defence it is essential to have a partnership. wt a partnership one can cover each other weakness. so it can compliment wt one another. if both player is too similar thn thy will go 4 the same ball tht eventually will lead 2 a mistake. so both player hav their own qualities which will make a good partnership if thy were 2 play together.
kobe8byrant
post Sep 20 2007, 05:23 PM

12,275 posts

If you put Ferdinand on the line with another player, you may get a different answer. But ATM, I would do anything for us to get a Sergio Ramos. We desperately need a top class right back to replace Gary.
Aztec
post Sep 20 2007, 05:29 PM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

useless thread..shut it down.. yawn.gif
vreis
post Sep 20 2007, 05:34 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

I agreed with Vidic a better player...for now at least. His aerial ability is good not to mention he scores more goals.
PrinceOfPersia
post Sep 20 2007, 05:56 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

Vidic head + Agger left foot flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif , complete defender thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
jiahuilee
post Sep 20 2007, 06:02 PM

320 posts

i agree that vidic is a more straight forward and no nonsense player... but i kinda like Agger style of play...

but the bottom line is, defender should be defender and no nonsense is what defenders should be! haha VIDIC!
aa1985
post Sep 20 2007, 09:12 PM

630 posts

dont have a poll?

zickey
post Sep 20 2007, 09:47 PM

VAPENESTJELUTONG
2,125 posts

no need poll la sure vidic won the poll since they're a lot of mu fans
Predator10
post Sep 20 2007, 09:57 PM

421 posts

agger is a nonsense player? hmm.gif
aa1985
post Sep 20 2007, 10:01 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(zickey @ Sep 20 2007, 09:47 PM)
no need poll la sure vidic won the poll since they're a lot of mu fans
lorr...just try it out..then we know the actual result..anyway, its just my opinion..
ervinliew86
post Sep 20 2007, 10:17 PM

Ibra Kadabra!
2,338 posts

As an arsenal fan, personally I feel Vidic is a better player, but that's because he plays alongside Ferdinand. But I really remember the mistakes he did against 3-0 trashing of AC Milan last season. He played horribly, wrong-time tackles, not marking Kaka & etc. But overall, when he's on top gear, he's good defensively. & not to forget, he's a good header in set-pieces. As for Agger, well, he's still young & can improve. Amazing cracker against West Ham last season. Haha... So, the verdict, both are ok-ok defender. Without Ferdinand or Carragher alongside them, i think they'll stuggle...
bal
post Sep 20 2007, 10:20 PM

koher
1,215 posts

kolo toure - pace, strength, influence, bought cheap, etc lol
Soulsareworthless
post Sep 20 2007, 10:23 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Sep 20 2007, 05:23 PM)
If you put Ferdinand on the line with another player, you may get a different answer. But ATM, I would do anything for us to get a Sergio Ramos. We desperately need a top class right back to replace Gary.
Daniel Alves would be a more realistic option. smile.gif
kobe8byrant
post Sep 20 2007, 10:38 PM

12,275 posts

I still like Ramos more. tongue.gif I know we wont get him but I am just saying if I had it my way
nando
post Sep 20 2007, 11:52 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

no centre defender lives by himself...

so many people worship Kaiser Franz Beckenbauer but dont forget Vogts doing all the dirty work

Hansen is always remembered as the skillful elegant defender but he will thank Lawrenson, the tough robust tackling defender...

At one point, even Pahang has a player called alan davidson...calm cool sweeper, but dont forget how the non nonsense Sellehudin Che ros as his stopper

Soh Chin aun maybe the greatest but how effective is he without Santokh Singh?

Its difficult to say Vidic better or Agger

Vidic complements Rio very well. Agger is developing into a true partner for the straightforward safety first Carragher. .
juniortit@n
post Sep 20 2007, 11:55 PM

453 posts

both are nice player....great quality signing....can't figure out who is the best player since they both play well so far... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by juniortit@n: Sep 20 2007, 11:56 PM
nik0ns
post Sep 21 2007, 11:38 AM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

i prefer vidic as he is more aggresive
Duke Red
post Sep 21 2007, 11:46 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Predator10 @ Sep 20 2007, 09:57 PM)
agger is a nonsense player? hmm.gif
Correct, just like all the other players who like to play the ball more, like Ronaldinho, Messi, Henry, etc. Wonder what they're doing playing for top sides.
Hevrn
post Sep 21 2007, 11:50 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Sep 20 2007, 05:23 PM)
Yeah I do agree with ya there. Ramos is class. I'm still worried who would step up to the plate once Gary's gone. Brown? Nah, not good enuff
pandazhun
post Sep 21 2007, 08:14 PM

PANDARLING DAR ZHUNINHO
830 posts

westham.
on the other hand...agger n vidic who scores more goals???
I tink agger rite???
as vidic only scores from header and corner only...
though CB is not judged from the amount of goals they scored...

This post has been edited by pandazhun: Sep 21 2007, 08:16 PM
leongtat
post Sep 21 2007, 10:34 PM

950 posts

Dun Compare a Mercedes(Vidic) with a Kancil (Agger) here.
Vidic is clearly much betta den agger.
Agger do concede penalty with some stupid tackles,
Sorry if i ofended any liverpool fans here
zickey
post Sep 21 2007, 10:39 PM

VAPENESTJELUTONG
2,125 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Sep 21 2007, 10:34 PM)
oh yeah? got proof?
if you're football's professional i might accept ur comment but not from the fans biggrin.gif
David__Beckham
post Sep 21 2007, 10:44 PM

511 posts

i support vidic

Duke Red
post Sep 21 2007, 10:46 PM

6,112 posts

No offence taken mate. Opinions of retards don't bother me much. Pick up some facts and then come back.
zeist
post Sep 21 2007, 11:21 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

No comment. 50% 50% on both. No need to argue.

This post has been edited by zeist: Sep 21 2007, 11:21 PM
easypeasy
post Sep 21 2007, 11:30 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Sep 21 2007, 03:34 PM)
/\ I-D-I-O-T

Let me see, so far this season LFC has conceded 4 penalties against Villa, Chelsea, Pompey & Porto. None of those were Agger's fault. Mercedes & Kancil? Clearly you intended to offend LFC supporters.

This post has been edited by easypeasy: Sep 21 2007, 11:32 PM
dream5518
post Sep 21 2007, 11:40 PM

!~LeGenDarY~!
1,470 posts

Close THREAD~!

Added on September 21, 2007, 11:43 pm
Vidic Mercedes?
Wat so special about him btw?
only noe hw to score goals using head???
Only scores goal against Weak Team??
come on..
Agger can score goals using legs...not head...
Agger scored goals against top4 and CL semi-finalist...
Agger pushed Liverpool to CL final..

Did vidic do tat?

haha..

Anyway, MOD pls close thread... i think there will be an outburst sooner or later...

This post has been edited by dream5518: Sep 21 2007, 11:43 PM
taor3n
post Sep 22 2007, 12:06 AM

937 posts

hmm..both....kinda same....but...vidic..looks ...tougher...and agger looks...strong...haha...duno..la...both oso...great defender....
yhwong
post Sep 22 2007, 12:10 AM

109 posts

I might be biased, but I think Vidic is better. He is stronger and tackles harder, which are the cunning instincts the best defenders should have.

Agger is a good player in his own right. But I do not see him lunge into 50-50 tackles and come away with the ball, leaving the striker lying on the ground.

And Vidic has scored important goals in the Champions League. He scored against Benfica to send United to the knock out stages.
lolz_5167
post Sep 22 2007, 12:11 AM

Broken Heart Staff
1,085 posts

mercedes and kancil ??

If Agger is kancil and Vidic is mercedes

then u are??

This post has been edited by lolz_5167: Sep 22 2007, 12:14 AM
SUSAcey
post Sep 22 2007, 12:51 AM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

Go suck on an exhaust pipe 10 times and call it daddy.
lilredridinghood
post Sep 22 2007, 02:43 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(yhwong @ Sep 22 2007, 12:10 AM)
I might be biased, but I think Vidic is better. He is stronger and tackles harder, which are the cunning instincts the best defenders should have.

Agger is a good player in his own right.  But I do not see him lunge into 50-50 tackles and come away with the ball, leaving the striker lying on the ground.

And Vidic has scored important goals in the Champions League. He scored against Benfica to send United to the knock out stages.
When it comes to importance, Agger scored the only goal in the 2nd leg of the Champions League semi final.
6GDominator
post Sep 22 2007, 02:52 AM

ThE NeW SpAm KiNg~.~
3,407 posts

haha.. looks like leongtat is being 'tat' now. laugh.gif
nitsujyuen
post Sep 22 2007, 02:54 AM

572 posts

haha, cant compare ler..both also good players..
nik0ns
post Sep 22 2007, 02:57 AM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

both have their own advantages...but i dont think they are like mercedes and kancil...maybe like mercedes and bmw , and kancil is suitable to describe our local player biggrin.gif
erickyoko
post Sep 22 2007, 02:58 AM

532 posts

both of them have their own styles....so it is nothing can be to compare....
johnjenin
post Sep 22 2007, 03:08 AM

!~ Pura Vida ~!
1,352 posts

no need to compare. pointless. just close this thread
Duke Red
post Sep 22 2007, 07:19 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(yhwong @ Sep 22 2007, 12:10 AM)

Agger is a good player in his own right.  But I do not see him lunge into 50-50 tackles and come away with the ball, leaving the striker lying on the ground.

I'd expect fans to be biased to an extent just like myself. It's ok to think one player is better than the other so long as you have reasons to justify your answer. It's posters like "leotard" with nonsensical answers that piss people off.
easypeasy
post Sep 22 2007, 09:45 AM

564 posts

QUOTE(yhwong @ Sep 21 2007, 05:10 PM)

The answer for the bold statement is \/

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 21 2007, 07:43 PM)
When it comes to importance, Agger scored the only goal in the 2nd leg of the Champions League semi final.
Had Agger did not score that equalising goal, perhaps Chelsea have won the Champions League last season & Mourinho is still at Chelsea today.
JonC
post Sep 22 2007, 09:56 AM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

rolleyes.gif There are reason why i didn't want to post here, but since everyone already have their rant, here's mine.

Vidic will be the more logical choice at the moment - more matured, composed and with a heck lot more experience. Agger is young and eager, look a lot more elegent and more composed with the ball. I say both have their advantage and disadvantes over each other. The edge is on Vidic's side but for how long thats another story altogether.

This post has been edited by JonC: Sep 22 2007, 09:57 AM
lolhalol
post Sep 22 2007, 10:10 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Sep 21 2007, 11:34 PM)
wtf wat are u smokign there? u high ? u sure bout ur staement? omfg. Agger concede stupid tackles? Kancil ? dude wheres ur prof taht vidic is better than agger? wtf

QUOTE(yhwong @ Sep 22 2007, 01:10 AM)

hehe aggers goal brought us to teh finals tongue.gif
bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif
qspn
post Sep 22 2007, 10:52 AM

1,534 posts

You're only as your next game as most of the forum ppl here agree wt. However within the spaces of 6 months anythin can chg in the world of football. Even i'm liverpool fan i have 2 admit tht vidic the better player at the moment. So anythin can chg within the spaces of time. I prefer agger since his has the potential 2 b world class since he is still young. although he need 2 focus on his concentration at times in games n improve on his physical presences.

YNWA
faris21
post Sep 22 2007, 10:55 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

this is the thread where we can see fighting between Pool`s fan and MU`s fan
i think this should be close
Duke Red
post Sep 22 2007, 11:04 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(faris21 @ Sep 22 2007, 10:55 AM)
this is the thread where we can see fighting between Pool`s fan and MU`s fan
i think this should be close
There will be a fair degree of biasness but as you can see, some Liverpool fans have admitted that Vidic is at the moment, the better player. I don't see much fighting, do you?
verx
post Sep 22 2007, 11:16 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Sep 22 2007, 11:04 AM)
There will be a fair degree of biasness but as you can see, some Liverpool fans have admitted that Vidic is at the moment, the better player. I don't see much fighting, do you?
I still think this is a redundant thread tbh
You could create a dozen threads like this comparing one player to another and still wouldn't get anywhere.
JonC
post Sep 22 2007, 11:19 AM

1,612 posts

Sad but true. Fan-boyism phenomenon will turn something logical into an illogical argument. When one liners starts to populate the thread, ya know its time to close it.
faris21
post Sep 22 2007, 11:19 AM

Newbies
4,453 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 22 2007, 11:16 AM)
I still think this is a redundant thread tbh
You could create a dozen threads like this comparing one player to another and still wouldn't get anywhere.
such as compare Lamps with Gerrard
compare Rooney with Torres
i think this is pointless thread hmm.gif
skulless
post Sep 22 2007, 12:38 PM

Over rated general
958 posts

yes it is pointless, baseless, and biased. but at least some of the liverpool fans here do acknowledge vidic is a better player. some manc fans here just cant take the fact if a liverpool player is better than their's.
nik0ns
post Sep 22 2007, 12:43 PM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

every player have their own strength . maybe we should ask shebby which one he prefer then..
kobe8byrant
post Sep 22 2007, 12:44 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(skulless @ Sep 22 2007, 12:38 PM)
yes it is pointless, baseless, and biased. but at least some of the liverpool fans here do acknowledge vidic is a better player. some manc fans here just cant take the fact if a liverpool player is better than their's.
You don't want us to say such a thing for the sake of it, do you. If I mean it, I'd say it but otherwise, why should anyone say it. There, I would like Reina, Gerrard and Torres in my team but as long as they are in your club, I hope nothing but ill towards them. There, now that I have said it? I get a hug or a kiss? Or would you go on and say "dream on you big fat C (you know the word) on hoping that they'll join your stinking club.
JonC
post Sep 22 2007, 12:49 PM

1,612 posts

Put a sock into pls. Don't you guys ever get tired with all this crap. Just blardee LOCK the damn thread pls mods.
kobe8byrant
post Sep 22 2007, 12:52 PM

12,275 posts

Well I think this discussion can go somewhere. I mean, hey, come during the World Player of the Year award, we all have our opinions, right? That can lead to a discussion. This can actually work but however, all of us here (myself included) are too lazy to back our talk up with facts, stats or stuff like that. We post "VIDIC PWNS AGGER" and leaves. It's not nothing can come out of this, it's just we are too stupid/lazy to start a real debate on this.
JonC
post Sep 22 2007, 12:56 PM

1,612 posts

wink.gif Hey we agreed on something. laugh.gif
cekutz
post Oct 16 2007, 05:17 PM

291 posts

they are both defenders and i think its fair to judge them from their defending...erm...n in this department..i think Vidic is better than Agger..Vidic is reliable, strong both on the ground and in the air, brave, a good team player and a no-nonsense tackler....

but bear in mind that Agger is younger and he must go through regular squad rotation...and im a man utd fan btw... smile.gif
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 16 2007, 11:56 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

i do believe that Vidic is better than Agger..

first of all Vidic does the job that he is paid for which is defend..for a CB the primary goal is to prevent the opposing team from scoring..and i think Vidic carries out his duty very effectively..

plus..he can score goals with his head from set pieces.. icon_rolleyes.gif
AskarPerang
post Oct 17 2007, 12:40 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Who bump this thread up again???
This thread should be long gone for good...
munsheng
post Jan 15 2008, 09:01 PM

134 posts

vidic is overall a good player..
agger is strong too..
at least both of them did what they should do..

Duke Red
post Jan 15 2008, 09:09 PM

6,112 posts

Which is what exactly?
cristiano7mu
post Jan 15 2008, 09:41 PM

2,588 posts

lol suddenly munsheng bring back all the old thread
jobseekz
post Jan 16 2008, 04:19 PM

just look at the stats and compare.....simply VIDIC lar
Belphegor
post Jan 16 2008, 04:23 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

both good. nice and easy. stop bringing up the sinking thread.
Duke Red
post Jan 16 2008, 04:31 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jobseekz @ Jan 16 2008, 04:19 PM)
just look at the stats and compare.....simply VIDIC lar
You surely do put up a convincing argument.
fooj!n
post Jan 16 2008, 06:20 PM

21 posts

id say vidic for quality, and agger for style
Mido_Ban
post Jan 16 2008, 06:27 PM

224 posts

Vidic is good but sometimes day dreaming...

Agger is hardworking but not good enough...
shah_ho_nam2
post Jan 16 2008, 06:37 PM

らき☆すた
4,242 posts

TS u should ask which club is better.. Liverpool pr Man U.. yawn.gif
-Nos-
post Jan 16 2008, 06:38 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

Vidic for the time being.
maxizanc
post Jan 16 2008, 07:07 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Sep 20 2007, 10:17 AM)
Vidic is a good long passer, good tackler, good header of the ball and also "i-want-it-no-matter-what" type of player, tongue.gif he has his good partner with diferent type of CB at M.U.. owh and he's a badass tongue.gif , i got my jersey with his name at the back.. He is very2 good.. My idol..

Added on January 16, 2008, 7:20 pm
QUOTE(ervinliew86 @ Sep 20 2007, 10:17 PM)
As an arsenal fan, personally I feel Vidic is a better player, but that's because he plays alongside Ferdinand. But I really remember the mistakes he did against 3-0 trashing of AC Milan last season. He played horribly, wrong-time tackles, not marking Kaka & etc. But overall, when he's on top gear, he's good defensively. & not to forget, he's a good header in set-pieces. As for Agger, well, he's still young & can improve. Amazing cracker against West Ham last season. Haha... So, the verdict, both are ok-ok defender. Without Ferdinand or Carragher alongside them, i think they'll stuggle...
he just came back from injury..

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jan 16 2008, 07:20 PM
SUSLiverpoolgangsta
post Jan 20 2008, 12:02 PM

221 posts

although i`m a liverpool fan but i regret to admit that VIDIC is much better from AGGER..gud aerial ability and strong pysically...but more to come from AGGER as he still improving... thumbup.gif
chimera_wingrove
post Jan 21 2008, 09:57 AM

75 posts

both hav their own strength and weaknesses
but ill go for vidic~~
rclxms.gif
BeckhamSoccerTips
post Jan 21 2008, 03:40 PM

250 posts

I can't compare them as a defender but Vidic a better header and scorer of goals...
caballero206
post Jan 21 2008, 04:11 PM

430 posts

I would prefer Vidic..he's tall and fierce..i think Rio must be teaching him to be mean to opponents..he can score goals..he helps Rio to built the confident at the back four..he is our Ministry of Defence..hahahaha..

This post has been edited by caballero206: Jan 21 2008, 04:11 PM
mfaizalzul
post Jan 22 2008, 04:35 AM

197 posts

agger
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
baok
post Jan 22 2008, 05:01 AM

737 posts

Although I'm a Liverpool Loyalist.. but I have to admit Vidic is more solid and reliable than Agger.. I even think we should put Agger as a midfielder.. He's more creative than Vidic, passes really well and has good long-shots.. Vidic is a natural central defender, great at reading game..
laszlo
post Jan 22 2008, 06:31 AM

Have... you met me?
1,473 posts

id say vidic because he score goals and has good aerial abilities...
whoopa
post Jan 22 2008, 08:00 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

why cannot compare vidic with carragher ? ?? i nv seen agger play b4 lol
f1iptex
post Jan 22 2008, 08:03 AM

277 posts

its unfair to compare agger to vidic.. agger is alot younger than vidic, but if i have to pick.. it would be vidic, he is more of a no nonsense type but he's not one of the best defenders imo
Ken
post Jan 22 2008, 08:44 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 16 2008, 04:31 PM)
You surely do put up a convincing argument.
just watch the game reading vs man united
leongbenn
post Mar 25 2008, 01:46 PM

30 posts

If you want to compare a central back, Vidic is the better than Agger.
Central back is all about no-nonsense defense and physically tough where Vidic has both. I would say Agger is not physically strong enough. smile.gif
J-Piggy
post Mar 25 2008, 01:58 PM

205 posts

It is almost meaningless to bring this kind of thread which sink without trace months ago back to top and yet start another flame war like last time doh.gif

uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Mar 25 2008, 02:17 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

agger injured for quite some time and wont be available until next season...so, what to discuss anyway
e30
post Mar 25 2008, 03:39 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

daniel agger is a better striker of the ball. he's scored some absolute beauties from long range. so in that sense, i am going to say danny agger is better than vidic.
Apis_LuaLua
post Mar 25 2008, 04:03 PM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

QUOTE(e30 @ Mar 25 2008, 03:39 PM)
daniel agger is a better striker of the ball. he's scored some absolute beauties from long range. so in that sense, i am going to say danny agger is better than vidic.
I wonder is that how many goals scored by defender is the way to judge a CB?? whistling.gif
e30
post Mar 25 2008, 06:05 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Mar 25 2008, 04:03 PM)
I wonder is that how many goals scored by defender is the way to judge a CB??  whistling.gif
first of all, your sentence made no sense.
2ndly(hopefully you can read better than you write), read my post properly. i said he is a better player in the sense of striking a football.

kazek
post Mar 25 2008, 06:25 PM

The Bringer of Rain
1,116 posts

QUOTE(e30 @ Mar 25 2008, 06:05 PM)
first of all, your sentence made no sense.
2ndly(hopefully you can read better than you write), read my post properly. i said he is a better player in the sense of striking a football.
doh.gif
A better player in the sense of striking a football but then you add that "he's scored some absolute beauties from long range. so in that sense, i am going to say danny agger is better than vidic."
I don't understand you. Your post is as basic as they come.

Imo Vidic is ages better than Agger. Agger is obviously the more attack minded and more technically gifted but Vidic's positioning and defensive discipline is unmatched. His game reading is so precise, pace is irrelevant. If there was a top 5 for the best EPL defenders, Agger wouldn't even come close. Terry, Ferdinand, Alex and Carvalho are all a class apart. Vidic is a lot closer to that lot.
aaron1kee
post Mar 25 2008, 09:03 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Vidic to me.
He is good in the air and scored some goals for MU too.
Some even said that the combination of Vidic and Ferdinand is the best in the world.
FYI, MU conceded the least is the premier league.
But as a Chelsea Supporter, I would like to reiterate that Terry is the best among all. No offend though. Personal opinion only.
aa1985
post Mar 25 2008, 10:14 PM

630 posts

agger?when was the last time he play?

cant u see vidic on the pitch?oh no..

yup..terry got much concentration in game..his header also scared the goalkeeper..
toby.c13
post Mar 25 2008, 11:57 PM

Please enter custom member title
1,580 posts

i think vidic would be more aggresive in defending than agger..
agger isnt that aggresive than vidic..
althou.. agger does score some remarkable long range goals.. smile.gif
myhotgary2
post Mar 26 2008, 12:18 AM

617 posts

Erm, Vidic?
Coz for a full back, u must be physically big and strong, has a good sense of tackling, read games, and good at heading...
vidic kind of has all the above, Agger? Not yet.
To put agger ahead just because he scores from long range is irrelevant, and its definitely not wat u expect most from a defender..
none the less, vidic scores too, from set pieces, because he's just making good use of his head and his physique, just like what terry always do...
So, Vidic is the clear winner. flex.gif
Reimao
post Mar 26 2008, 12:24 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

there's actually no competition here to be exact..Although Agger do show some promising performance but all in all Vidic is a much better defender..He's those no-nonsense defender who gives his all and tend to challenge for the ball all the time..Much to the likes of Puyol..Puyol is one crazy bugger in terms of defending la ofcuz.. tongue.gif
adamiqbal
post Mar 31 2008, 03:12 PM

96 posts

AGGER. he can defend and score better
Ken
post Mar 31 2008, 03:23 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

vidic also can score goal lar ...
Duke Red
post Mar 31 2008, 03:43 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kazek @ Mar 25 2008, 06:25 PM)
doh.gif
A better player in the sense of striking a football but then you add that "he's scored some absolute beauties from long range. so in that sense, i am going to say danny agger is better than vidic."
I don't understand you. Your post is as basic as they come.

Imo Vidic is ages better than Agger. Agger is obviously the more attack minded and more technically gifted but Vidic's positioning and defensive discipline is unmatched. His game reading is so precise, pace is irrelevant. If there was a top 5 for the best EPL defenders, Agger wouldn't even come close. Terry, Ferdinand, Alex and Carvalho are all a class apart. Vidic is a lot closer to that lot.
If it's his opinion that Agger is a better player whether it be because he is better looking or whatever, let it be. It is a thread for discussion and he made his point. If you disagree, so be it.

Agger hasn't played in enough games to warrant a comparison at this point. When he has played however, he has showed composure on the ball. Defensively, Liverpool has one of the best defences in the league and yet people don't rate Reina, Carra or any of our defenders which baffles me. What is it? Is Lady Luck Scouse? Some may say that a defenders job is purely to defend (i.e. Carra) but a defender can also contribute to the attack. Many attacks start from the back. If a defender is unassured or uncomfortable on the ball, he'll tend to hoof it up the park and possession is lost. If on the other hand, he is composed on the ball, he retains possession. Vidic may be better defensively but I think you have to consider a defenders overall contribution to the game i.e. Roberto Carlos is crap at defending but excellent getting forward.

Vidic vs Agger? Man Utd vs Liverpool? Seems it's a case of this. Well let's look at it this way. You say Terry, Ferdinand, Alex & Carvalho are the best in the league. You didn't mention who the 5th player was so can I assume it's Vidic? If this is the case, how is it we have a defensive record comparable to the other top sides with average defenders like Carra and Agger? Can I assume this is where the argument that we are a defensive team comes into play?
whoopa
post Mar 31 2008, 03:57 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

tbh ... i dun see agger much ... if i were to rate i think skrtel higher that agger heheheh
yngwie
post Mar 31 2008, 05:41 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

vidic is more solid at the back. while it's kinda exiting watching agger going forward.
both have their own weakness and strength but based on current form and overall consistency, i'll pick vidic.
shaffa90
post Mar 31 2008, 06:41 PM

i havent really seen agger play dat much..since im a man utd fan of coz i noe abt vidic better than agger..so i hav to say vidic is a better player..look at the amount of clean sheats him and rio managed..but den again who noes..agger is still young and if he trains really hard and wif experience he could bcome as gud as vidic..oh,is agger injured now?these past few weeks dat ive been watching EPL highlights...when they show liverpool playing i nvr see agger..
Doctor Who?
post Mar 31 2008, 07:09 PM

339 posts

both also good defenders la,but Agger is more versatile right?i like Vidic though for his no-nonsense style of play and bravery in heading the ball...can't really decide tongue.gif
reedsect13
post Mar 31 2008, 07:23 PM

44 posts

i think its not fair la to compare both of them..agger is facing a hard season now bcoz of his injury,for vidic that currently having a good spot with his team ..we may seen dat vidic has shown a lot of improvement bcoz of his regular play this season...but dont forget that rafa has scout both of them with intention to buy b4 they came to epl,they both has the similarity in style of play..both can distribute the ball from the back,no nonsense defending,good arial ability and can adapt with epl phisycal play..but if rafa put vidic his 1st target for liverpool its mean vidic must got something xtra...but agger also has shown what he can do on the pitch..so for me both of them got the plus n minus...
babber
post Apr 17 2008, 07:50 PM

Forumer
1,360 posts

i'm longing to see vidic comin back into action
redscorpion
post Apr 18 2008, 04:27 AM

2,106 posts

vidic of course.

solid defending.brave header.a perfect combination with ferdinand. biggrin.gif
MADReaLJL
post Apr 18 2008, 07:13 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Mar 31 2008, 03:43 PM)
If it's his opinion that Agger is a better player whether it be because he is better looking or whatever, let it be. It is a thread for discussion and he made his point. If you disagree, so be it.

Agger hasn't played in enough games to warrant a comparison at this point. When he has played however, he has showed composure on the ball. Defensively, Liverpool has one of the best defences in the league and yet people don't rate Reina, Carra or any of our defenders which baffles me. What is it? Is Lady Luck Scouse? Some may say that a defenders job is purely to defend (i.e. Carra) but a defender can also contribute to the attack. Many attacks start from the back. If a defender is unassured or uncomfortable on the ball, he'll tend to hoof it up the park and possession is lost. If on the other hand, he is composed on the ball, he retains possession. Vidic may be better defensively but I think you have to consider a defenders overall contribution to the game i.e. Roberto Carlos is crap at defending but excellent getting forward.

Vidic vs Agger? Man Utd vs Liverpool? Seems it's a case of this. Well let's look at it this way. You say Terry, Ferdinand, Alex & Carvalho are the best in the league. You didn't mention who the 5th player was so can I assume it's Vidic? If this is the case, how is it we have a defensive record comparable to the other top sides with average defenders like Carra and Agger? Can I assume this is where the argument that we are a defensive team comes into play?
i think this already been discussed way before
liverpool played more defensive than man utd and arsenal
chelsea i dun know tongue.gif
Duke Red
post Apr 18 2008, 12:05 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Apr 18 2008, 07:13 AM)
i think this already been discussed way before
liverpool played more defensive than man utd and arsenal
chelsea i dun know tongue.gif
It depends on your definition of a 'defensive team' really. You have teams that pull everyone back into their own half and park the bus in front of the goal, much like what smaller teams do against big sides when playing away. I'd be the first to admit that we did this under Gerard Houllier who was ultra defensive. Under Rafa however, whilst we may play deep, we push players forward when attacking. We look like a 4-5-1 on paper but when we attack, it becomes a 4-3-3, with Torres at the fulcrum of the attack and both Kuyt and Babel on either side of him. Stevie then moves up to play behind Torres. Man Utd have scored 72 goals this season thus far, Arsenal 64 and both Liverpool and Chelsea are on 60, not too far behind.

On the subject of Agger vs. Vidic, I personally think Skrtel is more similar to the Serb.
MADReaLJL
post Apr 18 2008, 01:20 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 18 2008, 12:05 PM)
It depends on your definition of a 'defensive team' really. You have teams that pull everyone back into their own half and park the bus in front of the goal, much like what smaller teams do against big sides when playing away. I'd be the first to admit that we did this under Gerard Houllier who was ultra defensive. Under Rafa however, whilst we may play deep, we push players forward when attacking. We look like a 4-5-1 on paper but when we attack, it becomes a 4-3-3, with Torres at the fulcrum of the attack and both Kuyt and Babel on either side of him. Stevie then moves up to play behind Torres. Man Utd have scored 72 goals this season thus far, Arsenal 64 and both Liverpool and Chelsea are on 60, not too far behind.

On the subject of Agger vs. Vidic, I personally think Skrtel is more similar to the Serb.
rafa plays kuyt for his defensive quality
Duke Red
post Apr 18 2008, 02:18 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Apr 18 2008, 01:20 PM)
rafa plays kuyt for his defensive quality
You may take the piss if you wish but this is true. Kuyt if you watch him play works really hard, tracking back and getting forward depending on the situation. It's easy for you to criticise when you play free flowing attacking football. How many teams do that anyway? To an untrained eye, it's all about how fast a team plays and how many shots they attempt on goal. Look a little deeper and you'll notice there are other points of the game one can enjoy or appreciate. How a team plays often reflects how the manager thinks. Liverpool adopt a rather disciplined and tactical game, reflecting how Rafa approaches the game of football.

To say one is better than the other is like saying an aggressive, headstrong person is better than a cautious, more tactical one. If you ask me, it's about being different and not better.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2008, 02:18 PM
heeren
post Apr 18 2008, 03:00 PM

Tennis Enthusiast
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 18 2008, 12:05 PM)

i personally don't think skrtel has the abilites like vidic... in fact i prefer agger to skrtel (skrtel always look all out of sorts - jus my personal opinion when i see him playing - some might beg to differ)... perhaps is skrtel first season... maybe will do well next season like how evra n vidic went thru... needed some time to get used to the pace of the game in EPL...
Duke Red
post Apr 18 2008, 03:18 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(heeren @ Apr 18 2008, 03:00 PM)
i personally don't think skrtel has the abilites like vidic... in fact i prefer agger to skrtel (skrtel always look all out of sorts - jus my personal opinion when i see him playing - some might beg to differ)... perhaps is skrtel first season... maybe will do well next season like how evra n vidic went thru... needed some time to get used to the pace of the game in EPL...
You are right to say that Skrtel has yet to gel into the existing defensive unit. All it takes is a small lapse in concentration and you will be punished. Defensive units are really fragile and have to really keep their concentration levels high at all times. If you are slow to move up for example, you draw opposition players onside, especially when you play the offside trap. If you are not aware of your fellow defenders, you tend to get into a mixup when going in for challenges, etc. Skrtel has yet to fully adapt but you have to consider that he was thrown into the lions den, given that he came at a crucial part of the season for us. He had to play against you lot and against top sides in Europe, something he wasn't accustomed to at Zenit. Individually however I think he is a powerful, uncompromising defender.
livingmonolith
post Apr 18 2008, 03:30 PM

821 posts

skrtel and agger have different styles, but i'd like to think that both players complement each other in the central defensive unit, just the way it was back in the days of hyypia/henchoz or the more recent hyypia/carragher.

agger is more into vision and passing, good control, and reads the game well (young version of hyypia), while skrtel is strong, hard-tackling, and does all the dirty jobs (ala henchoz).

it'll take some time for skrtel to adapt, he's still prone to lapses in concentration now and then, not uncommon for a young CB. even ferdinand was committing woeful errors in his early days while at west ham and leeds. but it's easy to see if that particular player has great potential playing in this position, the only way is for the managers to stick with them and they'll eventually prosper as they mature in both age and experience.

0.0420sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:03 AM