Jan 17 2022, 02:51 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,184 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(seikoho1 @ Jan 17 2022, 02:42 PM) That one quite scary leh, so many sellers with diff packaging with price ranges from rm40 up to 100.Some made in middle east with Arabic words on packaging, some all English If on budget, I usually avoid those cheap cheap established brands as its prone to counterfeit. The thing about mizu is, who wanna copy them lol |
Jan 17 2022, 03:06 PM
1,598 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 17 2022, 02:19 PM) Well.. my old toyota 4AGE 20V blacktop i use cheap FS like tesco brand 5w40 fully and tesco shell 5w40 fully for 5 years no issue till i sold it. That engine is a monster. If you pour pour palm oil in it and tell it its FS, it will do the job. However current engines + the amount fake engine oils around, its quite a risk to take. |
Jan 17 2022, 03:34 PM
877 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(wanna be hi-tech @ Jan 17 2022, 03:06 PM) That engine is a monster. If you pour pour palm oil in it and tell it its FS, it will do the job. However current engines + the amount fake engine oils around, its quite a risk to take. Yeah old engines tolerances bigger. Current engines all tight tight tolerances but jimat minyak la.My sr20ve 20v neo vvl using few years tesco shell fs also no problem. |
Oct 30 2022, 02:12 AM
15 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
I smooth brain so I'll stick with Comma or Proton Oil for my old persona. Or anyone has budget full syn oil to recommend other than mizu?
Oct 30 2022, 02:16 AM
15 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Another thing to consider is, the cert is just a benchmark, a minimum requirement. Better expensive oil far exceeds that requirement. You get what you pay for. There was this post by a chemist angmo in this forum, give it a read. https://cliosport.net/threads/oil-you-get-w...pay-for.104429/
Oct 30 2022, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(CrunchyKitkatZ @ Oct 30 2022, 02:16 AM) Another thing to consider is, the cert is just a benchmark, a minimum requirement. Better expensive oil far exceeds that requirement. You get what you pay for. There was this post by a chemist angmo in this forum, give it a read. https://cliosport.net/threads/oil-you-get-w...pay-for.104429/ Daily cars are ok with the min requirement for normal driving and sprinting occasionally. My previous 4age 20v blacktop using tesco fully syn engine oil also ok. Those track cars probably need min requirement a3/b4. @MAN-kun liked this post
Oct 30 2022, 09:57 AM
4,723 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(CrunchyKitkatZ @ Oct 30 2022, 02:16 AM) Another thing to consider is, the cert is just a benchmark, a minimum requirement. Better expensive oil far exceeds that requirement. You get what you pay for. There was this post by a chemist angmo in this forum, give it a read. https://cliosport.net/threads/oil-you-get-w...pay-for.104429/ A minimum standard's purpose is to establish the lowest baseline that conforms to the recommended operating parameters. As long as your requirement isn't crazy, using a legit product that is certified to meet the standard is good. You don't a laser cutter to chop fruits. @MAN-kun liked this post
Oct 30 2022, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(CrunchyKitkatZ @ Oct 30 2022, 02:16 AM) Another thing to consider is, the cert is just a benchmark, a minimum requirement. Better expensive oil far exceeds that requirement. You get what you pay for. There was this post by a chemist angmo in this forum, give it a read. https://cliosport.net/threads/oil-you-get-w...pay-for.104429/ Btw I reread your statement and you said "Better expensive oil far exceeds that requirement."Do you have any facts or studies done on this? My understanding is aligned with below article. The difference is not huge as you stated. I guess there is an assumption by most people that Group 3 syns are not real synthetic , in a way that's true. Btw a semi syn is a grp II oil mixed with at least 30% group III. The argument about group 3 being not real FS began in 1999 when castrol marketed their Syntec Group 3 (hydrocracked mineral) . Excerpt : "In the late 1990s, Castrol started selling an oil made from Group III base oil and called it SynTec Full Synthetic. Mobil sued Castrol, asserting that this oil was not synthetic, but simply a highly refined petroleum oil, and therefore it was false advertising to call it synthetic. In 1999, Mobil lost their lawsuit. It was decided that the word "synthetic" was a marketing term and referred to properties, not to production methods or ingredients. Castrol continues to make SynTec out of Group III base oils, that is highly purified oil with most all of the cockroach bits removed. Shortly after Mobil lost their lawsuit, most oil companies started reformulating their synthetic oils to use Group III base stocks instead of PAOs or diester stocks as their primary component. Most of the "synthetic oil" you can buy today is actually mostly made of this highly-distilled and purified dino-juice called Group III oil. Group III base oils cost about half as much as the synthetics. By using a blend of mostly Group III oils and a smaller amount of "true" synthetics, the oil companies can produce a product that has nearly the same properties as the "true" synthetics, and nearly the same cost as the Group III oil. In fact, Mobil-1 is now primarily made from Group III unconventional base oils, exactly the stuff Mobil was claiming was not really synthetic. The much more expensive traditional synthetics are now available in their pure forms only in more expensive and harder to obtain oils." So to summarize, there is no need to be pedantic about off the shelf synthetics like Shell Helix Ultra, Castrol Magatec , or Mobil 1 not being "true" FS, their performance is already VERY close to Group IV(Amsoil/REDLINE/ RP) In fact, it has been shown that additives blend in better with the lower base oil. You will be hard pressed to tell a difference at 10000km OCI. To cap this, let me show you a video. @MAN-kun liked this post
Oct 4 2023, 11:48 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: West Malaysia |
so this mizu 0w20 good to go for old 1.0 axia Y2015?
this axia hardly drive.. mileage very low.. less than 5k km per year.. usually using shell eco 0w20, but price doubled the mizu. This post has been edited by spreeeee: Oct 4 2023, 11:50 PM |
Oct 4 2023, 11:51 PM
849 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
May 2 2024, 11:50 PM
410 posts Joined: Jul 2021 |
QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Oct 30 2022, 09:57 AM) A minimum standard's purpose is to establish the lowest baseline that conforms to the recommended operating parameters. As long as your requirement isn't crazy, using a legit product that is certified to meet the standard is good. You don't a laser cutter to chop fruits. so is it overkill to put liqui moly on my gen2 ? |
May 2 2024, 11:57 PM
3,648 posts Joined: Jul 2014 |
2022 mizu 2023 bold 2024 ??? Stay tuned guys, let's see which oil ts recommend after he ditch bold mushigen liked this post
May 3 2024, 12:12 AM
1,887 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
May 3 2024, 12:31 AM
20 posts Joined: May 2022 |
wow so fast join new company adi ah
May 3 2024, 12:33 AM
4,539 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: LocOmoT|oN.L0co|oti0N |
May 3 2024, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(Azran1979 @ May 2 2024, 11:50 PM) Won't la. But there are cheaper options if u wan, even for fully synthetic. QUOTE(ry8128 @ May 2 2024, 11:57 PM) Maybe hipro. Local blend with factory at selangor perindustrian area. They also blends their own oil and their top spec oil quite high spec with ok price with ester. Their cheapest fully oil also only rm65 but only with sm spec. However it is still fully and also boost higher cleaning additives apparently, by up to 30%. Can be used for old cars requiring sm spec and below. QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 3 2024, 12:12 AM) QUOTE(OrientalGopi @ May 3 2024, 12:31 AM) I sad. I never work for any oil company...QUOTE(yehlai @ May 3 2024, 12:33 AM) Maybe hipro. |
May 3 2024, 10:25 AM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
cheap oil later engine rosak more expensive
May 3 2024, 12:34 PM
410 posts Joined: Jul 2021 |