What are my chances ?

TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 12:03 AM, updated 5y ago

2,536 posts

So we went to view a house today, and really liked it, decided to buy it, was about to go to the bank for bank loan tomorrow. I think it slipped the agent mind at that time, but when I was requesting a copy of the title deed of the house, she told me that 3 weeks ago the owner's friend came to view the house too, but according to her, they don't seem interested in the house, if not they would've made preliminaries, that's according to what she said.

So anyway, this agent is supposedly told me she will try her level best and put in good words for us to the owner, and to let the owner know we are very keen and have already decided to buy it right away as long as the owner give the nod to the agent. So I'm thinking, since the other party I assume, is still in the process of considering ( since 3 weeks ago ), whereas for us we have already decided and confirm to buy, what are our chances honestly ?

LATEST UPDATES - Called agent just now, she told me that she wants us to place a deposit, and then proceed to get bank loan approval, so I asked her, can I place it now ? She said no, wait for the owner reply, if the owner accepts our deposit, then we can proceed to pay the deposit, so now we are back to square one, still waiting for the owner to give the agent a reply whether or not they wan to accept our deposit.

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Nov 30 2021, 10:05 AM
kidmad
post Nov 30 2021, 12:48 AM

4,482 posts

bull shit technique from the agent
mini orchard
post Nov 30 2021, 06:23 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 12:03 AM)
So we went to view a house today, and really liked it, decided to buy it, was about to go to the bank for bank loan tomorrow. I think it slipped the agent mind at that time, but when I was requesting a copy of the title deed of the house, she told me that 3 weeks ago the owner's friend came to view the house too, but according to her, they don't seem interested in the house, if not they would've made preliminaries, that's according to what she said.

So anyway, this agent is supposedly told me she will try her level best and put in good words for us to the owner, and to let the owner know we are very keen and have already decided to buy it right away as long as the owner give the nod to the agent. So I'm thinking, since the other party I assume, is still in the process of considering ( since 3 weeks ago ), whereas for us we have already decided and confirm to buy, what are our chances honestly ?
I believed you have offered a much lower price than what the seller is asking and the agent is trying to convince the seller to accept the deal. There is NO necessity for any good words about the buyer OTHER than the price .... which I think the agent said ....and that is an agent lingo.

Buying property is not about match making. Why would a seller want to know his buyer is Indian, Chinese or Malay, married or single, etc.

Seller is ONLY interested to know if the buyer CAN pay .... the basic principle of a sale. If he cannot complete the purchase he can always forfeit the deposit and look for the next buyer.

No agent or seller will give a copy of the title deed to the 'buyer' without signing the Earnest Letter and paying a deposit.

Banks will not normally entertain loan application without the Earnest Letter in a subsale.

Conclusion ....

If you offered the price a genuine seller wanted, he will sell.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 30 2021, 08:30 AM
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 08:57 AM

2,536 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 30 2021, 06:23 AM)
I believed you have offered a much lower price than what the seller is asking and the agent is trying to convince the seller to accept the deal. There is NO necessity for any good words about the buyer OTHER than the price .... which I think the agent said ....and that is an agent lingo.

Buying property is not about match making. Why would a seller want to know his buyer is Indian, Chinese or Malay, married or single, etc.

Seller is ONLY interested to know if the buyer CAN pay .... the basic principle of a sale. If he cannot complete the purchase  he can always forfeit the deposit and look for the next buyer.

No agent or seller will give a copy of the title deed to the 'buyer' without signing the Earnest Letter and paying a deposit.

Banks will not normally entertain loan application without the Earnest Letter in a subsale.

Conclusion ....

If you offered the price a genuine seller wanted, he will sell.
Hmm, but the property is at 600k, priced by the agent at 600k. So we did not ask for any nego of the property, does this means that the agent / owner is not keen to sell us the property at it's valued or stated price point, or is all these just a stunt from the agent in order for her to buy time to let the owner consider ? Should I bear any hope to continue to wait further ?

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Nov 30 2021, 09:02 AM
mini orchard
post Nov 30 2021, 09:33 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 08:57 AM)
Hmm, but the property is at 600k, priced by the agent at 600k. So we did not ask for any nego of the property, does this means that the agent / owner is not keen to sell us the property at it's valued or stated price point, or is all these just a stunt from the agent in order for her to buy time to let the owner consider ? Should I bear any hope to continue to wait further ?
It is unlikely buyer pay advertised price UNLESS there is some real advantages to buy the property irrespective of the askng price. There will be other better properties if the only reason is 'LIKE'

As long owner or his agent has not collected a deposit, a seller is at liberty to change his decision.

Since you are paying asking price, the agent can proceed to collect a deposit and you sign the earnest letter to be forwarded to the owner.....have you done that ?
InitialB
post Nov 30 2021, 09:36 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 12:03 AM)

Dia tipu. Agent want get comission from seller and buyer.

Penipu scammer la...

Ade wang ade rumah.

I'm a seller too.

Who paid deposit first who get the house.
C_ST
post Nov 30 2021, 09:39 AM

313 posts

Maybe the seller is not in a rush to sell OR even no plan to sell. Kind of 'cincai anything' seller, just pass key to agent, if price ngam then sell, price not ngam then just continue put up for viewing since the seller does not need to pay anything until a deal is closed.

Btw, agree with above... should not pay advertised price, at least 1K cheaper also make better sense. If u pay at advertised price, this shows u r more eager to buy and u lost ur bargaining power
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 09:41 AM

2,536 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Nov 30 2021, 09:36 AM)
Dia tipu. Agent want get comission from seller and buyer.

Penipu scammer la...

Ade wang ade rumah.

I'm a seller too.

Who paid deposit first who get the house.
So macam ni how ? Agent ada highlight cakap, " I hope you know my processing fee of 1% is due to be pay upon SPA signing " of course this one we know, we are ready and prepared to pay for 1% agent fee, so apa masalah ? Memang tipu ke atau betul betul cakap ? So do we wait ? Sebab if agent dont release copy of title deed for us, how we go bank ? We can't proceed with bank unless agent say Ok, u now pay deposit first, then u go do bank loan.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 30 2021, 09:33 AM)
It is unlikely buyer pay advertised price UNLESS there is some real advantages to buy the property irrespective of the askng price. There will be other better properties if the only reason is 'LIKE'

As long owner or his agent has not collected a deposit, a seller is at liberty to change his decision.

Since you are paying asking price, the agent can proceed to collect a deposit and you sign the earnest letter to be forwarded to the owner.....have you done that ?
We viewed the house yesterday, decided to buy it, and was plan to go to bank for bank loan today, but yesterday we requested for the copy of title deed of the house to show the bank, but that's when agent told me about there's this other party, who is the owner's friend who viewed the house 3 weeks ago, so owner is now asking his friends if they still interested, if they not, then agent will proceed to give us copy of a title deed, what do u think of all of this ?

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Nov 30 2021, 09:42 AM
C_ST
post Nov 30 2021, 09:44 AM

313 posts

TS, u better state ur location, or else will got people shoot y u as buyer need to pay 1% to agent. Coz different state have different 'practice'
TSSotsotzaii

2,536 posts

QUOTE(C_ST @ Nov 30 2021, 09:44 AM)
TS, u better state ur location, or else will got people shoot y u as buyer need to pay 1% to agent. Coz different state have different 'practice'
Johor Bahru, town area. The house is old double storey semi-D, not newly built.

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Nov 30 2021, 09:45 AM
InitialB

700 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 09:41 AM)
So macam ni how ? Agent ada highlight cakap, " I hope you know my processing fee of 1% is due to be pay upon SPA signing " of course this one we know, we are ready and prepared to pay for 1% agent fee, so apa masalah ? Memang tipu ke atau betul betul cakap ? So do we wait ? Sebab if agent dont release copy of title deed for us, how we go bank ? We can't proceed with bank unless agent say Ok, u now pay deposit first, then u go do bank loan.
We viewed the house yesterday, decided to buy it, and was plan to go to bank for bank loan today, but yesterday we requested for the copy of title deed of the house to show the bank, but that's when agent told me about there's this other party, who is the owner's friend who viewed the house 3 weeks ago, so owner is now asking his friends if they still interested, if they not, then agent will proceed to give us copy of a title deed, what do u think of all of this ?
From your reply.... All is wrong already doh.gif

You better consult an agent.
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 09:46 AM

2,536 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Nov 30 2021, 09:44 AM)
From your reply.... All is wrong already  doh.gif

You better consult an agent.
That is the agent we are dealing with, and according to this agent, she told us to go to the bank, get a bank loan first, once approved already, then give the bank staff her number, and she will take it from there, that's all we were told. But now the agent is saying another party is considering, which is the owner's friend, so the owner need to ask the friend first if they wan or not, so we are like hanging on air.
InitialB
post Nov 30 2021, 09:47 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 09:46 AM)
That is the agent we are dealing with, and according to this agent, she told us to go to the bank, get a bank loan first, once approved already, then give the bank staff her number, and she will take it from there, that's all we were told. But now the agent is saying another party is considering, which is the owner's friend, so the owner need to ask the friend first if they wan or not, so we are like hanging on air.
If you dah sign SPA, if the seller failed to sell you the house or jalan itu SPA...

Buat report polis. Get a lawyer. Sue seller for compensation. Free money. (Must get a loan approve first)

Tak payah cakap ape title deed la. Go take bank loan. Show SPA. Anything get the agent to get the deed.

This post has been edited by InitialB: Nov 30 2021, 09:49 AM
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 09:54 AM

2,536 posts

QUOTE(InitialB @ Nov 30 2021, 09:47 AM)
If you dah sign SPA, if the seller failed to sell you the house or jalan itu SPA...

Buat report polis. Get a lawyer. Sue seller for compensation. Free money. (Must get a loan approve first)

Tak payah cakap ape title deed la. Go take bank loan. Show SPA. Anything get the agent to get the deed.
Yes for this part we understand, but we are at the very start, basically my situation now is, we are waiting for agent to give us the go ahead to go to bank, because now agent say got other party considering 3 weeks ago, so the owner of that property need to ask that other party first, if that other party tak nak, then agent will let us know, then only we can go bank, otherwise we go bank also no use right if agent didn't tell us to proceed ?
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 10:05 AM

2,536 posts

1st Post updated.
Iceman74
post Nov 30 2021, 10:07 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 09:54 AM)
Yes for this part we understand, but we are at the very start, basically my situation now is, we are waiting for agent to give us the go ahead to go to bank, because now agent say got other party considering 3 weeks ago, so the owner of that property need to ask that other party first, if that other party tak nak, then agent will let us know, then only we can go bank, otherwise we go bank also no use right if agent didn't tell us to proceed ?
Just give your ultimation end date to deal or no deal....
No point argue or afraid lose out a good deal.
Just walk out if the seller no give respond.

anyway, is it the agent not direct appointed from the seller?
Some agent work in groups and try earn commission from the appointed seller agents to whoever can find buyer

I think most properly the "said" interested party trying hard to get loan approval, if cannot then fall back to you.
How many banks that interested trying to get loan and how long to "trying" is up in the air if the seller trying hard to help this "third party"

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Nov 30 2021, 10:11 AM
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 10:09 AM

2,536 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Nov 30 2021, 10:07 AM)
Just give your ultimation end date to deal or no deal....
No point argue or afraid lose out a good deal.
Just walk out if the seller no give respond.

anyway, is it the agent not direct appointed from the seller?
Some agent work in groups and try earn commission from the appointed seller agents to whoever can find buyer
Agent is direct appointed by owner, basically now the agent and us, we are waiting for the owner's reply to whether or not owner want to accept our deposit, because according to agent, owner MUST say whether or not he accept our deposit, before we can even place a deposit, that correct ?
Iceman74
post Nov 30 2021, 10:15 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 10:09 AM)
Agent is direct appointed by owner, basically now the agent and us, we are waiting for the owner's reply to whether or not owner want to accept our deposit, because according to agent, owner MUST say whether or not he accept our deposit, before we can even place a deposit, that correct ?
yes cos it the deposit is a binding contract. If seller don't want sell, the agent will get the commission and you will get return of the deposit. Seller will lose the agent commission at very least and may need to pay you whatever cost incurred but all this depending on your "location" way of selling properties.

How the agent get the commission if need to return the deposit is another matters agent need to find way cos seller will surely "reluctant" pay out the commission plus the deposit which make the matter worse. Some agents scare of this situation if the seller not pay them the commission which they entitled since they already done their job.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Nov 30 2021, 10:20 AM
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 30 2021, 10:16 AM

2,536 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Nov 30 2021, 10:15 AM)
yes cos it the deposit is a binding contract. If seller don't want sell, the agent will get the commission and you will get return of the deposit. Seller will lose the agent commission at very least and may need to pay you whatever cost incurred but all this depending on your "location" way of selling properties.
I see, so now all we can do is wait for agent to give us an update from the owner ?
Iceman74
post Nov 30 2021, 10:23 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 30 2021, 10:16 AM)
I see, so now all we can do is wait for agent to give us an update from the owner ?
yes if you insist and really like the house. The seller/agent might play some trick and try hike/jack up the price like bidding war brows.gif

Take this time and can try look around for better bargain or at least better price comparison for just in case biggrin.gif

the market should be in buyer favour now but since it JB, don't know lor

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Nov 30 2021, 10:27 AM

0.0175sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:12 AM