Toyota Sienta any gooding?

X1X1
post Nov 3 2021, 07:28 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Nov 3 2021, 04:52 AM)
I'm interested to know if there's any hidden issues with this car as surprisingly for a Toyota it didn't sell in big numbers.
Not that attractive a deal also.

Malaysia buyer attitude, for small car with high prices tag (90k-100k).
Small family will choose Alza with half prices.
Some prefer top up for Serena.
Hipster will go for Wish/Stream/alphard.

btw Malaysian not really in to MPV, especially small MPV with no status but expensive prices tags.

kcchong2000
post Nov 3 2021, 07:56 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 3 2021, 05:39 AM)
Serena is not a true hybrid car.
By right it should not use the word 'hybrid'
It only uses a bigger lorry battery to keep the rest of electronics running during stoppages when the petrol engine is cut off.
Takpe. Janji boleh park kat green car parking.
Yveatel
post Nov 3 2021, 08:16 AM

880 posts

I am shopping for mini-mpv, after test drive, sitting at the back, and price, here is my conclusion:

1) Nissan Serena Hybrid
Spacious
Battery need to change 2 batteries every year or two, if you lucky, 3 years.

2) Proton Exora
3rd Row seat sucks. Even my 5 years old daughter feel cramp.

3) Perodua Alza
No rear air-cond, size wise feels smaller. perhaps due to design even though the size is same as Sienta.

4) Honda Freed
No rear air-cond

5) Honda BRV
3rd Row Bumpy

6) Perodua Aruz
Looks big but inside actually quite small and tight

7) Toyota Sienta
Underpower. Wind Noise when I sit at 3rd row.

All in all, I choose Sienta due to its practicality. Since I am carrying my 2 kids (which need car seat), so it is very comfy for the kids. Besides that, the function of keeping 1 3rd row seat underneath meaning I can carry one person at 3rd row and some space to put my baggage when balik kampung. Most of the cars mentioned above fold the 3rd row totally.
sanosizo
post Nov 3 2021, 08:39 AM

4,553 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Nov 3 2021, 08:16 AM)
I am shopping for mini-mpv, after test drive, sitting at the back, and price, here is my conclusion:

1) Nissan Serena Hybrid
Spacious
Battery need to change 2 batteries every year or two, if you lucky, 3 years.

2) Proton Exora
3rd Row seat sucks. Even my 5 years old daughter feel cramp.

3) Perodua Alza
No rear air-cond, size wise feels smaller. perhaps due to design even though the size is same as Sienta.

4) Honda Freed
No rear air-cond

5) Honda BRV
3rd Row Bumpy

6) Perodua Aruz
Looks big but inside actually quite small and tight

7) Toyota Sienta
Underpower. Wind Noise when I sit at 3rd row.

All in all, I choose Sienta due to its practicality. Since I am carrying my 2 kids (which need car seat), so it is very comfy for the kids. Besides that, the function of keeping 1 3rd row seat underneath meaning I can carry one person at 3rd row and some space to put my baggage when balik kampung. Most of the cars mentioned above fold the 3rd row totally.
Ertiga has split 3rd row seat as well and the seats are proper sized for adults. The only downside is when 3rd row seats are up, you have literally no luggage space lol.
Yveatel
post Nov 3 2021, 08:42 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 3 2021, 08:39 AM)
Ertiga has split 3rd row seat as well and the seats are proper sized for adults. The only downside is when 3rd row seats are up, you have literally no luggage space lol.
Ertiga not in my list due to problems between Proton and Suzuki. Other than that, I do look at Ertiga before realise the problems.
DarkNite
post Nov 3 2021, 08:52 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Nov 3 2021, 08:42 AM)
Ertiga not in my list due to problems between Proton and Suzuki. Other than that, I do look at Ertiga before realise the problems.
Serena 3rd row is split, and fold up to the side to park a Honda EX5.
accordvtec
post Nov 3 2021, 08:54 AM

107 posts

all those that recommend nissan serena got no idea how vulnerable of the lousy cvt which need thousands of ringgit to repair.

NataM
post Nov 3 2021, 09:17 AM

19 posts

On my list before. But no more sale.

In the end Avanza.

Yveatel
post Nov 3 2021, 09:48 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(NataM @ Nov 3 2021, 09:17 AM)
On my list before.  But no more sale.

In the end Avanza.
Avanza, kinda jumpy.
wa89waha
post Nov 3 2021, 09:53 AM

38 posts

eyeing Nissan serena E power, wondering Tan Chong group will bring it into malaysia or not
SUSBillCollector
post Nov 3 2021, 02:45 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(Csgopro123 @ Nov 3 2021, 07:11 AM)
See Ayam genius know why TS want to buy it .. bet u guys never thought of it

Btw kangoo not fugly meh TS?

But yes surprisingly can last long, I tot Renault is ..... Ahem.....
It has indeed surprised me because it was bought 2nd hand where the previous owner said it was “temperamental” and indeed it was as warning lights would come on for no reason at all.

Fugly? Well I actually don’t drive it and to be frank all that have to drive it don’t really care either as they’re grateful the wheelchair can RORO rather than needing to remove the patient from the wheel chair and then loading the patient onto the wheelchair again at destination.

QUOTE(X1X1 @ Nov 3 2021, 07:28 AM)
Malaysia buyer attitude, for small car with high prices tag (90k-100k).
Small family will choose Alza with half prices.
Some prefer top up for Serena.
Hipster will go for Wish/Stream/alphard.

btw Malaysian not really in to MPV, especially small MPV with no status but expensive prices tags.
That does make sense.

QUOTE(Yveatel @ Nov 3 2021, 08:16 AM)

Good to see this reply.

Has it held up well and to your expectations?

How’s the fuel consumption like?

QUOTE(accordvtec @ Nov 3 2021, 08:54 AM)
all those that recommend nissan serena got no idea how vulnerable of the lousy cvt which need thousands of ringgit to repair.
That’s a definite concern, to be honest unless it’s a Honda, Toyota or Subaru, it should be avoided if problem free is what you’re after. Heat, load and torque are its main enemies.

Yveatel
post Nov 4 2021, 08:59 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Nov 3 2021, 02:45 PM)

Good to see this reply.

Has it held up well and to your expectations?

How’s the fuel consumption like?

I cannot comment much on fuel consumption. Since I got it during MCO period, and hardly drive. Drove a 2 hour journey back to hometown once after MCO lifted, and looks good so far.

So far, I am still quite happy with the functions available. The 3rd row a bit small after put the kid's car booster, but still ok.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0174sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:59 PM