tax for oversea trading /dividend, its become more complicated

dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 07:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 31 2021, 06:25 PM)
Covered call limits your upside potential, but volatile growth stocks can jump a lot. tongue.gif

But yes you are right, just that I don't have that much money as a fund manager anyway.
if you don't have 100 stocks to sell... OK lah can't do much

I'm 100% sure you are the super safe diversify low volatile long term hold type investor... so no need to talk about volatile growth stocks lah... hahaha

anyways your thinking is wrong wrt limiting upside potential... whilst it is true per se, an astute investor also knows when to take some profit off the table, and happy to do so, and selling calls/puts actually helps supplements long term investment...

when I wanna sell I actually have a few target prices and sell in tranches... it's the same with buying... whilst you can't really catch the perfect top or bottom, scaling in and out gives me higher chances to do it...

anyways I'm sure you will change your mind when you are more experienced and have a big account... wink.gif
dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 07:46 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 31 2021, 07:30 PM)
6% ? That is too low for oversea invest.
he count only dividend laugh.gif
dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 08:57 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 31 2021, 08:14 PM)
My view is a bit different. The only astute investor is the finance controllers of the company. They are the true insiders who can price securities exactly. There isn't any alpha (over the long run) for a typical active fund managers, let alone retail investors. 

Happy new year to everyone.
sure is ok to have a different view... you have plenty of time to find out you are wrong... laugh.gif just remember I told you so in Dec 31, 2021... hehehe

happy and prosperous new year everyone thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Dec 31 2021, 08:57 PM
dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 09:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 31 2021, 09:08 PM)
Suggest you to diversify. "All" in US isn't very healthy. Plus post-2026, if tax on foreign income for individuals resume, and no MY-US tax treaty, then dividend income will be taxed heavily.
with a tax treaty... both governments follow the bilateral tax agreement

without a tax treaty... Malaysia will use its unilateral method to asses tax credit

both calc on tax credit looks about the same... I just glance over few weeks ago so can't recall for sure, but you can look it up... so it's not really "taxed heavily"... don't go scaring ppl lah... hahaha

This post has been edited by dwRK: Dec 31 2021, 09:30 PM
dwRK
post Dec 31 2021, 09:55 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 31 2021, 09:41 PM)

How does the unilateral method work? That means the government decide on itself how much not to tax?
correct... the gov tries to be fair and not to penalize ppl unnecessarily...

So in the absence of a bilateral treaty, they apply I think same calculation as if there is a treaty...
dwRK
post Mar 14 2022, 01:34 PM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2022, 10:10 AM)
So the foreign income tax is still jalan?

Never cancel at all.
foreign sourced foreign income... continue exemption

local sourced foreign income... always taxable but ppl continue evasion

This post has been edited by dwRK: Mar 14 2022, 01:59 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0176sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:24 AM