4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[2021] MacBook Pro w/ M1 Pro/Max Discussion Thread, All systems Pro.

andrewtho
post Nov 16 2021, 10:18 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Man, been watching so many videos about the 16 inch Macbook Pro - kena poison kao2
andrewtho
post Nov 16 2021, 11:12 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 16 2021, 10:24 AM)
Nice bro, I'm eyeing at the 14" for portability and this year's 14/16 has smaller gaps compared to previous models..
I think the 16 inch is still portable enough, had the Intel i9 one previously and I carried it everyday to work.

This time just gonna use it stationary on my desk without a monitor so 16 inch makes more sense than a 14.

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Nov 16 2021, 10:44 AM)
haha. we are the same. Already decided to go for 16. But still torn 16GB or 32GB. I use it for high resolution (61MP) photo editing.
Nice, won’t go wrong with 16 or 32GB honestly.

I don’t think I will be able to fully maximize the use case of a Macbook Pro but I’m just going for that Mini LED screen and new chassis.
andrewtho
post Nov 17 2021, 10:36 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Seems like it’s been 4 weeks since the announcement, still no sound from Apple Malaysia and the retailers.

Daunting wait begins
andrewtho
post Nov 17 2021, 12:41 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Apple did say they support High Impedance Headphones with the 3.5mm jack, wonder if its powerful enough to support 250ohm headphones
andrewtho
post Nov 20 2021, 05:59 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Looking at the colors, might be getting the Silver one for a change. Over the years been on #TeamSpaceGray , will do a different shade this time.

andrewtho
post Nov 20 2021, 06:36 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 20 2021, 06:26 PM)
Been hearing many times that the silver has a ‘magical’ feel to it on the new MacBook design, which only can tell in person…so I’m waiting to see what magical feel it is laugh.gif
Interesting.

Waiting for Machines / Switch to launch it (hopefully next week) so I can get my hands on it.
andrewtho
post Nov 22 2021, 07:45 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 22 2021, 01:42 PM)
You can get it from apple store online, base model should be able to get super fast, maybe within days..smile.gif
Need at least 2-3 weeks thou, looking at the timing.
andrewtho
post Nov 22 2021, 10:24 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 22 2021, 07:55 PM)
Yea first batch base model was 1-3 days, now 2-3 weeks, soon 5-6 weeks…can’t imagine customer units will take how long, now custom ram already take 1-2 months, later might take 2-3 months sweat.gif
Yeah man, I'm just getting the base 1TB version - any additional variants will lose value in the second-hand market.

Do share your poison once you've gotten it rclxm9.gif
andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 10:16 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Hence why casings are never good option for laptops, regardless if its Macbooks or a Windows Laptop.

The heat alone will not be dissipated well, and under heavy loads will further stress this. If you want protection, a skin is your best option.

Otherwise, a pouch / bag is your best friend. I will never recommend anyone to use a casing for their laptops, ever.
andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 01:47 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Done. Placed order via Machines online, hopefully can get it by this week.
andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 02:03 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 23 2021, 01:59 PM)
most likely tomorrow then
Nice! share pics!
woahhh nice bro, PO from machines can get earlier than apple store? which variant and colour you pick?
16’ 1TB variant.

Should be sufficient for my usage la since I’m no creator or a creative person.

Yeah based on my experience with Machines, usually will get it by Friday / Saturday latest.

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Nov 23 2021, 02:04 PM

andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 02:19 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Lol the 1TB variant of the 16 already sold out - means they only have very limited units.
andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 02:42 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(yisien @ Nov 23 2021, 02:19 PM)
UPS tracking not updated one right? Apple told me it is out for delivery but the tracking not shown in the UPS website.
Yeah its not a real time update, but once you get the notification from Apple then its accurate.

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 23 2021, 02:36 PM)
Nice bro!! good choice…I was so sure to go with 14” until I compare with the 16 2019, and I know I need the 16” (going to enjoy the superb display + ProMotion (after seeing the difference between iPhones 12Pm to 13PM) now im looking forward to this..If not creator or coder then this machine will be hell of a superb one (even if you are creator it’s superb) biggrin.gif yes the 1tb will be more future proof and you don’t need to worry about getting an external ssd if you really need them space one day..

Friday/Saturday is soon! Meanwhile can hunt for sleeve/bags etc if you don’t already have one smile.gif
Thanks smile.gif
Yeap I bet they only have 2 if not 1 kept for batch 1, next batch will be long from now laugh.gif
Yea sometimes system stuck or stop updating and people get surprise delivery, especially from UPS and DHL biggrin.gif
Friday / Saturday is a wishful thinking la, but based on my experience should be around that timing.

Most probably will get a sleeve, but not many available now.

andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 02:59 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 23 2021, 02:48 PM)
Haha if you are not in urgent rush then no issue la, still going to get it within a week anyways smile.gif

can buy sleeves for 16", there are plenty out there.. was at lowyat plaza earlier and they have so many types.. targus, uniq etc etc..anyway getting a sleeve is a wise choice.. no need a bag coz the gigantic battery bank is enough to last you full day if not more.. even if you run heavy tasks you should be getting 10 hours of use easily.. smile.gif that was also one of the thing came to mind when deciding 14/16..
Yeah, I’m actually going outstation tomorrow until Friday, so no rush for me.

Will probably wait out for Nomad to bring in the new cases for the 16’. Yes, the 10-11hours battery is the main deciding factor for me too, compared to my current Razer Blade - a paltry 2 hours average lol!

andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 03:50 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 23 2021, 03:39 PM)
Congratulations on your new machine guys~! Enjoiceeee!

By the way, can i ask if you guys are using it as a tool to make money? like being a youtuber/content creator etc etc?

Why i'm asking this is, because i am using a macbook only for entertainment purposes, watching youtube/netflix/surfing/light gaming, etc etc.

I have my office laptop to work on extensive excel/word documents.

So I have hard time justifying paying like up to 5 figure for an entertainment laptop to be honest.  sweat.gif
1) Color Accuracy. I use Lightroom / Photoshop.
2) Ports.
3) Screen estate
4) Pro Motion - I’m downgrading from a 240hz/165hz to 120hz adaptive display, its the least I can do for my sacrifice.
5) Better thermals

The Pros are not for everyone, its for the hardcore / enthusiast only - most people are fine with the Air or Base M1.

Just like cars - you have a car for enthusiast, you have a car for the functional people.

andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 04:55 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Fuh so many 16 inch babies today, congrats!
andrewtho
post Nov 23 2021, 07:39 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 23 2021, 05:54 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Waiting for delivery, then can play FM in its full glory 😛
andrewtho
post Nov 24 2021, 05:03 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 24 2021, 04:53 PM)
no unboxing video, only pics biggrin.gif its very pretty (and poisonous biggrin.gif) and feels premium in person..both 14” and 16” are heavy (so if you are in dilemma, just grab the 16” for the bigger screen/battery) weight ratio I would say 6:8 between the 14/16…compared to previous model 13/16 would be 4:9….oh and the silver did gave me this ‘magical feel’ when I unbox it (as shared by some youtubers on their review vids) it feels very premium (mostly from the colour constrast), from outside the black apple reflecting logo blends super well with the bright silver, from inside, the full black keyboard blends well with the silver…I went to machines one utama this morning to see both 14/16 in space grey and I wasn’t impressed with them, but the silver feels very refreshing and ‘expensive’ this time around..I’m glad I chose silver and its growing on me, the more I look at it the more I’m in love with the colour haha…btw these are just personal opinion and thoughts smile.gif hope these will help you folks who are considering or in dilemma, as you will unlikely to see any silver mbps on the shelves (they are all space grey)..also the notch, having use MacBooks for over a decade, I think the notch on the new mbps are non existence, I hardly even notice them around!

Damn the Silver does look good, glad I chose this color as well.
andrewtho
post Nov 24 2021, 05:43 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(IntensiveBytes @ Nov 24 2021, 05:09 PM)
Appears that thus far our retailers do not have the 16” M1 Max variant yet?
Yes they did, the Max was available online for a short stint around 2pm and was quickly snapped up. I suspect they have very limited units only.
andrewtho
post Nov 24 2021, 08:46 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 24 2021, 07:29 PM)
he bought this
Lol seems like you’re advertising for me tongue.gif

Machines shipped out my order, hopefully can reach by Friday else not sure if Gdex allow me to change delivery address confused.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:35 AM