21 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Unifi to stop offering public IP to < 100mbps cust, Habis P2P?

ben3003
post Oct 15 2021, 03:55 PM

10,860 posts

this will affect online gaming, especially those game where if u use lobby, it will be the main server, but when the party created, it will be local host. This one i seen in destiny 2, hanching liao like tat if NAT type 3.
bee88
post Oct 15 2021, 04:00 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Oct 15 2021, 03:31 PM)
then people who dont mind to behind private IP should be given discount no?
its okay for TM to proceed with this exercise, but they need to make sure that people that are impacted have the option to get their dynamic public IP back. a clear 'NO, use IPv6' on the faq will just make people furious, especially for people who did host something on their home network.
Can get back la. I got back dy mine. Private to public. Just need to call and everything settled in 2 hours.
TSyongtjunkit
post Oct 15 2021, 04:01 PM

2,517 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 15 2021, 04:00 PM)
Can get back la. I got back dy mine. Private to public.  Just need to call and everything settled in 2 hours.
Hmm, this guy can't seem to get his back hmm.gif
QUOTE(bugipunch @ Oct 15 2021, 12:11 PM)
i ask tm for public ip tm say cannot:( Looks like have to get another contract for fiber package. Tm tech said mine is already private ip.
zerorating
post Oct 15 2021, 04:02 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 15 2021, 04:00 PM)
Can get back la. I got back dy mine. Private to public.  Just need to call and everything settled in 2 hours.
we know TM will backtrack a bit.
they think the whole internet is ipv6 ready meh?
the company that i work hardly speak about ipv6 macam taboo topic already laugh.gif
bee88
post Oct 15 2021, 04:03 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Oct 15 2021, 03:47 PM)
Mind to explain more about the non-cloud cctv that will be affected by this? Say a non-cloud cctv that connected to the local dvr, to view it through the net mean I have to go through the provider side only reach mine local dvr?

Why can't I connect the dvr to internet and directly view it over the net?
Because non cloud dVr need public ip to direct the connection to the dvr.

Usually they use dns to fix a certain hostname.

From the hostname they can identify the public ip.

If u get private ip, hiding behind one public ip, your hostname only recognize the public up. Bbut then there is no forwarding to your private ip, so cannot fetch data from your dVr.
bee88
post Oct 15 2021, 04:04 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Oct 15 2021, 04:01 PM)
Hmm, this guy can't seem to get his back  hmm.gif
You don’t simply say want public ip. They don’t entertain.
Skylinestar
post Oct 15 2021, 04:09 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Oct 15 2021, 04:02 PM)
we know TM will backtrack a bit.
they think the whole internet is ipv6 ready meh?
the company that i work hardly speak about ipv6 macam taboo topic already  laugh.gif
My 4G usb modem ipv4 only. Lmao
wkn
post Oct 15 2021, 04:10 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Oct 15 2021, 04:04 PM)
You don’t simply say want public ip. They don’t entertain.
then say what? threaten them with SKMM & LOD?
SUSbananajoe
post Oct 15 2021, 04:12 PM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

Many Internet Service Providers implement a network configuration technique known as carrier-grade NAT or large-scale NAT. Wikipedia describes carrier-grade NAT:

“Carrier-grade NAT (CGN), also known as large-scale NAT (LSN), is an approach to IPv4 network design in which end sites, in particular residential networks, are configured with private network addresses that are translated to public IPv4 addresses by middlebox network address translator devices embedded in the network..."

Carrier-grade NAT, or CGN from here on, solves an IP addressing problem for ISPs, but causes a variety of problems for their customers. These problems are caused by CGN essentially interrupting what should be end-to-end connections, such as those established by Screens when connecting to a remote computer. For further information, see Assessing the Impact of NAT444 on Network Applications.

The following symptoms are associated with CGN-affected Screens connections:

Upon initiating a Screens connection to the IP address in question, the application will display "Connecting..." but the connection is never established.
The Screens diagnostics report will include a time-out error.
The remote IP address will fall within the range of 100.64.0.0 - 100.127.255.255. This block of addresses is set aside for "private" networks, such as ISPs.
You can check whether you’re on a CGN network by visiting a Web site such as ipaddress.com or whatsmyip.com and comparing the IP address listed to the public/WAN IP address assigned to your Internet gateway. To find your gateway’s public IP address, check the status page in the administrative interface. If the two IP addresses differ, you’re likely on a CGN network. If so, you will have trouble establishing Screens connections to the network in question, but it may be possible to request a static IP address from your ISP to avoid connectivity issues.

https://help.edovia.com/hc/en-us/articles/1...Large-Scale-NAT
differ
post Oct 15 2021, 04:15 PM

404 posts

So many ppl hosting own servers at home?
bee88
post Oct 15 2021, 04:16 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(wkn @ Oct 15 2021, 04:10 PM)
Say cctv la.
zerorating
post Oct 15 2021, 04:16 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Oct 15 2021, 04:15 PM)
my only concern were incoming torrent connection only biggrin.gif
hovercraft97
post Oct 15 2021, 04:43 PM

396 posts

kinda noob.. how to check if our package already change to private ip?..
zerorating
post Oct 15 2021, 04:47 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(hovercraft97 @ Oct 15 2021, 04:43 PM)
kinda noob.. how to check if our package already change to private ip?..
check your PPPoE IP address on your router WAN settings.

if it is 10.x.x.x, 172.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x, then those are private IP.

this is mine with public ip.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Oct 15 2021, 04:50 PM
brkli
post Oct 15 2021, 04:50 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(wkn @ Oct 15 2021, 04:10 PM)
say why you cannot login to your house CCTV system from outside la.. apa lagi, smart abit la.. you say public, private, the helpdesk might not even know apa lj is that..
hovercraft97
post Oct 15 2021, 04:51 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Oct 15 2021, 04:47 PM)
check your PPPoE IP address on your router WAN settings.

if it is 10.x.x.x, 172.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x, then those are private IP.
owh i see... if i use the website what is my IP.... and then it shows there started with 192.XX.XX.XX.. meaning its private? can i just use that website to check my IP.. will that sufficient enough?

wanna masuk the Wan Settings at my router, im not that technical enough..... silly me..

This post has been edited by hovercraft97: Oct 15 2021, 04:53 PM
zerorating
post Oct 15 2021, 04:56 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(hovercraft97 @ Oct 15 2021, 04:51 PM)
owh i see... if i use the website what is my IP.... and then it shows there started with 192.XX.XX.XX.. meaning its private? can i just use that website to check my IP.. will that sufficient enough?

wanna masuk the Wan Settings at my router, im not that technical enough..... silly me..
no, you cant.
the website wont talk with you if your IP is private, thats the reason why there is large scale CGNAT were taking in place, public IP were given temporarily for that session only.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Oct 15 2021, 04:57 PM
thexs
post Oct 15 2021, 04:58 PM

202 posts

Malaysia is not a massive country but we get shit internet run by fucking clowns.
hovercraft97
post Oct 15 2021, 04:59 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Oct 15 2021, 04:56 PM)
no, you cant.
the website wont talk with you if your IP is private, thats the reason why there is large scale CGNAT were taking in place, public IP were given temporarily for that session only.
i see.. alrite... will cuba2 to try and log in into my WAN settings at my router
soonwai
post Oct 15 2021, 05:36 PM

11,460 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Oct 15 2021, 04:15 PM)
Yeah, for sure but some of them may not even know that they’re doing it. Now those things stop working.

21 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:50 PM