FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Lembu Goreng
post Aug 2 2022, 05:32 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 2 2022, 05:31 PM)
I can. But I choose not to. My investment are basically earning me 1-2 months salary every month (this is all foreign currency).

But I need to make it safer hence I am still working.
Nice bro. Congrats on almost reaching FI

wow1wow2
post Aug 8 2022, 03:51 PM

283 posts

Hi l, I'm 30 y/o this year. I have abit of disposal of income

I dumped all of them to fd and recently I'm looking for other instruments to dump my monies. I have been actively purchasing property with a rental yield of 6percent as roi. But recently I think that property purchase is too much of hassle and I think fd rate is too low.

I'm not keen of bursa because I'm not disciplined enough.

Looking for advices on how to further grow my wealth

This post has been edited by wow1wow2: Aug 8 2022, 03:52 PM
MUM
post Aug 8 2022, 05:55 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(wow1wow2 @ Aug 8 2022, 03:51 PM)

I dumped all of them to fd and recently I'm looking for other instruments to dump my monies. I have been actively purchasing property with a rental yield of 6percent as roi. But recently I think that property purchase is too much of hassle and I think fd rate is too low.

Your used to be roi and satisfied roi is between 2.5% to 6%. With 6% being having abit of risks too.
Try sspn (Ave abt 4%) or ASNB fixed price fund (Ave abt 5.% (difficult to get units) or looking at your net worth ( actively purchasing property)... Then if my assumption is right, go for EPF self contribution if you already had or very near to 1 mil in kwsp.

Ramjade
post Aug 8 2022, 07:42 PM

24,382 posts

I will tell you what my teacher Hansel told me years ago. Don't hold Malaysian currency. It's a useless currency that depreciate yearly.
When a currency depreciate, you are losing purchasing power over time.

The only way to guard yourself from currency depreciation and loss in purchasing power is hold and earn foreign currency which are stronger than RM.

Preventing loss in purchasing power is a strategy to grow your wealth over time. Up to you to think how are you going to earn foreign currency. Lots of way to skin a cat. Choose the one which you are comfortable. Of course holding FD in Malaysia currency is certainly not the way to go.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 8 2022, 07:45 PM
Hansel
post Aug 10 2022, 11:46 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2022, 07:42 PM)
I will tell you what my teacher Hansel told me years ago. Don't hold Malaysian currency. It's a useless currency that depreciate yearly.

The only way to guard yourself from currency depreciation and loss in purchasing power is hold and earn foreign currency which are stronger than RM.

Preventing loss in purchasing power is a strategy to grow your wealth over time. Up to you to think how are you going to earn foreign currency. Lots of way to skin a cat. Choose the one which you are comfortable. Of course holding FD in Malaysia currency is certainly not the way to go.
I appreciated your gratitude here, bro,... thumbsup.gif
honsiong
post Aug 10 2022, 12:13 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2022, 07:42 PM)

And still got heck ton of KWSP fanatics on Lowyat maxing out their contribution every year.

KWSP portfolio value is not free floating, it's almost like a fixed deposit denominated in MYR. When MYR drops, you lose purchasing power, and you don't get the extra profits from exporting companies; when MYR rises, you can't lock in the profit and diversify into other currencies and assets before you retire.

I don't think MYR necessarily depreciates against other currencies, but ppl here are seriously thinking in MYR and not in actual purchasing power. It's extremely short sighted way to manage personal wealth.

This post has been edited by honsiong: Aug 10 2022, 12:16 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 10 2022, 12:26 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 10 2022, 12:13 PM)
And still got heck ton of KWSP fanatics on Lowyat maxing out their contribution every year.

KWSP portfolio value is not free floating, it's almost like a fixed deposit denominated in MYR. When MYR drops, you lose purchasing power, and you don't get the extra profits from exporting companies; when MYR rises, you can't lock in the profit and diversify into other currencies and assets before you retire.

I don't think MYR necessarily depreciates against other currencies, but ppl here are seriously thinking in MYR and not in actual purchasing power. It's extremely short sighted way to manage personal wealth.
That's why I never max my EPF despite I can do it. By maximising EPF means one have faith in the MYR. Something which I don't.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 10 2022, 12:27 PM
honsiong
post Aug 10 2022, 12:48 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 10 2022, 12:26 PM)
That's why I never max my EPF despite I can do it. By maximising EPF means one have faith in the MYR. Something which I don't.
Its better to have some faith, but not total faith in anything. Diversify aggressively, be it currency, accounts, equities, asset type, region etc.
Ramjade
post Aug 10 2022, 01:01 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 10 2022, 12:48 PM)
Its better to have some faith, but not total faith in anything. Diversify aggressively, be it currency, accounts, equities, asset type, region etc.
It's been 7-10 years since I started to move my money overseas. So far history have shown me the RM is still so weak despite given 7-10 years to "correct itself"
kbandito
post Aug 13 2022, 01:55 PM

1,184 posts

It's challenging to find a valid argument that support the bullishness for MYR or Malaysia, really.
MUM
post Aug 13 2022, 02:21 PM

14,929 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ Aug 13 2022, 01:55 PM)
It's challenging to find a valid argument that support the bullishness for MYR or Malaysia, really.
Perhaps that is one of the reasons that our FM said
"Fixation of ringgit versus US dollar must stop, says Tengku Zafrul
By Luqman Hakim
August 6, 2022
https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2022/08/...s-tengku-zafrul

Indirect telling the gomen got no idea how to stop the slides?? 🤔🤔
kbandito
post Aug 13 2022, 02:34 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 13 2022, 02:21 PM)
Perhaps that is one of the reasons that our FM said
"Fixation of ringgit versus US dollar must stop, says Tengku Zafrul
By Luqman Hakim
August 6, 2022
https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2022/08/...s-tengku-zafrul

Indirect telling the gomen got no idea how to stop the slides?? 🤔🤔
yeah but when our trades are denominated in USD i don't know what he is really talking about.

in a decade or two we will be moving the goal post once against to say don't be so fixated with MYR vs IDR/VND/THB
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2022, 02:40 PM

24,382 posts

RM going to weaken further as BNM said not going to raise rates any more.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ases-this-year/

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2022, 03:26 PM
Broken Dreams P
post Aug 15 2022, 12:23 AM

Probation
15 posts

When I see this FIRE thread, I feel like weeping. For a few months in 2021, when stock markets were at their pick, FIRE was within reach.

The freaking Biden takes office and freaking Xi began the tech crackdown/inflexible Covid policy/whatever and things went south.
Ramjade
post Aug 15 2022, 12:28 AM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(Broken Dreams @ Aug 15 2022, 12:23 AM)
When I see this FIRE thread, I feel like weeping. For a few months in 2021, when stock markets were at their pick, FIRE was within reach.

The freaking Biden takes office and freaking Xi began the tech crackdown/inflexible Covid policy/whatever and things went south.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 14 2022, 07:15 PM)
It is about guts. When US market down during last few months and you see your portfolio down, do you have guts to add money even though you know it can be down further?

I did that with my US stocks and I got some up like 15%-20% currently and no before you said it's small cap nope they are all large cap profitable companies (Adobe, Microsoft, BlackRock.etc).

Did I buy at the bottom? Nope.
Did I buy near the bottom. Yes and no.
Did I buy even when I know market is dropping? Yes.
Did price drop further after I bought them? Yes.
Was I scared it will drop further? Nope. I was excited as I can buy more if things are cheap.

Embrace a red market/down market like it's shopping season. You buy when things are on sale right? Same thing. The stock market is the only market in the world where people hate a sale. Buy sell when there's a sale and buy when sales finished.

Remember money is build in red market and not green market. It's your ability to buy when market are red is the key to building wealth. It's about how strong your guts is at the end of the day. Not about how smart you are.
kbandito
post Aug 15 2022, 11:35 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(Broken Dreams @ Aug 15 2022, 12:23 AM)

Selling at the right time is more difficult than buying at the right time.
But always remember, profits is profits. Never look back at your imaginary profits after you sold.

This post has been edited by kbandito: Aug 15 2022, 11:36 AM
blitzter P
post Aug 16 2022, 12:06 PM

Probation

Trying to set a goal to retire early however im not that knowledgeable about investing, learning alot from this thread.
zstan
post Aug 16 2022, 12:16 PM

15,856 posts

invest in your self. find a better job that pays 30% or more of your current salary. don't have the qualifications? take a paper or post grad. start a side business. without increasing salary there's always a limit on how much you can get from investments. unless you are a trust fund baby to begin with.
sgh
post Aug 16 2022, 02:57 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(blitzter @ Aug 16 2022, 12:06 PM)
Trying to set a goal to retire early however im not that knowledgeable about investing, learning alot from this thread.
Before you want to retire early please consider two below big ticket items first. Settle already?

1. If you have kids, how long you feed them until they feed themselves
2. If your elderly parents still around, how long you feed and support them until they are gone

Once you clear above 2 big ticket items, then you talk about your own retirement or fire. Item 1 can be avoided if you don't have kids. Item 2 can be avoided if your parents are financially capable or they deceased already. One biggest worry is Item 1 or Item 2 kena some "expensive illness" then you really need a lot of monies. Insurance can cover but I don't think they cover all or for some "expensive illness" doubt insurance is adequate.
zstan
post Aug 16 2022, 04:30 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Aug 16 2022, 02:57 PM)
Before you want to retire early please consider two below big ticket items first. Settle already?

1. If you have kids, how long you feed them until they feed themselves
2. If your elderly parents still around, how long you feed and support them until they are gone

Once you clear above 2 big ticket items, then you talk about your own retirement or fire. Item 1 can be avoided if you don't have kids. Item 2 can be avoided if your parents are financially capable or they deceased already. One biggest worry is Item 1 or Item 2 kena some "expensive illness" then you really need a lot of monies. Insurance can cover but I don't think they cover all or for some "expensive illness" doubt insurance is adequate.
be sure to update parents' insurance coverage up to 100 years old as well. unless you don't mind sending them to government hospital.

165 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:51 AM