FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

kbandito
post Mar 4 2022, 12:28 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Oct 21 2021, 09:35 AM)
i also don't know what to do after retirement.
can just see myself playing games or watching netflix only...
sooner or later, i got bored again....
exactly what i am facing at 35. kek.
kbandito
post Mar 4 2022, 01:29 PM

1,181 posts

Most of us Malaysians have a blind spot, i.e. the long term value of MYR. I believe in retirement planning you should always factor that in. Of course that means more work to be done, but make sure you cover that side of the risk just in case we hit RM6 to a dollar over next 20 years.
kbandito
post Jul 28 2022, 05:17 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(bogletails @ Jul 24 2022, 09:17 PM)
Anyone FIRE without owning a house? Is it doable? Reason why I want to ask this is because I think house is a terrible investment, it won’t appreciate already compared to 2008 time due to property oversupply. Plus, have to pay mortgage interest which is 2x the house price, no rental yield due to own stay. 1 mil house need to pay almost 2mil after 35 years.

If let’s say we have 1million capital, instead of buying a house. Can’t we just put it to the equity market? US index fund, ASM, EPF etc and let it work?  Assuming a conservative 6% average annual return from S&P500, 1 million capital will yield 60k a year or 5k per month. Then use part of the passive income to pay rent at whatever place we like. The remaining use for daily expenses or reinvest it.

Can this method work?? Why I never hear people talk about this before? Rent in Malaysia isn’t too expensive anyway. 2-3k can get a decent place.
Just a point to ponder:

- Take 25 years horizon
- Assuming long-term average mortgage rate of 4%; net yield of 4%; capital appreciation of 3%
- Taking 85% loan

The above gives you 10% IRR over 25-year period

It definitely make sense to rent now, since you can pay 2% net yield for a brand new property. But cycles come and go, that 2% net yield doesn't last forever, there will be a point when it makes sense to own than rent.
kbandito
post Jul 28 2022, 05:21 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(Bearekt @ Jul 27 2022, 12:51 AM)
Holding Malaysia Ringgit for FIRE = playing fire. Look at Sri Lanka, and good luck.🤞
I gave the alpha 6 months ago when MYR was worth 6% more.

QUOTE(kbandito @ Mar 4 2022, 01:29 PM)
Most of us Malaysians have a blind spot, i.e. the long term value of MYR. I believe in retirement planning you should always factor that in. Of course that means more work to be done, but make sure you cover that side of the risk just in case we hit RM6 to a dollar over next 20 years.
kbandito
post Aug 13 2022, 01:55 PM

1,181 posts

It's challenging to find a valid argument that support the bullishness for MYR or Malaysia, really.
kbandito
post Aug 13 2022, 02:34 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 13 2022, 02:21 PM)
Perhaps that is one of the reasons that our FM said
"Fixation of ringgit versus US dollar must stop, says Tengku Zafrul
By Luqman Hakim
August 6, 2022
https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2022/08/...s-tengku-zafrul

Indirect telling the gomen got no idea how to stop the slides?? 🤔🤔
yeah but when our trades are denominated in USD i don't know what he is really talking about.

in a decade or two we will be moving the goal post once against to say don't be so fixated with MYR vs IDR/VND/THB
kbandito
post Aug 15 2022, 11:35 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(Broken Dreams @ Aug 15 2022, 12:23 AM)
When I see this FIRE thread, I feel like weeping. For a few months in 2021, when stock markets were at their pick, FIRE was within reach.

The freaking Biden takes office and freaking Xi began the tech crackdown/inflexible Covid policy/whatever and things went south.
Selling at the right time is more difficult than buying at the right time.
But always remember, profits is profits. Never look back at your imaginary profits after you sold.

This post has been edited by kbandito: Aug 15 2022, 11:36 AM
kbandito
post Aug 20 2022, 08:49 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 16 2022, 04:30 PM)
be sure to update parents' insurance coverage up to 100 years old as well. unless you don't mind sending them to government hospital.
Also get your policy to the newer pools whenever you can.
I was upgrading my parent's policy which they bought 20 years ago, the premium of this old one vs coverage amount is so much more expensive than the new one I am buying for them. Reason being you only have old people left in the pool and all starts to claim, you don't get new young healthy people in the pool.
kbandito
post Aug 21 2022, 01:09 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 20 2022, 01:51 PM)
II got this reply from my agent, ..... Looks like no untung. 😱
I mean Medical policy, not Life.
kbandito
post Aug 21 2022, 01:45 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 21 2022, 01:40 PM)

Insurance company has many pools over the years for medical.

For example, in the early 2000s all agents are marketing Medical Plan A, so you get all the young and old people buying into the plan. Over the years they keep paying the premium. So now 20 years later, people starts to claim as they get older and this is when money are taken out from the pool.

Now, in 2020 the insurance companies introduce new plan eg Medical Plan B, which the new young bloods are all buying now, instead of the ole Medical Plan A.

What can happen to Medical Plan A? No new young blood paying, but the older people in the pool starts to claim. The claims is to be borne by everyone in the pool, so repricing happens and the effective premium is more expensive than Medical Plan B.
kbandito
post Dec 28 2022, 09:31 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 27 2022, 11:21 PM)
It's more or less fixed but the insurance company can ask you to topup if needed. If they didn't ask to topup means it's fixed.
They reprice every 3-5 years. Medical costs should increase more than inflation as medical technology increasingly prolongs human life.
kbandito
post Jan 3 2023, 10:16 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 1 2023, 06:34 PM)
My son went to international school.and.now in college. He no Gip a Pak about brands and certainly don't follow herd. It's all about the parents upbringing.
I have trouble explaining to my children that having both the parents taking afternoon nap with them every day is a luxury.
kbandito
post Jan 10 2023, 11:03 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(raynmann @ Jan 10 2023, 11:02 AM)
disappointing with so much of downfall during covid.... made a dent to retirement saving
anyway, do you guys think rm3.5mil is enuff to survive?

approx 5% returns pa...
age 50
3.5mil x5% PA = RM14,500 PER MONTH
depending on your age i suppose. I will need more for my age.
To use up the 14.5k every month and let your principal get eroded by inflation over time is scary af.

This post has been edited by kbandito: Jan 10 2023, 11:04 AM
kbandito
post Jan 10 2023, 11:35 AM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 10 2023, 11:20 AM)
Then why are you asking whether Rm14.5k is adequate?
maybe just flexing. but wrong thread to flex rolleyes.gif
kbandito
post May 25 2023, 01:39 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ May 25 2023, 01:36 PM)
How much in EPF considered alot? 1m?
how many gram of rice is considered a lot for lunch or dinner?
consider the answer to this same as your question.
kbandito
post Jun 8 2023, 12:13 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jun 7 2023, 03:57 PM)
Why on earth waste your money buying new house and yet still renovate 🤦‍♀️ and it means wasting more money and letting developer to profit more instead
you know people say mom's cooking is the best. But since we have different mom, I believe your mom's cooking is the best to you, but may not be best to me.
kbandito
post Aug 20 2023, 05:48 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(Elonor89 @ Aug 19 2023, 12:07 PM)
Hi forumers,

Need your opinion if I can achieve FIRE with below numbers.
In other words, can i quit my main job (salary 1 in below).
I have 2 small kids currently at the age of 7.
I have accumulated this much of wealth and quite worn out with my current job.
What could be the best strategy to move forward with this status.

Saving & Investment
Saving in FD : 200k  ( 4.0 % pa return )
Saving in Current Acc. : 250k (i keep there to reduce interest for Home Loan 1)
Saving in Current Acc :  320k  ( i keep there to reduce interest for Home Loan 2)
Unit Trust : 230k
Share Market : 100k
ASNB : 60k
Retirement Money :  350k ( will receive if i quit my job )

Liability & Expenses
Home Loan 1 : 280k Outstanding  ( monthly 1.3k)  - current market value of property : 1 mil
Home Loan 2 : 680k Outstanding  ( monthly 3.5k)  - current market value of property : 1.3 mil
Home Loan 3 :  170k  Outstanding  (monthly 0.5k)  - abandoned project. servicing bank interest.

Monthly Fixed Expenses :  12k ( insurance, home loan, child education, Utilities, current house rental,etc)
Monthly Variable Expenses :  3k ( food, travel , leisure , etc. )

Income
Salary 1 : 35k  ( My Income  )
Salary 2 :  7k ( Wife Income)
Rental  1 : 10k ( Short-term Rental income from  Home 1)
Rental  2 : 1.6k ( Normal annual rental )
3 mil networth, only 1 mil investable at say 5% return that's 4k/month.
18k income if you quit your job, plus 4k interest payment - if you expenses is below that then it's not impossible.

0.0783sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:20 PM