FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

sgh
post Jul 26 2022, 06:48 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Jul 26 2022, 05:21 PM)
I am no longer constrained by the thought that "the more allowance you give to parents, the more filial you are". Don't wanna talk much about it in the public but to cut things short, I just learned that the hard way.
Becuz old folks those retired sit around with frens of their same era will talk of kids got give monies topic. Those give the most a lot of face those no give no face so some folks feel lose out go back ask their children to give them monthly allowances. That is how it works it all depends on your parents and the company they mix with. When young we say kids don't mix with bad influence correct? The same logic applies to those retired folks. They like to gossip about their who and who marry who and who very rich do business got big car big house etc boasting? Hmmm
sgh
post Jul 27 2022, 03:28 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Daprind @ Jul 27 2022, 10:41 AM)
The irony of conservative parents, once children sustain themselves and never return the favor (in parent's own term), they will be automatically labelled as ungrateful son/ daughter.
Above is indeed a very tricky issue. In Spore, a Parent Maintenance Act is passed. This mean if parents when old feel children are not feeding/looking after them etc even if they are financially capable to, the parents can sue their children in court to claim maintenance (lump sum or monthly). The fact this is passed as a law indicates the number of such cases happening in Spore. I think in Msia should be happening the same but unfortunately no corresponding law to protect the parents.
sgh
post Jul 27 2022, 04:01 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 27 2022, 03:34 PM)
Per an article published 11 yrs ago.
1 in 3 Malaysian elderly abandoned

A recent report has found that nearly one in three Malaysians aged 60 and above have been abandoned by their children, prompting some to call for a law similar to Singapore’s Maintenance of Parents Act, TodayOnline reported.

The 2010 census conducted by Malaysia’s Department of Statistics last year showed that there are 1.1 million male and 1.2 million female senior citizens aged 60 and above in the country, the New Straits Times reported yesterday.

Of those, about 675,000 – or nearly 30 per cent – have been abandoned and receive no financial support from their children, according to the recently released Fourth Malaysian Population and Family Survey conducted by the National Population and Family Development Board (LPPKN).

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.theborneop...bandoned/%3famp
So 11 years ago, there is a call but 11 years later no outcome becuz the govt feel this is not an important issue? Or 11 years later the numbers have gone down from 30% so there is no need to have such a law? Hmmm....
sgh
post Jul 27 2022, 05:37 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Jul 27 2022, 05:09 PM)
agreed.

I feel it is disgusting when some parents born child to treat / build the child as their future banks / ATM machine / slaves.

I am fine if older generation's parents to have such thinking, but for newer generations, i don't expect so. If i have childs, i will give them money, not asking money from them.
Actually your above sentence go the other way too. Some born child treat their parents it is their mandatory obligatory to give them monies to spend. They retort you give birth to me so you better give me monies spend else why give birth to me. Sounds familiar in soap opera? Well it happen in reality too. So don't this kind of thinking disgusting as well? Parents are born to give monies to children even when they are grown up and they can start earning monies. Once parents monies use finish, bye bye grown up child leave.
sgh
post Jul 30 2022, 01:51 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 30 2022, 11:19 AM)
If children grown up and each gives substantial amount of money... Parents can fire earlier instead of having to continue to work and save for retirement
But the children themselves would take longer to fire themselves so it is a catch 22 situation. I give a lot to parents me myself need longer timespan to fire isn't it? So some would think parents don't pester them better or if die faster lagi best got inheritance take. Drama serials always show such story line
sgh
post Aug 16 2022, 02:57 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(blitzter @ Aug 16 2022, 12:06 PM)
Trying to set a goal to retire early however im not that knowledgeable about investing, learning alot from this thread.
Before you want to retire early please consider two below big ticket items first. Settle already?

1. If you have kids, how long you feed them until they feed themselves
2. If your elderly parents still around, how long you feed and support them until they are gone

Once you clear above 2 big ticket items, then you talk about your own retirement or fire. Item 1 can be avoided if you don't have kids. Item 2 can be avoided if your parents are financially capable or they deceased already. One biggest worry is Item 1 or Item 2 kena some "expensive illness" then you really need a lot of monies. Insurance can cover but I don't think they cover all or for some "expensive illness" doubt insurance is adequate.
sgh
post Aug 16 2022, 04:36 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 16 2022, 04:30 PM)
be sure to update parents' insurance coverage up to 100 years old as well. unless you don't mind sending them to government hospital.
I am not so sure about Msia insurance they can insure all the way to age 100? Insurer confirm lose monies if sell you the policy until 100 years old? You mean medical and hospitalization to age 100 correct?
sgh
post Aug 20 2022, 03:03 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 20 2022, 01:51 PM)
II got this reply from my agent, ..... Looks like no untung. 😱
Thanks for sharing. Thought Msia insurance companies do lose monies business. As one grow old already premium charge cheaper don't make logical sense as everyone know higher chance to do more claims. Here in Spore the older you are the higher the premium so when I read Msia new policies for old ppl is cheaper I so shocked. Thanks for sharing.

0.0220sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:10 AM