Is Lenovo Thinkpad Premier Support worth?
TScryheart
Sep 28 2021, 11:31 PM, updated 5y ago

hi sifus, i wanna get a thinkpad L15 gen2 for parent but not so sure whether should i get Premier Support as im not around with my parents so i can ask lenovo to onsite to check/replace if there is any issues(touch wood)
can give comment on this serviceS?
Predator10
Sep 28 2021, 11:32 PM
So far my company using...good service
This post has been edited by Predator10: Sep 28 2021, 11:33 PM
PaperClip224
Sep 28 2021, 11:35 PM

these days , its always best to buy laptop insurance, pay more also nvm
if rosak, want to repair - MCO time- kedai tutup etc - susah
with those laptop company insurance - now they appoint technicians to go to your house fix it (they will try to do it online first, if really cannot then come house)
i7xQTi
Sep 28 2021, 11:36 PM
yes but less so for lower end models had a 1-1 replacement for t430 to t470p few years ago. a bit of a hassle at the start but hey, its still a sweet deal
metalfire
Sep 28 2021, 11:44 PM
medium to high end worth to get, low end series basically buy and throw.
funnyTONE
Sep 28 2021, 11:52 PM
yes, worth it. but make sure you have their accidental damage warranty as well.
Satori 14118a
Sep 29 2021, 12:04 AM
Yes, especially if no technically savvy help is around.
Orzie
Sep 29 2021, 12:29 AM
Forgot which type of support I got but basically when my laptop screen suddenly went off, I reported same day and they sent a technician next day to replace the screen FOC. I think it's on-site warranty or something.
iSean
Sep 29 2021, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(cryheart @ Sep 28 2021, 11:31 PM) hi sifus, i wanna get a thinkpad L15 gen2 for parent but not so sure whether should i get Premier Support as im not around with my parents so i can ask lenovo to onsite to check/replace if there is any issues(touch wood) can give comment on this serviceS? My ThinkPad T480 (2018) came with 3 years warranty Premier Support for RM 4.5k i5 8th Gen/8GB RAM/256GB SSD NVMe/Touch Sceen For Klang Valley, the service provider is JOS. Replaced my Toshiba NVMe SSD (stock) and Motherboard before. And swapped out the Internal Battery and External ones before. Totally worth it. Especially you near last year of warranty, you want swap out the battery. All Free of Charge. This post has been edited by iSean: Sep 29 2021, 12:33 AM
iSean
Sep 29 2021, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(PaperClip224 @ Sep 28 2021, 11:35 PM) these days , its always best to buy laptop insurance, pay more also nvm if rosak, want to repair - MCO time- kedai tutup etc - susah with those laptop company insurance - now they appoint technicians to go to your house fix it (they will try to do it online first, if really cannot then come house) Yeah, took them awhile before gotten someone to replace my Motherboard during MCO last year
yugimudo
Sep 29 2021, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(cryheart @ Sep 28 2021, 11:31 PM) hi sifus, i wanna get a thinkpad L15 gen2 for parent but not so sure whether should i get Premier Support as im not around with my parents so i can ask lenovo to onsite to check/replace if there is any issues(touch wood) can give comment on this serviceS? I am tech support for overseas laptop. My advise, above RM3k purchase please get these kind of warranty. Im not blaming China factory but sometime u get the defect parts. Unless u are those who replace new laptop every year.
SUSceo684
Sep 29 2021, 12:54 AM
If its not too expensive get the 3 yr onsite one..
Else at the bare minimum .. extend the carry in warranty so at least "there is someone who WILL fix it"
kucingrimau
Sep 29 2021, 08:52 AM

Yes. Worth every penny.
TScryheart
Sep 29 2021, 10:21 AM

thank you all @all, i will proceed with it =)
khusyairi
Sep 29 2021, 10:32 AM

QUOTE(cryheart @ Sep 29 2021, 10:21 AM) thank you all @all, i will proceed with it =) How much is it? PS: I use thinkpad X1. But never use premier support which come with it. (Company provide anyway).
Dhang
Sep 29 2021, 10:35 AM

Is the service/support good for those living in big cities only? How about those from small towns? Does Lenovo have technicians for the job?
KopiChia
Sep 29 2021, 10:36 AM
Remember to buy accidental damage warranty.
staticxtreme
Sep 29 2021, 10:37 AM
so far ok, i'm using their premier service. next day wlil come and replace parts. during covid complain they just send replacement parts like battery etc.
pretty23
Sep 29 2021, 10:37 AM
IBM is good but not lenovo.