Maybank IT, working in maybank IT

TSanthonyC P
post Sep 24 2021, 02:12 PM, updated 5y ago

Probation
31 posts

Any one been working in Maybank IT department?
can share some info how the working culture.
lawsh
post Sep 24 2021, 02:16 PM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

which team? IT so big
as with most places, depends on the boss for how the dept is managed.
lakini80
post Sep 24 2021, 02:26 PM

334 posts

work like mad...
TSanthonyC P
post Sep 24 2021, 02:38 PM

Probation
31 posts

Apply for .NET developer.
Having interview on next monday.
TSanthonyC P
post Sep 24 2021, 02:38 PM

Probation
31 posts

QUOTE(lakini80 @ Sep 24 2021, 02:26 PM)
work like mad...
Hi Lakini,

May i know department you working for?
lakini80
post Sep 24 2021, 03:12 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(anthonyC @ Sep 24 2021, 02:38 PM)
Hi Lakini,

May i know department you working for?
I am not from MAYBANK.
But working environment in BANKs' IT Dept can be stressful but it is very rewarding in terms of career growth.
Think about it Bro...
otai_g
post Sep 27 2021, 09:18 AM

623 posts

IT is very general.
what i noticed if u are in o&g or banking industries, u are in different market than it people in other industries.

PCLover2010
post Sep 27 2021, 02:21 PM

190 posts

Here's my 2 cents when 1 of my previous job was in "IT" department in banking industry (sorry, it ain't Maybank, and it is not local bank either).
Worked like hell due to:
1. New to industry - fresh grad that time mar
2. Bosses are ok jer - they are not demanding...
3. Clients are demanding - since my job scope involves a lot of system configuration/setup and documentation and have to fulfill their needs. Some more clients are from overseas and different timezone, so sometimes have to work from 9 until the timezone of the client to communicate with them.
filage
post Dec 14 2021, 06:10 PM

1,205 posts

Project Manager here also work like hell?
Mavik
post Dec 16 2021, 09:24 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Dec 14 2021, 06:10 PM)
Project Manager here also work like hell?
Work is circumstantial and depends on the individual themselves. Some want to impress hence they will push themselves harder to ensure that the projects run through. Others can be determined by external factors such as vendors or outsourced teams sitting in different time zones.
Roadwarrior1337
post Jan 19 2022, 07:43 PM

979 posts

So what is the general feel of Maybank it ? I was called up for ann interview next week hence wanted to get some insight. Didn't have much luck at indeed or glass door hence hoping some can shed light.
delphine.88
post Apr 22 2022, 08:16 AM

143 posts

-

This post has been edited by delphine.88: Jun 29 2025, 10:06 PM
HellRyder92
post Apr 29 2022, 03:13 AM

18 posts

Im not in Maybank IT department, but a sub insurance company under Maybank. I'm a Software Developer. Basically, what Maybank employees get, we get the same as well. I can say the benefits are very great. Work life balance is good, but sometimes you need to work extra hours or standby during some exercises. Colleagues and managers are supportive, but you need to catch up fast on the environment that you are working on and the jargons used. But it depends on which IT Department you are in, they are a lot of groups. I'm lucky that I joined a great team.

Had a friend in this same company, but different IT Department. He resigned last week, since work load is too much and his team is very small, the bos does not want to hire new people.

It all depends on which team you are assigned. During your interview, ask questions on how is the working environment, what is your day to day responsibility, etc.
geforce299
post May 11 2022, 06:13 PM

36 posts

My friend working in IT for Maybank . Bonus average is 4 -6 months.

His experience around 10 years, already earn mid 5 figures. Good for him. Maybank is one of top employers in Malaysia, should expect nothing less.

But benefits now downgrade compare to previously.

This post has been edited by geforce299: May 11 2022, 06:14 PM
delphine.88
post May 13 2022, 05:26 PM

143 posts

-

This post has been edited by delphine.88: Jun 30 2025, 12:19 PM
Mavik
post May 13 2022, 07:39 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(geforce299 @ May 11 2022, 06:13 PM)

His experience around 10 years, already earn mid 5 figures. Good for him. Maybank is one of top employers in Malaysia, should expect nothing less.

Wow mid 5 figures? 50,000 a month? Amazing!
gundamsp01
post May 14 2022, 06:09 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

frankly...it depends on the team you join...some managers are unreasonable and run things in an autocracy manner.

Unrealistic timeline, long working hour are expected no matter where you go. But a supportive manager, that's a gamble, which i would advise, you hardly find 1 in local company.

Topace111
post May 14 2022, 07:23 PM

2,102 posts

It depends which project you are under/ leading also. Most big banks like Maybank have old/ legacy IT system and in the starting phase of transitioning to digital/automation like the foreign banks. Plenty of exposure and pain points.
kevler
post Sep 25 2023, 09:27 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

Yes banking domain able to pay that high figure as they have money to allure potential candidate to join Maybank.

If you meet expectations.. minimum 3 months worth of bonus. Imagine someone with AVP title , rm 20k salary. Do the math.

I recommend people with experience to join Maybank.. not freshie or protege.. as pay might be lower than someone with title executive.

deadmeat
post Sep 27 2023, 10:09 AM

105 posts

im ex-Maybank IT infra middleware guy. normal is 3months bonus. exceed that means youre already top performer / some very important guy
culture is very fast pace, deployment every week. i would say not likely have work-life-balance, turn-over rate also quite high. Indian everywhere. standby 24/7 culture

then i joined RHB. workwise good. culture slow a bit, so many old people, dont have much SOP. bonus 3 months average, hybrid style. kinda chill, quite okey work-life-balance.
benefit so-so. good for retirement plan

now just joined Standard Chatered project base. remote work but can come office bukit jalil, super strict working SOP, chill. i would say tooo chill, pace quite slow. so far so good

0.0210sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:43 PM