27 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 >Bottom

LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1

lee82gx
post Sep 3 2024, 02:19 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I just started my claim for 3rd steering rack.
Officially speaking my PUD recall steering rack.
FYI, after letting them have my car for about 30mins for the checking and filling of the warranty, I can confirm the sticky steering is mostly gone when the gave the car back to me. I am sure they did something either SW reset, put in some extra grease or tighten one or 2 bolts or whatever.
Of course I don't expect it to last.

lee82gx
post Sep 3 2024, 03:55 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Sep 3 2024, 02:53 PM)
Shitty feeling,all within 1 yr?
Yeah, 1 within year. My car is 2022 early batch. First time I got issue was late 2023 and by then it was horrible, and I believe service center did something to reduce issue, and then in March came the PUD recall.
lee82gx
post Sep 18 2024, 09:30 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 17 2024, 05:39 PM)
Just assumed u need to change it every 6 months/10k km interval
I will say 6 months / 15k whichever comes first.
lee82gx
post Sep 18 2024, 01:15 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 18 2024, 11:55 AM)
bro, your FE sold already?
Yes bro. Only carsome take my car. No dealer swoop in in my area. 😭😢😭🄹🄲

I will forever miss the engine, why can’t Honda do a proper power steering? Are they waiting for extinction? Meanwhile BMW and VW pave the way for them to follow.

lee82gx
post Sep 18 2024, 02:52 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Sep 18 2024, 02:42 PM)
I think dealers are aware of the problematic rack. My car dealers offers below 90k, there was one even ask me how many time claimed steering rack  laugh.gif
Why not cx-30? Since space is no more a concern, still want a low car hehe?
lee82gx
post Sep 18 2024, 07:47 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

When the pain and bleeding stops maybe I will write my final review of the FE Civic 2022, E-spec.

Right now the wound is still open, and TBH I respect all my former car-mates too much for their courage and staying the course. May the odds be ever in your favour.

I think Honda needs to be way more accountable for their products.
lee82gx
post Sep 21 2024, 06:50 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Sep 21 2024, 01:37 PM)
Finally saw a video that portrays how bad the steering rack issue is on xiao hong shu, the resistance when turning the steering back to the middle is no joke.

At first I thought it was the tuk tuk sound and the steering couldn't go back to the middle and really wanted to gamble on FE for the pre registered discounts, but after that video, i think my life is worth more than the 20k discount.

I really hope that the facelifted FE addresses this issue, but judging by the current CRVs...
can post a link?
Mine was a small resistance but if you are talking about substantial force needed, then I only heard happen once to my friend's 2014 City.

The irony is I personally believe this was resolved even on day 1 FE since FC already so famous. Now 2nd hand price is a joke, FC 2020 is more expensive than FE 2022. Both models infamous.
lee82gx
post Sep 22 2024, 10:04 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Sep 21 2024, 09:37 PM)
http://xhslink.com/a/v340YsaZrYfW

Here you go, 0:07 - 0:14, it was this 7 seconds that made me decide to forgo buying this car.

Edit: switch on the sound
It’s typical of a sticky steering like mine. But he is doing this video from standstill and even a normal power steering will have some unsmooth and won’t return to center easily. When driving the feeling is not as bad as static. Still, it is not acceptable.
lee82gx
post Sep 22 2024, 02:37 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Sep 22 2024, 12:30 PM)
I was really worried of situations like making a u turn and the steering would get stuck. I mean sure, most of the time one would probably be able to quickly steer it harder but, all you need is one bad day and bam, your car crashes into someone elses.

For me personally, the problem here is not having the steering rack issue, the problem here is it is almost unrectifiable. All cars have their own issues, but some people having changed their racks 6 times and are still suffering from the same problem is simply unacceptable. doh.gif
You are absolutely making the right considerations. Fair thoughts.
lee82gx
post Oct 1 2024, 09:10 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Honda is the architect of their own downfall. A good project spoiled by ignorant management. This is not a Malaysia problem, it is a design issue here.

It's now 2 years since the launch and they are still doing "change the part when customer complains". Typically this is only done for 1st batch, and subsequently followed with confirmed fix.

Add to this as safety issue, you cannot take more than 2 years to fix, keep quiet, deny. The loss of good faith becomes loss of good will and that will take years to rebuild. You don't have that.
lee82gx
post Oct 1 2024, 11:23 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 1 2024, 10:22 AM)
Type R FL5 discount 80k from HM.
On Track it’s a weapon, but EV has far overcame this type of performance on pure straight road thrills. Price reflects demand.
lee82gx
post Oct 2 2024, 06:14 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 1 2024, 09:33 PM)
To those that are really into Motorsports, EV is just a gimmick only good for paper specs.

To prove demand? Sold out within hours of announcement

What sold out? Type R? If yes then why have 80k off?

IMHO, I’ve sat on some hotter evs like seals etc. to say their specs are a gimmick is not true. They do go fast, just mostly in a straight line of course. They won’t give you great lap times but id say lap times are the real gimmick here.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Oct 2 2024, 06:17 AM
lee82gx
post Oct 2 2024, 09:31 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 2 2024, 09:10 AM)
only about 20 units are eligible for the 80k discount, and those are the remainder 2024 units that HM wants to 100% clear off before moving to 2025.
obviously they will succeed as that price is beating recond imports. or, just a marketing stunt as rumors has it their internal staffs or Sales already scooped them up anyways, lol.

weight is an issue. physics cannot be defied.
EV are all generally very heavy. and the oxymoron vicious cycle of :

More weight > needing more power > more power will need bigger motors and batteries > more weight > needing more power
20 unsold units is a heck of a lot of TypeR's which are supposedly so limited in production. You'd have to murder someone back in the days of FK8 to get 1 on RRP let alone 80k off.

But, the damage to their reputation and knock on value is severe, and if their internal sales purchased them, then good for them. I don't want to be a poor sod trying to sell my Honda 2nd hand. The mere fact that you can actually BUY a Type R with available stock instead of years / months of advanced booking signifies the end is nigh. Even Toyota is only quietly doing discount for the old models pre-facelift or whatever....and damn sure you cannot get a GR Corolla on discount or ready stock.

Anyway yes, EV is damn heavy, tyre wear is severe and they are not mean for agility. Same as you can do a lot in an MX-5 or S-2000.
lee82gx
post Oct 2 2024, 12:33 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 2 2024, 11:41 AM)
oh no la, Toyota pun main same game.

whatsapp circulated:
T&H same same je la in Malaysia. who we kidding.

=edit=
actually, no also, many unsold GRC ready stock waiting for new owner, lol.
My bad, then Japanese petrol sports car is no more desirable.
lee82gx
post Oct 7 2024, 01:29 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(nick_linz @ Oct 7 2024, 12:22 PM)
Thinking abt getting a civic. Does the current batch of civic still have the steering rack issue?

But is it possible to fix this issue at the workshop at all if I'm unlucky enough to buy one with this issue
You are asking a question only the designer / Honda could answer right now. I can say the 2022 version confirm got problem, as is the subsequent recall repair. Not to mention, there is NO GUARANTEE what batch you get in your purchase anyway.

Maybe in a few years time others can answer what happen to the 2024 batch.

It is possible to fix outside, but remember, steering rack repairs are a full 1 day of work, meaning damn difficult for a regular mechanic to settle it immediately. Only an expert repairer can and know what to do in less than a day, assuming you found one who is free enough waiting for you whenever you experience the problem. I am guessing NO ONE has a permanent fix right now, so where will you fix outside?

And after all that hassle, you will void your warranty.

lee82gx
post Oct 9 2024, 10:18 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Sorry guys I cannot remember the code for proper YT embed.

Anyway this is a good video, you can see the first level root cause.

But, NO, I personally don't agree that the cause is a "lack of grease" is the cause. It is actually an effect of the issue. Meaning to say the stickiness, I speculate CAUSES the grease to lack and squeeze away from the mesh.

If its was so simple as lack of grease that Honda try to say, I assure you Honda can just rework 100% of the gear boxes with plenty of grease and it WOULD NOT have been an issue from 2016 FC to 2024 FE, CR-V, HR-V, Accord for the last decade.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Oct 9 2024, 10:24 AM
lee82gx
post Oct 9 2024, 10:28 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Oct 9 2024, 10:18 PM)
Honda recalling 1.7 million US vehicles over steering issue
https://www.reuters.com/business/autos-tran...age-2024-10-09/

Recall but don’t fix the root cause also no use
biggest market and strongest government body took 2 years to force this recall, by the end of this exercise if it doesnt work, another 2 years later all warranty also lapse. To illustrate my point, the FC model also use the same EPS module generally and after so many years even government also no strength to force recall. See the youtube video i link above.

meanwhile in Malaysia we might get an update of the update.

lee82gx
post Oct 10 2024, 09:21 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Oct 9 2024, 11:03 PM)
Can't play the video.

By the way, as of now at least adding extra grease does help.
open the video in youtube website...

anyway Honda does not advocate adding grease unnecessarily, but only to lubricate the gear mesh contacts.

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2024/MC-11006250-0001.pdf
https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/rcl/2024/RCAK-24V744-1977.pdf

Based on the dates of the technical bulletin which is actually months ago, possibly people start to copy this method and perhaps resolved their stickiness, if not permanently, at least from July 2024 onwards.

I still have many unanswered questions here.
1. Did they drill deep and wide? How come only recent, non obsolete models affected?
2. Why no action taken to replace or improve the worm wheel, which they acknowledge got problem already?
2.1 What is wrong with the spring that requires new replacement, there is no detail on this part except throw away and straightaway put a new one. Wouldn't it just end up being same? If same why replace?
3. The timeline of execution, from March to August there was NO activity. Why, what happen?
4. What happen to the first attempt of replacing the steering gearbox, the first "recall". Why should we trust the second recall?
5. Malaysia leh.
6. Other brand / model of EPS, really the difference is just more grease at the gear? For 10 years Honda has been packing insufficient grease across all models, and they didn't bother to crack open another Toyota / mazda / nissan to see oh, bugger they have so much grease?

Anyway I just sibuk jer, don't mind me.

lee82gx
post Oct 13 2024, 11:06 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Oct 12 2024, 01:34 PM)
Was contemplating V spec previously due to the RM20k rebate, but, decided against it. Having an issue is one thing, not having a solution is the scary part.Ā  doh.gif

I really doubt the grease is a permanent solution, it feels more like a band aid than anything. I would like to be proven wrong though.
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 12 2024, 02:19 PM)
The grease method is probably temp fix n eventually will be pushed out after sometime maybe n HM havent do anythin yet,so its just replace no waste all owners time to go check/claim, wait n back to replace once parts arrive
Pure speculation on my part, they are probably close to the final root cause. But corrective action may not be so simple as ā€œredistributeā€ grease and replace the tensioner spring. Maybe it will last you another 1 year.

Which is why they are not recalling FC civic which uses the same design. It’s is because that model is out of warranty and so recalling them AND giving yet another non permanent fix just make them liable for further fixes down the road when those owners come back and say hey come your recall not working in a few years later, and then they will have to offer another solution.

So, I speculate further that FG civic Baru their management all the way from North America side will demand a proper fix. If not cannot sell.

Edit
At least Honda Malaysia is trying to do the right thing.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Oct 14 2024, 04:17 PM
lee82gx
post Oct 22 2024, 08:56 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ Oct 21 2024, 06:30 PM)
So 2 months after the initial tuk sound above, I can now feel the stickiness! Bravo Honda! Rate of degradation much worse than before and I can almost guarantee before 3 years of ownership I will have to replace again
Pretty much my experience. Based on your post timing you have a PUD steering rack / gearbox from early in the year right.

Hang on, Honda Malaysia should be rescuing you soon.
BTW some service center are still feigning ignorance over the entire grease issue. If you go to one and they say no such thing or not even aware maybe you can directly go to another, rather than let them do all their usual routine and still you are no better off.

27 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 >Top

0.2041sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:54 PM