Zidoo Z9X RTD1619DR chipsets, DVLL capable

AVFAN
post Dec 8 2021, 08:06 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 8 2021, 04:33 PM)
Why not LG OLED? slightly cheaper than Sony right?
no, i stick to AndroidTV - very good for ATV apps, incl free ones given by Unifi.

so, it's either Sony or Sharp; sharp has no OLED.
AVFAN
post Dec 9 2021, 11:38 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 9 2021, 11:04 AM)
Yup...... i no regret choosing X90J also, as all streaming apps is available, not like samsung tv in my room, only have netflix bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

only this one isn't oled... i m convinced HDR/HDR10+/DV comes out best on oleds.

my current HDR tv doesn't produce it good enuf, not satisfied. laugh.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 9 2021, 11:28 AM)
sometimes the tv won't spoil then boh pien buy ccwgtv hahahah
quite right... no choice then.

i have been using ATV tvs for >6 years now, watched ATV apps get better and better - very convenient to use, fast.

next TV buy, go for ATV! thumbsup.gif
AVFAN
post Dec 13 2021, 09:50 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 13 2021, 09:45 AM)
I think ccwgtv this knowledge was imparted to me by avfan hahahaha

heck nowadays I'm using Netflix on the ccwgtv instead of the Samsung's own

too damn convenient to use liao, the ccwgtv remote powers up the main tv, volume control  too
so intuitive , except the stupid special button for youtube n Netflix, and I think its using bt also

so if accidentally press anything with ur butt...
androidTV or googleTV are very well made apps, whether on ATV tv or chromecast.

i dunno if wifi is an issue for chromecast but for my TV's, it's excellent - get full reception even at 50ft away.

youtube, netflix, iqiyi, wetv, unifitv - all work very well.
AVFAN
post Dec 13 2021, 10:28 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 13 2021, 10:25 AM)
hidden at the back of tv, sandwiched by the wall also no reception issues

iqiyi worth to subscribe? exp boh?

seriously would recommend the ccwgtv to anyone who has older tvs

I don't mind getting those bare minimum tv n pair it with a ccwgtv
i get iqiyi, lionsgate, bbcplayer free from unifi.

i also tried/paid 1 month for wetv - iqiyi is better.
AVFAN
post Dec 13 2021, 10:50 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 13 2021, 10:44 AM)
boss... itu ekor ayam horrible la  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

@avfan
eh... I my house also unifi ler, how to get iqiyi free?
Unifi ultimate customers only.

3 months already, forgotten the details.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4726997/+3860
AVFAN
post Dec 13 2021, 03:46 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 13 2021, 12:22 PM)
Just placed an ordered last nite.... got it around RM260+ with 1 yr warranty.... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
my iqiyi is from astro..... i dont even bother activate it yet.... bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

too many streaming services oredi..... no time for it....
ya, quite a bit out there, free and paid.

not watching live tv much these days... just the movies and some tv series.
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2021, 10:39 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(Jjoottt @ Dec 16 2021, 10:12 AM)
Movies are meant to be seen in cinema mode generally, more yellowish tint I think
there is this "temperature" thing for picture - high temp for BLUE tones, low temp for RED, yellow in the middle.

what i read, manufacturer default setting is usually BLUE.

but experts always recommend RED.

i use RED.

but after a while, your eyes get use to it - red or blue, orange or yellow!
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2021, 11:41 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 16 2021, 11:34 AM)
I did compare side by now, tat's why feel diff from native apps
ya, i noticed when set to movie mode, the coloring will be different
Think i have to play around the picture setting on the samsung tv n see which one better....
maybe i get used to sony tv settings especially watching netflix, when watch with samsung tv with ccwgtv then found how come so much differences... haha... need to play around some more on the samsung tv
they all come out diff - that u really can't do much... becos u can change tv setting to suit one app, the other apps come out crap. laugh.gif

just take youtube... i use natively on 2 tvs and 4 boxes - they all come out a little diff... due to hardware specs, i suspect.

same with other apps.
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2021, 12:08 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 16 2021, 11:53 AM)
I can accept the youtube app changes in ccwgtv, no tat much difference after some setting changes.

But netflix can see much differences....maybe i should jus accept it....

or youtube n netflix i should use native apps... the rest using ccwgtv  blush.gif  blush.gif

jus troublesome hav to use 2 remote  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Logically, better tvs will give better results with native apps like netflix compared to external devices.

Becos the modules inside are chosen and costed accordingly, u already paid for it.

Chromecast dongles are meant for lower end tvs w/o ATV, not high end ones.
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2021, 03:02 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 16 2021, 01:46 PM)
aiyah... avfan, u still x faham meh?
boss cyclone want find excuse buy new Sony teebee la

nowadays I just use the ccwgtv hahahah, not using samseng control anymore
me, me! laugh.gif

i m planning... A90J, A80J, X90J, X80J.... $$$$...
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2021, 03:14 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 16 2021, 03:08 PM)
hmm..... the samsung tv in my room is not high end model.... tat time bout 2k only 2016 model i think..  blink.gif  blink.gif
meaning the native app in the TV is well optimized whereas using chromecast is less so... i think. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Dec 16 2021, 10:05 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 16 2021, 04:28 PM)
maybe.....
just say only la.... siao meh.... 77" so expensive.... even 65" CX I can't afford liao...... tat's why I bought X90J 65 lo

That amount for C1 77", I can get new speaker + X90J  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Have to rajin buy toto....  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
why x90j?

a90j best la... biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 7 2022, 09:48 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 17 2021, 09:34 AM)

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Dec 21 2021, 12:15 PM)
any of u all got update with latest fw ver 6.3.60??

got differences or not?
guys, i just got the Z10pro.... couldn't resist since there as a 11% discount on shopee. biggrin.gif

played for a couple of hours, pretty good... coming from using several other boxes incl himedia Q10pro.

i mainly use it for local playback; not using it much for online streaming as i am mainly using ATV apps with TV.

i choose this model so that i can slot in the SATA drive, swap with another anytime.

HDR picture, HD audio quality all good, unit stays cool.

only thing yet to test is DV - haven't bought new TV yet!

firmware - it's still on v6.30.40, nothing newer OTA.

any advanced tips on video, audio settings?

AVFAN
post Mar 7 2022, 05:02 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Mar 7 2022, 01:03 PM)
haha..... faster buy new TV..... 75" OLED  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

about the advance settings, you can join the Zidoo forum, there is a thread guiding how to set up the device. But I think also subject to personal preference

I only do the settings once, after that lazy to test liao..... coz everything looks good to me, just that the Bluray menu support sometime not working on certain title.... doh.gif  doh.gif
my 6 yr old sharp non hdr still working... but it cant do HDR that nicely however i set it.

will wait a bit, see what happens... all is ready for DV... except the TV. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Topet @ Mar 7 2022, 04:27 PM)
My Z10 pro just came in today. tonight wanna test it out
if u have used a box before, u will like this one, quite an easy box to use.

just 1 day, i more or less done with everything... just enjoy it now

what i like about this Z10pro:

1. simple UI, clear info, easy to navigate.

2. HDD bay is plug n play, no sweat.

3. wifi is strong, at 50ft, 2.4ghz works very well.

4. playback - auto frame rate switching, auto resolution, BD menu.

5. deeper, brighter colors for HDR.

6. can play audio/music with thru AVR with TV off.

i have yet to play with the higher functions... DV, hdr mapping, etc...
AVFAN
post Mar 8 2022, 02:28 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Mar 8 2022, 12:20 PM)
My last box is mede8er, just to watch offline movies. wanna try DV later tonight. so hard to find movies with DV.
i never had a mede8er but it looks much in the same league as himedia q10pro.

i think u will like it, get z10pro up n running easy.

himedia q10pro is a superb box, only that it cannot do dolby vision.

with zidoo z10pro, that is one up... + auto resolution, which i like.

picture and audio output quality, they r very close.

i have 2 home theaters... so, both boxes put to good use! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 8 2022, 02:37 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 8 2022, 06:51 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 8 2022, 05:23 PM)
ehh bosss, ini z10 pro can do DV straight right?
Why not? Z9x cannot?

Full bdmv with fel or mel, shud work.

But I cannot confirm, no DV TV yet!

Let Topet comment...
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2022, 11:25 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 9 2022, 09:43 AM)
I tot the player will convert to play in DV, no need DV teebee
i tried one DV file - color comes out poor, no good - becos TV, AVR are non DV.

HDR10 files comes out nice.
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2022, 02:15 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 9 2022, 01:12 PM)
use normal file, don't DV
then convert all to play in DV
normal as in SDR? not even HDR?

"convert to DV"... something like upscaling... hmm... i doubt it will be nice. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2022, 09:48 AM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 18 2022, 12:48 PM)
Based on the discussions, this player is able to read and decode the Dolby Vision file for playback on displays that does not have DV?
QUOTE(Topet @ Mar 18 2022, 01:48 PM)
Yes, it will show HDR instead of DV
i m still exploring this bit...

it may not be straightforward, may depend on what source u play.

some full videos with HDR10+DV comes out fine, nice HDR.

some webrips with DV comes out with colors washed out, no good.

may have something to do with profiles, dynamic metadata, MEL, FEL..??
AVFAN
post Mar 22 2022, 07:40 PM

24,470 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 19 2022, 10:53 AM)
HDR10+DV, is it reverting back to HDR10 instead of running on DV?

I run Plex on A80J TV, basically it only recognizes DV when you mux the DV layer into the main layer... so was considering if this Zidoo player could handle DV for displays that can't handle it... in my case is a projector. If it can't I will just run with HTPC with MadVR for DTM on HDR10.
i cannot confirm this... yet.

becos i dun have OLED/DV tv.

i can only confirm if u play BDMV with HDR10+DV, zidoo z10pro/z9x can deliver nice HDR10.

i think there r all kinds of issues if u play customized rips, half cooked rips, etc...

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0383sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:25 PM