Web Developer - Front End, Back End or Full Stack?, Share your route as a web developer.

silverhawk
post Apr 23 2022, 05:15 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(15cm @ Apr 22 2022, 09:40 PM)
usually the project that hires full stack are pretty small projects
You need a few in large systems as well, they will be the minority but having a few that can take over almost any task and debug end-to-end greatly improves the agility of the team.
flashang
post Apr 26 2022, 12:14 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(yk8 @ Aug 8 2021, 03:12 AM)
for me , i think either one , want to be fullstack is so difficult , and every year browser have update new function , and css function become more and more complicated every year eg mix-blend-mode recently can mix so many complicated layer , javascript update new function es5 until now es11 have change so much , for me i will rather pick 1 side , ether front end or back end , the function increase and change everyyear like dictionary  , you cannot stop study , and always google . this kind if web developement thing is like team work , you cant finish one complicated project by ur own , better focus only on one side

browser update too fast everyyear , front end just css + svg can take forever to learn already , this is eg some sifu making with css only , all is render by ur moden browser https://codepen.io/SoyEva/pen/LRjWzZ
By using html + css + js, everyone can download, check and learn how it works.

Most of the users does not care what tech you're using.

They care about loading time, running speed,
features work as expected, proper presentation,
human readable / understandable error message.

You could do with some "old tech" such as html marquee, jpeg, ani gif
which are backward compatible, could run on all new and old devices.

This post has been edited by flashang: Apr 26 2022, 12:14 PM
nnannon24
post Oct 14 2022, 06:08 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 21 2021, 11:25 PM)
as a interviewer myself I'm starting to get fedup with those who claim to be full stack developer.

when asked about front end, angular and node js in particular they may be able to answer, switch to api be it Json or soap  then ah ah ah already.. prob further into backend pure java... giving me question mark face... further into database design.. oh i know nothing just rely on hibernate.

please never put in your resume or claim yourself as a full stack developer if you are not.. don't be ashamed if u r a backend guy just say your expertise is more towards this area.. if it's front end angular, node, or JavaScript just say so.. cause the moment u place in your full stack be prepared you may not be able to answer alot of questions if you are not doing them in depth.

@TS start coding. start your journey don't worry about full stack of not learn as you go.. be truthful to yourself. no experience in it say you do not have. don't claim you are full stack. just to master a backend java development it may take you at least 3-5 years. the complexity isn't only to make an application work.
As an interviewer, what would you filter out from most of the candidates in the first place? I kinda wanted to know whether having a degree is mandatory to nail this kind of job (Blame YT if it is)
kidmad
post Oct 14 2022, 10:04 PM

4,483 posts

QUOTE(nnannon24 @ Oct 14 2022, 06:08 PM)
As an interviewer, what would you filter out from most of the candidates in the first place? I kinda wanted to know whether having a degree is mandatory to nail this kind of job (Blame YT if it is)
nop having a degree is not mandatory. in fact i think my team has a few where their degree is in E&E/Mechanical Engineering. And i know my company has programmers who are already with the company for more than 25 years. some graduated with a business degree some actually has PHD in certain area which isn't relevant to IT.

In interview you can only filter out as much base on a few areas.

if backend it's going to be testing candidate base on how much they know on batch query and updates.

For Front end development, single page application knowledge, session base, api (soap, json), token system, authentication with ADFS etc.

For integration specialist soap services, apis, other old school protocol like sftp, MQ etc.

I'll still test candidate on whether could they write native sql or rely heavily on hibernate/sequeless. How would they build a DB setting partitions, DB maintenance, relational database setup.

Knowing how to use tools like jenkins, git, npm, confluence, jira those will just be added advantage.

i usually don't go in with a standard set of questions just pointers from each of this area and if the candidate piques my interest on certain area that's when i'll ask further and go deep into the topic.

knowing node, angular, react, javascript etc those are just added advantage as well. These tech stacks continuously evolves and we will have to adapt as we go as well.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Oct 14 2022, 10:06 PM
silverhawk
post Oct 16 2022, 11:38 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(nnannon24 @ Oct 14 2022, 06:08 PM)
There are things you can't learn, and there are things you can. The best filter is to filter candidates for things that cannot be learnt or taught easily.

narf03
post Oct 17 2022, 03:33 AM

4,547 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Oct 16 2022, 11:38 PM)
There are things you can't learn, and there are things you can. The best filter is to filter candidates for things that cannot be learnt or taught easily.
What things you cant learn ? Just give a few examples ?
nnannon24
post Oct 17 2022, 09:00 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Oct 14 2022, 10:04 PM)
nop having a degree is not mandatory. in fact i think my team has a few where their degree is in E&E/Mechanical Engineering. And i know my company has programmers who are already with the company for more than 25 years. some graduated with a business degree some actually has PHD in certain area which isn't relevant to IT.

In interview you can only filter out as much base on a few areas.

if backend it's going to be testing candidate base on how much they know on batch query and updates.

For Front end development, single page application knowledge, session base, api (soap, json), token system, authentication with ADFS etc.

For integration specialist soap services, apis, other old school protocol like sftp, MQ etc.

I'll still test candidate on whether could they write native sql or rely heavily on hibernate/sequeless. How would they build a DB setting partitions, DB maintenance, relational database setup.

Knowing how to use tools like jenkins, git, npm, confluence, jira those will just be added advantage.

i usually don't go in with a standard set of questions just pointers from each of this area and if the candidate piques my interest on certain area that's when i'll ask further and go deep into the topic.

knowing node, angular, react, javascript etc those are just added advantage as well. These tech stacks continuously evolves and we will have to adapt as we go as well.
For the front end development. Isn't the API, token sys, and authentication part of the backend system? I never knew that'd be asked in the interview as well. Sounds like I gotta do full stack
silverhawk
post Oct 17 2022, 10:38 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Oct 17 2022, 03:33 AM)
What things you cant learn ? Just give a few examples ?
Curiousity - If I gave you an interesting problem, and even if you can't come up with the answer. I can see how you engage the problem, and when I give you the answer, the difference of whether you ask me how come the answer is like that

Openness - Do you ask questions? how well you take feedback?

Problem solving ability - Give you a simple problem, make it more complicated, how will you solve it? Throw in an edge case, what now?

Attention to detail - Can see from how you write code, I even have some "spot the problem" questions where I show you buggy code and tell you there's a bug here. Can you find it?

QUOTE(nnannon24 @ Oct 17 2022, 09:00 AM)
For the front end development. Isn't the API, token sys, and authentication part of the backend system? I never knew that'd be asked in the interview as well. Sounds like I gotta do full stack
No, for API you're not building the API but you're consuming the API. So you're expected to at least know how requests are made, what the http methods mean, how is HTTP 1.1 different from HTTP2, etc. Likewise with auth and tokens. Where do you store the tokens? Do you put them in localStorage? store it in a cookie? whats the difference and why would you use one over the other?

nnannon24
post Oct 17 2022, 03:33 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Oct 17 2022, 10:38 AM)
Curiousity - If I gave you an interesting problem, and even if you can't come up with the answer. I can see how you engage the problem, and when I give you the answer, the difference of whether you ask me how come the answer is like that

Openness - Do you ask questions? how well you take feedback?

Problem solving ability - Give you a simple problem, make it more complicated, how will you solve it? Throw in an edge case, what now?

Attention to detail - Can see from how you write code, I even have some "spot the problem" questions where I show you buggy code and tell you there's a bug here. Can you find it?
No, for API you're not building the API but you're consuming the API. So you're expected to at least know how requests are made, what the http methods mean, how is HTTP 1.1 different from HTTP2, etc. Likewise with auth and tokens. Where do you store the tokens? Do you put them in localStorage? store it in a cookie? whats the difference and why would you use one over the other?
Thanks for the explanation. Anyway, what are the red flags that you've experienced from time to time with the candidates(presume that you're the interviewer)?
silverhawk
post Oct 17 2022, 05:01 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(nnannon24 @ Oct 17 2022, 03:33 PM)
Thanks for the explanation. Anyway, what are the red flags that you've experienced from time to time with the candidates(presume that you're the interviewer)?
Over-selling themselves / Jargon speak. You know when they try to throw in too many buzzwords that something is being covered up.

Giving up too quickly. When they don't know something they straight away say "don't know" without even making an honest attempt.

Excuses. Related to the above, they might give excuses for their failure rather than owning up to it.

My favourite question to ask is "Share with us a moment in your career which you are proud of". Regardless if you're junior/senior there must be some point in your career you did something you feel proud of even if no one apprecieated it. How the candidate answers this question pretty much reveals everything about them.

nnannon24
post Oct 18 2022, 10:10 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Oct 14 2022, 10:04 PM)
And what if someone doesn't even have any degree at all? But he can do everything that you've mentioned above, will the company even bat an eye to hiring them??
kidmad
post Oct 18 2022, 10:16 AM

4,483 posts

QUOTE(nnannon24 @ Oct 18 2022, 10:10 AM)
And what if someone doesn't even have any degree at all? But he can do everything that you've mentioned above, will the company even bat an eye to hiring them??
Depending on company.. mnc would usually have minimal requirement when comes to recruitment but if I'm hiring without my current company intervention, I don't mind at all.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Oct 18 2022, 10:48 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0141sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:24 PM