20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Seeking ways to design & renovate your house?, Happy Learning Together!

TSMy Maison
post Jul 12 2021, 12:26 PM, updated 2y ago

319 posts

I believe that most of us would like to know more before starting any design/ renovation work. Here is a platform for all of you who are willing to share and learn. I will keep on updating any great design, technology and construction works to share with all of you. For better understanding, there will be real-life scenario photos posted here. laugh.gif laugh.gif

I will always try my best to answer your questions. We can always have a great and fun discussion to seek for better/ pro ideas as no one is always 100% correct all the time. nod.gif

Let’s make mutual agreement to ensure a conducive learning platform!

You can-
Ask questions related to Construction/ Renovation work
Ask interior design ideas and trend, design style, design tricks

You are not allowed-
To speak vulgar words/ insult/ criticize others’ opinion (no one is 100% correct)
No pirated software, pornography or any other materials prohibited

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jul 12 2021, 12:38 PM
TSMy Maison
post Jul 12 2021, 12:32 PM

319 posts

PROJECT A-
Topic: Preparation Works rclxms.gif

Firstly, before starting off with our sharing today, let me slightly introduce to you about the project. I will name it as PROJECT A from now onwards for better indication in future. From a single-storey terrace house, we are going to dismantle almost the entire lot and come up with a brand-new one and a half-storey house design. From time to time, we will share our on-site photos to share our progress with you.
So before any demolition work starts, we must always get ready with initial preparation and protection works.
1. Built-in cupboard is protected with canvas to prevent damage.
2. Canvas is used to minimise the amount of dirty dust blowing into neighbour's houses.
3. Air-cond indoor units will be covered while outdoor units are dismantled temporarily.
4. Construction disposal bin is rented to store construction waste when the work starts. It is placed in front of the house.

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jul 12 2021, 12:34 PM
mini orchard
post Jul 12 2021, 04:20 PM

14,511 posts

Why didnt take down the indoor AC unit together ? I am sure you gonna service the unit later. Just in case your next unit is smaller, the old paint will be obvious if not painted in total.

Since you are doing reno, change the concealed piping if is not R32 gas compliant. Otherwise use a black tape to seal the piping to prevent construction dust or insect to crawl inside if you intend to reuse the piping.
TSMy Maison
post Jul 14 2021, 04:06 PM

319 posts

Yes, you are right! thumbup.gif
Initially, the owner haven't decide whether still wanna to remain the units. He informed us to cover it first while doing site protection. However, after getting his final decision, we actually removed everything once the renovation work starts. thumbsup.gif

TSMy Maison
post Jul 14 2021, 04:35 PM

319 posts

PROJECT A-
Topic: Hacking & Demolition Works rclxms.gif

We hack the unwanted brick walls and floors which are not going to be used in future design. At the same time, we indicate the new column locations with labels before starting to dig the hole for the foundation of your house.

Portable hacking machine is very important in this step!! thumbsup.gif

We dig the hole right to the ground below. A square base is formed. You will definitely create a lot of mess as a lot of construction waste, ground mud etc are scattered around. However, all of these are normal! So, don't forget to clean up the working area and accumulate the waste in your construction bin outside. icon_idea.gif

Next, we also dismantle the plaster ceilings for the entire house. You could see clearly all of the supporting structures and piping concealed above your house now. Similarly, we dispose of all of the waste into the bin. Get rid of them by lorry once it is full.

Remember that the dismantling job can take up some cost on you as well when doing renovation. Thus, do remember to include this step while considering your budget.
rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jul 14 2021, 04:42 PM
TSMy Maison
post Jul 14 2021, 04:35 PM

319 posts

Disclaimer: All of the posts above are works before MCO. biggrin.gif . Just for sharing purpose ya!

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jul 14 2021, 04:39 PM
TSMy Maison
post Jul 16 2021, 03:26 PM

319 posts

PROJECT A-
Topic: Constructing Column Footing

After cleaning up all of the unwanted wastes, we start to build footing for our columns.
Pour the concrete inside with steel rods added as reinforcement to form a strong rc footing.

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jul 16 2021, 03:27 PM
TSMy Maison
post Jul 18 2021, 10:44 PM

319 posts

TSMy Maison
post Jul 18 2021, 10:46 PM

319 posts

Project A -
Topic: Preparing Rebar and Constructing Ground Beam rclxm9.gif

Construction of RC ground beam is important in maintaining the structural stability of a building. We firstly prepare the reinforcement bar structure with desired length, as shown in the diagram above. icon_idea.gif

We excavate the ground for the allocation of the ground beam. Before casting concrete, we lay bricks along the perimeter, forming the shape. Next, we place the rebar inside, fitting nicely before pouring concrete inside.

Wait for the concrete mixture to dry and your RC ground beam is ready! icon_rolleyes.gif

Zwean
post Jul 18 2021, 10:57 PM

1,269 posts

How to remove existing beam?

Possible?

The middle one

This post has been edited by Zwean: Jul 18 2021, 11:45 PM
TSMy Maison
post Jul 19 2021, 07:33 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Jul 18 2021, 11:57 PM)
How to remove existing beam?

Possible?

The middle one

May I know which components you are mentioning and planning to remove?
Zwean
post Jul 19 2021, 07:57 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(My Maison @ Jul 19 2021, 07:33 PM)

May I know which components you are mentioning and planning to remove?
Wow so geng can highlight

The Red one.

Edit: bodoh layman like me dunno difference between beam and column hahaha

This post has been edited by Zwean: Jul 19 2021, 07:57 PM
TSMy Maison
post Jul 20 2021, 05:50 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Jul 19 2021, 08:57 PM)
Wow so geng can highlight

The Red one.

Edit: bodoh layman like me dunno difference between beam and column hahaha
Is okay Zwean, no one is 100% pro. We learn from each others ahhaha icon_rolleyes.gif
However to answer your question, normally we don't remove the column as it is the structural support for the building, without it, the building might collapse. However, if you insist to remove the column away, an engineer will need to consider the loads and overcome the structural issue by referring to the house design. All of the changes made will be complying to the safety code and suit to the new proposed design. thumbsup.gif
TSMy Maison
post Jul 20 2021, 05:59 PM

319 posts

TSMy Maison
post Jul 20 2021, 06:00 PM

319 posts

Project A -
Topic: Dismantling the roof, ceiling structure and walls

From the pictures shown above, we ensure that the construction bin is empty before demolition works continue. We then remove the roof tiles and the structure above.

Ceiling boards and roof structures are removed as well. To follow the new design configuration, we hack all the non-structural brick walls, tidy up the area and lastly to transport all of the construction wastes to the disposal area.

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jul 20 2021, 06:01 PM
Zwean
post Jul 20 2021, 08:05 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(My Maison @ Jul 20 2021, 05:50 PM)
Is okay Zwean, no one is 100% pro. We learn from each others ahhaha icon_rolleyes.gif
However to answer your question, normally we don't remove the column as it is the structural support for the building, without it, the building might collapse. However, if you insist to remove the column away, an engineer will need to consider the loads and overcome the structural issue by referring to the house design. All of the  changes made will be complying to the safety code and suit to the new proposed design.  thumbsup.gif
Another stupid question. Possible to relocate the beam along the T axis? or must maintain current position?
TSMy Maison
post Jul 22 2021, 12:01 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Jul 20 2021, 09:05 PM)
Another stupid question. Possible to relocate the beam along the T axis? or must maintain current position?
What do you mean by T-axis ya? in which T ?
However to answer your question whether it is a must to maintain current position, my answer is YES if there is no changes of design in your renovation work.
TSMy Maison
post Jul 22 2021, 08:26 PM

319 posts

TSMy Maison
post Jul 22 2021, 08:27 PM

319 posts

PROJECT A -
Topic: Preparation for Column Construction rclxm9.gif

A stable RC column is important in resisting the compressive and tensile forces. Without proper reinforcement, concrete columns can buckle or burst outward.

For the rebar, rectangular stirrups (ties) are firstly bent with the bending tool. The stirrups encircle the vertical pieces of main rebar with proper span among each other. Use a pair of pliers and tie wire to tie each end of overlap, as shown in the illustrations above.

After locating each rebar at its own place, you can start cutting the plywood to the required size, as the preparation for the construction of traditional timber formwork. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by My Maison: Jul 22 2021, 08:27 PM
TSMy Maison
post Jul 24 2021, 06:55 PM

319 posts

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top