Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V3

dkcc87
post Sep 13 2007, 09:25 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(MizuChi @ Sep 13 2007, 04:05 PM)
I saw plenty of difference when I switched to 2GB.. no more stuttering in FEAR Combat for starters.. then I saw that programs started faster than they did when I only had 1GB.. btw I'm still on DDR400.. just clocked at 250MHz..

back on to topic.. I switched my 8600GT for an XFX 7800GTX 460/1300 on custom BIOS.. and I think I'm right in saying that it kicks the 8600GT deep in the crotch.. although the 8600GT has better quality images..

I'm staying with the 7800GTX until the 9 series come out.. I won't get the mid-range of any cards now.. best tip I received was, always get the top line of the previous generation as they are always better than the mid-range of the current generation but cost round about the same.. of course I could have gotten the 7950GT or something like that but the not many shops in Akihabara sell 7 series cards anymore.. the only 7 series other than the 7800GTX that I found was the 7300GS and the 7900GS.. and I found that the 7800GTX is the best of the lot..
Wonder how long before the 9 series are out... hmm.gif
dkcc87
post Sep 26 2007, 10:33 AM

1,251 posts

Try to check from the pc guy lor..tell him ur graphics card specs and he will recommend the suitable PSU to match ur card wan.that's what i usually do,save more time and hassle-free..
dkcc87
post Oct 3 2007, 06:47 AM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 3 2007, 04:34 AM)
no dude its ure proc
Clock to atleast 3ghz
and u will see a whole lot of difference with the 7800gtx.
What if i'm using C2D 2.0 with 8800GTS?will it be lagging?

This post has been edited by dkcc87: Oct 3 2007, 06:48 AM
dkcc87
post Oct 5 2007, 12:29 PM

1,251 posts

Tried Lost planet on my pc and my pc specs are as below
Intel Core 2 Duo 4400 2.0Ghz
2x1gb patriot ddr800 ram
Gigabyte 8800GTS 320mb
19 inch samsung monitor
What a dissapointment,spend around 1k++ on my 8800GTS and even when i put everything to low it's still lagging like shit,if i knew this would happen i would have save a little bit longer and get a GTX..really regreted getting it...just advice for those out there who's planning to get an 8800GTS to play games such as Lost planet and Bioshock..

dkcc87
post Oct 6 2007, 01:18 AM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 5 2007, 12:45 PM)
Coz ur gaming at a very low resolution of 1280x1024, it's very important to get ur CPU speed up sumore. U running at 2.0ghz that's y. U need to OC the CPU to about 2.8-3.0ghz.
Thanks for the info bro! tongue.gif
dkcc87
post Oct 6 2007, 02:58 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(M0NEY$ @ Oct 6 2007, 12:09 PM)
8800GT or 8800GTS better? 8800GT new 1?
Heard that the 8800GT is a better card compared to the GTS,not sure anyway,just read some review on it...
dkcc87
post Oct 6 2007, 05:39 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Oct 6 2007, 04:31 PM)
Nvidia kills 8800GTS 320MB, relaunches 640MB

We knew that Nvidia was planning to kill the 8800GTS 320MB in order to make room for the 65nm die-shrink that the world has come to know as G92.

But it turns out that you cannot order 320MB versions any more either, since it is being pronounced as an EOL (End of Life) product.

Next in line to go through a change is the 8800GTS 640MB, which is being tweaked up in order to live through the 512MB and 256MB versions of G92.

Nvidia decided to raise the specs by another 16 scalar shader units, so the 8800GTS will now feature 112 scalar shaders, 16 less than 8800GTX/Ultra. Clockspeeds remain the same, as do thermal and other specs.

But there are a lot of miffed Nvidia partners, crying foul over the situation. Imagine the surprise of AIBs that have thousands of printed retail boxes with old specs.

If Nvidia ever says that they're thinking about greening the Planet and all other environmental chit-chat manufacturers like to use these days, ask them about how many trees they killed with just this sudden announcement.. ยต

Source: http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquirer/new...s-8800gts-320mb
No wonder when i was planning to get my 8800GTS 320mb most of the shops in lowyat said that it's out of stock,is this the reason behind it? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by dkcc87: Oct 6 2007, 05:39 PM
dkcc87
post Oct 27 2007, 11:58 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 27 2007, 11:23 PM)
yea quad core and sli 8800ultra but tat would cost you a bomb
Wonder how much will it cost...hmm...5k? flex.gif

0.0337sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:41 AM