Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V3

HaHaNoCluE
post Sep 6 2007, 02:04 PM

628 posts

as from previous post in V2...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13125769

the ar5211.sys crashed bsod solved by removing the wifi nic but the gpu still can't work in its factory oced speed (550/900), it still freeze up during atitool 'show 3d' and 'artifact scan'... lowering it too stock 8800gts speed (500/800), problem solved... while running atitool in 550/900 speed, it does show some bsod before it restarts, but it just to quick to even be notice... anyway i can know wat's the problem???

i want the card to work in it's factory oced speed... the core i can set till 600mhz trouble free, it juz the stooooopid vram...

should i juz send it back for RMA??? or maybe vmod (pencil) the vdimm can help solve my problem??? i can't find many factory pre oced 8800gts with 900mhz ram speed... funnily, i can run all 3dmark05 n 3dmark06 trouble free... but gaming is a no no... i'm trying to avoid the RMA route as much as possible, coz it might takes me weeks for it to come back...

btw, knows wher to get this cooler??? i wanna use it with my swiftech mcw60-r wc gpu block... it looks much nicer n maybe can secure to the card easier n stronger than my current heat sink... tq...

Zalman ZM-RHS88

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Sep 6 2007, 02:10 PM
HaHaNoCluE
post Sep 6 2007, 03:10 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 6 2007, 02:16 PM)
@HaHaNoCluE
what card are u using again??? brand and edition (if any) pls.
it's a galaxy 8800gts 320mb oc edition (factory oced at 550/900)... i've been using several pre oced gpu from galaxy n this is the 1st time a galxy card can't do wat it's been labeled... sad.gif

QUOTE(kmarc @ Sep 6 2007, 02:18 PM)
That's bad news. Was hoping for a next gen card that is able to beat the 8800GTX/ultra......  sad.gif
The fact of the matter is that the card can't run at it's predetermined OC speed. And as such, should be considered defective. Don't forget that there could be some other problems with the card which is not yet noticeable.....

Have you thought of flashing the BIOS?  hmm.gif
hmmm, i can't find a bios update for my gpu... i've emailed galaxyetch but no reply... i guess their support oso like dat only... cry.gif

QUOTE(ianho @ Sep 6 2007, 02:59 PM)
That is meant for use witht eh Zalman heatpipe cooler. Most likely comes as a set with teh cooler only.
it's an optional part for the new zalman VF1000 cooler... it looks nice n with simple cutting here n there, i think it can fit to use with my wc block...
HaHaNoCluE
post Sep 7 2007, 12:55 PM

628 posts

GalaxyTech has finally reply me... well, let see if they can supply me with a bios that maybe i think can fix my issue here... i fixed my 7950gx2 (artifacts) with a bios update last time...
HaHaNoCluE
post Sep 8 2007, 02:47 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 7 2007, 08:35 PM)
They aren't gonna be cheap; 8700GTS is going to sell at 250USD, 2900Pro might be slower and cheaper, but not 8600GTS cheap.

I think it's pretty reasonable for anyone spending at least RM1000 to spend a bit more so that their card might last longer- with highest settings that it. laugh.gif
why nvidia wanna launch the 8700gts price so near to the current 8800gts 320mb??? isn't it a bit no so logic??? any idea how much will the 2950pro might cost n when it launch??? the current 2600xt gddr4 doesn't come cheap too... shocking.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Oct 2 2007, 02:59 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Sep 29 2007, 08:35 PM)
Well, I'm very sure that if the rumour proves to be true, Thermalright will be hard at work designing a low profile 2 slot solution cooler. Then shud be able to use all 3 cards with Thermalrights again.
Anyway, after installing Rivatuner 2.05 today, with the 3 sliders, my hands got really itchy to push my system a lil bit more. Still sum left in the rig but I'm happy enuf with the current score now.  18044 marks in 3DM06.  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
[attachmentid=303404]
this is really crazy... 18044??? congrats...

0.0347sec    1.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:52 PM