Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

bebee
post Aug 24 2008, 07:49 PM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

QUOTE(shingin @ Aug 24 2008, 07:42 PM)
ohhh... is that helena's chin?

when she bought her chin that time I was just behind her. She got a light beige colour chin and I got the "last" beige chin and an ebony chin.
i think her bf pay for that chin so its her bf chin or their chin tongue.gif
called blossom

wow u can recognized the chin by looking at it thumbup.gif
TSChinchillas
post Aug 24 2008, 08:21 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Bee, your friend's chin is time to give dust bath already.biggrin.gif If your friend feel that giving dust bath to blossom may make a mass on her living area, you can bring blossom to the toilet, and let him bath. Once done, give a gentle pet on blossom body to remove some dust. Give dust bath every 3 days, you will see blossom, blossom like no body. Use chinchilla dust house or something else like card board box-put the pan inside the card box, that will block half the dust from coming out.biggrin.gif

This is for your friend, ask her to come join us la. biggrin.gif
bebee
post Aug 24 2008, 09:09 PM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Aug 24 2008, 08:21 PM)
Bee, your friend's chin is time to give dust bath already.biggrin.gif If your friend feel that giving dust bath to blossom may make a mass on her living area, you can bring blossom to the toilet, and let him bath. Once done, give a gentle pet on blossom body to remove some dust. Give dust bath every 3 days, you will see blossom, blossom like no body. Use chinchilla dust house or something else like card board box-put the pan inside the card box, that will block half the dust from coming out.biggrin.gif

This is for your friend, ask her to come join us la. biggrin.gif
i see the bottle of dust sand before but now i duno where

if tomorrow evening they still not yet give a bath den only i give lo

hope he & she dont mind can already
JonYeap
post Aug 24 2008, 10:01 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

why would they mind if u helped them? haha...
they should pay u or thank u. =.=
bebee
post Aug 24 2008, 11:44 PM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

some ppl dun like their pets being touched tongue.gif
TSChinchillas
post Aug 25 2008, 12:17 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(bebee @ Aug 24 2008, 11:44 PM)
Ya, I will suggest ask your friend first before attend to help give dust bath, don't cross boundaries lor, unless that chin is in life and death situation. smile.gif
shingin
post Aug 25 2008, 07:57 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(bebee @ Aug 24 2008, 07:49 PM)
i think her bf pay for that chin so its her bf chin or their chin tongue.gif
called blossom

wow u can recognized the chin by looking at it thumbup.gif
Actually I am just making a guess. I remembered u did mentioned that u know helena.

Added on August 25, 2008, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(bebee @ Aug 24 2008, 11:44 PM)
haha... which mean u curi curi touch/play with the chin loh brows.gif

This post has been edited by shingin: Aug 25 2008, 07:59 PM
bebee
post Aug 25 2008, 10:26 PM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Aug 25 2008, 12:17 PM)
Ya, I will suggest ask your friend first before attend to help give dust bath, don't cross boundaries lor, unless that chin is in life and death situation.  smile.gif
i dont mind feeding the chin if there is no food or water but i hope i dun cross the boundaries lor

wanted to help them do dust bath but no more bathing sand liao sad.gif
*actually i am cleaning my bunnies too so i dun mind giving a help if they need but worry also la* sweat.gif

QUOTE(shingin @ Aug 25 2008, 07:57 PM)
Actually I am just making a guess. I remembered u did mentioned that u know helena.

Added on August 25, 2008, 7:59 pm
haha... which mean u curi curi touch/play with the chin loh  brows.gif
tongue.gif u have good memories

blush.gif bongkar rahsia
but what to do the CHin is so da cute wub.gif

TSChinchillas
post Aug 26 2008, 12:42 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Bee, owning a chinchilla will get you into a new addiction!!!! Once you have 1, you will start 'forgeting' your other pet... cos their are super cute and finest fur of all animals!:D
bebee
post Aug 26 2008, 12:44 AM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

tongue.gif not really
event i see Chin everyday i still cannot forget my bunny
cos my bunny know how 2 see my emotions
when i am sad they will come to me and stay with me
and i just hug them all i wan tongue.gif
TSChinchillas
post Aug 26 2008, 01:15 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(bebee @ Aug 26 2008, 12:44 AM)
tongue.gif  not really
event i see Chin everyday i still cannot forget my bunny
cos my bunny know how 2 see my emotions
when i am sad they will come to me and stay with me
and i just hug them all i wan tongue.gif
Really? wah.....

Chinchilla will come to you when they know you are the FEEDER, FOOD! They come to you anytime lor, angry, sad, happy, they all come! Dont know how to read emotion! doh.gif shakehead.gif rclxms.gif
Himitsu
post Aug 26 2008, 11:09 PM

Dear all, i am looking forward in having a Chinchilla. I am lil fussy when it comes to buying pets from pet shop. Therefore i was wondering if any one who have a pet young Chincilla up for sale? as i would love to have one.. smile.gif
TSChinchillas
post Aug 26 2008, 11:14 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Himitsu @ Aug 26 2008, 11:09 PM)
Dear all, i am looking forward in having a Chinchilla. I am lil fussy when it comes to buying pets from pet shop. Therefore i was wondering if any one who have a pet young Chincilla up for sale? as i would love to have one.. smile.gif
hi Welcome to chinchilla forum. Do study more on chinchilla when on your way of getting 1. biggrin.gif 1st page of this thread is a very good class room for you to know more about chinchilla. biggrin.gif
Himitsu
post Aug 26 2008, 11:38 PM

hehe.. thanks... i've done alil research of mine also....saw and studied those in overseas n was thinking of even getting them from overseas, but..... a lil worry on that.. so.... i was wondering if i could get them cheaper with a grayish colour
bebee
post Aug 27 2008, 12:58 AM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Aug 26 2008, 01:15 PM)
Really? wah.....

Chinchilla will come to you when they know you are the FEEDER, FOOD! They come to you anytime lor, angry, sad, happy, they all come! Dont know how to read emotion! doh.gif  shakehead.gif  rclxms.gif
this i agree doh.gif

the chin only know me when i take out the bag of food doh.gif
mnibar
post Aug 27 2008, 11:30 AM

303 posts

Dear All,

I was having intentions in having a chinchilla as a pet but there afew things that worries me and hope any of you can help me.If u guys/girls already own one..please advice me on the situation.

According to information on the net....chins require a cool+dry area for best living. Their confort zone tempreture is at 22C-26C.the tmpreture in Farenheit should never go above 80F which here in malaysia is average of 75F-85F.To be safe when humidity+heat should be less or equal to 150. So i did a calculation as follows:

80(heat)+84(humidity)=164 aka more then safe zone for chinchilla. In the net, there are several ways in reducing the tempreture...but i am concerned bout the humidity factor...coz if possible i want the chin to be as confort and as happy as possible or they might get heat stroke and might die.this is RM550 down the drain.

So if any of you have taken in a chinchilla....please help regarding this issue

Your time is highly appreciated

Sincerely

Ren Lee Ross
TSChinchillas
post Aug 27 2008, 01:04 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(mnibar @ Aug 27 2008, 11:30 AM)
Dear All,

I was having intentions in having a chinchilla as a pet but there afew things that worries me and hope any of you can help me.If u guys/girls already own one..please advice me on the situation.

According to information on the net....chins require a cool+dry area for best living. Their confort zone tempreture is at 22C-26C.the tmpreture in Farenheit should never go above 80F which here in malaysia is average of 75F-85F.To be safe when humidity+heat should be less or equal to 150. So i did a calculation as follows:

80(heat)+84(humidity)=164 aka more then safe zone for chinchilla. In the net, there are several ways in reducing the tempreture...but i am concerned bout the humidity factor...coz if possible i want the chin to be as confort and as happy as possible or they might get heat stroke and might die.this is RM550 down the drain.

So if any of you have taken in a chinchilla....please help regarding this issue

Your time is highly appreciated

Sincerely

Ren Lee Ross
Good research, good practise before you get any animal as pet.

According to the heat stroke you mention, yes chin will get heat stroke when the temperature is over 30C. For the guide line on 22c-26c is the confortable zone area. If you dont provide them this range of temperature, you need to make sure you have this few thing done:

1. If you staying in a double story house, UP STAIR is definately cannot hv chin even is air con, once air con die in the afternoon you chins will sure get heat stroke due to the roof which release the warm air into the room.
2. You need to check the place temperature where you plan to place the chin, at whole afternoon, what is the range of temperature.
3. Chinchilla will begin to loose some fur to suit this temeprature BUT still they wont be able to handle anything above 30C.
4. Give dust bath more often, they hate humid, cos make their fur look greasy and matted.
5. Provide cooling pad, it will help A BIT.

Lastly, I hv friend who take care of the chin without AC, in good condition, just their wont hv thick fur.

Good luck on you hunt of chinchilla, continue do more reading and research.
stardust
post Aug 27 2008, 01:30 PM

454 posts

Is it lunch time ????
TSChinchillas
post Aug 27 2008, 01:51 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(stardust @ Aug 27 2008, 01:30 PM)
Is it lunch time ????
WAH! So big already! Time for lunch!! FEED ME! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
mnibar
post Aug 27 2008, 04:06 PM

303 posts

GOod Day,

Thanx for the info....i have another question to ask...regarding the cooling pads...i read there are a few ways of cooling the cage manually.

a) use tiles that has been in freezer overnight and place it at the bottom of da cage.>>effects 4 hours if not mistaken

b) place ice cubes in covered cooking tray and place it in cage and chin will lay next to it.>>dunno how long it last

c) put ice in ice box and place on top of cage

Is there any recommended cooling pads/system that has been use to ensure it is cool for a longer period of time.

Again..thanx for any information...coz i really wanna make sure i can provide best care b4 i actually buy one

122 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:23 PM