45 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

TSChinchillas
post Dec 11 2007, 05:35 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Dec 10 2007, 09:54 PM)
Very cute chincilla!!! Wahh... I kind jealous of you, hee... tongue.gif U the luckiest person that can rear Chinchilla.They are my dream pet but I'm not ready for it cost becoz they very expensive but for rear it, I'm always ready.
First time when I see chinchilla, was at Petsmore at Jalan Sultan near Central Market. I get permission from the shopkeeper to hold it they sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo damn cute, In my mind I just want run away with that chinchilla. hee......  biggrin.gif they still baby, very small that time and look scared. When I look at them, I was very pity for them and want buy them both and take a good care but dont hav money becoz they sell it about RM980 each. Crazy price!!!
Chinchilla indeed will attract you with their cute and tame nature especially if you had hold them before. You will be even suprise you never touch such great soft fur before right? laugh.gif
RM 980 is very commond, but you must also know how to discern is that chinchilla quality is FOR RM980.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Dec 11 2007, 05:36 PM
TSChinchillas
post Dec 12 2007, 12:04 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(czai84 @ Dec 11 2007, 08:22 PM)
i am looking for a chins in sabah, i din see any pets shop selling at here yet..
wat is the temp. which they suit?

Added on December 11, 2007, 8:32 pmi see from the forum.. and they say not over 70F.. thats mean around 20C?
no wonder aircon is a must for them
Sabah I heard need to get permit to bring in animal from Penisula.

Yes Chinchilla will thrive on cold temp, 25c below is the minimun requirement.

Added on December 12, 2007, 12:05 am
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Dec 11 2007, 09:58 PM)
Ya, u right, It is really soft until I dont want to let it go and very cute action when we hold it. Wahh... I'm now really,really, really in love with chinchilla. Sorry, maybe I'm a man dosent mean that I cant have a reaction like this. hahaha.. But really if anyone hold it, u never want let it go. You know what Chinchilla is one of my target in my dreams. Hope it will be come true. hee.....

Added on December 11, 2007, 9:59 pm

Crazy Isnt it? hahaha...
Hope you can get your dream come true soon. laugh.gif

Added on December 12, 2007, 12:07 am
QUOTE(dien @ Dec 11 2007, 08:07 PM)
let me try touching your chins even once..  smile.gif
sweat.gif when I am ready...

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Dec 12 2007, 12:07 AM
TSChinchillas
post Dec 12 2007, 12:10 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(bebee @ Dec 12 2007, 09:41 AM)
what happens if its not 25c ?
The chin will be very easy to get fungus, fur will look oily, matted fur, very thin fur and skinny mostly. I always suggest people who not rare their chin in air condition MUST have dust bath 3 times each week. I also advice to check the position you place you chin is it overly warm. 29c below can be tolerate but don't expect you will hv a fluffy chin. smile.gif
TSChinchillas
post Dec 12 2007, 01:54 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(bebee @ Dec 12 2007, 01:35 PM)
oh~ my house night time is 27c  blush.gif
day time is more  blush.gif  blush.gif
Beside that you need dry place, not humid. If chinchilla place without air conditional in our climate, it won,t be able to avoid the humidity we have unless in AC room. So dust bath is a must on 3 times a week without AC.
TSChinchillas
post Dec 14 2007, 04:58 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Check with your nearest pet shop(those BIG one), ask them. Or from me, but I dont have babies chin for sale now...

I will suggest you read this-->www.chincare.com so you know what chinchilla need is before you get them home... so reduce lot of stress for you and your pet.
TSChinchillas
post Dec 25 2007, 10:47 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 25 2007, 03:33 PM)
I visited House of Chinchillas in Singapore, met Patrick and also got really really poisoned into getting a Chin.... sigh.....
biggrin.gif Great! You must be very in love with their chins, He got about 100 chins.(not included those sold)

Added on December 25, 2007, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Dec 25 2007, 12:44 PM)
Hai, hows ur chinchilla, are they okay? hehehe.. just want to send regard to ur chichilla. tongue.gif
Thanks! They doing really good, I am waiting them to grow bigger. biggrin.gif I should have a chin give birth on 31 Dec. laugh.gif

Added on December 28, 2007, 12:20 pmYeah! My chin just give birth to 2 Hetero Biege! So adorable. Will post pictures soon.

Added on December 29, 2007, 12:44 pmHere is my latest babies chins pictures, thye just born 28th dec. Nathan and Luca! biggrin.gif
The photos taken when they about 18hours old. Very adorable! active! tame!

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Dec 29 2007, 12:44 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 1 2008, 12:43 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

They will!!!! biggrin.gif Here is a video! Enjoy! And HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

A bit dark, very difficult to shot with low light using my mobile cam.... blush.gif
QUOTE(Carinmanfong @ Jan 1 2008, 05:09 AM)
Nathan and Luca are so cute, hopefully they can grow up into a beautiful chin  icon_rolleyes.gif
This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jan 1 2008, 12:46 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 1 2008, 04:46 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jan 1 2008, 01:28 PM)
darn cute.. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif do they mix well with dog?
Personally I won't let them get close to any other animal, cause Chinchilla is rodent, and is prey, so any others animals will definately begin a threat to them. I also see people put their chin play with dog and CAT...sad.gif I dont think it is right thing to do.
TSChinchillas
post Jan 4 2008, 12:14 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(jeanette @ Jan 3 2008, 06:24 PM)
aloha! im a crazy chincilla lovers wub.gif , looking for baby chincilla to keep..any breeders there? place to get it?
hardly to find nice breed in market now..sob sob.. sad.gif

Added on January 3, 2008, 6:31 pmwow..it was extremely cute! rclxm9.gif
You are late... sale just closed.... sweat.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jan 4 2008, 12:36 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(jeanette @ Jan 4 2008, 12:07 PM)
Ow.. shocking.gif too bad.. shakehead.gif may i noe when sales open? whistling.gif
Just pay more visit here or on the adpost, I can't really tell when is the next sale open... Proper should be after March/April. blush.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jan 5 2008, 12:17 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(bebee @ Jan 4 2008, 02:35 PM)
chin: congratulations of the new chin
Thanks! laugh.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jan 7 2008, 09:16 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Jan 7 2008, 08:32 PM)
Chinchillas, congratulation for the new birth..
Nathan and Luca!  biggrin.gif
Thanks!
TSChinchillas
post Jan 13 2008, 12:46 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jan 12 2008, 09:26 PM)
Congrat for u, and welcome to Nathan and LUca and u two have a great 'Parents'. tongue.gif

Today, I went to wildlife zoological and u know what, hee.. again I saw chincilla, so the aunty ask me if want to hold it ( she already know me becoz always visit their animal there, hee.. tongue.gif ), when I hold it I dont know why I'm getting mad to get chinchilla. hahahaha.. drool.gif cute one. The price also increase. huhuhu.. the aunty said can decrease the price if I want it, but... maybe next time becoz dont hav enough money and the budget for chinchilla not plan yet.
One thing.. they put chinchilla in average temperature and under the light. I told her chinchilla must kept in cold environment but she said ok, becoz chincilla parent is from local breeder, if from europe thats must be keep in cold environment. hmmm.. is that considered?
That auntie is talking non sence, no matter is the chinchilla from anyway of the world, they are still cold climate animal, with local breeder(i hope there is) or not, chinchilla still prefer cold weather. Non air-con condition/too warm(especially SHOP LOT), chin will look skinny and greasy matted fur, cause it force the body to loose fur to keep cold. SO, if a chinchilla no much of fur, what a Chinchilla for? In worst pet shop condition, chin under light/ direct sunlight will be eventually die, if you can pls give that stupid shop a call and tell them remove the light/re position the chin and keep in air con, pet shop no air con, those not call pet shop, those call Prison for animal. shakehead.gif

We all know how our local pet shop standard is, I no need to evaluate more.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jan 13 2008, 12:48 AM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 14 2008, 10:39 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jan 14 2008, 09:11 AM)
nod.gif

Actually I already told her that chinchillas can be die if we keep in heat environment. but she deny what i'm sayin and I'm not know much yet about chin care that time, so I'm ask u about it. hmmm... if I go there again I will tell her about it. nod.gif
Every shop that I been to who have chin for sale, everytime I know the animal going to sufffer. So far I only know Pet wonderland is REALLY Keep chin and other small animal in 'Ok" condition to meet all their basic need, others, is worst and poor. I encounter some shop that chin begin handle with lack of knowledge, business minded, and 'DONT CARE' attitude, I confront them immediately, if worst, I report SPCA untill they pay a visit to that shop.(that's least I can do).

Added on January 14, 2008, 10:43 am
QUOTE(alexchin @ Jan 14 2008, 09:47 AM)
hi...
i am new here...
may i know how much of 1 chinchilla?
Depend on colour, quality. You need have basic discernment to judge the chinchilla weather it is good, ok, poor, or exreame poor quality to buy a chin. Most of the pet shop is selling chin just as they do to any other animal, some more pet shop usually only familiar/expert in dog and cat, they dont know how to judge a healthy chin or what, they get from who ever sell to them. I saw ppl selling chin with serious fungus attack the chin, poor greacy coat, SKINNY and hunch! TO learn more how to judge you need to see more photo to get some ideal, see, see, see. That's the way.

go here---> www.chinchillas.com

Added on January 14, 2008, 10:44 am
QUOTE(LeonTan @ Jan 14 2008, 02:00 AM)
yup... dont really trust pet shops... Try to study more about chincillas or other pets before getting some... Coz I have exprienced before... Those pet shops really dunno anything about animals...  vmad.gif
Beside dog and cat, I don't know what else they can study some basic knowledge for each animal.

Added on January 14, 2008, 10:49 am
QUOTE(jaswwp @ Jan 14 2008, 10:12 AM)
Just like siberian huskies, chins can be kept in our normal weather but the coat will suffer lo. Huskies here kept in non air con house have such thin coat and shed loads. For a delicate animal like chinchilla the effects may be even worse I guess.
Agreed. Huskies is SUPPOSE to be in SNOW/Winter climate, can't believe there are here. Air con can only provide min 16c, can't go lower to 5c. Chinchilla can survive and in the range of 25c-29c without direct sunlight and heat. Above this temperature they will be in extreme suffering, they wont tell, you can see from their ear and they moving partern, can't sleep well or wont move at all till temp drop/waiting to die...sad.gif

There is no LOCAL BREEDER/BREED that can change the Original Creation.

Added on January 14, 2008, 10:56 amOne of my chin, enjoying her sleep....

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jan 14 2008, 10:57 AM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 14 2008, 09:19 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

[quote=sharil_routh,Jan 14 2008, 03:37 PM]

[/quote]

huh.. why u show that picture?tongue.gif I cant help myself when see cute things. shocking.gif
Hoping can play with ur chin even once. huhuhuhu.. sweat.gif

[/quote]

smile.gif Hopefully one day la.

Added on January 14, 2008, 9:20 pm[quote=dien,Jan 14 2008, 08:35 PM]
i like that picture..
even can sleep like that.. tongue.gif

[/quote]

laugh.gif Hope she wont get NECK PAIN!!

Added on January 14, 2008, 9:20 pm[quote=bebee,Jan 14 2008, 03:48 PM]
OMG that chin so cute

[/quote]

Thanks! cool.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jan 14 2008, 09:20 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 28 2008, 08:30 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Kitsune @ Jan 28 2008, 07:20 PM)
Hello I'm new here and I am considering getting a chinchilla from a breeder...anyone know a low price as i really don't mind the colours. meh to be straight to the point i want one cheap. my cousin in aussie has one its cute and floofy biggrin.gif
Currently i dont have any baby chin for sale. I am wondering how your AUSSIE(Australia) cousin in australia can have one, cause Chinchilla is illegal in Australia.

Added on January 28, 2008, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(dien @ Jan 28 2008, 08:06 PM)
kitsune, you may try PM our sister Chinchillas..
sweat.gif I am BROTHER Chinchilla la, not Sister.... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jan 28 2008, 08:30 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 28 2008, 10:49 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Of cause I am sure smile.gif . Are you sure you saw it in Australia? Australia gov had listed owning chinchilla is illegal.(So far I only know australia and 2 more country is illegal)

click here

QUOTE(Kitsune @ Jan 28 2008, 09:00 PM)
I have no idea...sad.gif are you sure its illegal o_o i mean i saw my cousin's chin it was greyish with some black touches
This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jan 28 2008, 10:55 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 29 2008, 08:17 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Lockheart @ Jan 29 2008, 03:25 PM)
how much would a full set be?

2chins+good cage+Toys

oh and how do they retaliate and what would the  bottom of the cage look like?

I'm kinda interested in buying one looks chubby :3
I would suggest beside financially you are welling to pay, you need to do some basic research what is Chinchilla. Chinchilla is very easy to care, but you can't apply the feeding hamster, rat or other 'Malaysia culture practise' method to chinchilla. Simple basic knowlegde will be good enough for you to start with.

2 chin depends on colour, can be RM1000, or RM3000. Cage from RM200-RM500(including some basic acceseries, bowl, water bottle etc.
TSChinchillas
post Jan 30 2008, 05:18 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Lockheart @ Jan 29 2008, 10:28 PM)
hmm....what if i just get one chin i don't really mind the colour...all i am bothered about is the price and yes, i already know about chinchillas. I read from greenwood chinchillas i believe oh and i hope someone will be able to provide me with a picture of a good chin cage(more specifically the bottom of the cage wheter it is wired or solid[so that i may out wood chips])

sorry for all the questions cause yeah i am really aiming for a chinchilla smile.gif hopefully a good low price might influence my parents to get me one.

oh an if anyone knows any breeders that sell chin kits please tell me smile.gif
QUOTE(Lockheart @ Jan 30 2008, 05:14 PM)
@ chinchilla- if you had some chin babies or chins to sell how much would you sell the cheapest(I dont mind any colour even standard grey is fine)
If you are not having income by yourself and still depend on your parent, I doubt you can have pet that need special food and care. (even those some people can.) smile.gif

Like dog, cat, small animals, all of it require certain amount of money to purchase the animal it self, to maintain(depend on how far you want to go beside basic need), VET BILL, one time cage and others accesseries.

If you still depend completely on parent to support you financially, I doubt that when your pet sick, you are not able to give immediate medical attention which involve money.

On my side, they is no cheap pet/animal to sell. But I do know there is low quality animal to sell from pet shop or direct owner.

Maybe you can get a pair of hamster or guinea pig which have lower purchase price value, so you can easily take care of them even tho when they need vet or other special need. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jan 30 2008, 05:19 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jan 30 2008, 09:45 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Lockheart @ Jan 30 2008, 07:25 PM)
umm rubber balls, wooden block with holes, hideable things smile.gif oh and a wheel

Added on January 30, 2008, 7:26 pmumm rubber balls, wooden block with holes, hideable things smile.gif oh and a wheel
It really show you haven't do your research enough on chinchilla. blush.gif

45 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:30 AM