Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

TSChinchillas
post Sep 7 2007, 02:55 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 6 2007, 05:22 PM)
Noob question here, the chinchilla izzit a new species ??
biggrin.gif No, Chinchilla been here for few years already(5yrs or more), quite new for OUR country, but for western more then 50 over years...
Chinchilla is not a new species, which involve mutation on the colour blush.gif Is a nice, cute furry friend.

Added on September 7, 2007, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Sep 7 2007, 10:36 AM)
u can actually touch the babies ah?? the mother wont act protective meh??not like hamster, will eat babies one wor............
For hamster, either the babies is still birth or sick, the mom wont simply eat it. Secondly hamster have difference behaviour, once they get ' over scare', they will protect the babies by consume them...

For chinchilla, yes you can touch the babies, but is not wehn it still fully wet. I usually hold it after the baby fur is dry, usually 3-4 hours later, if not the mom will reject the kit and not take it as her own.

Actually chinchilla it need simple food. Good quality pellet, good hay, water, right temperature, that's all. You will have a healthy chin as pet. Timothy Hay is the daily need of the chinchilla.

So far I have not see any chin owner come in here and post together... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Sep 7 2007, 03:06 PM
climacool
post Sep 8 2007, 03:07 PM

Never End
1,415 posts

Chinchilla abit look like Rabbit + Hamster + sheep skin biggrin.gif
TSChinchillas
post Sep 8 2007, 10:56 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Sep 8 2007, 03:07 PM)
Chinchilla abit look like Rabbit + Hamster + sheep skin biggrin.gif
hahaha... something like that biggrin.gif

This is my granddaughter, call Faith. She is 1 weeks old. blush.gif

dien
post Sep 8 2007, 10:59 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 8 2007, 11:56 PM)
hahaha... something  like that biggrin.gif

This is my granddaughter, call Faith. She is 1 weeks old.  blush.gif

nice color..
looking at faith's fur color.. what we call that color er??

This post has been edited by dien: Sep 8 2007, 11:00 PM
SUSHaiXuan
post Sep 8 2007, 11:40 PM

141 posts

wau..so cute
TSChinchillas
post Sep 9 2007, 11:03 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Sep 8 2007, 10:59 PM)
nice color..
looking at faith's fur color.. what we call that color er??
Beige. Beige usually come witi ruby red eyes. Some beige colour have the 'dirty spot ear' , but my chin dont have. rclxms.gif If you have chance to see in the market beige colour chinchilla, you will mostly see beige come with 'dirty spot ear'.

Added on September 9, 2007, 11:07 am
QUOTE(HaiXuan @ Sep 8 2007, 11:40 PM)
wau..so cute
Thank you and welcome on board smile.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Sep 9 2007, 11:07 AM
dien
post Sep 13 2007, 12:45 AM

3,254 posts

i had seen one chin at pets safari..
not sure the color.. tongue.gif
TSChinchillas
post Sep 14 2007, 12:44 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Sep 13 2007, 12:45 AM)
i had seen one chin at pets safari..
not sure the color..  tongue.gif
When? discribe the colour rolleyes.gif
jaswwp
post Sep 14 2007, 04:24 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Cute baby chinchilla. I heard some of them can never be tame with humans and dislike being touched is it true?
dien
post Sep 15 2007, 02:04 AM

3,254 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 14 2007, 01:44 PM)
When? discribe the colour rolleyes.gif
when?? not sure the exact date..
i think last june..

i captured picture of that chin..
but, the pictures was in my thumbdrive which with my friend now..

This post has been edited by dien: Sep 15 2007, 10:23 PM
TSChinchillas
post Sep 21 2007, 12:39 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Sep 14 2007, 04:24 PM)
Cute baby chinchilla. I heard some of them can never be tame with humans and dislike being touched is it true?
Chinchilla are rodent, so they dont like to be hold for 'long time' in nature. Each chinchilla have their own personality, of cause you need to spend time with them enable the chin to get use to your smell. About 'tame', all my chin is tame. They won't be act like dog and cat. As you call them, they come, no, chin won't do that, you give food, they COME! biggrin.gif
jaswwp
post Sep 21 2007, 12:57 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

haha..such realistic creatures... got food only come
dien
post Sep 21 2007, 10:28 AM

3,254 posts

so, only call them with food..
no food, not come la.. shakehead.gif
TSChinchillas
post Sep 21 2007, 12:00 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Yalor, they are like that want la, and they will beg you for letting them out! Once you let them out, you can see them ALMOST IS TIME TO SEND TO MENTAL INSTITUTION!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Here is some photos of my babies chins.... sweat.gif

Grouping them to take photos is very hard, they keep on want to run away.... blush.gif
jaswwp
post Sep 21 2007, 12:25 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Very cute! The babies will grow up to be same color as the parents is iy?
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 21 2007, 01:31 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Gosh, I feel like pinching them hahah... so cute! Ai, dunno when I can have one..... sob sob.
TSChinchillas
post Sep 21 2007, 02:15 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Sep 21 2007, 12:25 PM)
Very cute! The babies will grow up to be same color as the parents is iy?
Yes and depend. Genatic play a great part in it. Depends on the dominant gen in that chin.

Added on September 21, 2007, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 21 2007, 01:31 PM)
Gosh, I feel like pinching them hahah... so cute! Ai, dunno when I can have one..... sob sob.
I know you can have it anytime... just depend on you still have space to cop your mini zoo or not laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Sep 21 2007, 02:17 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 21 2007, 02:27 PM

12,047 posts

Haha... so true. For me it is actually space and also living conditions. I got no room that is suitable for a Chin now... maybe later lah..... right now also I have to concentrate on other type of pets, so it is getting a bit overboard hahahah.
TSChinchillas
post Sep 21 2007, 03:52 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

I may also get in some guinea pig as pet. Maybe one day go for gerbil! biggrin.gif But my passion is on Chinchilla...I am dreaming to start a pet shop just specialise in Small animal, especially chinchilla... still dreaming...
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 21 2007, 08:06 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Sep 21 2007, 03:52 PM)
I may also get in some guinea pig as pet. Maybe one day go for gerbil! biggrin.gif But  my passion is on Chinchilla...I am dreaming to start a pet shop just specialise in Small animal, especially chinchilla... still dreaming...
Hahah... I also have that same dream.... well, I hope I can succeed with that plan in like another 10 years once financially stable.

Try and get hold of a pair of guinea pigs, they are so vocal and interactive.

122 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:58 AM