Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

Dannyoski
post Nov 4 2008, 02:58 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Nov 4 2008, 02:14 PM)
I can't see anything wrong yet with the nose, but i see big wrong with the TIMOTHY HAY AS LITTER USAGE. And the hay is completely brown, dont let him eat. Go to the shop look for GREEN timothy hay, not brown, not pale yellow, is GREEN! blush.gif

If you have pull out tray, put some bedding like chipsi or order wood type pelleted bedding or newspaper in to suck the urine. Spoil hay(Hay begin Urinated) will cos chinchilla have diarrea once eaten and it will lead to serious problem.
Hmm, diarrhea root cause found. nono got intermittance diarrhea is due to the timothy hay i put as a bed and base.

But after changed the bed and base to diff (dry and brown) timothy hay, he no longer diarrhea.

In the other way, the timothy hay i feed nono is diff type which is more green from Kaytee.

Kindly advice whether i still need to change the bed and base to chipsi or order wood type as you suggest or not?

And whether need to change the timothy hay from kaytee or not?

Feeling relief hearing no fungus found on nono. But big worry again with his big wrong bedding.

Hahaha... the learning never stop.
Dannyoski
post Nov 5 2008, 10:29 AM

226 posts

[quote=Carinmanfong,Nov 4 2008, 03:21 PM]thanks for sharing. appreciate that. i will set an appointment with you to visit your little chin. notworthy.gif
you may consider to get a ceramic house/ wooden house for your chin. he will feel more secure.
your chin is a mosaic. the pink white is cheaper. thumbup.gif

[/quote]

I am getting a wood house for him tonight at rm14. Thanks for the input.

Added on November 5, 2008, 10:43 am

Added on November 4, 2008, 6:03 pm

Yeah, NONO ZOO at Penang... need entrance fee?

Added on November 4, 2008, 6:12 pm

Chin is right. Is that the reason why nono got diarrhea?

Your pic not clear wo, hard to see ler. Danny, u can identify yourself by looking at your chin [botak and flakes (something like dandruff)]... I try to get some pic of chin who got fungus later.

Added on November 4, 2008, 6:16 pm

Danny: this are some pics that I got from net and oso rocky's old pictures. I have posted some pictures of my chins and chinchillas is the one who noted my chin got fungus. I have zoom in the said pictures and hope you can identify it yourself. The starting stage of the fungus oso there... no flakes but botak and pinkish.

PS: slightly serious one is taken from the net, not my chin.

[/quote]

Free entrance to all members from this thread.... hihi.... smile.gif

+ a photo of nono on visitor shoulder as souvenior.

10q 10q 10q for the sharing smile.gif

based on the picture, i guess nono is having a starting stage of fungus which is no flakes but botak a bit and pinkish at nose. Pinkish also observed at the tail but no botak and flakes.

For bed, i am still suffering to get the best for him.

Added on November 5, 2008, 10:54 am[quote=Chinchillas,Nov 4 2008, 07:22 PM]

Newspaper place under the tray to use as bedding, is safe, just need to change every day or your desire. Danny's cage should hv tray. But the bottom's holes is too big, watch out that your young chin leg may get caught and injure. Inside the cage also don't have anything for your chin to hide, get something for him to hide, that is rodent's nature, they need to hide to feel secure, no security = full stress.

Didnt see any pellet in the cage as well, pellet need to be in there 24hours, as well as timothy hay.

About the fungus, without a clear shot with flash, is very hard to judge.

Pink White is much more expensive then Mosaic.

[/quote]

My cage base setup

bottom layer is the tray without hole which can pull out.
middle layer is the tray with hole.
top layer is the timothy hay (yellow brown) tat he never eat.

current condition allow pop to pass through the top and middle layer and eventually contain at the bottom layer. Which is very clean.

The top layer will prevent nono leg to get caught at the hole from middle layer.

The only concern is the urine at the timothy hay base, else it would be a perfect litter system.

By the way, i saw one of your photo also using the same cage. Can you share how you setup this cage? 10q 10q 10q

Added on November 5, 2008, 11:02 amYesterday i went to search for a litter system from the pet shop i get nono.

Feel very pity when i saw the chinchilla condition.
The worse is the female mosaic color chin got a bruse at her right eye. (totally block the eye).
The flur condition were bad and were given junk food.

If i got extra blood, sure will bring them back home to take good care of them.

If you wish to get a chin in penang, hope you react soon before things getting worse. cry.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Nov 5 2008, 11:02 AM
Dannyoski
post Nov 5 2008, 12:29 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Nov 5 2008, 11:41 AM)
Me? I dont use cage that have holes on the bottom, all is flat base. smile.gif For your cage, beside the brown hay, the rest setting is ok. In long run you won't be able to sustain on using the brown hay to create a flat base. Maybe find few more bigger marble to fill up the base, so all is flat.

The wooden house is it made from SAFE WOOD?  And the size must be big enough for your chin when he grow big.

For the pet shop of the chinchilla condition, you may go tell then the chin need a vet, the eyes get infection due to the humid, dusty and hot enviroment. Need a special eye drop from the vet. But I dont think the pet shop will give any treatment to the animal. Prolong lead to blindness. You can tell then politely, if their not listening to you and rude, let them be. Your bullet still not loaded much, so you will be get mad.

Don't buy animal from PET SHOP when the animal is in suffering, that will made the pet shop get rip of the problem animal and make profit. I know you will thinking of saving the chinchilla, that will made them get more chinchilla, cause got so many 'idiot good heart' buyer to give them money.
It didnt mention wat type of wood wor.....

Yes, You are right chinchillas, never think of tat b4 bc all i think is to safe them... i should confront them politely to get to vet. doh.gif

I am thinking of tat b4 but if i put marble replace brown hay, then how to manage the urine r? sweat.gif

i want to put chipsi corn or other wood as bed and absorp urine at the top layer also cannot bc got hole and it will drop to bottom tray. Thats the tricky part.

Need something tat can drop the pop, keep the urine, act as bed, cover middle layer hole, all together ....i think is nearly impossible. hehehe

I got an idea but dunno will it works or not

1. replace brown hay with marble at top layer (still got some gap to allow pop flow to bottom tray)
2. then put a litter tray with chipsi corn or other wood inside. (unless he only urine at this tray)
3. put the cooling pad below the wooden house. ( act both cooling effect and secure with the house)

In this case, i can have a flat base, special urine area, sleep area, cooling effect, security effect, cleaner surface with pop auto drop system.

Sounds good?? blush.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Nov 5 2008, 12:58 PM
Dannyoski
post Nov 6 2008, 04:08 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Nov 5 2008, 11:38 PM)
Chipsi CORN cannot use as bedding for chinchilla. Especially direct bedding.
How about chipsi green apple softwood?

Bought a cheap house for nono oledi at rm17. Safe to chew for chinchilla write in japanese words.

one thing i observed. A lots of pet shop selling the food and accessory that are not suitable for Chinchilla but was highly recommended by the shop owner. Somemore, the product itself was stated tat it is suitable for chinchilla. ohmy.gif this is really confusing. doh.gif

No wonder the shop owner said tat many chinchilla cannot last long. Its all bc of the wrong food, wrong accessory and wrong info given by them.

Luckily i found this forum, else will be another victim.

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Nov 6 2008, 04:23 PM
Dannyoski
post Nov 9 2008, 12:08 AM

226 posts

Hi Chinchillas,

I saw the superpet hay manger with salt hanger and hay and salad hanger.

Which one is the best for chinchilla?

Now i use a modified hanging tray for hay feeding but the tray area was mess up with the hay. If i use one of the superpet product above, will it solve my problem?

smile.gif thanks

Dannyoski
post Nov 9 2008, 12:25 AM

226 posts

wau, thanks for the quick reply smile.gif

since zero mess is imposible, i will continue to clean the drop or unwanted hay frequently to avoid nono pee on eat then accidentaly eat it.

Thanks Chinchillas, now i clear on what is the next shopping list to buy from you. hahaha

Dannyoski
post Nov 10 2008, 09:36 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Nov 9 2008, 10:32 AM)
Hahhaha.. No problem.

Cleaning the cage daily is a good practise, and will make sure good hygeine as well. smile.gif

Your Camera still dont have flash yet? biggrin.gif
My phone camera don have flash. sweat.gif

Plan to get a new camera but no blood to sqeeze liao. blush.gif

Yeah, just a few minutes of cleaning can make a big diff to both nono and myself. thumbup.gif

Added on November 10, 2008, 9:50 am
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Nov 10 2008, 12:05 AM)
Not really a bad experience, but more on lack of doing research and study smile.gif . Maybe you need to do research and read more on how to take care of any animal you thinking to have before you attend have one. Usually, even you have bough it, you still can do a quick research to get the rough ideal of what the particular animal need. The matter is how much you willing to study.smile.gif
Chinchillas is right, i facing the same issue where nono diarrhea and turn me up and down for few days, this is bc i didn do enough home work before getting him.

I had learned the lesson and i am still learning to deserve the best for nono. Just borrow a Chinchilla 101 from a pet shop. Hope i can master it soon and start to helping ppl like Chinchillas. hhahaha (still long way to go.)

Added on November 10, 2008, 10:10 am
QUOTE(sakura1612 @ Nov 9 2008, 03:29 PM)
wow Danny, ur nono is so cute !! wub.gif
I thought of buyin a Chin before, but buying everythin including the cage will cost above 1k !
And I have bad experience with small animals >.<
My bunny died of diarrhea, I'm afraid my Chin will get diarrhea and die aso cry.gif
Hi Sakura1612,

nono must be very happy hearing tat again. tongue.gif Too bad you are not from Penang, else can visit nono. tongue.gif

You can click on chinchillas signature link. He got one chin baby now with all the neccessary item included and cost only rm1k. (Special recommended)

BTW, i saw your signature also. Husky is my favourate. My mum kept Jack russel, shih tsu and silky terrier. I cannot keep a dog bc stay in apartment.

One more thing, Chin cannot stand dog bark or attack. If too near or too loud, they will get stress easily and worst come to worst die of stress whithin minutes. read this from book, it is true, Chinchillas?

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Nov 10 2008, 10:38 AM
Dannyoski
post Nov 12 2008, 11:02 AM

226 posts

OMG,

nono really really love the Kaytee Forty Diet Pellet bought from Chinchillas. He willing to do anything to get it.
When i let him out from cage... once called his name.... sure he will fly to me and climb to my body to ask for the pellet. hahahah

Although a bit expensive but is worth it.

As for the cooling pad, surprisingly it can be so cold without being chill 1st. I rearrange his cage again.

I modified the cage to double story and move his room to upper level with the cooling pad as base. Hope he like it.

Thanks chinchillas to bring in all these cool stuff to malaysia market.

Dannyoski
post Nov 12 2008, 03:26 PM

226 posts

Hi Chinchillas,

Based on your comment previously, we need to provide them pellet 24 hrs a day. I just give ~ 2 tea spoon yesterday bc scare he will overloaded himself. May be i will start with 2 tea spoon and slowly increase, or directly provide 24 hrs to him?

Another Q, my fren from pet shop recommend me to use recycle paper tube (like pellet but bigger size a bit). Said the absorber is good and is OK for chin to eat it. It is true?

Now i use chipsi green apple as litter, i saw nono eating it also. (it is safe)??

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Nov 12 2008, 03:29 PM
Dannyoski
post Nov 12 2008, 04:58 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Nov 12 2008, 04:05 PM)
Hi Danny,

Yes, the pellet must be there 24/7. Don't worry, chinchilla won't over eat, when they full they stop, when they hungry, they eat. smile.gif The sign of worry is when they don't eat. Slowly you will know how much roughly your chin is eating per day. Just 24/7 pellet in bowl + timothy hay + clean water.

For the recycle paper bedding(Breeder Celect as Bebee mention), is not recommend to use, especially on chinchilla. Breeder celect is a recycle from newspaper, they will get very messy when use it as direct bedding and chinchilla for sure will eat it. Secondly, bedding made from recycle paper, once dried up, it will become tiny power flying around, is actually will affect the respitory system of the animal. If you want to use it, you must have a litter pan that have filter, chin cannot reach to eat the recycle paper and use need to change it quite often.
I have a breeder friend who begin give sample of Breeder celect to try out, he commend is : "Cannot be use at all, cause within few hours chinchilla will wet the hold thing and get very messy. Material toxic to chinchilla." Chinchilla pee quite alot... laugh.gif

To add on for the cooling pad, check backside of the box, it explain to you 3 major benefit from the cooling pad beside begin a cooling pad.  I touch the pad, is very cooling indeed, is really suitable for few major small animals. They is another one also very cooling, and I find cooling then the one you have. smile.gif
Hmm, luckily i didnt use it.

Haiyo doh.gif you should recommend me the coolest cooling pad ma.... hhahahaa izzit the ceramic house???

The box stated in Japanese la. What are the 3 major things?

1. De ionizer for neative ion?
2. Prevent fee?
3. Cooling effect?

Dannyoski
post Nov 18 2008, 05:58 PM

226 posts

My Streamyx cut d. So cannot online at home .....

And busy at work.

Btw, i capture lots of nono picture .... will post it soon.... hahaha

Nono is getting more and more bonding to me..... such a lovely companion......

Chinchillas,

Your baby is so cute !!! i like the sheep one..... the face so mature .... like a professor. Give him a sun glasses ... sure very cool .....

Nono pop become very large, long and solid after feed him with the Kaytee Forty Diet pellet.

One more thing, he like to lick all over my palm .... i guess my palm sweat kua .... is it ok? btw, i scare he will get poison, so i not allow him to do so.

Dannyoski
post Nov 19 2008, 08:30 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(Carinmanfong @ Nov 18 2008, 06:08 PM)
hi, when i can visit nono?
cannot wait to see nono in real  blush.gif
Anytime smile.gif just inform me 1 day ahead.

Bring Camera as well... hahaha
Dannyoski
post Nov 24 2008, 10:06 AM

226 posts

Eh Hemm....

Still remember me .... i am nono

Please help me get out .. please pleeeease ..

I am so lonely

See..... see....

Yeah .... finally out !

Added on November 24, 2008, 10:19 amChinchillas & Shingin,

May i know the fungus powder name? How much to add into the dust bath?

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Nov 24 2008, 10:19 AM
Dannyoski
post Nov 24 2008, 01:00 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(sakura1612 @ Nov 24 2008, 12:26 PM)
oh my god ! the pics are so cuteeeee wub.gif

i like the first pic haha ~

danny is a good photographer keke
10q 10q 10q.... blush.gif

i would say is nono photogenic la ..... biggrin.gif
Dannyoski
post Nov 25 2008, 09:03 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Nov 24 2008, 06:41 PM)
rclxms.gif  Nice picture! USE FLASH LIGHT!! Eve nicer...

For the fungus powder, you need to go the pharmacy and ask them. Difference pharmacy sell difference brand. Just said you need anti-fungus/ringworm in POWDER FORM.

Mix 1 teaspoon powder with 1 cup of dust bath, bath every day for 2 weeks. You can browse again on this thread, browse the whole thread.
Hi Chinchillas and Shingin,

Thanks for the advice. I went to farmasi last night and obtained the anti-fungus and ring worm powder. Mix a tea spoon with the dust bath and look forward for nono recovery.

The powder is white in color and cost me rm10.

i wish to get one "Real Camera" soon to take nono picture. smile.gif
Dannyoski
post Nov 26 2008, 09:23 AM

226 posts

Hi Shingin,

my anti fungus brand also "candid"

Hi Carin,

Sure, more pic to come but still no flash sad.gif

Hi Chinchillas,

I am really tempted with the ceramic house la.....

BTW, any toy recommendation r?
Dannyoski
post Nov 29 2008, 11:30 PM

226 posts

Yeah !!! good to hear that the members is expanding !!!

Chinchillas,

The only way to keep nono stay still at my hand, arm, shoulder is to give him treats. But once treat finish, he will start to move. I know thats the normal behaviour for them. But do you have other way or method or training that can make them stay with you longer?

So far i only manage to call his name and he come to me, climb up to my body but not for long.
Dannyoski
post Dec 24 2008, 02:37 PM

226 posts

Merry Merry Christmas !!!

This post has been edited by Dannyoski: Dec 24 2008, 02:39 PM
Dannyoski
post Jan 5 2009, 04:25 PM

226 posts

Hi all,

Happy New Year 2009 !

Long time no post here liao ....

latest update is tat i already master the Chin massage. Nono really like it untill turn his head and close his eyes during the massage (must be very very syok !!)

Dannyoski
post Jan 5 2009, 11:24 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(vincent_cbl @ Jan 5 2009, 01:43 AM)
hey , chinchillas !that day you ask me to post my chin picture right !this is my chin!hahaha.... biggrin.gif
haiz...the tan chin look not healty o...the fur quality became bad already and the ear got black spot lol doh.gif ...
but the white mosaic is okay la....same environment and food,one became healty and fat and became worst ne?
hahah....any brand of vitamin is good?can intro for me ar? thumbup.gif
Nice cage u got !!!

it is come with full set? or you bought seperately? and where you get the ladder, small house, and base?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0447sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:31 PM