1,108 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 25 2021, 04:57 PM)
interesting

sony launch the X85J prices.

I see only the Motion XR X85J is 800Hz compare to X80J 200Hz

https://www.sony.com.my/electronics/televis.../specifications

But X85J has 85 inch but more expensive than last year X90H

macam getting more and more expensive. Very funny strategy.

I actaully dont quiet understand. not much significant differernce.

its either a person will go for X90J or X80J

X85 is like they went back to the G generation. X75G X80G X85G X95G

but that time the 85 inch only X95G best of the best.

lowest is X75G or X70G is not mistaken.
What's more interesting is the irony , you don't understand yet somehow you got it all figured there isn't much difference .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 26 2021, 01:34 PM
Convael
post Jul 11 2021, 05:14 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(erictanyh @ Jul 11 2021, 04:10 PM)
Why is this relevant ?

Its not happening in MY , period .

Convael
post Jul 30 2021, 12:46 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(axenophage @ Jul 30 2021, 10:46 AM)
13k for TV + 2k for extended warranty

Keep on nego for 1 by 1 item to get better discount
That is a little bit too pricey .

You can probably get the A90J for RM14.5K on shopee now .

The A90J has a better resistance to image retention and slightly brighter full screen white .

The A80J also skimped on the anti-reflection coating the screen compare to A90J .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 30 2021, 12:48 PM
Convael
post Sep 19 2021, 07:40 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(kawayura @ Sep 18 2021, 10:21 PM)
guys, looking for x90j 75 inch to replace my current z9d 75 inch. what is the best deal so far?
That is actually a massive downgrade .
Convael
post Sep 19 2021, 06:39 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(kawayura @ Sep 19 2021, 02:20 PM)
i had the z9d for 6 years and i believe the current specs for x90j will surpass z9d?
Not at all .

Z9D is much brighter and has best FALD in the industry even according to modern standard.
A true testament of Sony 's dedication to picture quality .

X90J is Sony's mid range TV , it merely has 24 FALD zones , which is insignificant compare to Z9D 's 500 + zones .
Not to say X90J is bad but it would take a lot to dethrone a Legendary LCD model from Sony .

The only upgrades I can think of is either you go for their OLED or if you insist to stick with LCD , those Samsung MiniLED are even brighter and packed with quantum dots colors .

This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 19 2021, 06:54 PM
Convael
post Sep 20 2021, 06:11 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(AstonCheah @ Sep 20 2021, 03:05 PM)
hi all, would like to ask x90j 65" = rm6200/3yrs warranty, is it a good price
Not the cheapest deal I have ever seen but it is reasonable .

This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 20 2021, 06:11 PM
Convael
post Sep 20 2021, 08:58 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(AstonCheah @ Sep 20 2021, 06:52 PM)
thanks, what is the cheapest you have seen?

possible in the coming 10.10 or 11.11?
I have seen them below 6k with cashbacks and free stuff during sales period .
You can probably extort for further discount on 11/11 .

Again , why wait when you can have the TV now ? It's not like you aren't going to get another 50 % discount from 6k .
Convael
post Oct 8 2021, 07:33 AM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Oct 8 2021, 12:07 AM)
Android TV OS and excellent out-of-the-box image quality/accuracy for most models when set to 'custom' picture mode with only backlight brightness adjustments needed to suit room lighting.

Out-of-the-box image accuracy of X90J:

Inaccurate assessment , because Accuracy of each individual TV models is highly subjected to Unit Variance since most TV are mass produced .
If you look at the pre-cab scoring from rting , the best scoring model is QN90A , which completely nullify your argument choosing Sony over Samsung .

In general , most of the mid-range to high end TVs should have acceptable accuracy when switching to the most accurate viewing mode .
Sometimes a little warmer , or a little cooler but nothing too destructive compare to the ABC from China .

This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 8 2021, 12:50 PM
Convael
post Oct 8 2021, 01:09 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Oct 8 2021, 12:45 PM)
Of course there are Samsung and LG models that have great out-of-the-box image too and a few Sony models have disappointing accuracy. But most Sony models usually have great accuracy. Looking at rtings table, notice that at the bottom of the pre-calibration rankings, there is rarely a Sony TV. According to rtings measurements, Sony TVs tend to follow the HDR EOTF curve more closely as well.
I don't think you understand what those ranking means IRL .

There are a bunch of Sony TV scoring below 7 and you seem to think 5.8 is much worse .
The truth is both Samsung and LG has far more entry level models than Sony, it is only natural they are taking more spots at the bottom .

I am telling you this , pre-cab settings are random , period .

And no , the adherence to the HDR EOTF curve is but only 1 minor aspect of Picture Accuracy .
In fact , that has nothing to do with pre-cab at all because the numbers are not randomized , they are going by the same input from the factory calibration .
Meaning ? You cannot exactly change the value without making sacrifice because they are how the brand want you to see view HDR on their screen , it is intentional .

And please don't throw HDTVtest's quoting at me , tyvm .
You are talking to someone who actually calibrate TVs here , not random fanboi who defend their brands obsessively not knowing what they are talking about .

If accuracy means that much to you , why are you even looking at Sony ?
Panasonic is the King of that . No one come close to them even for pre-cab settings .

Instead of being obsessed with pre-cab settings , you should be looking at their CMS .
2 points are easy to do on Sony's CMS but if you are looking at 10 points , you should be looking at Panasonic .

This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 8 2021, 01:20 PM
Convael
post Oct 20 2021, 11:27 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Oct 20 2021, 05:00 PM)
Anyone encounters on their x90j whereby despite setting the Pic Setting to Custom, while playing ie YouTube, Disney+, Hulu, it'll auto switch to Standard or Vivid for different titles?

Am having this prob and it's annoying as I need to adjust every time...
try this
Convael
post Dec 17 2021, 02:55 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 16 2021, 02:14 PM)
OLED is not perfect since it also have its own problem like black crush and could also be dimmer later on as the usage accumulated.

The black crush is not mostly a problem , because of the amount of dynamic range OLED has .

In fact it was intentional and served as a dithering mask to smoothen out black -> dark gray transition .
When you start from zero , you have plenty of headroom left compare to any LCD .

Dim screen is also not an issue either , after 10000 or even 100000 hours of rigorous testing from rting and several media outlet , the brightness ratings have not actually dropped .

For most people this would probably means a decade of TV watching .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 17 2021, 02:57 PM
Convael
post Dec 17 2021, 03:04 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 16 2021, 05:27 PM)
If you want HDR, why do you buy OLED though? Samsung TV can go >1000nits for great HDR. They dont need DV. Mainstream OLED at best 600+ nits, just like a mid tier LED TV.
I don't think you understand what is HDR , if at all .

Dynamic range is like a canvas . It is measured similarly to contrast , which starts from the deepest black expanding to the brightest peak .
It is what is giving pictures a sense of depth , again similiar to how we measure contrast which play the biggest role in determining picture quality .

Yet under a typical situation , a 500 nits OLED TV will generate the same amount of impact (or "POP" which many of you have heard from HDTV ) as a 1500 nits LCD .
That is because when it comes to dynamic range , the " darker " side of the measurement is far more valued than the brighter end of the spectrum .
Which is also why the current LCD are trying to play catch up with " light blocking technology " such as the FALD / Mini LED .

Human eyes are very sensitive to lights in a way that we are able to perceive more details in a dimmer environment than under strong lights.

A 1500 nits FALD TV probably has a base black floor of around 0.025 cd/m2 , which is roughly equivalent to 1:12000 contrast .
The OLED always starts from 0 , even with a 800 peak brightness it has a typical contrast rating of 1 : 1000000 .

As you can see here , the gap of just 0.025 cm/2 makes up for such a stark difference in contrast ratings .

This is due to the flaws coming from the same tech that powers all currently liquid crystal screen , which require a backlight system .

The current backlight system is far from perfection , often requires complex calculation to be functional and pales in real life performance .
The same reason why even these 1000 nits monitor are considered fake HDR advertising . They are just bright screens , there is very little dynamic range on it because they are unable to supress the lights effectively .

I don't know about you but even when I watched the reviews on my tablet, Samsung HDR always made me wow while OLED just feel accurately coloured.

You just said you can't afford an OLED , yet you somehow manage to come to this conclusion .
Please don't tell me you are making the judgement from a highly compressed youtube video with an extremely limited dynamic range .

If we are just going to talk about the HDR " wow " factor , it is physically impossible for this to happen , it is the same as saying 1000 cm is shorter than 10 cm .

The only circumstance I can think of is you are in a very bright room or you are watching large patch of snow field , in which case the strong ambient light is overpowering the screen with glares .
Self emissive screen such as the OLED always gain an advantage and willl trample over the LED LCDs when it comes to sheer picture quality .

And we have not even begin to talk about dark room performance .

In dim / pitch black room , that advantage will translate into infinite contrast . Anything with a darker background will be imbued with incredible depth , projecting a sense of image floating in air , conjuring a semi - 3d illusion , a PQ miracle which you have to witness to understand how awesome it is .

Now now , considering there are plethora of LCD Issue such as screen uniformity , uneven screen light distribution which further reduce dynamic range and contrast , "halos" , blooming and backlight leakage . Not to say the OLED doesn't has its own flaws but they certainly don't affect Picture Quality to the same extends . If we are being frank here , the 2 technology are not in the same running league .

There are other things Samsung's very high end QLED did better than OLED , but picture quality and contrast [ and thus , dynamic range ] are not one of them .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 17 2021, 03:28 PM
Convael
post Dec 17 2021, 04:07 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 17 2021, 03:21 PM)
Well, I'm not really that technical into TV. Just on the surface.

I'm not really comparing anything from technical pov. I know there are more to it than just brightness alone but when watching review from tablet (also an oled screen), the immediate difference in brightness and a more saturated color of the Samsung does make the OLED felt naturally color. Just like many of the reviews when comparing apple latest ipad with mini led display vs oled display from Tab S7+. I'm sure there will be more difference when you at the TV in real life but for now, I wont look at something I cant afford.
All I am saying is , brighter screens =/= better screens .

Video camera lens used to do vidcap is far less advanced than our eyeballs , hence impossible for them to capture the same dynamic range a pair of human eyes can perceive .

The OLED you are watching from tablet are most likely AMOLED , manufactured by Samsung .
They are structurally different than the wRGB OLED used by LG in their commercial TV .

Which means without actually being present in the comparison scene, the difference you saw on a youtube vid could have come from your tablet / mobile screen , instead of the TVs .

This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 17 2021, 04:40 PM
Convael
post May 6 2022, 04:38 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 27 2022, 11:50 AM)
I wonder if we will even get QD OLED here. Maybe Samsung S95B.
no.

QUOTE(engseng @ Apr 26 2022, 02:55 PM)
The new 2022 QD-OLED Sony TVs are not available yet?
I like the optimism , but nope . Not this year , at least .

This post has been edited by Convael: May 6 2022, 04:39 PM
Convael
post Jun 21 2022, 09:31 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jun 21 2022, 11:44 AM)
Mostly has to do with the Local Dimming system .

The X90K , is still largely an upgrade over X90J . It comes with 54 FALD zones and 1000 nits peaks , subsequently a major boost in color saturation as well .

Unfortunately , also because of the tremendous increase in screen luminance ( 25% - sustainable 865 nits is really bright for TV ) , despite of the already an upgrade on Dimming Zones it fails to keep up to suppress blooming and other " light pollution " issues such as the black uniformity , which also affects Contrast .

In comparison , the Samsung TV which can reach similar brightness has over 700 dimming zones from Mini-LED . [ and also more pricey ]

In general , it is still an upgrade if you are getting it for a living room . Otherwise , just stick to X90J .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 21 2022, 09:44 PM
Convael
post Jun 22 2022, 07:12 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 22 2022, 01:14 PM)
if the price just a slight increase then it should worth the upgrade

does x90k offer bravia core?
Yes , look at the offers Here
Convael
post Jul 2 2022, 07:31 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Jun 30 2022, 06:12 PM)
Rm9,999 for Display set of XR65A90J.
Can consider or not?
What to look out for, like burn-in, time uses, etc  etc
HELL NO . Not 10000 for a used set .

You can already get it for less than 10k for a new unit during last month sales .

Or You can just get an A80J much cheaper for more or less the same Picture Quality .

The A90J has slightly brighter highlights and a built-in heatsink .
That means it will clear up those image retention faster ( NOT TO BE CONFUSED with Burn-Ins ) .

Unless you are planning to use this TV for a lot of static content , I am still not convinced it is worth paying extra .

Overall I am quite disappointed at the 2022 line up from Sony .
Obviously we are NOT getting the new Quantum Dots OLED model but they have also scapped the plan to release flagship wRGB A90K .
So , no flagship OLED from Sony this year . And the Flagship MINI-LED is only available @ 85 " for an absurd price tag .

It is understandable because the sales of TV have slowed down across all markets .

That is on top of the launch of more affordable OLED line up from LG .
Which means they have a lot of stocks remained ( especially the previously super popular X90 series ) .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 28 2022, 04:00 PM
Convael
post Jul 6 2022, 07:48 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Jul 5 2022, 09:44 AM)
WoW, Didn't know the XR65A90J cost < Rm10K for a New unit, when on sale.
Where can I find one, possible to direct me on the right path?

Got suck in on the heat zink hype with better specular highlights detail, higher peak brightness and clear up image retention faster.
Need to check up on the A80J, since I'm using mostly for movies.
What would be the ~ price of XR65A80J be?
Can save a few K for a sound system/bar?

Thought of waiting for the new QD-Oled too.
Hopefully it will arrive end of the year or early next year.
There might be some during the sales . Try the 7.7 lazada / shopee .
From what I've heard , they have been clearing last year models at some really incredible price .
Desa Home also tend to give you some really hefty discount if you are willing to nego .

Personally I just don't think second hand OLEDs are worth it , because there is no reliable way to determine the usage patterns of the panels .

I have calibrated both A90J and A80J in the past , they are very identical in picture quality .
In fact , I have had a chance to look (stare) at both of them side by side at Sony @ Lalaport .

I am not convinced it is worth spending more for the A90J for now .
The slightly better color saturation is actually part of Sony's pixel contrast booster and has actually been that way since A9F . They are also available on the A8 series .

The QD-OLED is definitely a massive upgrade , seen it first hand in an Alienware's event . But they are not coming anytime soon due to limited yields .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 6 2022, 09:03 PM
Convael
post Jul 6 2022, 08:01 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(GBP56 @ Jul 2 2022, 10:17 PM)
A friend recommended the x90j 55”, but can only find the newer x90k in stores. Would you recommend something else instead? Not too particular whether OLED or normal LED, just for normal daily tv watching and maybe PS5, as long as not more expensive than x90k price.
It really depends on your expectation.

Do you expect to be blown away ? Or you just want a large and decent TV to brag to your guests ( trust me , some people buy TV for such purposes ) .

X90 is especially good for the latter purpose but the 48" OLEDs too are landing at the similar price bracket and comes with some of the best PQ . Obviously it is smaller , which means less bragging rights .
X90J and X90K are more or less the same , just buy whichever that is the cheapest you find .

The LG 's LCD QNED91 , miniLED TV also makes for quite a good living room TV . Previously we would just ignore any LCD from LG , but these MINILED is really good at masking the IPS lousy contrast in a lit room .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 6 2022, 08:37 PM
Convael
post Jul 15 2022, 06:45 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Jul 15 2022, 10:56 AM)
May I know if its the LG QNED81 (2022) 65" vs the Sony X90K 65", which one will be a better buy? Since both of these tv is in the same price range.
Tq
The X90 , QNED81 is not MiniLED .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 15 2022, 06:46 PM

0.0380sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:40 PM