KWSP Withdrawal to Reduce/Redeem House Loan, Consider Advance or Prepayment?
TSskyhyk88
Apr 23 2021, 05:06 PM, updated 5y ago

Hi All,
I am planning to withdraw money from my kwsp acc 2 to pay for my studies which does not quality for education withdrawal, therefore i plan to do it another way by applying to withdraw the acc 2 through the option to reduce/redeem house loan.
If i am correct once approved the amount will be credited directly into my existing house loan account am i right? If yes will the bank consider it as an advance payment or prepayment? I have read that if advance payment since i am having a semi-flexi account i can redraw but if prepayment i will not be able to redraw.
Anyone have similar experience before?
Appreciate your comment. Thanks
aziejal
Apr 23 2021, 05:12 PM
No, the amount will be credited directly to your personal bank account.
fun_feng
Apr 23 2021, 05:19 PM
for house loan redraw.. u need a recent SNP
u have that?
TSskyhyk88
Apr 23 2021, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(aziejal @ Apr 23 2021, 05:12 PM) No, the amount will be credited directly to your personal bank account. then it will be a huge relief
TSskyhyk88
Apr 23 2021, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Apr 23 2021, 05:19 PM) for house loan redraw.. u need a recent SNP u have that? i have the original snp signed back in 2014 just only applied through the kwsp portal, already submitted, no additional documents required, only fill in the blanks like when the loan approved, loan amount, date snp signed, etc
blurjoey
Apr 23 2021, 05:25 PM
The amount goes to your personal account if do the monthly 1
Xaphier
Apr 23 2021, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:23 PM) i have the original snp signed back in 2014 just only applied through the kwsp portal, already submitted, no additional documents required, only fill in the blanks like when the loan approved, loan amount, date snp signed, etc If I remember correctly, the SNP cannot be more than 3 years in order to qualify.
TSskyhyk88
Apr 23 2021, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Apr 23 2021, 05:25 PM) The amount goes to your personal account if do the monthly 1 i applied for a lump sum, reduce/redeem housing loan, not the monthly installment payment
TSskyhyk88
Apr 23 2021, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(Xaphier @ Apr 23 2021, 05:27 PM) If I remember correctly, the SNP cannot be more than 3 years in order to qualify. really? i didnt see it mentioned anywhere in the webpage anyway ive submitted, let's see how
blurjoey
Apr 23 2021, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:29 PM) i applied for a lump sum, reduce/redeem housing loan, not the monthly installment payment Only says this "Full payment in Ringgit Malaysia (RM) will be credited to your account If you hold an active account with our panel bank and your identification no. matches the bank records" https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/withdrawa...artial/buy-home
blurjoey
Apr 23 2021, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:30 PM) really? i didnt see it mentioned anywhere in the webpage anyway ive submitted, let's see how Got write in the website "Proof of Purchase Sales and Purchase Agreement (not more than 3 years from the date of application)" https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/withdrawa...artial/buy-home
GaussSeidel
Apr 23 2021, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:29 PM) i applied for a lump sum, reduce/redeem housing loan, not the monthly installment payment For lump sum withdrawal, it will be paid straight to your bank loan account. You can’t take it out tho as its not allowed by EPF. But you can stop paying monthly mortgage for months equivalent to full sum withdrawn earlier.
TSskyhyk88
Apr 23 2021, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Apr 23 2021, 05:39 PM) Got write in the website "Proof of Purchase Sales and Purchase Agreement (not more than 3 years from the date of application)" https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/withdrawa...artial/buy-homenot buy home but reduce-redeem housing loan https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/withdrawals/...em-housing-loan
loki
Apr 23 2021, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(aziejal @ Apr 23 2021, 05:12 PM) No, the amount will be credited directly to your personal bank account. this
TSskyhyk88
Apr 23 2021, 05:51 PM

QUOTE(GaussSeidel @ Apr 23 2021, 05:40 PM) For lump sum withdrawal, it will be paid straight to your bank loan account. You can’t take it out tho as its not allowed by EPF. But you can stop paying monthly mortgage for months equivalent to full sum withdrawn earlier. ok that make sense but will epf really instruct bank to now allow withdrawal from loan account? i thought once released to bank their role is done, it is up to the applicant to keep it there reducing interest or withdraw..
blurjoey
Apr 23 2021, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:51 PM) ok that make sense but will epf really instruct bank to now allow withdrawal from loan account? i thought once released to bank their role is done, it is up to the applicant to keep it there reducing interest or withdraw.. I think this is for a lump sum and it says here directly to the house loan account "All withdrawal payments will be credited directly into yours or your spouse’s housing loan account when you meet the following criteria. You/spouse has a housing loan account with a panel bank appointed by the EPF; AND Your/spouse’s loan with the EPF panel bank is not in the non-performing loan (NPL) status Your/spouse’s loan account is still active Your/spouse’s identification number as a borrower matches with the bank’s record Payment is made in Ringgit Malaysia (RM)" https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/withdrawals/...em-housing-loanOnly the monthly is into your personal account. I think that is why I went with the monthly 1 long time ago. This post has been edited by blurjoey: Apr 23 2021, 05:59 PM
LamboSama
Apr 23 2021, 06:09 PM
Don't do that. It's not worth it if EPF finds out.
zerorating
Apr 23 2021, 06:58 PM
i just did balance reduction via kwsp last month. its considered as prepayment which balance got reduced, not advanced payment, which mean you still need to pay your installment like usual
birain
Apr 23 2021, 07:21 PM
TS, trying to game EPF system by cheating.
kingz113
Apr 23 2021, 09:33 PM
The amount when taken from acc2 cannot be withdrawn as cash. It'll go straight to reducing the loan balance. I can confirm as I just did this.
tomato people
Apr 23 2021, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(aziejal @ Apr 23 2021, 05:12 PM) No, the amount will be credited directly to your personal bank account. Nice info!
GaussSeidel
Apr 23 2021, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:51 PM) ok that make sense but will epf really instruct bank to now allow withdrawal from loan account? i thought once released to bank their role is done, it is up to the applicant to keep it there reducing interest or withdraw.. There is advance payment withdrawal T&C that mentioned this EPF restriction prior to u clicking the “Submit application” thru web based system (M2U etc). More likely that bank is going to reject the application if it finds out that u are going to withdraw the amount from EPF fund credited earlier. The T&C varies by bank so worth checking with ur banker first.
coldfission
Apr 23 2021, 10:22 PM
The epf 2 reducing housing loan is considered as capital repayment, not advance payment. It means to say you can't withdraw it from semi flexi loan account. I just did it recently and find out couldn't withdraw the money out.
This post has been edited by coldfission: Apr 24 2021, 05:33 PM
coldfission
Apr 23 2021, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:23 PM) i have the original snp signed back in 2014 just only applied through the kwsp portal, already submitted, no additional documents required, only fill in the blanks like when the loan approved, loan amount, date snp signed, etc The e-pengeluaran is very efficient, I got my withdrawal within 7 working days starting from the file I applied it. QUOTE(Xaphier @ Apr 23 2021, 05:27 PM) If I remember correctly, the SNP cannot be more than 3 years in order to qualify. My house was purchased in 2012 andd still able to use epf account 2 to reduce loan.
cdspins
Apr 23 2021, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(kingz113 @ Apr 23 2021, 09:33 PM) The amount when taken from acc2 cannot be withdrawn as cash. It'll go straight to reducing the loan balance. I can confirm as I just did this. I believe this is the case, TS will not be able to cash out the advance payment.
cyjh
Apr 23 2021, 10:33 PM

Just did the withdrawal ie redeem last week n recd money deposit direct to loan acct not savings. Mine is cimb full flexi. Redeem cannot touch the money if tat is ur intention.
However wuthdrawal as monthly payment goes to savings acct, i also did tat last year. N u can use tis excess cash in ur savings
This post has been edited by cyjh: Apr 23 2021, 10:35 PM
gashout
Apr 23 2021, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(GaussSeidel @ Apr 23 2021, 05:40 PM) For lump sum withdrawal, it will be paid straight to your bank loan account. You can’t take it out tho as its not allowed by EPF. But you can stop paying monthly mortgage for months equivalent to full sum withdrawn earlier. This is correct QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:51 PM) ok that make sense but will epf really instruct bank to now allow withdrawal from loan account? i thought once released to bank their role is done, it is up to the applicant to keep it there reducing interest or withdraw.. We were hoping so too. But reality isn't. Not worth using 6% interest capital to reduce a 3% loan. I learned my lesson. QUOTE(kingz113 @ Apr 23 2021, 09:33 PM) The amount when taken from acc2 cannot be withdrawn as cash. It'll go straight to reducing the loan balance. I can confirm as I just did this. This is correct
SUSceo684
Apr 23 2021, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 05:23 PM) i have the original snp signed back in 2014 just only applied through the kwsp portal, already submitted, no additional documents required, only fill in the blanks like when the loan approved, loan amount, date snp signed, etc More than 3 years from date of signing, expired liao, cannot be used for EPF house loan withdrawal as lump sum. This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 23 2021, 11:24 PM
TSskyhyk88
Apr 24 2021, 03:58 PM

if that's the case then i will write in to kwsp and ask them to cancel the reduce/redeem house loan, then apply the housing loan monthly installment
I'm V-Kool
Apr 24 2021, 05:58 PM

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 23 2021, 06:29 PM) i applied for a lump sum, reduce/redeem housing loan, not the monthly installment payment EPF will directly credit it into your housing loan account to reduce loan amount There is no such thing as into your own personal account If the current dividend given by EPF is higher than your housing loan interest, just keep it inside EPF
I'm V-Kool
Apr 24 2021, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 24 2021, 12:04 AM) This is correct We were hoping so too. But reality isn't. Not worth using 6% interest capital to reduce a 3% loan. I learned my lesson. This is correct You need to calculate the housing loan as compounding interest and EPF is yearly dividend interest
gashout
Apr 24 2021, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(I'm V-Kool @ Apr 24 2021, 06:02 PM) You need to calculate the housing loan as compounding interest and EPF is yearly dividend interest Whatever you withdraw from EPF will be compounded over the years too. So it still isn't worth it.
adam1190
Apr 26 2022, 01:52 AM
QUOTE(coldfission @ Apr 23 2021, 10:22 PM) The epf 2 reducing housing loan is considered as capital repayment, not advance payment. It means to say you can't withdraw it from semi flexi loan account. I just did it recently and find out couldn't withdraw the money out. How about full flexi loan account, also not possible to withdraw the excess right?
Pakatan SinMa Plus
Apr 26 2022, 09:45 AM
The interest for EPF saving is 6%, while your housing loan interest is 4.+% right? Is it worth to do so?
coldfission
Apr 26 2022, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(adam1190 @ Apr 26 2022, 01:52 AM) How about full flexi loan account, also not possible to withdraw the excess right? it is still not possible to withdraw it as it is not treated as advanced payment.
poweredbydiscuz
Apr 26 2022, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(I'm V-Kool @ Apr 24 2021, 06:02 PM) You need to calculate the housing loan as compounding interest and EPF is yearly dividend interest You don't know EPF is compound interest?
SUSRolexseller123
Apr 26 2022, 05:08 PM

QUOTE(Pakatan SinMa Plus @ Apr 26 2022, 09:45 AM) The interest for EPF saving is 6%, while your housing loan interest is 4.+% right? Is it worth to do so? The idea is to max the usage of EPF funds. Because 1) you can "cash out" through not needing to pay your housing installments 2) time value of money 3) so that you do not get stuck once epf eventually raise min withdrawal age
cempedaklife
Apr 27 2022, 03:28 AM
QUOTE(cyjh @ Apr 23 2021, 10:33 PM) Just did the withdrawal ie redeem last week n recd money deposit direct to loan acct not savings. Mine is cimb full flexi. Redeem cannot touch the money if tat is ur intention. However wuthdrawal as monthly payment goes to savings acct, i also did tat last year. N u can use tis excess cash in ur savings You mean even full flexi also cannot take the money out? Aiks
johnnycp
Apr 27 2022, 08:25 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ Apr 23 2021, 11:04 PM) This is correct We were hoping so too. But reality isn't. Not worth using 6% interest capital to reduce a 3% loan. I learned my lesson. Like how not worth it, care to explain? My math phailed Example my epf only has 500k, but my housing loan got 1.2m included interest to pay. In this case is it better to withdraw epf 100k+ to reduce the loan principle amount? I see most people here only talking about interest rate comparison without comparing the principle amount
mini orchard
Apr 27 2022, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 27 2022, 08:25 AM) Like how not worth it, care to explain? My math phailed Example my epf only has 500k, but my housing loan got 1.2m included interest to pay. In this case is it better to withdraw epf 100k+ to reduce the loan principle amount? I see most people here only talking about interest rate comparison without comparing the principle amountInterest rate savings and money savings are two different comparison. Eg.... 5% fd rate on 100k and 3% on 500k will have different quantum of interest money received. 100k will received 5k 500k will received 15k This post has been edited by mini orchard: Apr 27 2022, 09:03 AM
Pakatan SinMa Plus
Apr 27 2022, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Apr 26 2022, 05:08 PM) The idea is to max the usage of EPF funds. Because 1) you can "cash out" through not needing to pay your housing installments 2) time value of money 3) so that you do not get stuck once epf eventually raise min withdrawal age I see. so it is to liquidate the money in epf. But i think will need to consider retirement time too. After retirement, we will need to spend more on healthcare and elderly care. If we retrieve the money for house loan repayment now, we will have lower savings in EPF and lose out the compounding interest from EPF.
mushigen
Apr 27 2022, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 27 2022, 08:25 AM) Like how not worth it, care to explain? My math phailed Example my epf only has 500k, but my housing loan got 1.2m included interest to pay. In this case is it better to withdraw epf 100k+ to reduce the loan principle amount? I see most people here only talking about interest rate comparison without comparing the principle amount If you transfer RM100k to reduce home loan principle, your epf account loses 6% of the 100k amount, while your home loan saves on 3 or 4% (depends on the interest) of the 100k you paid off. Is it worth it? Your home loan still has RM1.1 principle that incurs interest at 3, 4%.
johnnycp
Apr 27 2022, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 27 2022, 09:51 AM) If you transfer RM100k to reduce home loan principle, your epf account loses 6% of the 100k amount, while your home loan saves on 3 or 4% (depends on the interest) of the 100k you paid off. Is it worth it? Your home loan still has RM1.1 principle that incurs interest at 3, 4%. I still not fully get it, you mean the 1.1m @4% interest still cheaper than 500k @ 6%? Is this how people calculate? I thought reducing the housing loan principle can significantly reduce the total interest I have to pay. Unless my epf has more money than my house loan which need to service.
mushigen
Apr 27 2022, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 27 2022, 10:09 AM) I still not fully get it, you mean the 1.1m @4% interest still cheaper than 500k @ 6%? Is this how people calculate? I thought reducing the housing loan principle can significantly reduce the total interest I have to pay. Unless my epf has more money than my house loan which need to service. Let me put it this way. If you kena Toto RM200k, do you earn more interest putting it in savings account (iinm 0.5% pa), or you pay your home loan (3% interest) to reduce RM200k principle? Your home loan now kena 3% x RM1m instead of 3% x RM1.2m pa. (Home loan is daily rest, but I used pa for ease of explanation}.
poweredbydiscuz
Apr 27 2022, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 27 2022, 10:09 AM) I still not fully get it, you mean the 1.1m @4% interest still cheaper than 500k @ 6%? Is this how people calculate? I thought reducing the housing loan principle can significantly reduce the total interest I have to pay. Unless my epf has more money than my house loan which need to service. Doesn't matter you have 1m, 10m or 100m loan principle, the 100k you withdrawn from epf only reduce 100k principle amount. It doesn't affect interest on the rest of the principle amount. This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Apr 27 2022, 10:23 AM
johnnycp
Apr 27 2022, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Apr 27 2022, 10:22 AM) Doesn't matter you have 1m, 10m or 100m loan principle, the 100k you withdrawn from epf only reduce 100k principle amount. It doesn't affect interest on the rest of the principle amount. But the interest is calculated based on the reduced principle amount right right? Alright I use the property guru website loan calculator, my understanding is correct. Reducing the principle housing loan amount is definitely worth it if your loan tenure is very long, and also your loan amount bigger than your EPF amount. Some of the comment I read here is misleading a little This post has been edited by johnnycp: Apr 27 2022, 10:29 AM
mini orchard
Apr 27 2022, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 27 2022, 10:24 AM) But the interest is calculated based on the reduced principle amount right right? Bank .... 01.01.22 ... RM1,200,000 @ 3% = 3,000 01.02.22 .... RM1,200,000 - 100,000 @ 3% = 2,750 Reduce of 100k = 250 interest savings Epf .... 01.01.22 ... RM100,000 @ 6% = 500 02.02 22 .... RM0 @ 6% = 0 This post has been edited by mini orchard: Apr 27 2022, 10:35 AM
poweredbydiscuz
Apr 27 2022, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 27 2022, 10:24 AM) But the interest is calculated based on the reduced principle amount right right? Alright I use the property guru website loan calculator, my understanding is correct. Reducing the principle housing loan amount is definitely worth it if your loan tenure is very long, and also your loan amount bigger than your EPF amount. Some of the comment I read here is misleading a little Wow you are not joking when you said your math is failed. 1m loan principle minus 100k from epf = 900k (you save 100k x loan interest) 10m loan principle minus 100k from epf = 9.9m (you save 100k x loan interest) 100m loan principle minus 100k from epf = 99.9m (you save 100k x loan interest) You will save 100k x loan interest only, no matter how big is your loan principle.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
Apr 27 2022, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(johnnycp @ Apr 27 2022, 10:24 AM) But the interest is calculated based on the reduced principle amount right right? Alright I use the property guru website loan calculator, my understanding is correct. Reducing the principle housing loan amount is definitely worth it if your loan tenure is very long, and also your loan amount bigger than your EPF amount. Some of the comment I read here is misleading a little EPF has compounding interest too. money retrieved from EPF to pay house loan can help to reduce the principle + house loan interest, but at the same time it will cause u earn lesser interest from CPF too, as your savings in CPF is lower after retrieval. It is like right pocket to left pocket, the only difference is how much interest to save/earn.
s112252
Apr 27 2022, 11:02 AM
Yes, the money will be credited to your personal bank account every month if you opt for monthly reducing balance, nne lump sum withdrawal will go to your loan account.
For monthly reducing balance, you just need to apply via EPF website, EPF will contact your bank for the necessity.
Generally, EPF return is higher than your mortgage interest but you are doing it for a reason, for every decision you made, there is a opportunity cost.
EPF return - mortgage interest is about 2%, if you opt for withdrawal then the cost for such decision is 2%. what are the cost if you decide not to withdraw from EPF, since you need extra money, money comes at a cost.
Not to mention, unquantifiable cost like stress of managing cash flow. if you know what are the cost of not using your EPF money, you should be able to made up your mind.
SUSRolexseller123
Apr 27 2022, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(Pakatan SinMa Plus @ Apr 27 2022, 09:25 AM) I see. so it is to liquidate the money in epf. But i think will need to consider retirement time too. After retirement, we will need to spend more on healthcare and elderly care. If we retrieve the money for house loan repayment now, we will have lower savings in EPF and lose out the compounding interest from EPF. Obviously these savvy people have planned to use that EPF money to generate more returns. For e.g. my father withdrew his epf and placed it in usd denominated etf funds. Over the long run it should yield more than epf PLUS its in USD so you don't suffer the depreciating ringgit, at least over the long run.
mini orchard
Apr 27 2022, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Apr 27 2022, 11:21 AM) Obviously these savvy people have planned to use that EPF money to generate more returns. For e.g. my father withdrew his epf and placed it in usd denominated etf funds. Over the long run it should yield more than epf PLUS its in USD so you don't suffer the depreciating ringgit, at least over the long run. Many who used epf money to buy a property prior to 2009 would have seen their property prices doubled.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
Apr 27 2022, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Apr 27 2022, 11:21 AM) Obviously these savvy people have planned to use that EPF money to generate more returns. For e.g. my father withdrew his epf and placed it in usd denominated etf funds. Over the long run it should yield more than epf PLUS its in USD so you don't suffer the depreciating ringgit, at least over the long run. Yea, i can understand if those retrieve the money and invest to generate higher yield. But i am just curious why would people retrieve the money to repay house loan, which are charging lower interest than the interest given by EPF
SUSRolexseller123
Apr 28 2022, 01:07 AM

QUOTE(Pakatan SinMa Plus @ Apr 27 2022, 01:12 PM) Yea, i can understand if those retrieve the money and invest to generate higher yield. But i am just curious why would people retrieve the money to repay house loan, which are charging lower interest than the interest given by EPF Its the same thing. For e.g. say your original monthly installment on your housing is rm2k p.m. After partial payment of your housing loan with epf and refinancing to another bank, your monthly installment reduced to rm1k. Now you have "extra" rm1k to invest in an etf which would otherwise be used to pay your housing loan anyway.
mini orchard
Apr 28 2022, 05:37 AM
QUOTE(Pakatan SinMa Plus @ Apr 27 2022, 01:12 PM) Yea, i can understand if those retrieve the money and invest to generate higher yield. But i am just curious why would people retrieve the money to repay house loan, which are charging lower interest than the interest given by EPFThat is one way to withdraw epf money for other purpose once the property is sold later. Is also to reduce current debt level to be eligible for next loan purpose. Not all epf withdrawal is only about interest rate.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
Apr 28 2022, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Apr 28 2022, 01:07 AM) Its the same thing. For e.g. say your original monthly installment on your housing is rm2k p.m. After partial payment of your housing loan with epf and refinancing to another bank, your monthly installment reduced to rm1k. Now you have "extra" rm1k to invest in an etf which would otherwise be used to pay your housing loan anyway. Thanks for sharing. It is a good idea to liquidate the money in epf n potentially earn higher interest. But One should mindful on the opportunity cost if they do so too. It is crucial to be able to manage the additional rm1k per month to overcome the opportunity cost.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
Apr 28 2022, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Apr 28 2022, 05:37 AM) That is one way to withdraw epf money for other purpose once the property is sold later. Is also to reduce current debt level to be eligible for next loan purpose. Not all epf withdrawal is only about interest rate. Currently, if the property is sold, will the money withdrew from epf needs to be refunded to the EPF? Yea, agree. the reduction debt level is one of the main benefits for Savvy investors.
mini orchard
Apr 28 2022, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(Pakatan SinMa Plus @ Apr 28 2022, 08:42 AM) Currently, if the property is sold, will the money withdrew from epf needs to be refunded to the EPF? Yea, agree. the reduction debt level is one of the main benefits for Savvy investors. Not required.
Pakatan SinMa Plus
Apr 28 2022, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Apr 28 2022, 09:12 AM) that will be a risk for some in retirement planning. Not everyone is financially literate enough to make good use of the money they withdraw from the EPF to earn more money. Common people like me might spend it or invest, but eventually make a loss in the investment. Then, it will be a burden to the individuals and the country if these group of people is large enough.
SUSdattebayo
Jun 7 2023, 10:58 AM
question regarding EPF e-pengeluaran to reduce/redeem loan amount
some people said the money will be used as advanced payment, which means let say I applied for 1 year worth of instalments, once it is approved, i no need to pay installments for 1 year?
while some say it will be treated as prepayment, which means upon the credit of EPF money into the loan account, i still need to pay installment as per normal? (which sort of defeat the purpose of withdrawing EPF money in the first place)
subdroid
Jun 7 2023, 11:00 AM

if you want cash, choose Housing Loan Monthly Installment withdrawal
poweredbydiscuz
Jun 7 2023, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 10:58 AM) question regarding EPF e-pengeluaran to reduce/redeem loan amount some people said the money will be used as advanced payment, which means let say I applied for 1 year worth of instalments, once it is approved, i no need to pay installments for 1 year? while some say it will be treated as prepayment, which means upon the credit of EPF money into the loan account, i still need to pay installment as per normal? (which sort of defeat the purpose of withdrawing EPF money in the first place) Got 2 types. You can apply for monthly withdrawal to pay the loan or lumpsum withdrawal to reduce the principal balance. The latter still need to pay monthly installment.
SUSdattebayo
Jun 7 2023, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 7 2023, 11:05 AM) Got 2 types. You can apply for monthly withdrawal to pay the loan or lumpsum withdrawal to reduce the principal balance. The latter still need to pay monthly installment. the latter one can I decide the sum to withdraw? let say I don't want to withdraw 100% of whatever it is in Account 2 the monthly withdrawal one minimum is 12 months? after that can cancel?
tzarain
Jun 7 2023, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 10:58 AM) question regarding EPF e-pengeluaran to reduce/redeem loan amount some people said the money will be used as advanced payment, which means let say I applied for 1 year worth of instalments, once it is approved, i no need to pay installments for 1 year? while some say it will be treated as prepayment, which means upon the credit of EPF money into the loan account, i still need to pay installment as per normal? (which sort of defeat the purpose of withdrawing EPF money in the first place) there is a different type e-pengeluaran if you want EPF to pay your monthly installment - "Housing Loan Monthly Installment" in withdrawal type. the amount you requested will be set aside and will be deducted monthly to credit to your own Savings account to pay for the loan or direct to the loan account.If you choose this, your EPF Account can still earn dividends for the balance until you used up the amount. For redeem/reduce, IINM, it depends on what type of home loan you are using. Can't remember the details.
SUSdattebayo
Jun 7 2023, 11:09 AM
another question is from the terms n conditions
it stated is only eligible for 1st house or 2nd house provided if 1st house already sold/disposed
the first house according to EPF definition is it the "first home that member applied to EPF for the withdrawal scheme" or "first home that member ever has" ? which one EPF follows?
because they are situation like I inherited a prop from parents, but the prop is already debt free, would EPF count that as first property, thereby rendering my applicaiton as void?
This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jun 7 2023, 11:10 AM
tzarain
Jun 7 2023, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 11:07 AM) the latter one can I decide the sum to withdraw? let say I don't want to withdraw 100% of whatever it is in Account 2 the monthly withdrawal one minimum is 12 months? after that can cancel? -yes you can set the amount. -minimum is RM100/month for 6 months minimum
poweredbydiscuz
Jun 7 2023, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 11:07 AM) the latter one can I decide the sum to withdraw? let say I don't want to withdraw 100% of whatever it is in Account 2 You can set the amount but the max is total loan or 100% acc 2, whichever is lower. https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/withdrawals/...hly-installmentQUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 11:07 AM) the monthly withdrawal one minimum is 12 months? after that can cancel? Minimum should be 6 months and yes can cancel. https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/withdrawals/...em-housing-loanThis post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Jun 7 2023, 11:15 AM
tzarain
Jun 7 2023, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 11:09 AM) another question is from the terms n conditions it stated is only eligible for 1st house or 2nd house provided if 1st house already sold/disposed the first house according to EPF definition is it the "first home that member applied to EPF for the withdrawal scheme" or "first home that member ever has" ? which one EPF follows? because they are situation like I inherited a prop from parents, but the prop is already debt free, would EPF count that as first property, thereby rendering my applicaiton as void? first and second here means first and second house that you use EPF account for withdrawal scheme. The loan need to be under your name/spouse name.
poweredbydiscuz
Jun 7 2023, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 11:09 AM) another question is from the terms n conditions it stated is only eligible for 1st house or 2nd house provided if 1st house already sold/disposed the first house according to EPF definition is it the "first home that member applied to EPF for the withdrawal scheme" or "first home that member ever has" ? which one EPF follows? because they are situation like I inherited a prop from parents, but the prop is already debt free, would EPF count that as first property, thereby rendering my applicaiton as void? "If member has not made a withdrawal to buy or build a house, member may make a withdrawal for any house."
SUSdattebayo
Jun 7 2023, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(tzarain @ Jun 7 2023, 11:17 AM) first and second here means first and second house that you use EPF account for withdrawal scheme. The loan need to be under your name/spouse name. QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jun 7 2023, 11:18 AM) "If member has not made a withdrawal to buy or build a house, member may make a withdrawal for any house." so now that clears my doubt inherited prop / debt free prop that never went thru EPF withdrawal are NOT counted as first house in EPF definition
SUSSihambodoh
Jun 7 2023, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 11:21 AM) so now that clears my doubt inherited prop / debt free prop that never went thru EPF withdrawal are NOT counted as first house in EPF definition  Yes
noobieneub
Apr 18 2024, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 7 2023, 11:09 AM) another question is from the terms n conditions it stated is only eligible for 1st house or 2nd house provided if 1st house already sold/disposed the first house according to EPF definition is it the "first home that member applied to EPF for the withdrawal scheme" or "first home that member ever has" ? which one EPF follows? because they are situation like I inherited a prop from parents, but the prop is already debt free, would EPF count that as first property, thereby rendering my applicaiton as void? Got a further question to this too. For either lump sum withdrawal or monthly withdrawal. If you have withdrawed before for house A for example. Then if I have another house B, I cannot withdraw for that unless house A is sold?
Avangelice
Apr 18 2024, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(noobieneub @ Apr 18 2024, 05:14 PM) Got a further question to this too. For either lump sum withdrawal or monthly withdrawal. If you have withdrawed before for house A for example. Then if I have another house B, I cannot withdraw for that unless house A is sold? Lim sum goes into yr bnk loan. Monthly goes to u
noobieneub
Apr 18 2024, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2024, 05:51 PM) Lim sum goes into yr bnk loan. Monthly goes to u Thanks, yes I got that from the previous answers, but that's not really what I'm asking.
Avangelice
Apr 18 2024, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(noobieneub @ Apr 18 2024, 08:13 PM) Thanks, yes I got that from the previous answers, but that's not really what I'm asking. to answer your question you cannot withdraw for house B unless you remove house A under ur name
hksgmy
Apr 19 2024, 07:52 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2024, 11:06 PM) to answer your question you cannot withdraw for house B unless you remove house A under ur name Oh…. That’s interesting. What about if the first house no longer has any outstanding mortgage on it?
moiskyrie
Apr 21 2024, 03:34 PM
why the option for withdraw for housing greyout?
noobieneub
Apr 23 2024, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2024, 11:06 PM) to answer your question you cannot withdraw for house B unless you remove house A under ur name I see, thanks for confirming.
kezman
Apr 23 2024, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Apr 21 2024, 03:34 PM) why the option for withdraw for housing greyout? new website greyout, i recently apply using old website, is ok no problem
MasBoleh!
Apr 25 2024, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 19 2024, 07:52 AM) Oh…. That’s interesting. What about if the first house no longer has any outstanding mortgage on it? i believe the statement meant you can only have 1 Mortgage Loan under EPF's home withdrawal scheme. You want to enroll another Mortgage Loan, then you need to remove previous one 1st. EPF do not concurrently deducting Acc 2 to pay 2 Mortgage Loans
hksgmy
Apr 25 2024, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Apr 25 2024, 05:22 PM) i believe the statement meant you can only have 1 Mortgage Loan under EPF's home withdrawal scheme. You want to enroll another Mortgage Loan, then you need to remove previous one 1st. EPF do not concurrently deducting Acc 2 to pay 2 Mortgage Loans Thank you. That makes sense