Accounting : Can I post JV instead of PV & RV?

TSrealitec
post Apr 8 2021, 07:33 PM, updated 5y ago

Emiko for life~
2,934 posts

Hi All,

As per title, can I post all transactions in JV instead of PV & RV? Let's say the company doesn't have any accounting system. All works have to be done in Excel. Is there any problem when it comes to audit?

cxjiek
post Apr 8 2021, 08:23 PM

119 posts

No problem
hiyyl
post Apr 8 2021, 08:27 PM

Flying panda~
692 posts

Can.
Randomization
post Apr 8 2021, 08:36 PM

460 posts

As long there is a record, can.

Want to write manual ledger like old times also can.
TSrealitec
post Apr 8 2021, 08:39 PM

Emiko for life~
2,934 posts

QUOTE(cxjiek @ Apr 8 2021, 08:23 PM)
No problem
QUOTE(hiyyl @ Apr 8 2021, 08:27 PM)
Can.
QUOTE(Randomization @ Apr 8 2021, 08:36 PM)

Hey all, appreciate your help! Have a good night all!
darrenboy
post Apr 8 2021, 11:24 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Apr 8 2021, 07:33 PM)
Hi All,

As per title, can I post all transactions in JV instead of PV & RV? Let's say the company doesn't have any accounting system. All works have to be done in Excel. Is there any problem when it comes to audit?

Can, but it would be weird to post a non-payment related transaction using a payment voucher. Or, to post a payment transaction using a journal voucher. It's quite unthinkable. And a qualified accountant will instantly know that the preparer is not qualified to even be a book-keeper. Despite there is no real implication if you post it in an Excel, and not an accounting system, I would strongly advise against simply using JV, PV, etc for whatever transactions. Use the correct voucher for the correct type of posting.

doh.gif

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Apr 8 2021, 11:25 PM
TSrealitec
post Apr 9 2021, 01:05 PM

Emiko for life~
2,934 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Apr 8 2021, 11:24 PM)
Can, but it would be weird to post a non-payment related transaction using a payment voucher. Or, to post a payment transaction using a journal voucher. It's quite unthinkable. And a qualified accountant will instantly know that the preparer is not qualified to even be a book-keeper. Despite there is no real implication if you post it in an Excel, and not an accounting system, I would strongly advise against simply using JV, PV, etc for whatever transactions. Use the correct voucher for the correct type of posting.

doh.gif
Hello, thanks for your input smile.gif Let me look into this. Maybe to suggest company to purchase accounting system to make works easier.

Thank you.
hellkvr
post Apr 9 2021, 01:11 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Apr 9 2021, 01:05 PM)
Hello, thanks for your input smile.gif Let me look into this. Maybe to suggest company to purchase accounting system to make works easier.

Thank you.
boleh try sql dan quickbook,

memang easy for small/medium company,
TSrealitec
post Apr 9 2021, 01:46 PM

Emiko for life~
2,934 posts

QUOTE(hellkvr @ Apr 9 2021, 01:11 PM)
boleh try sql dan quickbook,

memang easy for small/medium company,
Thanks for the suggestion. What about auto count?
hellkvr
post Apr 9 2021, 01:52 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Apr 9 2021, 01:46 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. What about auto count?
auto count ok juga, but paling senang quickbook i rasa, this is base on my exp in accounting for 13 years
SUSandylyc
post Apr 9 2021, 01:55 PM

27 posts

You first time doing accounts?
TSrealitec
post Apr 9 2021, 01:55 PM

Emiko for life~
2,934 posts

QUOTE(hellkvr @ Apr 9 2021, 01:52 PM)
auto count ok juga, but paling senang quickbook i rasa, this is base on my exp in accounting for 13 years
Nice bro, thanks for sharing smile.gif Online beli ke? atau ada technician datang install?
hellkvr
post Apr 9 2021, 02:09 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Apr 9 2021, 01:55 PM)
Nice bro, thanks for sharing smile.gif Online beli ke? atau ada technician datang install?
last time i beli online je, boleh jugak orang datang install, some more they conduct training
ze2
post Apr 9 2021, 02:43 PM

319 posts

Apr 9 2021, 04:44 PM
This post has been deleted by realitec because: serious kopitiam fucker

hanif666
post Apr 9 2021, 02:47 PM

38 posts

Even if you do it manually on excel, you can still manually enter reference numbers as PV, OR & etc. right? Why still insist on using JV as reference? JVs are reserved for transactions like adjustments, estimates, reversals & etc. You can use JV but you can expect to get a lot of unnecessary audit queries later.
darrenboy
post Apr 10 2021, 11:59 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Apr 9 2021, 01:05 PM)

Thank you.
yes, that's the better option. thumbup.gif
coconutxyz
post Apr 11 2021, 12:13 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Apr 8 2021, 08:36 PM)

T account when
Carnielle
post Apr 11 2021, 01:13 AM

27 posts

Lesser the JVs, the better. Can avoid query from auditor later on.
SUSagewisdom
post Apr 11 2021, 01:26 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Apr 8 2021, 07:33 PM)
Hi All,

There is a reason that there are separate books for Journals vouchers, Payment vouchers and Receipt vouchers. Unless your company is a very small one with minimal transactions, it is NOT recommended. Using EXCEL is also not recommended. Reasons are:

1. Receipt vouchers allow you to track what customers have paid with a running number. That way you can easily trace which customers and paid what with the sequential number. Also, there won't be any missing receipts that are unrecorded. Using JV will mean you lose the control over this sequential number. Even worst, if you're using Excel.

2. Payment vouchers again ensures all payments made are recorded. This can be especially big problem when payments are made via petty cash etc.

If you are ASKING this question, it's already clear that you have minimal accounting knowledge. Best solution is to use an accounting software. Given the fact that GST may be re-implemented in the near future, trust me... it'll be better in the medium and long run.

External auditors are the least of your worries.

This post has been edited by agewisdom: Apr 11 2021, 01:27 AM

0.0210sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:10 PM