QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Apr 11 2021, 10:19 PM)
FA-50 with the Elbit radar is at least equal to Jf-17Military Thread V28
Military Thread V28
Apr 28 2021, 02:46 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
227 posts Joined: Feb 2019 From: Cherasboy |
Apr 28 2021, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(jayraptor @ Apr 28 2021, 03:28 PM) FA-50 is not a good aircraft, no where close to JF-17 Block 2. You have to pay attention to which variants you are comparingJF-17 Block 2 and FA-50 are roughly equivalent at the very least; same goes for the JF-17 Block 3 and FA-50 Block 20 QUOTE Never buy weapon from a country that is not super power and rely in third party to supply engine, avionics. Buy only from US Why not? If you buy FA-50 you are indirectly buying US And the major NATO countries have some good equipment, many in use also by the US. And in the aerospace field, it's always a bad idea to not take Saab into consideration QUOTE Not sure about Rafale per se, but France has a long history of selling good miltech for low value, I would not dismiss them out of hand like thatBuy Chinese products to curb Chinese expansionism? "Brilliant" idea... |
Apr 29 2021, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(jayraptor @ Apr 29 2021, 10:06 AM) You buy FA-50, you buy from US via middleman resulting in double markup being more expensive. When comes to war, South Korea is not super power and they won't dare to deliver goods to your doorstep if situation is deadly. You buy from US, Russia or China, their shipment will still deliver whether they have to wade through battlefield. UhhhFrench weapons were used to be good alternative if you cannot get American or Russian back then in 60's, 70's but today they are nothing more than overpriced unreliable impractical junks that only look good on paper like pijot. MY and China aren't enemy. If MY at war with SG, it is US that will place embargo on MY. This is why MY buy weapons from US, Russia and now China. If either 1 doesn't work, we get another as backup. French is part of NATO US allies, refer Falklands war where Argentine operated US & French equipment being placed on embargo by US for fighting British invaders, numbers of Argentine weapons in despair due to no spare parts. Iraq in 1989 had numbers of relatively new French weapons, they all failed against US weapons while Russian weapons that managed to do at least some killing. |
May 3 2021, 08:22 PM
Myanmar lost a chopper, surprised no coverage here?
May 4 2021, 07:28 PM
UK Royal Marines testing jet suit for VBSS
Inb4 RA2 Rocketeer lol |
May 30 2021, 06:46 AM
Jun 6 2021, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Jun 4 2021, 05:27 PM) It's a jet that couldn't shoot. But good enough as a awac & Sigint replacement. But it also couldn't be upgraded. You sure you wanna blow your money on it? 5th gen aircraft and 5th gen weapons systems are a step change from Sukhoi-30s + R-77s about as much as F-15C + Amraams were a step up from F-4 + Sparrow |
Jun 13 2021, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Jun 13 2021, 07:39 AM) The development of F35B VTOL has made smaller carrier is possible for small defence force, but I would say this carrier is just a"modified" LHD size. The smaller carrier concept or Sea Control Ship is a proposal dating back to 60s and the BAe Harrier, and even combat proven to some extent in the Falklands WarEven ID and SG has this "carrier" design which is basically a strecthed LPD. But again as I posted last time with the Izumos, the question is what is INSIDE this carrier design that counts. The Izumos, we know now, were built with F35 conversion in mind. Contrast against the similar Hyugas which are "true" LPHs; the Hyugas would be much less capable and much more expensive to convert. Similar differences between the British Invincibles, Harrier-capable, and the Ocean, a strictly Heli-only amphibious warship. Even if one fitted a ramp to Ocean it would not have been suitable as a "mini carrier". HangPC2 liked this post
Jun 13 2021, 07:55 AM
Jun 14 2021, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Jun 13 2021, 02:56 PM) this jet too can only be sold to country that themselves can bought american or european jet. so the possibilities of block 2 or 3 being finance by foreign sales is rather limited. that is already a given due to the engine tech. same for FA-50.QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Jun 13 2021, 05:31 PM) Though US probably won't have a problem transferring technology that the chinese can master. So unless the Chinese has internal targeting pod & their carrier have electromagnetic launcher, doubt US would transfer those tech to SK. China is indeed building an EMALS for their latest carrier but not sure how efficently it works compared to US EMALS. QUOTE So it's quite an opportunity for new up & comers to wrestle the techs leadership away from SK, under US blessings off cause. Har? Who do you see taking the lead from SK? QUOTE(jayraptor @ Jun 13 2021, 09:21 PM) SK, they don't build anything other than assembling parts imported from USA. They pretty much depend entirely on US buying parts separately. There's no technology transfer if SK can't even reverse engineer replicate the entire engine, avionics. Dependsit's true that majority of parts will be assembled, however SK electronics may be lots more advanced than we think, Samsung has come a long way from where it used to be QUOTE Unlike China, they get their hands on blackhawk, they came up with WZ-20 copycat blackhawk, they got their hands on LANTIRN pod, you see their fighters carrying a replica. Miraculously, they copied quite good. WZ-20 can look like a Blackhawk but whether it performs like a Blackhawk is a whole nother story. just like how a UH-60A can look like a Blackhawk, but is way different from a UH-60M.Reverse engineering only takes you so far. especially now where material science is a huge part of the tech ability. so whether they actually did "copy quite good", is a real question. see for example early Chinese copies of jet engines. This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Jun 14 2021, 10:44 AM darth5zaft and TechSuper liked this post
Jun 14 2021, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(sukhoi35mk @ Jun 14 2021, 01:27 PM) I guess that's why China secretly acquired western military crashed aircrafts to study the material and hardware e.g. The crash special stealth Blackhawk used in Osama killing mission..I won't be surprise if they already access the some part of F-1117 nighthawk crashed during Bosnia war or RQ-170 stealth drone hijacked by Iran We know they have, and Russia too, that's just the way the game is playedBut the F117 is very old tech |
Jun 18 2021, 08:00 AM
Jun 26 2021, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(azriel @ Jun 25 2021, 12:01 PM) price looks inclusive of hefty training and support package. relatively few air-to-air munitions, even so.as I said on other threads: even single-engine modern combat aircraft is expensive |
Jul 29 2021, 04:35 AM
QUOTE(junkyman @ Jul 1 2021, 11:41 PM) F16V doesn't have Meteor |
Jul 29 2021, 02:16 PM
Aug 14 2021, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 14 2021, 01:56 PM) be that as it may, why are your jimmies rustled? atreyuangel and azriel liked this post
Aug 15 2021, 12:04 AM
Aug 15 2021, 12:28 AM
Aug 15 2021, 12:45 AM
Aug 15 2021, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 15 2021, 12:58 AM) Come on Klthinker The way you're doing it is not right, and I think you probably have more pressing personal matters that you should spend time on.Ive seen enough hubris and unfairness to last a life time so i left to be elsewhere. Im trying to help you rise above the miasma of confusion and chains holding us back home. Ill leave it at that. |
| Change to: | 0.1134sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:05 PM |