6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Military Thread V28

KLthinker91
post Sep 21 2021, 08:56 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Sep 21 2021, 08:44 PM)
So, what to choose?
I asked first wink.gif
KLthinker91
post Sep 21 2021, 09:22 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Sep 21 2021, 09:13 PM)
Anyone who encroach border first.

So, what to choose?
That's a non answer. But anyway

Frankly I don't see a difference. There's no enemy in sight where US will support and EU won't, or vice versa. So it's a waste of time and money to split procurement that way.
KLthinker91
post Sep 21 2021, 11:14 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Sep 21 2021, 10:19 PM)
Of course that's an answer. TNI is a purely defensive force.

TLDM weapons are mostly from Europe....so your question also applies to TLDM
Why is being a defensive or not force relevant? Defensive or offensive, you expect that the opponent may be EU or US sponsored, right?

Pastu tanya balik TLDM for what? I don't give a fuck about them in the context of Indonesian procurement.

Simple question that can be answered simply, seribu dalih kenapa

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Sep 21 2021, 11:22 PM
KLthinker91
post Sep 22 2021, 12:37 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 22 2021, 12:05 AM)
TLDM is not a blue water navy. It is brown water navy and it is a fact. Not for power projection. For defensive and coastal defense. Same as TNI

You want to do power projection  , your naval strength has to be liked  the following countries in Asia Pacific which are Japan, South Korea, Australia, India and of course China.

For power projection you need to have carrier strike group, destroyer strike group with air defense and under water defense. Frigate for ASW. Minimum 2000 ton AIP submarines one fleet and better nuclear powered.

We are not in the catergory. 😁

We are not for power projection
Again, besides the point. Offensive or defensive, you will be in a war and you expect your opponent to try and do all they can including to call for embargo, correct?

The question is: what's the purpose of buying from 2 different sources?

Simple question.
KLthinker91
post Sep 22 2021, 01:12 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Sep 22 2021, 08:19 AM)
What answer should I give?

There's no enemy right now. It's all about deterrence.

With strong armed forces, there will be no more encroachments like in the past.

I just want an explanation what scenario in your mind would see Indo defending itself with EU support but not US support thus justifying the split procurement.

Strength is relative; 10,000 infantrymen is very strong against say 100 insurgents, not so much against a carrier strike group.

I'm sure there is a logic kan? Because it can't possibly be that Indo is just buying a rojak fleet for no reason, as that would be criminally inefficient wouldn't it? If everyone is your friend then it doesn't matter who you buy from.

As you yourself said:

I'm not sure about choosing US-made missiles. Better stick to European missiles.
You said this
I know all that...
and this

So clearly you have worked out an answer in your head. Which is that, if you buy from EU but not from US then clearly you have considered that someone who is "friend of US but not of EU" may cause trouble in future, and that is the reason for the procurement. Logical right.

I just want to know who that is, in your opinion.

Simple question.
KLthinker91
post Sep 23 2021, 05:21 PM

227 posts

is this fucking cool or what?

Cockpit of the Italian Navy Thaon di Revel-class OPV

external for context

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Sep 23 2021, 05:22 PM
KLthinker91
post Sep 23 2021, 06:23 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Sep 23 2021, 06:00 PM)
Whatever the italian navy calls that ship, that 560 million euro 143m 6,000 tonnes ship by all practical purposes is a general purpose frigate.

not all ships are fitted with the full missile loadout, some will be guns only therefore making it an OPV
KLthinker91
post Sep 24 2021, 03:19 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 24 2021, 12:42 AM)
Making a river gun boat of 6000 tons at EURO560  million(RM3.3 bil) ???

It is a multi purpose frigate 6000 tons  or multi mission.

"Light, Light+, Full" spec
KLthinker91
post Oct 5 2021, 05:51 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 5 2021, 04:04 PM)
Japan finally has an operational aircraft carrier capable of hosting fighters, the first time since WW2.

Ironically the first fighter flying off JS Izumo is a USMC fighter jet!

No irony at all

WW2 is more than a lifetime away by this point
KLthinker91
post Oct 7 2021, 09:35 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 7 2021, 05:21 PM)

GM6 Lynx small size compared to normal 0.50 cal sniper rifle

Size and weight is indeed a major factor

But I'm more impressed by reports of the custom ammo they are said to use. Sounds like something of a video game - hundred dollar HE and AP rounds...
KLthinker91
post Oct 8 2021, 05:51 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 8 2021, 05:44 PM)

if they don't wish to pew pew china.
How do you come to that conclusion?
KLthinker91
post Oct 9 2021, 01:07 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 8 2021, 06:26 PM)
Korea has strong economic reliances with china & china abilities to keep a leash on best korea secure their security
I don't think they will be reluctant to pew pew China. Seeking industrial independence is just that, I believe.

might as well bought Russian. You could be confident that parts would arrive from Russia in time of emergency. Russia are not dependent on china. They are not even Allies and do fight proxy war against one another in Vietnam & India before.
I think that's a mistake. Russia for reasons of its own will always take the anti-US position. In the event of a China vs US war, they will either be neutral or sabo US and US allies.

The Vietnam war is one example of this. Even though theoretically Russia and China were antagonists at that time due to the Sino-Soviet Split, they agreed on a detente in order to support the North Vietnamese. And it can be argued that even today they are somewhat co-operating. Only very recently have relations cooled somewhat, due to China copying Russian military hardware, and that also is a relatively small thing in the overall geopolitical situation.

An also probably the reason why the Aussie ditch the french subs. France like Korean aren't that willing to offended china. They don't have any beef with them. Mica maybe as effective as ESSM. But in time of need, the continues supplies of MICA may dry up while for ESSM, not only supplies are more secure, we may get more than what we ordered.
France is following Germany's lead, and Germany is reluctant to move against China due to strong trade ties and lack of political will to participate in the superpower conflicts. Same story with Russia; Poland accused Germany of using it as a buffer, and Baltics accused the German-led Continental NATO coalition of abandoning them to be Crimea'd by Russia. It took major Trump and possibly other Anglo pressure to get them to move their asses and form the EFP.

One additional problem with MICA and similar European weapons is the low production count. This means both higher expense per unit and potential lower availability in conflict.

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Oct 9 2021, 01:08 AM
KLthinker91
post Oct 9 2021, 04:25 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 9 2021, 09:34 AM)
Them pew pew china themselves is different from them helping others pew pew china. Helping others pew pew china is detrimental to their own security & wealth. So the likelihood of them doing so are low.
Not joining the China conflict will only see them eventually overrun by a strong NK, if China wins. There are no long-term benefits to helping China or even staying neutral.

Furthermore, during this "market penetration" phrase of Korean arms industry, they will be less susceptible to sanctions.

Russia is playing for Russia 😉

Sino US conflict would keep US out of northern European plain allowing them further inroads west  & china out of the Stan securing Russia underbellies.
Russia and China are the same as Russia and Germany in 1939, and Russia and France in 1810. They may have long-term antagonism but China won't be so stupid as to play Napoleon and Hitler twice, and Russia likewise will at best play both sides off against each other. Neutrality will thus also affect availability of Russian-sourced arms.

India is a different story. Previously they have been lukewarm to the US until the Osama fiasco so now the US still regards them cautiously, but yes we will probably see gradual warming up.

Not really.

Germany want to preserve the current status quo of US being a security providers for EU against Russia,  while France seek to replace Germany roles as EU big boss and dream of the good days of nepolean times instead of EU continue being a 4th Reich.
Opposite mapren biggrin.gif

France still wants Anglo help (at least until this recent submarine issue, not sure how far that will go) because they are still UK's #1 European trading partner, plus they are working together at grassroots in Africa. They are furthest away from the front lines so they don't care as much about superpower struggles, just like in Cold War 1.

It is Germany, the strongest economy (and political force thanks to Merkel) in the EU who wants to play big brother on the Continent and supplant the US. They want to recruit France away from the Anglo alliance but don't have the bargaining power of the full Anglo alliance. So now they are turning to the Dutch and Scandis.

Observe the EFP lead nations. 3 Anglos, 1 German. That tells you the lay of the land; France is not a lead nation.

They talk about grand plans of European united army & European strategic autonomy which is throwing away the current status quo & EU being a super power themselves.

With Germany at the lead, as the big brother.

Off course doing what France wanted  would agitated the Russian, something other EU members didn't want, but have no choice if US further withdraw to concentrate on china. Middle eastern are fucked. That's why they are increasing EU weapon purchase to Curry favor
True, but not because French want to be lead nation; France is just a worldwide arms supplier since the AMX-13 and Mirage III biggrin.gif

Which mean they are all more willing to close an eyes if you use it to pew pew your own citizens or neighbor. As long as you do it quickly before SJW mobilize and they can pretend to be sadden & imposed sanction to make them look good doing action to preserve human right.
They won't even sanction unless pressured by somebody, they don't give fuck for SJWs biggrin.gif

Our AF & navy are busy with china, and we are at a disadvantage in term of resources.  it would be good to get it from a provider that really really really want to screw china aka the anglo Saxons & to a lesser extent niponjin. Afterwards EU, then indian, if not CAATSA Russian, only afterwards Korean & turkey.

Nah. If we are talking about solely from the view of cost and availability, my ranking is Anglo-Saxon, Korean, French, Turkish.

The reason why is Anglo is cheap and anti-China, Korean is cheap and at the very least neutral, French is expensive but neutral, Turkish is cheap and probably neutral.

We need something like the french have, a equipment meant for quick response in, do the jobs then get out. TD are not there to fight china but more to secure us against non state actors & possible neighbors intrusion like they always do.
This is a very good point though.
KLthinker91
post Oct 9 2021, 07:46 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 9 2021, 07:26 PM)
But Chinese A2/AD are particularly strong due to SK location. And CCP are knowns to play temper tantrums when SK place their missiles.

You are correct in there's no long term benefits,but for now it seem they are undecided on how to proceed.
We'll see how it goes. SK will always

Don't know, the whole wolf worrior diplomacy & facism phase they going through is pretty stupid IMHO. I believe in LKY assessment that there's nothing to gain playing superpower & challenge the US prematurely. But they did anyway.
They have certain advantages... actually they are like this only because we in EA/SEA are politically fragmented and we let them play. If we present a stronger, united front they have no chance.

Opposite mapren biggrin.gif
Before Osama, US thought Pakistan can help them as a "moderate Islamic country" to counter AQ. So they cuddled up to Pakistan and that pissed off India. Manatau the extremist side won, so US dumped them and China picked up the pieces.

News for me really. Guess German is like PN belakang main, while france keep throwing all their card out to public like PH.
Only cause you probably haven't been following Continental NATO news. Actually the French main belakang in all areas except Africa and West Indies where they have significant ex-colonial and EEZ interests. Germany is the undisputed big boss of Europe.

Guess UK had gone back to their splendid isolation then. Where the poke around EU from the outside rather than together gather inside.

"Very well, alone" biggrin.gif

UK has always been sucking hind tit with the Continentals, only now they are giving up the EU dream, albeit reluctantly for the Bremoaners and SNPs. AUKUS has been a long time coming, the real stubborn ass is Australia who used to dream of replacing UK as US's special relationship. But now that they have been shown to need help more than they are able to give help, they accept their position as adik ke-2 behind UK lor biggrin.gif

Would be great if they did. Would really love to see a Gundam or Macross once B4 I die.
I believe it will come.

Don't think they take their defense seriously, it's mostly there to tongkat their industry. Mostly produce stuff other people may want. Do you want a cheap, f35A capable mini carrier? We have one. Do you can't afford Poseidon but still want something good? Here's the ATR. You want to hunt tanks? Well we have a fast tank hunter with 120mm cannon. Do you want to fight Chinese navy on a budget? Here's a FREMM. We also have tempest in the works if you want a dual engine F35A.
Tempest is British-led, Italians only join because they fed up with the Franco-German alliance, which was dragging its feet - that one a whole nother story.

Otherwise, italians mainly rival France for #2 European military power, and of course dreams of Mediterranean supremacy. (Not sure how true that is.) They are very closely allied to US actually, 1 of the most reliable NATO partners. Diam2 ubi berisi. Still, not sure about their hardware.

Korean are ok i guess  they know a thing or two about reliability, just like their car, cutting edge high tech is not something they good at, (because it's not reliable) & their products are cheap. It's just soon after you realize why it's cheap. They use aluminum instead of steel on APC for instance. Korean product always sounds like a good buy at 1st, but then you realize you really get what your money worth not more.
I wouldn't be so sure. They seem to be growing by leaps and bounds, nearly as much as China is.
KLthinker91
post Oct 10 2021, 08:42 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Oct 10 2021, 10:23 AM)
Wonder why nobody would start a war? If war start, it is end of earth and human race.

Titik anda ialah...?
KLthinker91
post Oct 10 2021, 11:13 PM

227 posts

KLthinker91
post Oct 10 2021, 11:24 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 10 2021, 11:14 PM)
Queen Elizabeth tak mai ke?
QE docked in Singapore, it's definitely in the area, but not sure if it really is participating

I think somewhat unlikely, given certain indications brows.gif but I really can't say. Got argument for and against based on current indicators

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Oct 10 2021, 11:25 PM
KLthinker91
post Oct 11 2021, 08:27 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Oct 11 2021, 06:34 PM)
U r even more dumbass

U can't see those missile silos protruding out ?

Ever see any Russian or West submarine look like that ?

U must have studied science at China institute of tau foo dumbass

Dumb wumao hybrid ass
Bruh

This is a Delta IV submarine, mainstay of the Russian fleet

Same "hump" is there what. Apa problem?

KLthinker91
post Oct 12 2021, 01:40 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Oct 11 2021, 08:39 PM)
No match to cwis and goalkeeper
Dardo, the 1st pic, is a CIWS (Close In Weapon System) of about the same generation as Goalkeeper, and it outranges Goalkeeper

Although to be fair in more recent pics of the Laksamanas I see the system seems to have been removed. In storage or decommissioned, I wonder.

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Oct 12 2021, 01:41 AM
KLthinker91
post Oct 12 2021, 11:11 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 12 2021, 11:07 AM)
Those DARDOs are still on the Laksamanas. Only the OTOMATs are removed, and the ASPIDE (sea sparrow) inop.

If we want to go for Type 31, to save money we can remove DARDOs and 76mm oto melaras from the laksamana class to fit them to the future Type 31 frigates.

This modification would entail opening up the hull I believe

The Dardo is still on the Laksamana but it seems the CIWS fire control radar has been removed, so maybe it operates in manually-controlled gun mode now?

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Oct 12 2021, 11:11 AM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1090sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:27 PM