Dunlop SP Sport J6, New tyre

peja5081
post Feb 21 2023, 05:22 PM

291 posts

J6 now 200+ for 195/60 r15. 1st time used j5 150+. 2017. Every year rm10 increase 😅.
xenovenz P
post Mar 11 2023, 11:27 PM

Probation

QUOTE(skystrike @ Jul 1 2022, 06:41 PM)
how the dunlop j6 compared to goodyear atm2? thinking change tyre...
hi bro, just wondering have you replaced your atm2 for j6? any say on this?

What about d06? What's the difference between j6 and d06?
Nomisma
post Mar 3 2024, 01:27 PM

in your next tyre change, will you go for J6 again? or go back for ATM2 (stock)?
YouDontKnowMyName
post Mar 8 2024, 12:00 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Nomisma @ Mar 3 2024, 01:27 PM)

in your next tyre change, will you go for J6 again? or go back for ATM2 (stock)?
Haven't tried ATM2 before so I can't comment on it. But definitely won't be going back to stock ATM1, too noisy and harsh.

As for J6, I'd still recommend it if your top priority is quiet and comfort. As for me, based on my aggressive driving style I'm itching to try something different next
the_capslock
post Apr 4 2024, 01:27 PM

19 posts

I'm really confused whether to get XM2+ or J6. Normally I don't really do spirited drive as I only drive my car twice a week to go for grocery. But once a month, I do genting run in the middle of night to enjoy the cool air. (not crazy la but a bit spirited driving only)

R50 mini fully stock.
dwRK
post Apr 5 2024, 04:32 PM

the consummate chartist
6,222 posts

QUOTE(the_capslock @ Apr 4 2024, 01:27 PM)
I'm really confused whether to get XM2+ or J6. Normally I don't really do spirited drive as I only drive my car twice a week to go for grocery. But once a month, I do genting run in the middle of night to enjoy the cool air. (not crazy la but a bit spirited driving only)

R50 mini fully stock.
genting mileage > food run... get better tyres maybe...

the_capslock
post Apr 7 2024, 07:00 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 5 2024, 04:32 PM)
genting mileage > food run... get better tyres maybe...
My genting run is not that spirited la to be honest. 20 years old car haha. Only have ASC and ABS. Previous I used J5 > EP150 > Now J6. Just had it changed this morning. I am mind blown how underrated this tyre is. Quiet, respectable wet grip (it is raining in Cyberjaya and did some test earlier). I was about to go for CC7 but only 3 left in stock. CR1 out of stock. My experience with J5 was quite good despite the road noise but J6 is damn quiet.

Ep150 still probably have 50% thread but considering it's already in 4th year, the wet grip is pretty bad. I can feel my front skid a bit on wet road on not really tight corner on Karak highway. Dry grip is still pretty good but getting noisy despite having 220 threadwear.

I actually kinda liking this Dunlop J6.

Edit: I don't drive a lot. Annual mileage probably around 10k km.

This post has been edited by the_capslock: Apr 7 2024, 07:05 PM
rompers
post Aug 25 2024, 11:22 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(the_capslock @ Apr 7 2024, 07:00 PM)
My genting run is not that spirited la to be honest. 20 years old car haha. Only have ASC and ABS. Previous I used J5 > EP150 > Now J6. Just had it changed this morning. I am mind blown how underrated this tyre is. Quiet, respectable wet grip (it is raining in Cyberjaya and did some test earlier). I was about to go for CC7 but only 3 left in stock. CR1 out of stock. My experience with J5 was quite good despite the road noise but J6 is damn quiet.

Ep150 still probably have 50% thread but considering it's already in 4th year, the wet grip is pretty bad. I can feel my front skid a bit on wet road on not really tight corner on Karak highway. Dry grip is still pretty good but getting noisy despite having 220 threadwear.

I actually kinda liking this Dunlop J6.

Edit: I don't drive a lot. Annual mileage probably around 10k km.

Hi there - Would you care to share the price-per-piece you bought your Dunlop SP Sport J6 for?

Also, what was the tyre size and package included in the price?

Example:
RM 170 per tyre (185/60/R14)
• includes Tyre Balancing (on wheel or machine only), Alignment, etc.

Am asking because am looking to replace the tyres for my Myvi soon.

Thank you!

This post has been edited by rompers: Aug 25 2024, 11:23 AM
kemich
post Sep 18 2024, 02:13 PM

Just sharing , got this tyre from Continental Shopee official shop, at a discounted price RM122 / tyre
Bought 2 tyres
Make Appointment online and install at your chosen shop.
Just need to top up alignment charges

Patrick761 P
post Mar 16 2025, 11:57 PM

Probation

Hi, sharing my experience of using j6 here.
I changed from the stock tyre(GT3 I think )to j6 at June 2022 for my Honda city 175/65 r15.
Manufacture date is around end of 2021.
Overall it's good tyre I guess, as I'm not very sensitive in feeling the impact of the tyre, but I do noticed it has better grip then the stock tyre. I've been driving for 2 and a half years (probably about 30k-40k mileage) with long distance driving once every 2 weeks or so.
On Feb this year, I was driving back to KL through some paved kampung roads. The roads are not big but wide enough for 2 cars. I was trying to "avoid" a lorry that was driving from the opposite so I sort of drive a little bit to the left. Then I could heard loud sound coming from my car, which I then stopped my car at the road side and found out both of the left tyres exploded. I guess it's caused by the sharp edge from the roads.
To be fair, when I was doing my car maintenance on Jan, the mechanics already mentioned that I should change my tyre and had it planned to change on the next maintenance. And it didn't hurt my rim so I just used my insurance for car towing and changed to new tyres.
Jojolin
post Jul 25 2025, 04:23 PM

85 posts

My Dunlop SP Sport J6 185-60-14 lasted only 2 years.

Installed on May 2023 and now (Jul 2025) time to change already.
I suspect I was given old stock (made a mistake of not checking the date) at PTM Shah Alam (bought via Shopee but installed there) because the tyres did not look new.

My lesson learned is don't always go for the cheapest price (then RM165). I am going to look around shops in KL now. Yes price has gone up to around 200 per pc now.

This post has been edited by Jojolin: Sep 7 2025, 04:28 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0157sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:59 PM