Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)

sunauto
post Jan 27 2008, 01:49 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 26 2008, 08:58 AM)
The actual contrast is only 1,000:1  biggrin.gif . Can check their full specs at their website.
No wonder, blacks and whites are not that strong on a LG LCD, they looked a little washed out. The new Hitachi LCD is not bad but a little expensive, near RM5K and only 32 inch. They're using the IPS Alpha panel, very good viewing angles but I believe the price will go down later on, probably after CNY. Hitachi LCDs are always more expensive than the competition.

QUOTE(Inspiration~ @ Jan 27 2008, 12:35 AM)
For those in penang, please be careful or don't buy from SEC electronic (opposite Queensbay mall).. I am nearly being cheat by them, they will give u display set instead of 1st hand (original) set of LCD TV ... luckily I am able to find out that.. But they refuse to refund cash immediately to me as i pay them in full by cash ...  and they said they will give me 1st hand set from their store room tomolo (Sunday) ... just wait and see ...
What happened? How did you know that it's a display set? I thought you could pay a deposit first, then the full amount when they have delivered the set to you.
sunauto
post Jan 28 2008, 01:26 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jan 27 2008, 04:04 AM)
hitachi lcd?which model?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

inspiration too gan cheung to own the tv...+ he is damn rich guy in pg tongue.gif
The latest Hitachi models can be viewed from http://www.hitachiconsumer.com.my

QUOTE(Darth Maut @ Jan 27 2008, 11:24 AM)
Hi people

Continuing this 32 inches LCD TV thread.. I'm still undecided between these 3 LCDs ..

Sharp 32A53

Good :
- Much cheaper than the other two

Bad :
- colour not as sharp as the other two
- No swivel stand (something that I would like to have..)
Panasonic 32LX700MK

Good :
- really smooth picture + nice natural colour
- No motion blur and ghosting
Bad :
- Not much that can be manually configured (relative to others) .Cannot switch-off 100Hz. I've read about how sometimes 100Hz can make something look bad..juddering etc.. or maybe I'm just being paranoid?
Philips 32PFL9423

Good :
- 3 HDMI & USB
- Colour better than Sharp
- A lot of things that can be manually configured

Bad :
- No PC input!!!
- A bit of motion blur for small fast moving object..

But of course, on the matter of PQ, the comments above are based on whatever they show me at the shops.. I didn't get to play around with the settings etc.. and there's also the question of the quality of the source, cables etc... and I also haven't seen Astro on any of those 3.. any comments on this?

I haven't done any research on Sony D300..  Is it worth paying higher price for it? does Sony D300 has a S-video input??

Hmm.. I'm still undecided .. though i'm leaning a bit on the Panny
if only I have the money to get Pioneer Kuro : )
cheers!!

Added on January 27, 2008, 11:30 am

bro.. which panny did u bought?

cheers..
The Sony D300's retail price has dropped from RM4490 to RM3990 right now so it's basically the same price range as most premium 32 inch LCD models. Of course, the price can still nego lah.
sunauto
post Feb 20 2008, 01:05 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(wendy2936 @ Feb 19 2008, 09:44 PM)
is it sharp lcd tv support blue-ray techology?
This one no need to say lah, all LCD tv is at least HD Ready so whatever ray is supported. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Mar 3 2008, 12:38 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Joker339 @ Feb 29 2008, 03:36 PM)
Sony is clearly higher priced than some of the others, but do note that same LCD factory and even same EXACT PANEL does not mean that results are the same. 

The electronics that drive the panel do make a difference.  Having said that - I'm not here to claim Sony electronics better - just pointing out that same panel does not mean everything will be the same.
In terms of 100hz/120hz - It's something that you have to do some detailed viewing to see if you notice (which most likely you will!! haha) - but of course - it is ANOTHER feature to consider and not the be all and end all.

If motion smearing/resolution is a problem to you - plasma is the way to go.

If not - go for the LCD.  W series looks very tempting actually - but don't forget to check out the Sharp 100hz 1080p screens.  Should be in that price range as well.
Well, even Sony has the same panel as Samsung as in the case of S-PVA panel, Sony got better reviews as it has a better image processing engine, their Wega is still Sony's brainchild whereas Samsung has their own DNIE engine, the end result is clearly different. No doubt, Sony's LCDs are way overpriced but at least you're getting a high quality product from them, Toshiba, Sharp and Panasonic (except for the 700 series) are still not in the same league as Sony. There are talks that Sony will be using Sharp panels pretty soon in their next line up but it's nothing surprising actually. Like Dell monitors, you don't expect Dell to make their own panels, right? It's the same for other brands, it's either a make or buy decision but then Sony has reduced the prices of their panels, the difference is just a few hundred more than competing brands.
sunauto
post Apr 10 2008, 01:30 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 10 2008, 01:24 PM)
Hitachi is better in terms of what?
If for Plasmas, it's because of their ALIS technology and for LCDs, it's because of their Super IPS panel.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0404sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:51 PM