Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)

sunauto
post Nov 11 2007, 11:04 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Nov 10 2007, 09:08 AM)
I saw newspaper the other day that the new SHARP AQUOS 32 inch LCD TV with 100Hz can display 1080p. RRP is 3799. This price is before you bargain.
But the panel is not an actual Full HD panel lah, it accepts 1080p signals and resize it to 720p (the native resolution of the panel). For the price, cannot complain already since whether it is a Full HD or not, it's not noticeable from a 32 incher, sometimes not even noticeable from a 40 incher but more obvious on a 46 and 52 incher models. To me, not a big deal whether it is Full HD or not for the 32 or 40 incher models.
sunauto
post Nov 29 2007, 01:32 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 28 2007, 10:17 AM)
dun mistaken AX5 for A53 biggrin.gif
I wonder how's A53's performance. Anyone using it?
sunauto
post Nov 30 2007, 12:10 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(terracota @ Nov 30 2007, 11:12 AM)
u better try to compare with sharp A53 with 100hz..totally diff.sony came out with D series that has 100hz but too expensive
I wanted to buy the D series but the price is freaking expensive for the 40 inch model and even the 32 inch model is more expensive than Panasonic's 37 incher. Of course, besides the 100hz motion flow, Sony is using a 10-bit panel across all their models for the D series and even the 32 inch model has it but the price is too expensive for this size. If it's around RM3K to RM4K, that is still okay with me but at RM4.5K, that's insane. The 40 inch model is around RM7.5K. Anyway, Sony products have less discounts than other brands, that's for sure as they always control the suggested retail price and shops are not allowed to sell them at a cheaper price.
sunauto
post Dec 1 2007, 12:45 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Nov 30 2007, 03:36 PM)
How come i never see any lcd with 120hz in Malaysia?
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 30 2007, 03:51 PM)
but i read the specs, all others tat aint 100hz is actually 120hz ler
The 100hz and 120hz differences are mainly due to the the NTSC / PAL signal input. For example, the Sony Bravia D series sold in the UK all have 120hz motion flow feature, our version comes with 100hz motion flow though.
sunauto
post Dec 2 2007, 10:56 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 1 2007, 11:07 PM)
how do you think the pay for the advertisements? with Sony advertisements they can get consumers to buy dog poo for RM12.98 per kg biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
We pay more, then they hire Amber Chia to advertise for them. Like Osim products lor, pay a bomb but actually product cost 1/3 of the selling price and made in China pulak.
sunauto
post Dec 3 2007, 12:19 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 3 2007, 11:09 AM)
yes it still sucks
i think astro more like aVCD reso some where ard 320
It still suck even compared to ahem dvds. Haiya ....... Astro is really old school, that's the reason, I still kept my bulky 34' Sony Wega CRT tv, for Astro, PS2, XBOX, Dreamcast, etc ........ perfect candidate for standard definition signals in 4:3 aspect ratio.
sunauto
post Dec 4 2007, 01:18 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 3 2007, 02:17 PM)
wen later astro turns HD and raises it charges for moonly subscription and additional decoder, ppl will complain again biggrin.gif
u guys just praytat u get RTM HD
No use also lah, Astro programs are in 4:3 aspect ratio, can output in 1080p also no point. Of course, they might charge double for the little extra resolution.

QUOTE(saiga @ Dec 3 2007, 10:00 PM)
RTM HD ?  thumbup.gif  .....

maybe in year 2090  laugh.gif
HD also no point, got no nice programs to watch also. doh.gif TV3 or NTV7 still okay, okay lah.
sunauto
post Dec 7 2007, 04:19 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 6 2007, 10:49 AM)
i think sharp would be better though...
Well, you should check out Toshiba's C3500 latest LCD tvs, it comes with an IPS panel and 6.5 ms response time. Seems like Panasonic, LG and Toshiba are pretty loyal to the IPS technology. Of course, the 100hz flicker free thingy is implemented now as well as 1080p 24fps. Sadly, two HDMIs only.
sunauto
post Dec 13 2007, 11:20 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Dec 13 2007, 10:57 AM)
MBF sucks la...
I apply the card for the TV,
now they say out of stock and push me to take Samsung 37"
wtf...
when i apply my card,
they 'guarantee' i can get my TV,
then out of stock, he say i'm in the list...
when the MBF call me to verify my info, i ask him he also said i can get the TV,
but once i get the card he said i freaking cancel the order...
i wrote a complaint mail to MBF until now no one dare to contact me back..
totally freak out by their way of doing business...
That's a rip off, try highlighting this to the newspapers or lodge a complain with KPDN or the Tribunal. Some credit card companies give offers which are too good to be true.
sunauto
post Dec 15 2007, 02:49 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(atoksat @ Dec 15 2007, 12:30 AM)
Any body wan buy samsung lcd, now they do warehouse sale at puchong.......

http://www.shoppingnsales.com/2007/12/05/1...aier-mega-sale/

lot samsung 37 inch sales there..........
Quite a good bargain for a 37 incher. Hopefully, they will offer bigger sizes too.
sunauto
post Jan 2 2008, 03:24 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Quik! @ Jan 1 2008, 06:47 PM)
Am looking around for a LCD TV.

Sony Bravia S series 310 (model number I think) is selling at RM2730 at Legend SS2, the shop just beside it is selling RM2699 (but have to wait - need to order).

Not sure if that model is good or not, any others to recommend??

Added on January 1, 2008, 6:48 pmAlso what's the difference between the S and V series? I'm just using the TV to watch DVDs and watch Astro...nothing else!
Well, the V series has a wide colour gamut so the colours appear more vivid than the S series but if you're not a fussy person, the S series is good enough to be honest.
sunauto
post Jan 13 2008, 03:24 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Jan 12 2008, 06:58 PM)
PANASONIC 32inch TX-LX700MK and SONY KLV-32D300A

both same price....

which would you choose?
The Panasonic TX-LEX700MK scored more points for the picture quality especially in darker scenes. Other than that, both are equally good but you can get the Panny slightly cheaper than Sony if you know how to nego.

QUOTE(asciii @ Jan 12 2008, 09:11 PM)
the  Samsung LA40R81BX model has a downside for astro correct? Is there a way to improve this downside for astro ?
The Samsung R8 series excel with HD sources but with SD sources, the picture a little soft and blury. The softness doesn't affect Astro only but as well as standard tv programs and dvds too.
sunauto
post Jan 16 2008, 10:44 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 16 2008, 09:50 AM)
Layman term:

SONY sucks. Sharp rocks.

Comprehendo??  tongue.gif
There's no such thing as good 37" model below 3.5k. In fact, i thnk there isn't even a bad 37" model below 3.5K!!!

Wall mount need to be purchase separately.
Not all the Sharp models are good. For example, the A53, even though it features 100HZ refresh rates, there are still motion juddering issues, the A63 has below average black levels and it has poor upscaling capabilities from standard definition sources.
sunauto
post Jan 20 2008, 03:39 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(KCv3 @ Jan 20 2008, 02:45 AM)
Well not sure bout Astro on the 100Hz models. Hopefully can check it out soon.
Not much difference unless you like watching sports programs. Anyway, the new Sony Bravia lineup for 2008 will consist of mostly Full HD models and even the V series has been blessed with Full HD. They have extended this to the 32 and 37 inch models too. I guess Philips inspired them to do so since the current cheapest Full HD LCD in the market is Philips. Lets hope the new lineup from Sony will be attractively priced but I can safely say that the Z, W and V series should be available in Malaysia.
sunauto
post Jan 21 2008, 10:17 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jan 21 2008, 09:40 PM)
vga cable or hdmi
Some display cards do include component output too.
sunauto
post Jan 22 2008, 12:40 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(boulala @ Jan 22 2008, 12:27 PM)
have tried select the VGA mode first before entering windows? maybe the resolution is not compatible with the LCD.
Next will be looking at the refresh rates, you should set it to 60Hz and nothing higher than that.
sunauto
post Jan 23 2008, 01:28 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Jan 23 2008, 12:17 AM)
RM2750 each. Free HDMI cables.
SenQ offered me RM2700 for it but I don't think it comes with HDMI cable. I didn't buy it, just happened to ask for fun since they told me that they were having a promotion for Samsung LCDs.
sunauto
post Jan 23 2008, 10:43 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Inspiration~ @ Jan 23 2008, 09:33 PM)
yup, i am from penang,, yup ..good tactik,,, but later end up not place sell 3150 then how? not need to buy ? haha  brows.gif
Try buying from Best Buy Enterprise, 1-Stop Midlands and find the boss, Mr. Tan. He should be able to give you this price, tell them SenQ or HSL offered this price to you and see whether he can do better or not. Penang kia, you should know how to nego lah, right? Good luck to you. thumbup.gif
sunauto
post Jan 24 2008, 04:11 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Inspiration~ @ Jan 23 2008, 11:11 PM)
i am just work in pg but not from pg,,, hehe ...
Best Buy Enterprise got sell home theater as well ? izzit inside 1-stop building ?
Yup...... Yup inside 1-Stop building ...... it's on the second floor. If you want high end home theater stuff, you can go to Hi-Fi Choice, Penang, also 1-Stop as well but in another building, above Maycare. Got two choices for you lah. If you wanna go to Hi-Fi Choice, Penang, look for Tony, he's the boss there. If he cannot give you a good price, just send me a PM and tell me your name, I'll call him and ask him give you a good price. smile.gif

Lastly, welcome to Penang, hope you find the girls here attractive, the food is nice and the things are cheap. Just kidding. laugh.gif
sunauto
post Jan 25 2008, 11:20 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(:+:[J]erR[y]:+: @ Jan 25 2008, 06:04 PM)
Is this related with audiophiles? lol
Anyway, i would recomment LG.
fair price,
10k contrast ratio,
fast response time,
piano black stylish design.

If u watch Astro more often, they go for Sony BRAVIA.
smile.gif  smile.gif
That's a dynamic contrast, not the actual contrast, the actual contrast might be just 1200 or less. You wouldn't know. Response time might be in accurate, it might be measured as grey to grey. Honestly, for the price, LG LCDs are okay but they're not in the premium range.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0367sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:51 PM