cherroy
post Jan 27 2009, 06:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Saigo @ Jan 27 2009, 12:08 PM)
Actually I'm planning to deposit the notes into a safe deposit box, so the risk of being stolen should be nearly non-existent.. unless I happen to be robbed on the way to the bank *touch wood.

I'm not going to be travelling for a few days, but 1 whole month there. Would it still be viable then to do as you said?
It is viable you take those money as remittance, or TT the money to there (provided you got account there).

If just for travelling purposes, then not much money needed, so it might not suitable as well.

As this is more suit to someone need some significant of money like study abroad which might need few ten K or so, needing the money for business, or got account at there for saving or whatever purposes etc apart from one the of main purposes of this kind of FD for diversification one's asset into other currencies form.
cherroy
post Feb 15 2009, 06:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Feb 14 2009, 07:27 PM)
Forget about AUD and NZD.

Try ZAR - up to 9.5% !

http://www.rhbbank.com.my/treasury/rates/m...posit_rates.asp
ZAR has lost almost half its value since 5 years ago against USD.

So it is pretty high risk currency compared to AUD and NZD. While AUD just back to its 5 years ago level.

South Africa inflation rate is pretty high, which is not good for the currency, that's why it needs to offer high interest rate.

Don't mean which is good or not good. Just a comparison of risk involved. In foreign currency FD, currency strength is one of the very important factor to be considered besides interest rate factor.

Chart quoted from Yahoo finance.

cherroy
post Feb 15 2009, 09:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 15 2009, 07:35 PM)
RHB must be joking. 1 month GBP FD rate at 0.9% when other banks give 2.+%.
And Hi cherroy. Where do you get those currency charts?
Now BOE has slashed rate to 1.0% already last week or so. So no possible for others to give 2% anymore.

Already said mah, quoted from Yahoo finance. smile.gif
cherroy
post Jun 8 2009, 11:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Jun 8 2009, 09:40 AM)
Yes, Which currency good to buy now ?

£ is 5.7 now.

Lowest was 5.3

Highest Few year ago, £7.1
So, I am planning to buy now.
GBP fundamental is the weakest among all the major currencies, that's why it fall so much.
cherroy
post Sep 7 2009, 01:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(a6meister @ Sep 7 2009, 01:13 PM)
i was first introduced to this investment years ago unti recently, Standard chartered bank call me again to review it. from my rough understanding, it is a buying a foreign currency with guaranteed interest payment.

for assumption -

gbp/myr

1. The bank strike rate of 7th sept 2009 is - 5.71
2. spot rate as of 7th sept 2009 - 5.77
3. Lock in period - 2 weeks (minimun)
21st of sept, the spot rate is above 5.71, we will get the 8% interest in MYR.

SECOND SCENARIO,

if the spot rate is below strike rate of 5.71, we still get 8% interest, but the money will be converted to GBP.

Once converted to GBP, we can still exercise the above scenario, with interest paing of 8% and waited to be converted to myr. But, from here, how the strike rate and spot rate is determined, i am confused.

so, perhaps someone experienced can share the info here.
It is called DCI or some called pairing which become more and more popular now.

A lot of currency choice from AUD (the most popular) to NZD, GBP, Euro, etc.

You can do MYR -> GBP or GBP -> MYR (provided you have GBP on hand now).

Strike rate is based on spot rate +/- how many basic point to wish, the more +/-, the less interest will be given. While tenure range from 1 week, 2 weeks, 1 months even 3 months.
cherroy
post Sep 7 2009, 11:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(a6meister @ Sep 7 2009, 06:30 PM)
yes, is called dual currency investment.
But, in the scenario that if the pair falls below the strike rate, it ill be automatically converted into gbp. what i not sure is, once converted into gbp, what will happen then ?

Cherroy, perhaps u can help me to understand.
Once converted, your money will be deposited in the account as GBP, not RM anymore.

But you can do DCI for your GBP to convert to RM, which the strike rate issue applied again.
cherroy
post Sep 19 2009, 12:37 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(a6meister @ Sep 17 2009, 10:26 AM)
cherroy,

did u personally deposit in this dci ? what is ur opinions about it? as for me, i just made the first deposit with standard bank. it is my first time into it.
You must ensure the your target DCI pairing currency is strong one, so that even converted, you still stand a chance for currency appreciation side.

The one the most risky target now is USD, which is keep on sliding to new record level, due to ongoing economy problem of US as well as monetory issue.

I would say for if fundamental nothing change, don't do pairing in USD.

AUD is the bullish one at the moment and carry higher interest rate (3% for AUD FD).

Just my 2 cents.
cherroy
post Sep 26 2009, 02:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Sep 26 2009, 02:20 AM)
There is another type of investment, someting like the dual currency thing also. It workls like this : you can get a loan from the bank in a denomination (denom) which has a low interest rate, eg the yen, and at the same time, get a loan in a denom which has a high interest rate, eg, the AUD for now. Put the AUD back into the Foreign Currency Fixed Deposit to continue to earn the interest, while you leave the yen alone.

Since the AUD interest rate is higher than the yen's, you earn a net interest rate. Of course, the risk would be the yen appreciating very strongly versus the AUD after you started the investment, which makes the yen interest becomes more, thus reducing your net interest earned.

Otherwise, you just leave the two denoms on their own and the net interest earned will keep piling up.

You get a double advantage if the AUD strengthens against the yen,.... meaning you will earn :-

a) the net interest from the AUD FD; and

b) the appreciation of the AUD vs the yen.

Tell me your opinions,.....
This is carry trade, it is not risk free.

You forget to add on
c) if Yen appreciate against AUD, you loss the capital as net interest gain might not able to cover the capital loss.

A lot of this kind investors get burn previously using Yen-Aud for carry trade before the 2008 crisis unfold. As that time, Yen interest is like 0.5%, while AUD interst is 7%, so the diffence is so much prompt a lot of investors borrow Yen to invest in Aud, but after the financial crisis unfold, Yen surged to the roof against Aud, so you have to pay back even more which extra interest earned might not able to cover the capital loss.

Borrow Yen is very risky, because Japan keep on having high surplus of trade, if really want to play this game, it is better to borrow USD (which sink like no tomorrow, even some media commentator joke it is US Peso, not US dollar anymore laugh.gif )

cherroy
post Mar 12 2010, 12:27 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Mar 12 2010, 12:17 AM)
ok... i found the right thread to ask my question below

If i want to hedge against ringgit, what are the best selection currency ?

and last year financial crisis ..... ASD and NZD going very low....................and any one buy it......

as ASD and NZD most of the time having high interest rate...
At time being, AUD seems the better option.

There is not single currency to be classified as best selection.

When invested or diversify into another currency, the primary concern is about the health of economy of the particualr country.
The so called good option can change from time to time.

At time being, Australia economy seems quite ok and with commodities price seems firmer, as one of the most important commodities exporter in the world, AUD prospect is ok while with interest differentiate (4% current and expect to go up a few more basic point in the future), one earns more through AUD.

AUD is seems as a risky trade currency by the market, so when any crisis unfold, investors will flock to USD and dump AUD.

One good about AUD is that RBA is quite hawkish in general. When invested in a currency, you want the particular central bank to be the one pro-active to maintain the value of the currency, not the one hoping currency to depreciate to boost export.

Having said that, AUD is staying at elevated level at time being.
At 0.93 AUD/USD is a big resistance level.
cherroy
post Mar 14 2010, 08:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 12 2010, 07:20 PM)
I'm thinking of hedging against the ringgit too but I have no knowledge about this. Still haven't got time to read through this thread.

May I know how you're going to do that? Through local banks?  hmm.gif
Local banks almost all do have foreign currency account/FD, so this is the simplest way as starting point, instead of potential hassle to open account in overseas.
cherroy
post May 21 2010, 12:02 AM

25,802 posts

The one that look interesting is AUD, not GBP in my opinion.
Tomorrow may drop below 2.70 against RM.

At least AUD has the highest interest rate compared to all major currencies.
cherroy
post May 24 2010, 12:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 23 2010, 12:07 AM)
Some said you can even ask for a special rate at the counter which is even cheaper than their board rates.
Yes, can, when sum is big enough, can always ask for -100 to 150 points lower than the board rate, which they generally can give one but it depends on bank also, some do, some don;t.
cherroy
post May 26 2010, 03:00 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Mulberry @ May 26 2010, 02:51 PM)
Can anyone explain what is "Dual Currency Investment"? and How to do that?
DCI has pairing.

For eg. RM-AUD

DCI has 1 week 2 week or 1 month, tenure depended on banks offer or customer request as well. It will cease after the period.
Current spot rate of RM-AUD is 2.73.
your strike price could be 2.73 or 2.72 (spot - 100 pips), or 2.71 as well

For illustration
2.73 - 30%
2.72 - 20%
2.71 - 10%

Above is the offer of interest rate given with strike price based on 1 week tenure (can be 2 week or 1 month as well), but shorter duration, they give better rate. Interest rate given is differ each day depended on the volatility of forex market, last week, when there is severe move in currency market, there is once DCI carried 70% as well.

Let say you decide to go in 2.73 - 30%
After 1 week, if the spot rate of RM-AUD is 2.74, then your RM won't be converted to AUD, but you will get 30% pa interest rate on your invested money.
If the spot rate is below the strike price of 2.73, your RM will be converted to AUD at 2.73, with together the 30% pa interest rate.

Based currency can be both way i.e. RM or AUD.
As if the money is converted to AUD, you could do the reverse aka base currency of AUD-RM DCI as well.

cherroy
post Aug 14 2010, 10:38 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bubbl3t3a @ Aug 14 2010, 09:43 AM)
Question to all the expertise here regarding forex fd. I would like to know about forex NZD. Is the currency now in its average benchmark price? I concern about this because i aware about the currency crash everywhere now especially in Euro and US. Will it be wise for me to put my saving of about NZD600K now for long term of 60 months or less because if not mistaken i read many times in this thread about forex fd the shorter the time in FD the higher the risk losing in currency exchange is that true? How about will it be wise for me to have the interest annually/quartely convert to MYR for my monthly usage or better have it reinvest? Which one will reduce the risk of currency exchange.
NZD normally correlated to AUD.

I would rather diversify in AUD instead all eggs in NZD.
AUD fundamental is stronger than NZD.

Interest rate for AUD and NZD is expected to rise further if economy does recover, so too long term commitment is not advisable. Just my opinion, I could be wrong.

None of move will reduce currency risk, it is nature of it and depended on one's risk appetite and comfortable level.
Even we holding RM, we still have currency risk on RM, whereby RM can appreciate/depreciate against others major currency.
cherroy
post Aug 14 2010, 02:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bubbl3t3a @ Aug 14 2010, 01:15 PM)
Thanks cherroy.

I have asked some friends (not really expert but just their opinion) compare between these both countries Australia and New Zealand they said NZ is a much more stable and peaceful country than Australia. So if anything happen wars or any political thing NZ won't effect that much. So they advice me to actually go to NZ and put the money there then convert the interest back to MYR and enjoy quartely. After i read about the depreciation of currency i begin to fear. I am looking for something very stable because this will be part of my retirement plan. I found two bank in NZ which is Wespac and ANZ giving a rate of 6.75% for 60 months term deposit. I am not sure this is wise. I will be going to NZ on end of this month for this reason to negotiate for better interest rate that they can offer. Again before that i would like to know what is the best choice before i make a huge decision. I want to know what to ask also since i am not a financial expert. If i like NZ from this trip i might plan my migration there in the future.
You look at wrong aspect already if you want to invest. smile.gif

For currency issue.
Several key factor we need to look at

1. Economy situation aka growth
2. Trade surplus/deficit
3. Gov surplus/deficit.
4. Strength of economy, size of economy.

AUD is actually more stable than NZ in vs RM
AUD is one of six major traded currencies in the world, while NZD is not.

While Australia has strength in resources, world major iron ore supply, as well as agriculture export.

You need to assess the situation yourself, there is no such thing of best option.
Every move come with its own risk.
cherroy
post Aug 17 2010, 04:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bubbl3t3a @ Aug 17 2010, 04:16 PM)
I understand the economy strength for AUD is stronger than NZ. The only concern i have is the AUD will still continue to drop. Do you think this is the best time to put money in AUD? Will the currency have chances to still going down? If i am not mistaken the average benchmark price for AUD is 2.5.
Average benchmark for NZD also 2.0-2.2
If AUD going down to 2.5, then 95% of chance NZD will also go down together. Both currency have strong correlationship.

Sometimes we cannot look back what is the rate in the old day, to say what level is cheap or expensive, things change.

Nobody will know which currency will go down or go up in the future.
Fundamental of particular country dictate the strength of it, which can change over time.

cherroy
post Sep 29 2010, 10:30 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 29 2010, 10:28 AM)
even more if their AUD were purchased during GFC @ 2.25.

my tuition fees were bought at that rate.

the AUD is extremely volatile and hence to a certain extend risky.
Yup, AUD is extreme volatile, but fundamentally, its currency is indeed much much better than the rest like GBP, USD.
cherroy
post Mar 10 2011, 05:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Mar 10 2011, 05:10 PM)
Is it suitable to invest in AUD for fixed deposit? I saw the AUD is very high now.
High or not high is a billion dollar question, that nobody knows.

Back few years ago, when RM3.80 vs USD, nobody even dare to predict it will be Rm3.00.
If RM surge another 10%, it is back to pre-1997 crisis.

Back then just after the crisis when Rm4.00 vs USD, if you told someone RM will be back to RM2.70~2.80 one day, it is like a joke. But now, it is not.
cherroy
post Sep 5 2011, 03:35 PM

25,802 posts

There is no such thing UT, bond fund or which is better than foreign currency or not.

The risk undertaken is different to start with.

UT, you stand a chance to lose your initial capital.
Yes, there are many UT gain quite handsome over the long term, but at the same time, there are UT that make you a loss (I had seen a number of fund registered 30% loss) even after 3-5 years as well.

While for foreign currency FD, if you put SGD 10k, it will remain SGD 10k, you won't lose a single cent in SGD.

cherroy
post Aug 9 2016, 11:44 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Aug 9 2016, 11:21 AM)
Hi guys, gonna ask a stupid question..

Can i bring physical usd to open this kind of foreign currency account?
No.

For foreign currency deposit or foreign FD deposit, the "money" needs to be in "digital" form, not physical.

Either the foreign currency come from exchange with the bank, foreign currency bank draft or being TT from elsewhere.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0251sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:00 AM