Anyone know about foreign FD?

SUSTOS
post Sep 22 2023, 01:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 22 2023, 10:37 AM)
bro TOS likes to post "forbidden fruits"... 99.999% ppl here can see cannot touch...  bangwall.gif
QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 22 2023, 12:53 PM)
Maybe he has a way… let’s wait for his input, bro…
The key to open GXS account is SingPass.

So as long as you are eligible for SingPass then you should be fine. In theory, student pass and work passes are also eligible for SingPass, but their account will be deactivated once the pass(es) expire, which is why I generally recommend Sporean or Spore PR to use SingPass only...

As for your case, Hansel I am pretty sure you are at least a Spore PR, so you should have no issue with GXS.
SUSTOS
post Oct 8 2023, 09:01 AM

8,667 posts

Someone shared this on HWZ: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-149640787

3.95% for 21 months. https://www.aupe.org.sg/acc/news/newget-up-...-fixed-deposit/

SUSTOS
post Oct 9 2023, 01:13 PM

8,667 posts

UOB increases offer from 2.70% pa to 3.10% pa and adds 12 months tenor.

https://www.uob.com.sg/personal/save/fixed-...ed-deposit.page

Source: lzydata/HWZ
SUSTOS
post Oct 13 2023, 10:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 13 2023, 07:09 PM)
TOS How's the exchange rate to put into DBS USD FD?(ie: SGD convert to USD) Is it better than RHB multicurrency FD forex rate? Was trying to deposit online into DBS USD FD previously, but DBS could not tell me the exact forex rate to convert SGD into USD. So ended putting it in RHB

The 3.95% is for members (co-operative) from what I read in the forum
1. Regarding DBS SG's USD FD.

I convert to USD in IBKR, then TT the money out to DBS USD FD account straightaway. 10 USD fee charged by correspondent bank JP Morgan.

Don't convert directly from SGD to USD via DBS. Their FX markup is about 2% (against interbank rates), last I check. Use other fintech to convert to USD or convert within IBKR.

----------------------------

2. Yea, it's for co-operative members only. tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Oct 15 2023, 03:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 15 2023, 03:32 PM)
if one can buy BIL etf already, is there any advantages to go for RHB MCA USD 5% interest?
This you can ask Mr. Gray or dwRK. They both know better than I do regarding RHB MCA stuff.

One possible advantage I can think of is keeping USD closer to you, under BNM regulations. Suitable for retirees or those who does not want to hold assets in foreign countries.

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 15 2023, 03:45 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 15 2023, 09:02 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(raptor_cZn @ Oct 15 2023, 08:49 PM)
-deleted-
What is it that you want to ask me? tongue.gif

Happy to answer.
SUSTOS
post Oct 19 2023, 11:25 AM

8,667 posts

Has anyone tried this?

https://www.stashaway.sg/simple-guaranteed

1 month 3.8% looks tempting... Makes you wonder which MAS bank is partnering with Stashaway lol

Stashaway earns a spread from the bank as well. Which means, the MAS bank is paying them around 4%, not too far from a 4-week MAS bill.

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 19 2023, 11:27 AM
SUSTOS
post Oct 19 2023, 01:33 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 19 2023, 11:56 AM)
looks like need SingPass

lol you are right. Can see cannot touch... laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Oct 23 2023, 08:15 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 23 2023, 08:11 PM)
Thanks. Yeah, I suspected net fees was 3.6% but wanted confirmation. Yes, I have Stashaway Singapore. Opened it with passport.
Oh no need SingPass. Great then. Finally a good place to park my SGD for short-term. thumbup.gif
SUSTOS
post Oct 23 2023, 08:51 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2023, 08:47 PM)
You got singpass just go with moomoo. Moomoo mmf is better than stashaway.
I don't use SingPass unless I am PR or Sporean. tongue.gif

I am looking at liquidity as well. When it matures, I think SA "guaranteed" (this marketing term is very misleading... if you know what I mean) can be withdrawn 1 day earlier than Fullerton's Cash fund.

https://www.stashaway.sg/help-center/176472...mple-guaranteed
SUSTOS
post Oct 23 2023, 10:51 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 23 2023, 10:19 PM)
There is another one : CIMB SG. Total FD of 3.5% pa, no lock-in, daily-accrual, but the comparison is vs your September month-end balance. Paid-out on every month-end and on 20th of the mth,......
3.5%...That is a fake number. I have tested for 2 months. IRR is no higher than 2.7% p.a.

They delay the "bonus" interest by 20 days, effectively halving the interest rate. The bonus interest just sits for 20 days and do nothing, yet you can't get it on the end of the previous month. They lock your money for 20 days and pay you nothing.

Don't be fooled by the bankers.
SUSTOS
post Oct 23 2023, 11:08 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 23 2023, 11:04 PM)
I think your September month-end reference amt is too high. That's why you are earning a lesser 2% amount.

For myself, I have no intention to earn interest on the interest. I'll take out the interest to use, slowly load-up on shares.

The advanatge here is - you can take out the funds anytime you wished. There is no lock-in at all.
Nope. I have 0 SGD in September.

I verified it in Excel, if I change the bonus interest crediting date to the end of previous month, then the IRR will be 3.5%. You can trust me on this. tongue.gif

Yes, the good thing is this is a floating deposit, but a 1% liquidity premium... is really putting off... lol

Ok lah depends on your purpose too... for your case maybe it is fine.
SUSTOS
post Oct 24 2023, 05:53 PM

8,667 posts

I am impressed by your mental accounting...

Looks like CIMB SG has successfully fooled so many clients...

There is only one rate... 2.7% p.a. It does not matter whether they credit you 20 days later... The cash flow as a whole needs to be considered...

You need to drop the 3.5% idea completely even if you don't earn interest on interest.

When we compare across different products, we use the same compounding frequency when we quote the figures. It does not matter whether you reinvest the interest eventually or not... The convention has to be the same, otherwise it will not be a fair comparison.

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 24 2023, 05:55 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 24 2023, 07:11 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 24 2023, 06:23 PM)
Very well,  thumbsup.gif ... I'll keep an open mind and accept your argument in good faith.

I think in types of discussions like this, the only way is to sit down side-by-side and compare notes and talk. We have no time for this,....

I've just put some funds into CIMB yesterday,...

Perhaps you can help me out a bit here since you already have the spreadsheet. Let's assume I put 100K into my FASTSAVER Acct yesterday. We'll use 100K since it's easier to count using this figure. My Month-end Balance at end-September, 2023 was $1.00, this $1.00 is the Comparison Amt then.

How much interest would I earn by Oct 31, 2023 ?

How much interest would I earn by Nov 20, 2023 ?

I'll match the figures when the dates come. Having a spreadsheet will make the calculating easier.
Same quick calculus. Others please feel free to verify my calculations. Thanks!

Attached File  Hansel_CIMB_SG_Interest_Rate_Computation.zip ( 8.65k ) Number of downloads: 19

SUSTOS
post Oct 24 2023, 08:55 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 24 2023, 07:11 PM)
Same quick calculus. Others please feel free to verify my calculations. Thanks!

Attached File  Hansel_CIMB_SG_Interest_Rate_Computation.zip ( 8.65k ) Number of downloads: 19

Sorry, I missed something. A lot of things actually. There are many possibilities with tweaking the cash flow. You may withdraw money upon interest crediting, or keep it in account for the next few month's interests.

I edited the Excel file to reflect these 2 possible scenarios. The IRR differs.

Attached File  Hansel_CIMB_SG_Interest_Rate_Computation.zip ( 9.33k ) Number of downloads: 6

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 24 2023, 09:55 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 24 2023, 09:37 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 24 2023, 08:45 PM)
can you not simulate this fake 3.5%? you have all the details already... just set up the spreadsheet with offset payment of the bonus tier to next month, then work the irr...

ps... you post so many 'fake 3.5%' i had to go cimb sg to check it out...  sweat.gif
Here's my argument with the actual cash flow from my CIMB SG account.

Warning: this is not for the faint-hearted. laugh.gif

Attached File  My_CIMB_SG_Cash_Flow__Actual_.zip ( 10.21k ) Number of downloads: 16

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 24 2023, 09:55 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 24 2023, 10:06 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 24 2023, 10:00 PM)
been thinking... they do give you 3.5% as shown in their promo... but because of the offset/delayed payments, its not really compounding at 3.5%... i guess that is your problem with the promo... creative accounting by cimb sg...  hmm.gif
Exactly bro (I mean uncle...). The 20-day delay is the single biggest factor causing the deviation from the advertised 3.5% rate. Delays in interest on interest accounts for the rest of the error.

Like expanding Taylor series... you have zero order, first order, second order,... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 24 2023, 10:07 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 25 2023, 12:49 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 25 2023, 12:32 PM)
your data confuses old ppl... and hard to validate...  tongue.gif

so i rolled my own... for <25k account, is 3.2% effective rate... 3.33% if they didn't forfeit bonus... so not as bad as you think, but anyways, main issues are initial 1st 20-day offset, flat rate calc not daily rest, and zero bonus if less than previous month...

did not do next tiers... next 2 tiers shift in our favors... so up to 75K will be higher than 3.2%... final tier reduces this... but template is here if you wanna try... biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=11483175]
Yup, in the second Excel I posted yesterday I got an IRR of 3.11% for about 2 months of interests with money kept in account and rolling.

A tiny correction is the compounding period is 365 days used by CIMB SG, not 365.25. I think their convention is ACT/365 if I recalled correctly.

And as what Hansel says, it's based on September month-end balance.

So from what we see, it's indeed not 3.5% but the drop in 40ish basis points does not explain the low 2.7% p.a. IRR I am getting.

I am suspecting that the drop from 3.1/3.2% to 2.7% is probably also because we treat it as a saving account and hence money moving in and out reduces the IRR. What do you think?
SUSTOS
post Oct 25 2023, 12:58 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 25 2023, 12:36 PM)
TOS and gents,... I've browsed thru the spreadsheet last night,... easy to understand, and I'm okay with getting that amt as shown in your speradsheet. I may be wondering why does the final line show am IRR of 2.7% though,... what formula did you use,...
Not sure which line you are referring to? You mean the 3rd spreadsheet using my actual CIMB SG cashflow data?

It's the same XIRR formula dwRK and I are using throughout our calculations.

As said above to uncle dwRK, I strongly suspects the money movement in and out of the accounts affects the IRR as well. The delay of 20-days pulls down the IRR from 3.50% to 3.1-3.2%, and perhaps money movement pulls it further down to 2.6-2.7%.

So, a preliminary conclusion is if you want to maximize your CIMB SG account "3.5%" promo to its full extent, you have to treat the account as an FD account and not withdraw cash from it simply because you need to.

We also discovered that the effective rate, adjusting for the 20-day delay in bonus payments and assuming that you leave the interests in your account for further compounding, is around 3.1-3.2% p.a.

The lucky thing on my side is with the exception of some one-off spending, I usually withdraw cash for SG T-bills, so overall my opportunity cost is capped at SG 6-month T-bill rates.

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 25 2023, 01:05 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 25 2023, 01:04 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 25 2023, 12:55 PM)
this one here is what i was referring to...

so, if maintain account, you'll get the final bonus in April, this makes the effective interest 3.33% max for <25k account throughout campaign period...

anyways...
This is for new customers... You need to check the table for existing customers.

There is a slight difference in the way they define the month-end balance criterion.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0450sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:36 PM