INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

overclockalbert
post Oct 21 2007, 02:27 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Oct 20 2007, 01:29 AM)
nah.not worth the rm250 for a new P4P800x.and btw iianm the IC7 Max3 can support vdimm up 3.3v. unsure.gif
@fylon
i think trading in your rams for 2GB of rams is a much better option laugh.gif more ram more syiok laugh.gif
hi all,

for those who wanna try BH5 with IC7Max3, just forget about it ok. (i saying this because i'm the max 3 owner , and i own 2pcs of the mobo before)
for my S478 system, i still used IC7 but just the plain , not max3 version.

max vdimm on max3board was 3.2V but anything set over 2.9V will have stability issue.
(u all can check in major site saying the problem on the max3 and yet, abit was not ganna do anything about that.)
the problem was the VTT not set to half of the vdimm u set, as stated in Jedec standard,

VTT to feed will equal to 1/2 of the Vdimm u set in BIOS.

the max3 only can support to 2.9V (with correct VTT voltage feeding)

anything more then that will have screw up the system stability.

BUT there is alternative, fot the Max3 mobo, u can do VTT mod on it, and just some soldering and track cutting......but i bet no one
will try that biggrin.gif

for those who wanna try BH5, beware as not all PSU (esp those 24pin PSU) will not support the booster.

the booster only can be used with the 20pin (aka old type PSU) which have the white cable (not remember is -5V or -12V)

very troublesome for those who wanna get BH5

(i was once own 3 set of BH5 , Team Xtreem BH5 , OCZ BH5 and Corsair BH5)

i was running my system most stable with 2.9V at 220Mhz. i just can't feed more then 2.9V there.

***but trying DFI NF4 Ultra-D which have the max 4V vdimm option, my BH5 fly high : 2-2-2-5@250, with 3.5Vdimm feed drool.gif rclxm9.gif

but now i sold all the BH5 already, as going high density liou.

anyway, to those who still OC the S478 system, happy OC and exploring.

rgds,
Albert

overclockalbert
post Oct 21 2007, 08:36 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 21 2007, 10:15 AM)
Dont think so. As for vista was a resource hunger. 1G ram might not be enough to feed it ur OS. And also.. 1.8G processor? Hm.. My 2cent, forget about vista.. Stick to XP.

@albert

Wow.. Thx for the information! Can see that ur really mad on p4 before. Haha.. Well.. If im not mistaken, the booster do com with a 24pin to 20pin PSU converter right? I saw my fren's booster it does come with that converter. And do have the white cable as u mentioned. Well.. I still not sure about the performance! biggrin.gif By then albert, do u got any ram kit wanna sell? brows.gif

@khai84siong

Ehem.. Guess ur gona having problem with ur BH-5 dy huh.. Haha.. Listen what our bro albert says, BH-5 was a troublesome ram. Voltage drainer.. Nothing much can be perform in our normal mobo.
@fylon,
i still have a pair of Patriot PDP 1GB Kit. (PC4200 @ DDR533)

this pair was my fav. before i switch to Corsair 3500LLPRO.

it serve me well thru 270Mhz with 3-4-4-8 with 2.8V . not bad right.

** but the best ram was the one i'm using now, doing 1:1 @DDR550 @2.5-3-3-7@2.8V,
which is the Corsair 3500LLPRO rclxms.gif

anyway, if u r interested with the ram, just give me an offer thru pm.

happy OC
overclockalbert
post Oct 21 2007, 11:33 PM

1,058 posts

@fylon,

it really depends, if u would like to try tight timing or high fsb, just go ahead, as this OC was really a self/personal thing, u try, u gain something, u didn't try, u also didn't loose anything.

so do what u feel it's right, and the most important thing, njoy the moment, the moment u reach there........your ultimate goal for OC.

happy OC

rgds,
Albert

overclockalbert
post Oct 22 2007, 07:10 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 22 2007, 07:18 PM)
@KahLooN

Yea.. The ram will get hot. Due its running D43 chip. When running on high frequency. It will get hot fast. As mine was value ram doesnt comes with any heat spreader. sweat.gif

Yup. Agree that.. As long as the system still enough to feed daily ur daily need. Dont bother to go for upgrade. It a waste if grab a Quad just for typing or doing normal stuff like surfing or watch movie.. wink.gif
try to get the ram cooler from allngap or from karom
it will help to cool down the ram.

overclockalbert
post Oct 24 2007, 07:52 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(khai84siong @ Oct 24 2007, 05:15 PM)
yup actually from wat i see from the previous post
conclusion bh5 vy hard to use
thought of selling it
any1 interested?  brows.gif
bro, is it a corsair BH5 ram u got? or mushkin?

might interested with it as my ultra-D lying around doing nothing. my ultra-d have max 4V of vdimm so i will try it
for 2-2-2-5@250......just if i was lucky enuf. blush.gif

*i just sold my PDP ram to Fylon, hope he can fully utilized it. (and also take good case of it)

@Fylon, u will love it when u saw it for the 1st time, it have the bloody Red colour theme.nice touch from PDP.

overclockalbert
post Oct 25 2007, 06:57 AM

1,058 posts

@fylon,

just try not to supply over 2.9V on the dimm. and best if u can have active cooling on it before OC.
as for your 3.2E, 3.8G was a good target. try reach there with low vcore.
u'll love the speed.
last time i was doing 3.8G with my 3.2C (but northwood 3.2 seems not OC-able to reach 4Ghz) and it's was not fully prime stable.

anyway, nice target u have there and try yr way up there.

rgds,
Albert

overclockalbert
post Oct 25 2007, 11:31 PM

1,058 posts

@fylon,

u still have more headrooms for the PDP, 235@2.5-3-3-7@2.8V still achiveable, just please make sure that your NB have a proper cooling.***(very crucial)***

as for your 3.2E, stock vcore doing 3.6G was ok. i think more then 3.6G u have to increase vcore abit. just my experience. smile.gif
had u run any prime test?

nice OC anyway. try to squeeze more from 3.2E, but leave vdimm max only at 2.8V . just don't feed it over dos. biggrin.gif

*about the cooler, i still have both cooler : the TR XP-90 and the Scythe Ninja Plus. both are good cooler actually, just the XP-90
was abit better due to the nature design of it , which benefit for the PWM and NB to cool down together while the CPU do. BUT, u should take noise into consideration, as XP-90 need have high CFM fan to shine. my chooice was Nidec 92mm @ max2800rpm, just great combination. biggrin.gif

as for Scythe ninja plus, 120mm fan = silent. 1200/1800rpm fan serve well with it. nice and silent but abit larger size.
u need to check the clearance if u wanna try this cooler. so if u interested, the price can nego.

rgds,
Albert

overclockalbert
post Oct 25 2007, 11:57 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 26 2007, 12:48 AM)
@albert

Haha.. Still got more headroom to go for the PDP? drool.gif But anways, i think 3.6G is just fine enough for my daily usage. laugh.gif Will try to make 3.8G for some benchmark purpose when im free. Otherwise.. I will just stick to 3.6G as is enough for me.

About the cooler.. Hm... May i know what is the fan size for it? I meana the XP90. Its using 92mm fan or 120mm? Gotta count my wallet 1st.. Haha! By then, im kinda scare with the tall & bulky size cooler now. as my Hyper6 im tired of its weight. I gota tie up my mobo to the casing size in order to make it stand straight.

@sang

Oh sang.. Haha! Where is ur result then? I had shown mine.. biggrin.gif Dont sit there diam diam la.. Show us urs as well.. Ur OCZ cant sit still.. brows.gif
3.6GHz was a good clock speed for S478 P4 system , with all voltage at stock, u should be running it quit cool hmm.gif

mind to show us the temp reading?

the XP-90 was on 92mm nidec fan. it's made of nickel plate cooper blocks with alu fins.

as for the ninja, it uses the 120mm fan, with cooper block and alu fin.

both cooler weight almost the same. even the ninja was huge in size, but not in weight. haha biggrin.gif

@khai82siong,

do u still interested with the ninja? my friend no want already smile.gif

rgds,
Albert
overclockalbert
post Oct 28 2007, 03:50 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 28 2007, 01:36 AM)
i selling my 2.4 at Rm100 also no nyamuk lalat la. really no luck. Got 1 buyer from KL but prefer COD. cry.gif

@fylon
the reason use multiple hdd is faster as it uses many hdd controller. so in other word you seperate out the workload.

For example, 1 sata and 1 pata in your rig, you run compressing in sata drive and you watch dvix movie on the pata hdd, seperate disk controller do their own job on its hdd respectively. but if you only have 1 hdd, whatever task you have to mainly depend a hdd and 1 hdd controller do all the read/write job. ofcoz slower la. More important, organize your hdds properly for better performance. wink.gif

@
@kabu,

nice tip there.

wanna try raptor in raid-O.

used to have Maxtor 80GB Sata in raid-O. speed was ok.

now wanna try raptor see how much different but sadly no more stock.

gonna wait till next batch come in.

rgds,
Albert
overclockalbert
post Oct 30 2007, 07:32 AM

1,058 posts

really nice to see all S478 owner here still njoying what the system can brings.

to all s478 user, congrats.

@fylon, congrats for the OC attempt. way to go for 4Ghz.
overclockalbert
post Nov 2 2007, 07:03 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Nov 1 2007, 01:38 AM)
@fylon
That is impressive result you have. Yeap, TCCD able to at that speed since is a norm for the chipset. My previous TCCD able to hit 260MHz@2.5-3-3-5. smile.gif

Guess you should be able to do that since albert personally tried it himself. smile.gif
Anyway, push more to the baby~ rclxms.gif
correct! i can do that @260Mhz without problem.

@fylon, go slowly, u can make it there also .

*just don't over volt too much

Added on November 2, 2007, 7:04 am
QUOTE(sang_karim @ Nov 1 2007, 12:12 PM)
mine default timing is 2-2-2-5 ... the chip from what i have search through the net is TCCD with brainpower PCB ... i just try to loosen the timing in order to reach the highest FSB for my ram can reach ... oredi reach 250 MHz but i think can go more ... still no time to test ... wanna reach that highest FSB first then set for 3.6 GHz with tight timing ... just no time rite now to try ... hehe  sweat.gif
@sang,

can i know the ram that u used. is it the famous rev.2 OCZ titanium series??? nice ram...... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by overclockalbert: Nov 2 2007, 07:04 AM
overclockalbert
post Nov 2 2007, 07:25 PM

1,058 posts

@fylon,

the ram timing was best set to 2.5-X-X-X

both in amd or intel system it will perform the best with that timing.

i don't see any problem for u to try 260@2.5-3-3-7@2.75V

if u have any stability issue at 2.75V, pls switch to active cool before up the voltage again.

happy OC

rgds,
Albert

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 2 2007, 02:14 PM)
Wah seh.. Just back from a trip and the thread got flooded again. laugh.gif

@shinjite

Any clue for displaying the frame rate in KMPlayer? As im using this player to play most of the video format now due i was having problem with K-Lite & Classic Media Player. wink.gif

@pengster

Haha.. Cos that night hand itchy and then go push it. But then, the result didnt disappointed me..

@overclockalbert

Yea.. Hehe! Heard from u last time when u tell me about this ram kit. But then, its really amazing this ram kit can hit that high speed with low voltrage. Haha.. Btw albert, as i can run flawless in 2.5-3-3-6 i just wander in P4 platform, should i tighten up the timing or loosen it? hmm.gif

@haha67

Hi.. Welcome to the old school club. laugh.gif By then, about GC bottlenecking.. There is always a bottlenecking gap in between. Even now, a Quad core also bottlenecking 8800Ultra just the bottlenecking gap is smaller and hardly been notice. Nowadays, GC is getting more powerful then the processor itself. No doubt. whistling.gif As for ur rigs, maybe u try push ur current 2.8E to 3.2E to draw near the gap.
overclockalbert
post Nov 3 2007, 06:52 AM

1,058 posts

@kahloon,

u have a very good 12V rail.

the ram timing really nice, 2.5-3-3-5@250.

a quad pump with 250fsb was ideal case for me about P4 s478 system

nice setup bro.
overclockalbert
post Nov 3 2007, 01:04 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Nov 3 2007, 12:19 PM)
Agree, but the interest in OC is not as last time. Haha, as long the system is stable then Im happy. tongue.gif
P/S: Is the any recommendation for a LCD monitor (19"-22") as my CRT juz gone this morning. sweat.gif
how about Dell entry level 22" LCD with price tag below 900.

overclockalbert
post Nov 4 2007, 07:30 AM

1,058 posts

@pengster,

your current setup will only consume more or less below 500W.

your ideal PSU will be anything rated 500W or 550W.

go for that with true power type. if u going for future proof, get the OP650 ,maybe last u for a year, instead, get the 850W true power rating PSU. peace of mind.

overclockalbert
post Nov 6 2007, 06:55 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 6 2007, 10:43 AM)
Lol.. By default, 68GT were core 350 & mem 500 (total 1G). But mine were like Pre-clocked. sweat.gif Core 375 (25mhz more then normal) & Core 525 (25mhz more then normal). Last night try to OC the card but i found defect on Core 390 & Mem 550. laugh.gif
those pre-OC GC was a waste of time to OC.

i was once own the BFG 68GT OC version, can't even OC more then 10%. but then the GC damn good lah.
just power hungry abit. my acbel 450W can't tame it.

overclockalbert
post Nov 8 2007, 07:04 AM

1,058 posts

nice Tuniq tower. was on par with XP-120 last time.
nowadays no fight already, as more and more heat pipe cooler
getting to market.....maybe drop out abit

anyway, a nice and cool stuff.
overclockalbert
post Nov 8 2007, 09:42 AM

1,058 posts

make sure your case can fit this monster, else get a air scoop for your side panel. smile.gif

overclockalbert
post Nov 10 2007, 04:39 PM

1,058 posts

@fylon, u r not going to used the booster with PDP right?

what other ram that u have?

overclockalbert
post Nov 10 2007, 06:45 PM

1,058 posts

@likito,

what mobo u plan to used?

better start with something good, else better stay default with the
system.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top