post Aug 28 2007, 02:38 PM

Hmm..?
2,139 posts

5D with a f/1.2 L?
eddychstu
post Aug 28 2007, 02:46 PM

Why so serious?
2,347 posts

for those who voted option 2, what do you expect TS to shoot with? RM10 magnifying glass? laugh.gif
ifer
post Aug 28 2007, 03:17 PM

4,637 posts

like what i said earlier, i would go for the 30D and some L lenses... instead of 5D with one lens.

true, some people dislike changing lenses and stuffs... i am one of these type of people. all my cameras have only 1 lens attached and nothing more. i find the time spent changing my lenses ar.. let's not talk about me.

empire23, i am sure you had read everything there is to know about these 2 cameras but do bare in mind that photography is not about gadgets and what ken rockwell had said.

i would advice you to go down to the shop and handle the cameras yourself... you might not like the feel of the mk 3 or something like that. before you say you cant find a shop that allows you to do so, do PM me as i know the marketing director of canon (M) behbay!

which ever camera you choose, i am sure they are good. 5D used to be my favourite until the mk 3 came out. like you, i am attracted by the super low noise quality of high iso exposure. but seeing that i dislike digital cameras and the only reason i use it is because of the freelances i had, i have to get myself a DSLR.

for my personal photographs, it's all on large format films. people say that i am an idiot, using films in a digital era... but who cares. same goes to you, if you feel that you really like the mk 3, go for it... but i will personally go to your house to slap you if you use a crappy 18-55 lens on this camera...
TSempire23
post Aug 28 2007, 03:48 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Aug 28 2007, 01:07 PM)
Well, I am really sincerely sorry that I mentioned things that were sensitive to you.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

It was just my 2 cents.

Anyway, all the best in getting a camera.

Hope you can share your experience with us.

Oh yeah, about your gallery? Can share some shots with us?

empire23, really hope you'll get either cam and pair it with a good L lens.
It's cool smile.gif

I just get carried away when people call me a spoiled rich kid because i work hard for the things i want and no to mention i make alot of compromises in my daily comforts for bigger "lump sump" ones like this.

QUOTE(nairud @ Aug 28 2007, 02:14 PM)
seems to me,  you had some history with empy huh? Other ppl's comments are about some other alternatives apart from the 5D and 1D. I do sense some "personal attack" on empy in your posts.

-happy shooting-
Nvm lah. Done is done.

like what i said earlier, i would go for the 30D and some L lenses... instead of 5D with one lens.

true, some people dislike changing lenses and stuffs... i am one of these type of people. all my cameras have only 1 lens attached and nothing more. i find the time spent changing my lenses ar.. let's not talk about me.

empire23, i am sure you had read everything there is to know about these 2 cameras but do bare in mind that photography is not about gadgets and what ken rockwell had said.

i would advice you to go down to the shop and handle the cameras yourself... you might not like the feel of the mk 3 or something like that. before you say you cant find a shop that allows you to do so, do PM me as i know the marketing director of canon (M) behbay!

which ever camera you choose, i am sure they are good. 5D used to be my favourite until the mk 3 came out. like you, i am attracted by the super low noise quality of high iso exposure. but seeing that i dislike digital cameras and the only reason i use it is because of the freelances i had, i have to get myself a DSLR.

for my personal photographs, it's all on large format films. people say that i am an idiot, using films in a digital era... but who cares. same goes to you, if you feel that you really like the mk 3, go for it... but i will personally go to your house to slap you if you use a crappy 18-55 lens on this camera...

I noticed the word "large format" before anything notworthy.gif

I actually love the feel of the 30D, the size is just right, but to be honest, besides the higher exposure ratio, and more FPS, it still shares the same sensor as the 350D.

Yeah, no one will let me get mah grubby hands on a markIII, so i'm just conjecturing on how it feels, as in i agak agak.

Anyways, what your general impressions on the markIII? and the million dollar question is, can it beat the 5D when it comes to noise even though it has a smaller sensor?
clemong_888
post Aug 28 2007, 05:30 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 28 2007, 03:48 PM)
It's cool smile.gif

I just get carried away when people call me a spoiled rich kid because i work hard for the things i want and no to mention i make alot of compromises in my daily comforts for bigger "lump sump" ones like this.
Nvm lah. Done is done.
I noticed the word "large format" before anything  notworthy.gif

I actually love the feel of the 30D, the size is just right, but to be honest, besides the higher exposure ratio, and more FPS, it still shares the same sensor as the 350D.

Yeah, no one will let me get mah grubby hands on a markIII, so i'm just conjecturing on how it feels, as in i agak agak.

Anyways, what your general impressions on the markIII? and the million dollar question is, can it beat the 5D when it comes to noise even though it has a smaller sensor?
u could always wait for the 40d and see its results if u like the feel of the 30d.
ifer
post Aug 28 2007, 08:56 PM

4,637 posts

my impression?
5D noise control is good enough for me already.

i dont go till 3200 iso... max could be 1600 or something. even at 3200, the 5D is good...
though the mk3 is better... but does it worth the cash? double the price leh uncle...

i keep my iso around 100 to 400 normally... tripod is my everything. yeap! brought a tripod into the operation theatre taking photos of open heart surgery... no problem. but need to sterile it first lah
ac98
post Aug 28 2007, 09:14 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 28 2007, 03:20 AM)
Good point, but i love shooting in low light without flash, any extra ISO or sensor size appeals well to me and that's why i'm making the switch.

Either way it's a good suggestion.
I'm sure my folks will survive tongue.gif

Like i said, if i wanted to spend it wisely i'd stick in ASW2020 to get a 10 percent divident and a 13.8 percent usual bonus, i'm sure there are times we like to splurge abit.

I can't get a car because i already drive my mom's one like a bat out of hell, RapidKL good enough lah
I can't get house because my old man is the kind that doesn't like his kids moving out early
I can't get a new PC because i just got one

Thus i get photogear. It's either that or i burn the money in front of poor people when i die laugh.gif.

Understandably it's a big sum of cash, but better than some who ask their folks to get them a car right?
I think you wkkay make a good point, the only thing i'm skeptical about is the ability of the existing EOS350D sensor to maximize the capabilities of these lenses, and that's the main reason. After many horrible triages out in the dark even with a tripod and apeture open wide (even with a few HQ borrowed lenses), i find the quality lacking.

I just wish my camera could see as well as i do in the dark, and heck i have astigmatism sad.gif
No cars for me, the last time i was lent one all i did was drive 240 and above on every highway near my place. I know i can't control myself when it comes to motor vehicles, so i think the bus is better for my long term health. Anyways the 350Z is balls when it comes to handling, far too stiff, far too unfriendly, you'd get bored of it if you were forced to take it out to go giant on sundays to do shopping tongue.gif

Well, who knows, i'm studying EE, but i'm quite sure it isn't one of those things i wanna do for the rest of my pathetic life, might get more serious as time goes along, although if you ask me at the end of the day, my main motivation is to just get some nice i see into my view finder and keep it with me.

Added on August 28, 2007, 3:24 am

No worries, except for abstract photography, i do consider myself quite competent with a camera. But there are hardware limitations i just can't get over, especially in low light.
Car, bike, house, camera, toys, pet dog, pet cat, no difference ... not your money means not your money.
If you like good quality images, why dun you go for the latest Hasselbald H2D? I have round at it at Sunway few weeks back : Lightweight, 22MP of juice, stands out among the crowd ... who needs a EOS 1D Mark III anyway, even a poor man like me have a used EOS 1D! Go get the Hassy, beat the CRAP out of EOS 5D or ID Mark III N!!

USD 24,000 - Have word with your parents, if you're interested I can ask the exact price for you in Ringgit.

This post has been edited by ac98: Aug 28 2007, 09:18 PM
ifer
post Aug 29 2007, 02:32 PM

4,637 posts

ermm... the new wan is H3 and its 30++ MP.
using a digital back is totally different from using a DSLR
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 05:19 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Aug 29 2007, 02:32 PM)
ermm... the new wan is H3 and its 30++ MP.
using a digital back is totally different from using a DSLR
Yeah but I am suggesting this to Empire23 so he can consult with his parents, who happens to be very generous with him so far. In this case, why use a DSLR? Stand out among the crowd by using a Hassy ... dun tell me he's gonna make his parents spend thousands and STILL stand among us kua ...

This post has been edited by ac98: Aug 29 2007, 05:19 PM
wKkaY
post Aug 29 2007, 05:39 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

ac98, you're being a dick and you know it too.
undazztood
post Aug 29 2007, 05:53 PM

true goodness is understood
991 posts

i'll never ever go out take a picture at 4am with very expensive dSLR on my hand. even i go with my friend. Safety first and it's really important thing to think about too.
but i have voted.

ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 06:12 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 29 2007, 05:39 PM)
ac98, you're being a d*** and you know it too.
I dunno ... if you're taking sides in this matter then I am sorry, I am neutral. You're being very open for an Admin by the way, are you fostering usage of vulgarity in this Forum?
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 06:13 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(undazztood @ Aug 29 2007, 05:53 PM)
i'll never ever go out take a picture at 4am with very expensive dSLR on my hand. even i go with my friend. Safety first and it's really important thing to think about too.
but i have voted.
No where is safe now ... people will rob you even if you're wearing a worn out T-shirt, shorts and a Rm200+ handphone dry.gif
zzloo
post Aug 29 2007, 06:28 PM

Hmm..?
2,139 posts

so... u kena rite?
ac98
post Aug 29 2007, 07:37 PM

3,758 posts

Not yet, thank God.
wKkaY
post Aug 29 2007, 08:22 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 29 2007, 08:12 PM)
I dunno ... if you're taking sides in this matter then I am sorry, I am neutral. You're being very open for an Admin by the way, are you fostering usage of vulgarity in this Forum?

Fine, I admit that I could've worded it more politely.

The fact remains that you're taking this topic out of context. It's clear that the thread starter has a budget, yet you recommended a mind-blowing USD$24k RRP camera. Also, you just had to add the snidish remark "dun tell me he's gonna make his parents spend thousands and STILL stand among us kua ...", didn't you? If you're going to dispense unhelpful advice such as this, why post at all?
ac98
post Aug 30 2007, 10:26 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 29 2007, 08:22 PM)
Fine, I admit that I could've worded it more politely.

The fact remains that you're taking this topic out of context. It's clear that the thread starter has a budget, yet you recommended a mind-blowing USD$24k RRP camera. Also, you just had to add the snidish remark "dun tell me he's gonna make his parents spend thousands and STILL stand among us kua ...", didn't you? If you're going to dispense unhelpful advice such as this, why post at all?
Maybe to him it's not mind-blowing? I am still within topic when I made the effort of hot-linking a Hasselblad H2D and stating a price before discount in USD. I've seen the H2D in action during a invitation-only fashion at Q-Bar and I am just stating my experience. You're being too picky with words and just felt uneasy over my choice of phrases, that all. If you're loaded, surely you won't wanna stand within the common group, I won't either. Well I am sorry if I offended you or the topic starter but I hope you can understand my point. I am STILL recommending a good camera to him, pics and pricing included. If I am just plain "Hey, why dun you go buy yourself a Hasselblad" now that's throwing nonsense across. I chose a RM26,000 4MP Canon EOS 1D only 4 years later when it became only Rm4000+ as a showroom condition used unit ... I also got myself a good camera. It's up to the topic starter how much and when he wanna get his new toy, I am just recommending.

If he can read-up on the internet I am sure he knows the difference between the EOS 5D and EOS 1D Mark III by now, biggest difference would be WEIGHT after he takes care of the PRICE matter. Not many people can handle 1.2KG with one arm for long!

This post has been edited by ac98: Aug 30 2007, 10:31 PM
TSempire23
post Sep 1 2007, 04:32 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 28 2007, 09:14 PM)
Car, bike, house, camera, toys, pet dog, pet cat, no difference ... not your money means not your money.
If you like good quality images, why dun you go for the latest Hasselbald H2D? I have round at it at Sunway few weeks back : Lightweight, 22MP of juice, stands out among the crowd ... who needs a EOS 1D Mark III anyway, even a poor man like me have a used EOS 1D! Go get the Hassy, beat the CRAP out of EOS 5D or ID Mark III N!!

USD 24,000 - Have word with your parents, if you're interested I can ask the  price for you in Ringgit.
Your recommendation makes no sense, a 1D MK3 RM 13000 with no lense costs around the same as 5d with kit 12999, i believe you missed the point of contention by a mile, and the fact you don't get the idea of limits is absurd. Lemme go buy the goddamn hubble telescope ya? Hassies are nice but looking at the body damage my 350D has gotten, pain scratches, nicks galore and me dropping and slapping it on a regular basis (as i described in the start of the thread), i don't think it'll serve my needs, and i did state that i would like to stick to the canon system, EF generally smile.gif

Hey why the heck are you anal about me spending my parents money? they don't even mind and i'm sure they're sane individuals, heck i appreciate them giving me so much moolah to play, and that's why i'm doing research for it. Like it or not you're posting out of context.

Anyways who doesn't like Zeiss optics? But i'd put my money on Schmidt and Bender anyday tongue.gif

Well atleast Ifer posted something useful.
SUSdgrebel
post Sep 27 2007, 02:24 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

if i were u empy, i'd lurk for used 5D going for 7.5k onwards. and get a decent lens (also 2nd hand).

i agree on the part that the 30d shares the same sensor with 350d, i myself just entered the 30d bandwagon after selling off my long-lasting 350d.

but i guess, better lens is what i'm focusing more on. and external lightings too.

but considering your options and targets, i'd go for the 5D, better sensor,FF,and an already good kitlens. but abit heavy though to lug around your neck.
andrewng88
post Sep 27 2007, 06:29 PM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

my two cent is ! 5d ! & save some $ for prime lenses ! dslr body will update so can't always go get the latest , so better to spend on lenses ! i feel changing lenses on the field is part of the fun in using DSLR ! and going home cleaning the body/lenses & sensor also is fun for me !
5d is FF , 1d mark III is fast ! so ask youself you need FF dslr or a fast / crop dslr!

p/s :- my next purchase sigma 180mm marco ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by andrewng88: Sep 27 2007, 06:33 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0488sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:50 AM