5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, Share your joy and your pain here

tinkerbel
post Jun 24 2008, 12:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@chizzu,
When U've used the batt until the system shuts down, leave it for another 4 hrs to make sure all power in it has been discharged. If U start charging immediately, U would not have had discharged all the battery in it [refer to civic98's earlier post]

U should be able to check if ur MB/MBP is still under warranty. If it is, U shouldn't have problems getting the batt replaced - just take it to ur nearest Apple Store. U do haf to leave ur batt with them and it'll take about 3-5 days for them to order u a new batt smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Jun 24 2008, 12:49 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@civic98,
Yup.. it's tracked through Serial Number biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post Jun 24 2008, 02:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@chizzu,
Yup go get the batt replaced before the warranty laps.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jun 24 2008, 02:07 PM
tinkerbel
post Jun 27 2008, 12:15 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@slacx,
There are plenty around from Samsonite to Targus to Crumpler. As for me, I use a Crumpler bag pack.
tinkerbel
post Jun 27 2008, 07:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@slacx,
I'm using "The King Single" and it's pretty good [except I love the bag so much I refuse to want to put it on the ground, etc etc. I'm becoming a nuisance protecting my bag!! mUAhaHAhaH].

If U intend to get the Crumpler, look no further than our KLCC store; it's the cheapest if U compare it with all the regions. Also, if U can get hold of a Tourist Card [use ur maids foreign passport or something to obtain one], U get an additional 10% discount.

I believe Machines also stock Crumpler bags, haf no idea if there are membership discounts since I'm no Machines member.
tinkerbel
post Jul 1 2008, 12:57 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hairol83,
53mb?! *grins* I downloaded the Software Combo Update and that was almost like 555MB for my MBP. Anyhow, I find LYN much faster now [haven't tried it with other webpages YET]
tinkerbel
post Jul 2 2008, 02:34 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Criollo,
The 17" MBP isn't exactly what I'll call portable!!!! I'm oredi having portability issues with the 15" one *grins*
tinkerbel
post Jul 3 2008, 09:43 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@terencetoo,
It is not recommended for U to put the MBP on ur lap for it does get V hot after a short while *grins*

Speaking of which, since I updated to Leopard, my fan seems to be running all the time !!!
tinkerbel
post Jul 4 2008, 08:03 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@terencetoo,
No good to use in public areas but otherwise in a quieter place, it's quite clear
tinkerbel
post Jul 4 2008, 05:00 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ennyong1985,
I've this thing about sticking stuff into me ear; hence I don't have an iPod. I've also given up with my Bluetooth Headset / Handsfree Set *oops*
tinkerbel
post Jul 7 2008, 10:43 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Esqandare,
Huh?! And since when does computer prices appreciate?
tinkerbel
post Jul 9 2008, 02:09 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Syd G,
Take my word for it; U'll love the TrackPad when U start using it smile.gif More so with the new ones cause it comes with the Multi Touch function *grins*
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2008, 11:28 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@almattitude_v1,
I don't know where U got the idea that Mac's are expensive [well it isn't cheap but it isn't expensive when Ur comparing it with a Vaio]
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2008, 11:58 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@almattitude_v1,
Do U know what softwares U'll be using?! Mind letting us know what ur studying?! U could also check with ur Uni if it's oK for U to be using Mac?

AFAIK a lot of uni students uses Mac and none haf whatsoever problems with file conversions.
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2008, 12:24 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@almattitude_v1,
Are U skewed towards a particular direction? For example, Biz? Engineering? Architecture?! You might not know exactly what ur studying but if u are going to be using the Office applications; such as Office 2007, there's no need to worry about compatibility issues from PC to MAC *grins*

Btw, if U run Office 2007 on PC and the other PC is running Office 2004, it's not going to work on the other PC anyways tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 21 2008, 10:25 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@almattitude_v1,
Unless Ur gonna be doing video rendering, I doubt U'll need a MBP biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 24 2008, 02:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@swinghi,
Can't help with Q1 but U could try restarting the Mac for Q2. I did and it worked biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 24 2008, 10:32 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Daniel_Chin,
It's quite normal - do U know what the average temperature is. I find the MBP running much hotter with Leopard as compared to Tiger.

Have U installed the fan control software? Perhaps that can help reduce temperature a little bit.
tinkerbel
post Jul 25 2008, 09:43 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Daniel_Chin,
Boil cannot lah. Fry maybe tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Aug 2 2008, 06:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@vandetta,
How old is the MB? - Has it surpassed the 3-year period or did U not get ACPP for it?

If it's indeed the logic board, I think U'll find a good excuse to get a brand new laptop smile.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0465sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:22 PM