TristanX
post May 15 2022, 10:21 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 15 2022, 09:33 PM)
Possible I put too many thermal paste as not sure can use pea size since it's not square.
Your power only goes to 211w? You already limit it? Review that I read it can go till 240w
I used spread method. CPU IHS is bigger.

No, I did not limit it. Got OCTVB too.
TristanX
post May 15 2022, 10:52 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 15 2022, 10:36 PM)
12700k supposed 190w only, but on the default setting it goes till 220w sweat.gif
Power limit is removed by default. You have to put it back there. My CPU can hit 90ish celcius on R23.
TristanX
post May 29 2022, 10:15 AM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

Thermalright Bending Corrector Frame now available.
https://shopee.com.my/search?keyword=thermalright%20bcf
TristanX
post Sep 25 2022, 11:17 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Sep 25 2022, 10:45 PM)
Hi Sifus,
I'm in a bit of dilemma on which B660m mobo to go for, either:
MSI Pro B660m-A
or
Asrock B660m PG Riptide

I'm not into the overclocking, but I would like the VRMs to have enough headroom to run a 12700F maxed w/o power limits. Both these boards seems to be the most affordable which will do that, the Riptide being RM 50 cheaper, however it uses Sinopower Mosfets vs the MSI Pro using doubled AON fets.

My key concern is, which mobo will have better longevity running that much power over 5-7 years. I'm tempted towards the Riptide as it has better features (USB-C), better looks (built in IO plate), more fan headers, I would like to run with 4 RAMs eventually and one reviewer had managed to run 4x Teamgroup Deltas with XMP@3600MT stable.

But OTOH the MSI has many positives from Western based reviewers, the Riptide did not have so much being an Asian limited mobo. Going thru the MSI forums, it would seem many users are facing issues of running even 2x RAMs with XMP@3600MT, tho mostly is due to CPU VCCSA.

So dear sifus, I hope for some advice which should I go for and why you'd prefer one over the other.
Another question I have, going for longevity should I keep the stock ILM, as in will the bend be a problem to the CPU long term, or should I use Thermalright corrector plate (or the washer mod)?
Between that two, MSI. You want more features, you gotta pay for it.
TristanX
post Sep 25 2022, 11:55 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Sep 25 2022, 11:47 PM)
How do I check if my system has this ReBAR support? For reference, I'm using Huananzhi Z97-HD3 and i5-4460.

I would like to know if Intel ARC GPU is an option for me or not.
Check your motherboard BIOS update. Z97 definitely does not support.
TristanX
post Sep 28 2022, 01:00 AM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

Intel Raptor Lake launched. Available October 20.
https://www.techpowerup.com/299288/intel-13...st-41-mt-uplift
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-lau...0-for-dollar589
TristanX
post Sep 28 2022, 10:32 AM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Sep 28 2022, 09:23 AM)
That was fast. Just after Ryzen review come out. 13900k also cheaper by 100 dollar against 7950x
This time looks like Intel fighting back to get PC build market share.
Yup. I'm worried about the temps. Looking for new casing and 420mm AIO.
TristanX
post Oct 3 2022, 09:30 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Oct 3 2022, 09:18 PM)
Dear Gurus,

I plan to have up to 3 office PC on budget. One for i7 to double as server work station, 2 for i5 typical desktop work. None for super graphic work. Server needs basic 250SSD GB with 1TB enterprise grade data HD. The other two just usual 250SSD will do.

Questions: IF budget is an issue, obviously asking someone to custom make all three PC will be an option. I am based in PJ, is there any custom makers you all can recommend for the job.

Thank you all for my noop questions. Any help will be appreciated.
New Intel Raptor Lake is coming. Wait 2-3 weeks and see what happens.
TristanX
post Oct 5 2022, 10:04 AM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Oct 4 2022, 09:09 AM)
Any recommended good builder ?
Many people who DIY capable of building it. It is the matter of time.
TristanX
post Oct 7 2022, 12:19 AM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 6 2022, 08:40 PM)
the later have 2 decades of experience in GPU.
Intel failed twice, the I704, larrabee, then now "Xe", welp, a lot of things they just need to catch up, probably another decade, time will tell.
Intel not interested on performance crown for 1st gen. Next gen, maybe...
TristanX
post Oct 18 2022, 10:30 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Oct 18 2022, 09:56 PM)
wait, it isnt?  sweat.gif
so those tuf and rog are just gimmick? lol

for me, right now the only mobo i will buy is b550m mortar max, or just MSI generally.
Then Asus, Asrock respectively, and gigabyte is last resort lol
Asus got brand tax for us.

I ended up with Asus Prime Z690M-Plus D4 (USD189.99) from USA because they didn't bring it here.. And look, they decided to bring Z790M-Plus D4 at RM1119. Cool, with Asus tax again.

189.99 United States Dollar equals 896.18 Malaysian Ringgit

This post has been edited by TristanX: Oct 18 2022, 10:35 PM
TristanX
post Oct 19 2022, 10:09 AM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2022, 09:02 AM)
From Amazon? Got kena tax?
Yeah. SST. Still cheaper.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 19 2022, 09:38 AM)
rma myr 100

second hand value myr -200

also i suggest get tuf or strix D4 for ram/cpu
I already got Strix D4. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Z690M-Plus for more budget CPUs.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Oct 19 2022, 10:11 AM
TristanX
post Oct 19 2022, 12:49 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 19 2022, 12:00 PM)
z790 big diff btw with z690 on cpu voltage controls

atm i am on my tiga belas 5.5 llc 3 vmin 1.128v die sense ac/dc 0.24/1.1 

theres better cache voltage controls , cache vid etc.
even octvb took an upgrade

sorry not enough time posting here . ocn a handful

rtx 4090 fiasco strix will test tommorow
Oh cool.

QUOTE(llk @ Oct 19 2022, 12:11 PM)
Bro can advise where can get the Asus Z790 Hero? Bought the 13900K but no board. Most of the shops told only available from Nov.
It is available already.
https://shopee.com.my/search?keyword=z790
TristanX
post Oct 19 2022, 01:01 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Oct 19 2022, 12:57 PM)
Yeah but eta in Nov. My cpu on the way reached me today.
PM dotatech. They can do lalamove too. PMed you the details.
TristanX
post Oct 19 2022, 07:16 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Oct 19 2022, 05:05 PM)
How is dotatech? I plan buy 3070 from them.
Never had issues. Did not RMA anything with them yet though. I usually go directly to the distributor for RMA these days.
TristanX
post Oct 19 2022, 07:54 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Oct 19 2022, 07:36 PM)
Oh. But I plan to buy Manli. Seems like there's no local distributor. Dotatech probably parallel import it?
Looks for the sticker on the box. Or you could just ask them.
TristanX
post Oct 20 2022, 09:43 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Oct 20 2022, 10:35 AM)
Considering to jump back intel 13th. currently using 5900x.

can suggest which Rog board get the best value and ram to buy pls ?

gpu juz bought 4090 msi trio X
Z790-A D4 if you wanna keep using your RAM.

QUOTE(llk @ Oct 20 2022, 09:36 PM)
After so many years with Ryzen...

Be prepared for insane cooling. This CPU runs very hot. You should be getting good idle temps and wattage too.
TristanX
post Oct 21 2022, 07:38 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Oct 21 2022, 07:20 PM)
Ddr5 is quite cheap. RM665. I think just direct go to ddr5 if buy now
CORSAIR Vengeance DDR5 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 4800MHz C40 1.1V (Optimized for Intel DDR5 Motherboards, Onboard Voltage Regulation, XMP 3.0 Profiles, Aluminum Heatspreader) Black (CMK32GX5M2A4800C40) https://amzn.asia/d/cvK1nvu
Cheap DDR5. It will perform slower than DDR4-3600 CL16. Latency is high for cheap DDR5.

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/ddr5-mem...rmance-scaling/
TristanX
post Oct 24 2022, 11:39 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

For those who doesn't know. Thunderbolt 4 is USB4 compatible if your board has it..
TristanX
post Nov 12 2022, 12:02 PM

Where is my stars?
24,350 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 12 2022, 11:49 AM)
G.SKILL - F5-7600J3646G16GX2-TZ5RK
Asus Z790 Apex - Bios 0801

8200C34@1.53
8200C32@1.65

HCI proper 1000%

Settings for 8000C32/8200C34/8200C32

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RqSVZyLuOk...?usp=share_link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/14G2ZRjfLvM...?usp=share_link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ST3PMqsH8X...?usp=share_link

*Caution i am using my own LLC AC/DC setting and my daily which is disable usb sound/wifi/ptt/secure boot key/vtd/vmd etc.

Gogogo DDR5-10000. Can get that at CL48-CL50?

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0979sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:27 PM