intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

targon
post Dec 20 2021, 11:23 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Dec 20 2021, 11:15 AM)
Well, my case is lesson learnt from not researching for the kits i wanted. In the end, having own more than 4 kits but none are samsung  (selected through reddit bdie checker). In the end still have to spend on c14 to get it.

I have sources for adata lancers DDR5 but it's a small chance hynix but big chance micron. So of course not gonna risk it else get a micron trash, making the entire build pointless laugh.gif
Lancers mostly micron. The 6000 furies beast maybe....
targon
post Dec 20 2021, 11:40 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 20 2021, 11:25 AM)
No 32GB X2 DDR5-6400 CL28 at stock XMP!
ETA probably in 1-2 years. They need time to grow up and mature.
In the meantime, let's play with what we have.
targon
post Dec 22 2021, 01:08 PM

291 posts

Hot from the oven:

https://www.adata.com/en/xpg/computer-memory-CASTER-RGB-DDR5

Hynix in it ?
targon
post Dec 22 2021, 02:40 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 22 2021, 02:20 PM)
DDR5 shortage continues...
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/micron-co...onent-shortages

Other parts also affected.
Users in MY blessed , there's no shortage atm locally
targon
post Dec 25 2021, 05:35 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 25 2021, 04:03 PM)
32GB DDR4-3600 16-16-16-32 1.35v test

3DMark Time Spy
Ryzen 9 5900X - 18597
Core i9-12900K - 19477

Shadow of the Tomb Raider 2560x1440 Highest - Min / Average FPS / Frames Rendered
Ryzen 9 5900X - 135 / 203 / 25911
Core i9-12900K - 137 / 210 / 25193

Forza Horizon 4 2560x1440 Ultra - CPU Render Min / Average FPS
Ryzen 9 5900X - 227 / 186
Core i9-12900K - 251 / 206

Monster Hunter Online Benchmark 2560x1440 MSAA 4X
Ryzen 9 5900X - 32101
Core i9-12900K - 35302

FF14 Endwalker 2560x1440 Maximum
Ryzen 9 5900X - 25493
Core i9-12900K - 28675

As expected, Intel handles idle better. Even with handicap from RGB devices.

5 apps (Winamp, Whatsapp, Battle.net, Steam, Microsoft Edge with 5 tabs) Idle power test
Ryzen 9 5900X without RGB stuffs connected - 120-150W
Core i9-12900K with RGB stuffs connected and powered off - 70-110W

DDR4-4000 16-16-16-32 got even more performance.

FF14 Endwalker benchmark is extremely sensitive to RAM speed. DDR5 might give more.
Best part is gaming temps , bro. It hardly sweats during gaming.
targon
post Dec 29 2021, 03:39 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 29 2021, 12:35 PM)
weird. all the boards i checked my/sg total arnd 6 hero all are ok.

guess US baskets got screwed with bad batch. who cares about those baskets getting stuff cheaper all da time.
Yeah! Serves them rite. some ah mohs take it for granted, cost of electronics in their homeland. some bought several CPUs hoping to strike the silicon lottery. It's nothing to them cos there in USD and they earn in dollars.
targon
post Dec 31 2021, 04:12 PM

291 posts

Latest review on Giga's Master. Jump right to the conclusion.

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/gigabyte...-master/16.html

No matter how beefy it is, its BIOS held it back. That Shld be familiar now with most of giga's boards rite ?
targon
post Jan 4 2022, 06:21 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 4 2022, 01:03 AM)
New price/performance champ. Core i5-12400.
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-core-i5-12400-review

Now where is B660/H670? You can pretend H610 doesn't exist.
Shld be crazily efficient as well.
There's no need to even think of ryzens ......for desktop.
targon
post Jan 5 2022, 01:15 AM

291 posts

AMD is busy with its PR on the Rembrant mobile , comes with big number claims. The more the BS , the harder to believe all those claims.

On the desktop, there's only one lone ranger 5800X3D. Ryzen fans going to be disappointed..
targon
post Jan 5 2022, 10:50 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 5 2022, 01:39 AM)
My suspicions pretty much confirmed. They even dropped the clockspeed from the stock 5800x laugh.gif likely running too hot. And to put it on 2CCDs is a brand suicide.... so it ended with 5800x3D only
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 5 2022, 08:16 AM)
Core i7-12700 review. "RM1" box cooler?

https://www.techspot.com/review/2391-intel-core-i7-12700/
New Mobile parts this year is not cheap. So those hoping for new lappies with dazzling hardware going to be disappointed. Those with Ddr5 likely add to the cost.

This post has been edited by targon: Jan 5 2022, 11:03 AM
targon
post Jan 7 2022, 10:02 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Jan 7 2022, 02:38 AM)
Looks like Intel will take the performance crown across the board.

2019-20 with Comet Lake vs Zen 2 - Zen2 wins most benchmarks, Comet Lake wins in gaming.

2022 could very well be 5800X3D as the gaming CPU to get, but for every other price category Alder Lake wins in everything.
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 7 2022, 09:39 AM)
5800x3D pretty much only tied on everything except FFXIV with 12900K. Not sure even on what power mode AMD run the 12900K at laugh.gif and will it even be available for purchase, or will it be like the zen2 XTs
12400 n b660 are already here, bro. Now it's more tempting for u to get to ADL

As for5800x3d, still it's better for ADL, unless one already own an amd board.

targon
post Jan 7 2022, 03:11 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 7 2022, 12:27 PM)
No 32GB module yet. My RAM always double when I jump into new one. 64GB for me on DDR5.
U better wait then for 64 gb, 32 x 2. Cos 4 sticks DDR5 support is still problematic now.

Bonchi is Mr ITX guy. No point in getting him into a bigger case.
The smaller the case, the more "shiok" he gets..... Ha ha ..
targon
post Jan 7 2022, 08:39 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 7 2022, 08:29 PM)
Cuz no more thermostat, it is max chilling power laugh.gif 
For premium all aluminum, Iquinix zx1 for best style. Aklla A4 pro.

Tiny compact 240mm aio will be those I mentioned.
Don't u wish for something like intel beast canyon ? or an updated phantom canyon with ADL inside and ARC alchemist. The latter would be a very interesting product.

This post has been edited by targon: Jan 7 2022, 08:40 PM
targon
post Jan 10 2022, 01:59 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(dexth @ Jan 10 2022, 11:17 AM)
hey guys, i am looking to build SFF/ITX but still with good cooling. Particularly ITX MB and AIO cooler compatibility. thanks!

CPU: i9 12900K
MB: ? ITX, DDR4 version
RAM: ?
GPU: Gigabyte RTX3080 Gaming OC
CPU Cooler: ? Prefer AIO
Power Supply: ?
Casing: Jonsplus i100 Pro
Alternative tweak to ur choice.
Strix B660 ITX or even better Strix B660 G mAtx
DDR 5 of ur choice . Seems certain A brand having sale right now. Look for it.....
Bios way better than Aorus ,
Choices mitigated for DDR5 cost
And... U can reuse ur older aio cooler. Check for compatibility.

This post has been edited by targon: Jan 10 2022, 02:06 PM
targon
post Jan 11 2022, 10:18 AM

291 posts

Unrelated but crucial news since some or most of us shop there. Even the hardware section are riddled with suspicious sales. Perhaps it's time for e-commerce platforms do something to protect the buyers instead of buyers beware attitude. I bet some idiots will fall for the below.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...-rewards-scams/
targon
post Jan 25 2022, 10:42 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 25 2022, 07:34 PM)
That one came bundled with gulftown. Pretty compact cooler with blue led fan.
targon
post Jan 26 2022, 05:38 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 26 2022, 05:15 PM)
Deswai confusing and alot of contradictions now haha whether that governor is still active or not because according to spec it should not be possible even with high end boards. It's confirmed on those 2 B660 boards because those are the only 2 b660 board he has. Techpower up also macam did not mention whether their z690A ddr4 can work or not as well.

Unfortunately, really have to wait for the GN and HWU jokers to test because they got more board endorsements. *Inb4 they dunno how to manually tune memory without xmp and cannot boot so conclude it doesnt work.
gaming g is a decent mAtx board with ddr5 support and it doesn't cost a bomb either. And u do get this ahemm.....unofficial oc thingy
targon
post Feb 15 2022, 11:45 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 15 2022, 08:06 PM)
Buying the unify itx the moment i can find a hynix kit haha. Been messaging all the sellers with no luck on finding fury beast with ETMH sku... all in the market somehow are samsungs
Unify itx already in the market.
targon
post Feb 17 2022, 01:15 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 17 2022, 12:23 AM)
Itx never meant to be a budget build. Even z490 z590 board prices are high. Even B550 too which is supposed to be cheap but top up abit can go for z590.... x570 ITX is another level.

Want budget got for m-atx
U gonna like this:

https://www.techpowerup.com/291988/phanteks...-power-supplies

targon
post Mar 3 2022, 11:02 PM

291 posts

Asrock failed......

https://www.techspot.com/review/2424-asrock...therboard-fail/

anyone still remember Soyo ? at least they can come out better board than asrock

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0893sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:04 PM