Samsung Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G - V2, 1 month anniversary

bennedict82
post Feb 20 2021, 10:06 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Feb 20 2021, 09:59 AM)
S21 Ultra users on reddit said improved battery life with latest software update.

https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyS21/comments...s_since_launch/
My first attempt to do full charge after updated. Will see in next 24 hours usage.

Today playing game ... The battery shoot up to 45deg celcius... is that consider OK?
bennedict82
post Feb 20 2021, 10:01 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Feb 20 2021, 06:51 PM)
Just bought the galaxy s21 phantom black. Warranty is 12 months or 24 months ya?

1) Any free gift can redeem from samsung website?
2) Any good screen protector that can be used with casing?
If you bought from SES (walk-in), then should be 24 months warranty + 1 yr accidental screen crack warranty.

1) Yes, go to app: samsung member .. try new year tng e-wallet. I think all buyer got ang pau.
2) Use original screen protector better.

QUOTE(Lupine101 @ Feb 20 2021, 08:38 PM)
The original sp had to be taken out..got minor scratches already at first day use after putting the phone inside my sling bag. Probably the coins or keys inside scratched it ...

Now just using some cheap protective sp while waiting x one sp i ordered to arrive. Hope it would fit with my current silicone case...
Sorry to hear that. Yea... I heard X.one Stealth 3 .. Hydrogel not bad... You buy hydrogel .. right? Good to buy the one wrap to edge then compatible with all case. I bought Rockspace for Note20u last time... without wrap to edge.... susah... case will lift the edge of SP.

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Feb 20 2021, 09:42 PM)
How's your FP sensor after installing the glass? biggrin.gif yeah damn nerve wrecking when wanna install these TG sweat.gif
I remember I installed once for my note9.. using UV Tempered glass few yrs ago. I almost kena heart attack.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif sweat.gif
bennedict82
post Feb 21 2021, 08:49 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(spaceman @ Feb 21 2021, 12:00 AM)
My spigen hybrid s case just arrived, surprisingly good protection (with all the sufficient but not so bulky bumps around all 4 sides of the phone) and the stand is very solid. Highly recommended!
I am spigen fan too. But recently I found rinke fusion matte is really cool and more sleek if compared with spigen hybrid. Furthermore, it has matte surface that will not catch any finger dirty marks... so I go for it. Spigen protection and quality better. Ringke fusion just good enough and expose the beauty of Phantom silver.
bennedict82
post Feb 22 2021, 09:18 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Feb 22 2021, 04:03 AM)
Yeah me too, S21 here.. I'm coming from ips screen. Maybe AMOLEd is just like this
OK. Thanks for confirmation. At least I know it is not the defect of my screen.
bennedict82
post Feb 22 2021, 02:04 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(soundguy @ Feb 22 2021, 01:36 PM)
Like you, pulled the trigger from P20pro. Some observations...(since saturday)

1. Size (naked) abt same as P20pro. a bit heavy. but build quality feels nice.
2. default apps i also think P20pro better. Samsung more options to choose tho.
3. battery life kinda sucks...i dun watch video or games...juz surfing and light stuff (no calls) also will drop to 40% by nightfall.
4. Heat is a factor.
5. Still, it is a good phone considering Huawei out of the picture.
i actually like the LED lighting sides...until i upgraded the software and it disappeared! i spent a looooooong time searching for it....then search this forum found out abt AODNotify. does the job but 3rd party. spent RM19.90 to buy coffee for developer..lol

Cheers!
Samsung is lucky enough that US banned Huawei and could not use google stuff. Else the number 1 now is Huawei but not Samsung.
bennedict82
post Feb 22 2021, 05:26 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(dh13 @ Feb 22 2021, 05:13 PM)
Submitted on 1st Day of CNY and i won RM388..  Thanks Samsung...

Wow... That's great. Any tips to win rm388? You provide very good answer for its question?
bennedict82
post Feb 22 2021, 10:43 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 22 2021, 09:56 PM)
Is it weird if I bought the casing and tempered glass before buying the phone? (I have my TMax and Charger on the way too)  sweat.gif
Going to get the phone later online..  biggrin.gif
But not sure if the spigen camera protector can fit the Ringke case..
This is right way to go. Dont be like me. I bought phone first, then order phone case from shopee. Mana tau J&T mogok and my phone case delayed 1 week to arrive. My phone keep untouched for a week time.

Because I bought from SES, I should buy samsung phone case with 25% discount PWP, but I didnt. So regret.
bennedict82
post Feb 23 2021, 05:09 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(katrina8080 @ Feb 23 2021, 03:35 PM)
Government U-turn and plan to roll out commercial 5G from Q4 2021.
Maybe next year can have 5G for S21.
but surely only for limited area.

Previously there are some ppl asking why buy 5g phone as 5g is already delay in MY.

https://www.soyacincau.com/2021/02/22/5g-ma...ovt-spv-entity/
Because our rakyat like 1Mbps speed only.
bennedict82
post Feb 24 2021, 06:05 PM

2,122 posts

Install soft Fibre glass on my s21u to protect camera module.

Before installed, protected by aluminum plate.

After installed

bennedict82
post Feb 24 2021, 07:35 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 24 2021, 06:37 PM)
Did u insert those glasses into the holes 1 by 1?  blink.gif
No. Actually is just 1 piece to cover everything. Photo quality dropped a little bit. But when turn on the flash light, you will see like fog on entire photo.

No choice, I have to protect the camera module and sacrifice the photo quality little bit. The flash light i rarely use so I dont care.
Previously I used the aluminium plate which having hole doesnt cover the camera lens. But the problem is, it doesnt compatible with ringke fusion matte.

This time the s21u very hard to find good case + lens protector. Got compatible problem.

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Feb 24 2021, 07:36 PM
bennedict82
post Feb 24 2021, 09:13 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 24 2021, 08:45 PM)
Okay, thanks guys! I can now make a dispute for refund.. laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Thanks for sharing. This thing better buy from Official Online Store (Lazmall or Shopee Mall) or walk in to Samsung Store.
bennedict82
post Feb 24 2021, 09:16 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Feb 24 2021, 08:07 PM)
I see... so far I know Dome is compatible with Ringke. Im also worried my Spigen cant fit with my Ringke.  sweat.gif
Make sure you find the thin TG for lens protector. For example 0.15mm or 0.2mm. But I really dont believe 100% on what has been advertised.

I choose Soft fibre grass... i know the quality not so good. But I know soft thing will not be thick... maybe 0.10mm-0.15mm.

I will try to search for better thin TG for lens ...
bennedict82
post Feb 28 2021, 04:30 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Feb 28 2021, 04:25 PM)
Don't really know the details of it actually. Seems like it was a promo the SES is doing to encourage people to buy from their store.
Yeap claimed from original Samsung SC. Have to get the claim approved first, which was done by the SES guy who helped me with my phone when I picked it up then proceeded to do the repair at the SC. I think Samsung's own screen crack warranty around rm100+/- too might be less hassle since no need to go through 3rd party approval.
On ringke onyx casing. No sp. Casing saved the back glass I guess.
Probably a tempered glass would have saved the screen but can't stand using tempered glass too much hassle with the glue etc and the off chance that the FP sensor might not work properly. Will just have to be more careful now! No more warranty. Can't imagine the cost to replace the screen without it. sweat.gif
Thanks for sharing. Sometimes, even with tempered glass, it wouldnt save you. I got my LG phone with tempered glass installed. Kids drop it from sofa to floor ... 2 feets... TG safe, but screen cracked. I was shock.

And Samsung screen still cheaper. Iphone X Max ... .. replacement cost rm1800 for screen. Have to bury it and not worth to replace it rclxub.gif
bennedict82
post Mar 1 2021, 09:57 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(spaceman @ Feb 28 2021, 06:11 PM)
Don't know why I experience abit voice distortion from some videos on Youtube (Dolby atmos auto) when playing at high volume. Anyone else has that?
Yeah .. Could be. Maybe speaker not capable for max. Try not to max the volume. 90% maximum. I believe all phone will have same problem. Better use headset.
bennedict82
post Mar 2 2021, 08:25 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Mar 2 2021, 07:07 AM)
Thanks, the macro mode is auto, and do you know how close we can take the photo?
I did not on the vibrate mode but I always feel something is vibrate sometimes

Thank you very much for your answer.
You see the red dot at your rear camera. That is not infrared red. That is laser focus.

You hear and feel something moving.. that is your camera lens OIS ... move around... That is normal.
bennedict82
post Mar 2 2021, 11:37 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Mar 2 2021, 09:10 AM)
thank you very much for the explanation

btw last time i heard samsung galaxy S21 user can claim youtube premium for one year, anyone hear about the same thing also?
4 months... Go to youtube ... setting - > Get Youtube Premium ... it shows 4 months ... for Samsung user only... Will expired one if no claim.. so becareful.
bennedict82
post Mar 2 2021, 05:54 PM

2,122 posts

My spigen thin fit arrived. Good feel.

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Mar 2 2021, 05:55 PM
bennedict82
post Mar 3 2021, 03:18 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 3 2021, 11:35 AM)
pros and cons bah laugh.gif
but since buying from shopee, is directly deal with Samsung HQ
which should be 100% in seal
If they open for registration not in front of you, i feel not comfortable. You donno what they did to your expensive phone.

Some online didnt open your box ... but some did.

when I bought from SenQ. Then dont open your box ... You can take home and open.

For SES, they must open for warranty registration.
bennedict82
post Mar 3 2021, 03:30 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Mar 3 2021, 11:36 AM)
PROTIP

How to use 120Hz + Power Saving
Mode (PSM) together

1. Turn off PSM
2. Switch to 60Hz
3. Select 120Hz in same page but
don't click Apply yet.
4. Press home button in navigation
bar
5. Turn on PSM
6. Go back to the 120Hz page via
recents
7. Click Apply
8. Voila!
It works for me! Thank you very much. Did that for long time ago thru Bixby n20u ... but after upgraded to OneUI 3.0, Bixby method no longer works. I keep this as important note. Thanks ya!
bennedict82
post Mar 3 2021, 03:47 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(ChaChaZero @ Mar 3 2021, 03:40 PM)
Don't think so. I tried adaptive with and without power saver, the SOT I get is almost identical.

But if you turn on power saver without the adaptive refresh rate then yeah it does save a bit of battery. I get about an additional hour of SOT.

Edit: I should add since I don't play games, I don't think I'm pushing the CPU/GPU to the limit so the most power drain I am getting is from the screen itself. Thats probably why I don't notice any difference.
Yea.... Question ... How to test if "Power Saver Mode" really cut off the CPU hit max?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1154sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:41 PM