Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

hafizmamak85
post Jun 4 2024, 02:59 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(newtunes @ May 28 2024, 05:22 PM)
There is no "cheaper" insurance.
ILP vs standalone, the premium gap generally bigger, the merely extra 300 is not enough for long term sustainability and having smoothen effect in the future.

ILP has been drafted as the total projected money needed for the entire period let say 25 years.
If ILP need 3000 pa, for 25 years, means standalone may also need that amount for 25 years period.
Let say standalone is 1200 vs ILP 3000, 1800 saved, the 1800 is for you to put into investment, make the 1800 money grow money.
It is not something should be spent if one intends for have long term sustainability medical insurance in mind.

The advantage with standalone is that you have flexibility cashflow in the early year.
It is never about cheaper or can save money with standalone or ILP can have lower medical cost when aging, all are irrelevant.
You are focusing wrong on medical insurance (by persistent want to know which is "cheaper") by comparing ILP vs standalone.

ILP and standalone just a different package, it doesn't differ much the cost of medical insurance one needs to pay over the long term.
Dear lord,

This is a PSA. I hope it doesn't get taken down. While ILP and standalone products are packaged differently, they can and should, in fact, I dare say must, be compared. For example, one should always compare the long term cost of insurance (COI) charges for each separate coverage type, including death with their standalone counterparts. I don't know if insurance companies still publish within the contract all the COI charges up until termination, but it must be disclosed and consumers should do a line by line, year by year (age) comparison with the prices of standalone products. There will be differences in how the COI charges are padded (profit margin) between standalone and IL riders.

Now, the bigger issue with ILP is the fact that products are priced on a discounted basis. What I mean by that is that the products are priced to be sustainable, as in sufficient to meet all future outflows (including COI charges), based on a certain rate of investment return. What is this exact investment rate of return? No one knows because it is not required to be disclosed when it should be. There are two tests, that your sales illustration generator has to go through before it can say whether a certain premium amount is good to go for a policy sales illustration issuance. One is the SAM factor rule (check the IL policy document if you want to know more) and the other is the sustainability check rule. Now, bear in mind, the sales illustration generator, as far as I know from before, is not designed to churn out the minimum premium amount given requested policy coverage amounts & types. What anyone can do to work this out is to just keep lowballing the premium for fixed coverage types and amounts till you find the lowest premium amount that would pass both tests. Anyways, the bigger issue that consumers need to answer is whether they have enough confidence and understanding of meeting the required minimum rate of investment return that ensures that the policy is sustainable.

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 4 2024, 03:01 PM
hafizmamak85
post Jun 4 2024, 03:19 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 4 2024, 03:16 PM)
It's illustrated between X (2%) and Y (5%) return as required by BNM on all insurance operators within the sales illustration.
That is not the minimum rate of return required for the life policy to be sustainable. In fact, BNM ILP Policy Document makes clear that the illustration should not form any policyholder reasonable expectation as to the ILP fund returns. Illustrations at 2% and 5% may even yield NAVs nearing zero before the termination
hafizmamak85
post Jun 4 2024, 03:21 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 4 2024, 03:07 PM)
ILP = McDonald Fish Burger Set Meal + Coke + Fries

Term = Fish Burger.

Don't need to complicate stuff.
This is really an oversimplification and doesn't inform consumers properly
hafizmamak85
post Jun 4 2024, 03:27 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 4 2024, 03:22 PM)
ohmy.gif you got a better plan layout than BNM? Then perhaps you should share it in here and we can have a look into it smile.gif
I used to work in BNM, is why I am familiar, to a certain extent, about this subject matter. A better plan layout to spur competition for the industry is to phase out ILP and develop the yearly renewable term market. Disclose claim/profit ratios, and standardise/simplify YRT contract terms. The most competitive market out there is employee benefit. We need the competition we see in EB in the consumer space

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 4 2024, 03:28 PM
hafizmamak85
post Jun 4 2024, 03:38 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 4 2024, 03:12 PM)
Does the policy holders knows what investment rates of return required to sustain the policy till the end of the coverage?
Even if the policy owners knew, do they have any legal recourse if and when their investment returns does not meet that projected rate of returns required to sustain the policy?

Thus I think the current allowed practice by BNM is to frequently permits increase of the premium to make the policy sustainable.
No the consumer does not know.

What BNM is doing is not fair (regular repricings) and contractually ill informed. Let me make it very clear to everyone reading, when a consumer purchases a consumer insurance contract, in this case, IL, from an insurance company for a given due consideration, i.e. given premium amount, there are certain built in contractual expectations that cannot be negated by the insurer. One is that the premium would be reasonably sufficient to sustain the policy till the end of the contract term. Two, that this premium amount is sufficient to meet the insurer's required rate of return and not more. In my view, increasing premiums due to medical inflation and other reasons is against the contractual bargain

Unfortunately, the only legal recourse for policyholders is if they bandy together and start a class action

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 4 2024, 03:24 PM)
Does bnm required sustainability period (how long) be stated with that 2% & 5% returns?

I wonder does it takes into consideration of medical inflation cost too as many had posted in other threads that premium hikes are frequent occurence
There used to be a requirement in the old MHI guidelines that required medical inflation to be accounted for in the medical pricing.

No, BNM does not require sustainability period to be stated. You have to deduce that yourself by seeing when the cash value drops near to zero or even negative in the sales illustration.

QUOTE(hafizmamak85 @ Jun 4 2024, 03:41 PM)
There used to be a requirement in the old MHI guidelines that required medical inflation to be accounted for in the medical pricing.

No, BNM does not require sustainability period to be stated. You have to deduce that yourself by seeing when the cash value drops near to zero or even negative in the sales illustration.
But again, that is just the amount based on sales illustration. What consumers need is the minimum rate of investment return required for the policy to be sustainable. So first step, figure out the lowest premium possible given coverage types and amounts. Second, query on the minimum rate of investment return that would make this policy sustainable given premium amount. Remember, this minimum rate of investment return is different from company's best estimate of investment returns
hafizmamak85
post Jun 6 2024, 03:26 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jun 5 2024, 01:05 PM)
"Familiar, but only to a certain extent" about a subject matter... So are you actually familiar with it?
Yet used to work in BNM ... as what exactly?
Which part of YRT terms are still too complicated or not standardized enough? What is there left to be "standardized"?
By competition, do you mean price point?

What's the logic to phase out ILP?
The portfolio dying meh? Or not profitable enough?

Every insurer in the world are being audited every single year bro.
And part of the audit process is to disclose all their books, all their assets, everything.
And BNM regulates every insurance company in Malaysia. Since you "used to work in BNM", are you saying you actually have reason to be concerned?
If yes, tell us exactly why. This I think is your duty to the Malaysian people as a patriot.

Which part of the books can be hidden or left out of the audit process? <<< This one I actually want to know, in my personal capacity.

EB is cheap, but the contract 1 year only mah. Most people will probably live for another year.
Your individual Life contract is to ages 60  - 100 leh. Can't say the same about most people right?
You read some brochures and see the difference in premiums, and decided EB is more competitive ka?
If I am wrong, pray tell, what was your thought process that led to you conclude "We need the competition we see in EB in the consumer space".
I'll start with your EB question. The measure I use to gauge competitiveness: EB vs IL cost of insurance claims ratios, and on a bouquet basis (HSI, CI, Death/ADB, PA, others) - all ages, all coverage amounts & types, the margin is much lower for EB. E.g. It might be 75%/ 80% for EB whereas it might be half (50%) for IL. And on top of the profit margin padding in IL COI, you have unallocated premium charges, yearly policy fees, fund management charges to consider when purchasing IL. This is not uncommon knowledge. Its natural as EB is negotiated by brokers who can hawk the clients' historical experience to the highest bidder (cheapest price).

As for why phase IL out, you asked so I'm going to answer and I hope this post doesn't get taken down. Putting aside the high charges issue, IL's main issue in my opinion is the expectation it has placed on consumers (IL policyholders) to achieve a certain rate of investment return to ensure the policy is sustainable till end of term and that meets the other reasonable expectations of policyholders (e.g. savings element after meeting all ouflow charges till end of policy term). The issue is that this expectation has never been clearly communicated to policyholders. Customers do not know the minimum rate of yearly investment return needed to achieve the above objectives and the insurer's reasonable expectations of the IL policy's yearly investment return rate. The other main issue is that IL is usually sold by agents with the default setting of equity funds. Which in zaman dahulu kala, circa 2010, version had embedded 9% yearly return rates in their pricing. This rate has proven to be illusory judging by past KLCI (including dividends) performance and also the IL equity funds performances. If only IL policies were sold assuming 0% yearly investment return rates. This would be better, and fairer, because it gives consumers a clear eyed view of what is expected of him/her.

EY, KPMG and all other auditors do not audit for consumer fairness in every aspect of the insurer's operations in their signing off of financial statements . It is a true and fair view of financial statements audit based on compliance to audit standards and certain BNM regulations and even in that limited scope, I can show you how consumer fairness is not accounted for. Take your IL funds. IL funds are required to be audited on annual basis. Did you know that there are many insurers out there not reserving for 8% investment tax on unrealised gains. Accounting standards don't require this to be done. However, fairness, which is a much broader principle/consideration and for a product which is priced and traded daily, would require that reserves for tax on unrealised gains be set up to treat all customers fairly, across all time lines and not create a musical chairs situation with the last group of policyholders having to saddle this unrealised tax when those assets are liquidated. As for BNM, BNM does not do "audits" per se but does its own checks/reviews and it does not cover every aspect of an insurance company either and BNM has failed in many instances as well. The task of auditing, putting controls and checking controls for effectiveness lies with the respective line departments and their oversight departments such as compliance, risk management, audit.

This is not the only area regarding fairness where financial auditors, BNM have failed. GELM's estate issue is one example. Link below, if you wish to know more.

GELM Estate Issue

As for YRT standardisation, there are plenty of areas. The industry does not have a minimum basic standard contract with same wording, operationalisation and coverage for the main life types (e.g. accident, CI, HSI). Terms like "reasonable and customary charges", "medically necessary", "pre-existing condition" have many operational issues including disclosure/transparency which haven't been sorted out. Every insurer might have similar wordings but is operationalized differently. What is reasonable/customary for one insurer might not be so for others. For CI, come up with a basic product that has been tested with medical professionals, designed to ensure that it truly captures all the truly financially debilitating illnesses and at the various necessary stages. Lot of medical professionals complain that CI covers things that shouldn't be covered as much and other sthat should be covered are not. As for HSI, push for high deductibles. In fact I think should ban no deductible policies and only sell min RM 5k deductible. The main issue for HSI is not inflation but a loss of insurance value proposition. Insurance can only work in low frequency and high severity setups. We have to many low severity, high frequency hospitalisation claims (RM 5k below). I suspect it is contributed mostly by dengue, respiratory illnesses that require hospitalisation for antibiotic shots. For the min 5K deductible policies, make sure there is no yearly, annual and inner limits, and it covers all claims, including pre hospitalisation, post hospitalisation, daycare etc. Right now, there is a lot of cross selling points between CI and HSI. This is cause U can tell consumers HSI doesn't cover expensive medication so have to take CI and there will be additional financial burdens. Find a way, if you decide to sell them together, that ensures that the design is comprehensive enough that consumers really do not have to fear being financially worse off due to disease/hospitalization.

I used to work in the Insurance/Takaful Supervision & Consumer/Market Conduct Department as an insurance analyst/supervisor

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 6 2024, 05:47 PM
hafizmamak85
post Jun 6 2024, 05:41 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(hafizmamak85 @ Jun 6 2024, 03:26 PM)

I used to work in the Insurance/Takaful Supervision & Consumer/Market Conduct Department as an insurance analyst/supervisor
Btw, I haven't even touched on the other big issue. That of insurance companies being shadow bankers (fund managers) and not really insurance providers. Ironically, this was the case until IL got introduced. IL actually increased protection amounts but did it in a way that delivered poor consumer outcomes.

Participating products, the ones that contributed to issues like estate, were actually not for protection but an alternative to bank's FD

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 6 2024, 05:47 PM
hafizmamak85
post Jun 6 2024, 11:21 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jun 6 2024, 10:34 PM)
So, after typing all that, you beh song is because ILP exposes the insured to market risks? 

And the nature of market risks being when interest rates are high, it takes less from the pot; and when interest rates are low, it takes more from the pot... The expectation from the consumer, and in this instance, the insured, is really just to ensure that the box is fed kan?
With this in mind, basically the expectation is for the insured to make hay when the sun shines... is an unfair practice?
The Life really is unfair, NOW that you've said it.  thumbup.gif

It's an insurance policy, provided by an insurance company, for the masses.
I'm glad we agree on at least one thing, which is deductibles being the way forward.
Will we see a comeback for co-insurance (already making its way back), inner limits? I'm guessing yes.
But that's a macro view that you have, which as a consumer, I want to know how an insurance policy can benefit me without compromising for my lifestyle needs.
The insurance companies can crash and burn for all I care, as long as it doesn't affect my budgets as a consumer.

There is a chinese idiom - 道高一尺,魔高一丈 <<< google it if you will.
It basically means whatever you do or whatever preventive measure you put up, there will be a way to use and abuse it.

In short,
medical insurance guarantees the service providers that they will be paid, just render the services to me within the legal framework.
A CI insurance guarantees me the income that I need in order to sustain my living expenditures over some time.

I dunno if it is comprehensive enough for your taste la, but I sell based on calculated needs, or otherwise known as needs-based selling.
Yes, of course there is the risk profile that some may want to bring up with regard to ILP.
Have you had a chat with agents like me? Or any agents from my team?
Maybe you should spend some time with us and hopefully work with us too, either professionally or even as a client pun boleh.

I live in the real world la bro. I'm not John Connor or someone with a messiah complex trying to save the world from whatever it is.

Maybe bring your issue up with your former employer, or your local MP is a more appropriate channel for your cause.
Trying to shore up support here.... I can tell you frankly you're wasting your time bro.
Your macro perspective gna fall on.... just the ground I guess.
What is the purpose of a public forum if it is not to inform each other. I guess that is the duty we owe each other. This is an insurance talk thread and people do come here to be informed and to inform. It is up to the individual as to whether they find value in it or not. There is no one set way of doing things and the ways you've mentioned have been exhausted. Btw, it was you who posed the questions. You wanted to know how audits have failed and I've answered.

Agents are selling products that have been designed with low value in many instances. The number of CI products out there is so huge and they are not designed based on proper needs based studies (do a localised industry wide study for each disease that causes financial burden (what is the money needed for (e.g. to sustain lifestyle/commitments, additional costs including medication not covered by HSI etc), for each critical disease at various stages and what are the risk factors/susceptibility for each disease and publish it. Base your product designs off of that). There is no need for so many varieties of CI and HSI products. Our needs are not that different. Shouting from the rooftop I have 42 or some other X number critical illness number is meaningless. Which is why a lot of medical professionals find CI products really odd. Using the excuse that whatever you do is open to abuse is not a valid excuse to not do the right thing. There are effective ways of mitigating and creating better products.

No, it is not market risk. It is the risk of not having your reasonable expectations met. The handshake between you and the insurer is that the premium that was set at the onset of the policy is sufficient to sustain the policy throughout the term of the policy. If the insurer prices a policy based on 20%-30% investment return rate per annum and subsequently reassesses and imposes a new premium amount because the insurer finds the previous return rate untenable, is that fair? No, it's not fair as you can't willy nilly change an expectation that has been set. The insurer chose that rate or return, so the insurer has to be responsible for it. The insurer can inform you of your new policy sustainability and you can be informed that the policy is delivering poor consumer outcomes if there is upward premium revision. Your budget as a consumer is now affected. Otherwise, if the insurer finds maintaining market risk expectations to hot to handle, then don't set premiums with a positive rate of investment return embedded into it. Price it at 0% investment return. That would be fair and just.

hafizmamak85
post Jun 6 2024, 11:53 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 6 2024, 11:19 PM)
1. Minimum Rate of Return Requirement:
  You claims that Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) does not require a minimum rate of return for Investment-Linked Policies (ILPs). According to BNM's guidelines on ILPs, while insurers must provide illustrations of potential returns at various rates (commonly 2% and 5%), these are not guarantees or minimums but rather hypothetical scenarios to help policyholders understand possible outcomes. The illustrations are meant to demonstrate potential fund performance but do not form a binding expectation.

2. Policy Sustainability and Premium Adjustments:
  The assertion that the sustainability of a policy is not guaranteed at the illustrated rates is accurate. The actual performance of the investments in an ILP can vary significantly, and if the returns are insufficient, the policyholder may need to pay additional premiums to maintain the policy. Furthermore, regular repricing and premium adjustments by insurers due to factors like medical inflation are common and are generally allowed under policy terms to ensure policy sustainability.

3. Disclosure of Claim/Profit Ratios:
  The suggestion to phase out ILPs and instead focus on yearly renewable term (YRT) insurance with more transparency (disclosure of claim/profit ratios) is more a policy opinion than a factual assertion. However, transparency in claim ratios and profitability could indeed foster a more competitive market by enabling consumers to make more informed choices.

4. Comparison of Employee Benefits (EB) and ILP Competitiveness:
  You argue that Employee Benefits (EB) insurance is more competitive than ILPs, citing lower cost of insurance claims ratios. EB plans, often negotiated by brokers for groups, can indeed have lower margins due to scale and collective bargaining power. This comparison, however, needs careful consideration of the differing nature and terms of EB and individual ILP plans.

5. Auditing and Regulatory Oversight:
  You critique the auditing process, stating that while insurers are audited, these audits might not fully address consumer fairness issues. This critique is partially valid; audits focus on financial accuracy and compliance but might not cover all aspects of consumer fairness comprehensively. However, regulatory bodies like BNM do have frameworks to ensure consumer protection, even if gaps exist.
Investment-Linked Policies (ILPs) offer a blend of insurance and investment, attracting policyholders with the potential for higher returns compared to traditional policies. However, the variability in returns introduces significant uncertainty regarding policy sustainability, leading to frequent premium adjustments and consumer dissatisfaction.

The primary issue with ILPs lies in the lack of clear communication regarding the expected rate of return needed to sustain the policy. Insurers typically illustrate potential returns at conservative rates (e.g., 2% and 5%), but these figures are often misunderstood by policyholders as guarantees. This misunderstanding can lead to policyholders facing unexpected premium hikes or the risk of policy lapse when actual returns fall short.

To address this, regulators like BNM should mandate clearer disclosures. Policyholders need transparent information about the minimum rate of investment return required to keep their policies viable and the insurer’s realistic expectations of these returns. Moreover, insurers should be required to offer illustrations assuming 0% yearly returns, giving consumers a worst-case scenario perspective. This approach ensures that policyholders are better prepared for potential financial commitments and are not misled by overly optimistic projections.

Additionally, the suggestion to phase out ILPs in favor of yearly renewable term (YRT) insurance, with standardized terms and transparent disclosure of claim/profit ratios, holds merit. YRT insurance can offer more straightforward coverage without the investment component, reducing complexity and making it easier for consumers to understand their policies. Standardizing terms across the industry would also enhance comparability and foster a competitive market, ultimately benefiting consumers through better pricing and service quality.

Finally, the critique of the auditing and regulatory oversight process highlights an important gap. While financial audits ensure compliance and accuracy, they do not always address consumer fairness comprehensively. Regulatory bodies should enhance their oversight frameworks to include more stringent checks on how consumer fairness is maintained, particularly in the marketing and management of ILPs. Ensuring that insurers reserve for potential future liabilities, such as taxes on unrealized gains, is one example of how consumer interests can be better protected.

In conclusion, enhancing transparency, regulatory oversight, and consumer education regarding ILPs can lead to a more informed and satisfied consumer base. This approach, coupled with exploring alternative insurance models like YRT, can help mitigate the issues currently plaguing the ILP market, ensuring that policyholders receive fair value and protection from their insurance products.
1) Each IL policy is priced on a discounted basis and ensures sustainability. No one is arguing this. What I'm saying that BNM does not require insurers to disclose the minimum investment return rate needed to ensure that the policy is sustainable nor does it require the insurer to disclose the reasonably expected rate of return on the policy, given that the premiums are priced on a discounted basis. Yes, you are right, the 2% and 5% illustrations are just that and BNM does make it clear that it should not form the expectation. But there is an expected rate of return built into the premium.

2) "regular repricing and premium adjustments by insurers due to factors like medical inflation are common and are generally allowed under policy terms" - This is not contractually fair and goes against FTFC requirements. See my answer in 1. You cant change an expectation for a long term contact once it has been set. You may only vary the premium amount under very limited circumstances, e.g. when the company's going concern is under threat. You cant sell a long term product without setting a clear expectation with regards to pricing. It has to be explicit and not open ended such as I can change it anytime etc due to reasons I, the insurer, find reasonable. E.g. prices will be adjusted on a regular basis based on average 3 year past claims ratio plus X % for this COI charge revision - all claims ratio will be audited and published. This should be in the contact if you want open ended long term repricing. But it isn't.
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 10:49 AM

463 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 10 2024, 11:09 PM)
Bro, I am comparing critical illness insurance with payout amount and premium paid. You buy insurance is to protect yourself and assume all money burn. Never expect any money back from insurance. If you use the reason can get money back, well that is one good marketing trick. People like the feeling of paying and getting something back.

Well not me. For me, all insurance is to protect myself and I assume all money burned.

Now, ask your customer you buy insurance is for protection or to get full refund back at maturity.

14k for 500k coverage Vs 7k for 500k coverage (with booster it's > 500k) it's no brainer to pick the one which have higher coverage for lesser premium paid even if money will be burn. At least for me.
I feel hope when I hear agents (assuming Ramjade is an agent) confidently say this: "You buy insurance is to protect yourself and assume all money burn. Never expect any money back from insurance."

This is the way. No such thing as a free lunch

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 11 2024, 11:16 AM
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 11:04 AM

463 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 10 2024, 11:01 PM)
I don't care about cash value in case you don't know. I care more on payout.

Don't try to misled people with payout at maturity. Yes payout 100-150% provided no claim. But if you do calculations the money given back is either zero interest or less than FD interest of 3%. There is a thing call time value of money.

I did the calculations already. It's not worth getting AIA beyond critical care.
Indeed, payouts at maturity can be very misleading. And the fact that this is payout provided no claim is another red herring. More agents need to do this sort of assessment.
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 12:02 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 11 2024, 11:47 AM)
I am not an agent. I got nothing to sell. I am an end user. This is what I learned from the financial bloggers either in Singapore or in the US.
Well, I'm glad that an end user sees and understands this. I'm sorry that there are many agents who don't appreciate your line of thinking. I hope you're not discouraged. You are on the right track.

I guess it will take a while, a lot longer, before agents understand.
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 03:27 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 11 2024, 03:02 PM)
The problem with your recommendation is YOU KEEP REPEATING people to buy from SINGAPORE. DO YOU KNOW HOW NOT REALISTIC this option is for 99.9% of the population???
You also have access to FP in Malaysia. dont put it as if ONLY sg has this choice and Malaysia dont have
you are like my 70 year old mother in law that says, since she ate one mango and it taste bad, she assumes ALL MANGO taste bad in Malaysia. and then ask someone go to SINGAPORE to buy MANGO.

the attachment here is a sample of 500k CI for Male non-smoker at age 30. the CI coverage. the coverage is up to age 70, and does not cover early conditions. but what i'm trying to say is... buying from singapore is really not a practical solution. AND MOST ppl would buy a medical plan with IL, whether Ramjade likes it or not, it's up to ramjade. with that in mind, for most people buying the CI coverage with their IL plan, the additional cost will be lower. I DONT dare to say it will be cheaper than buying from singapore, but it's definitely not as drastic as what ramjade highlighted as well...

and for those of you who wonders, in case thinking i'm agent (which i'm not) and disagreeing with Ramjade... YES, I have spoke to some people expert. the life insurance cost in singapore is "LOWER". because malaysia cost for life insurance is higher BECAUSE really malaysians punya death rate is higher. heard story from my ultra HNW big boss, he bought from Singapore because he say cheaper than Malaysia. but for critical illness, i dont have this information.
"with that in mind, for most people buying the CI coverage with their IL plan, the additional cost will be lower."

Why would this be the case? Could it be because insurers are discounting premium at certain rate of return which may not be reasonable? I can assure you that CI is one of the most profitable riders in the IL space. While Singaporeans do have a longer life expectancy than Malaysians in general, and I, on a high level basis, do think Malaysians suffer from higher morbidity, IL mortality and morbidity (CI) cost of insurance charges are major source of profit for Malaysians insurance companies (less than 40% claims ratio).

hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 03:35 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2024, 03:26 PM)
Bro, I know where you’re coming from and you also know I’m no fan of insurance products (whatever insurance policies I have are legacy items that my mother or father bought for me ages ago which mean little given the context of how I’ve gone on to set up and live my life) …. But, in the interest of fairness, your comparison is flawed, and just because you and I both don’t give a rat’s ass about insurances with ILPs etc doesn’t mean others are wont to do the same.

Just friendly advice so you don’t end up appearing to come on too strongly.

Peace bro
Could you explain why you think the comparison is flawed? Yes, the product features are different, from what I understand, one has a maturity value and the other doesn't, but would that necessarily mean that a comparison can't be done?

Can't one isolate the maturity value component to figure out if the cost of protection between those two products are similar/dissimilar
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 04:02 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2024, 03:39 PM)
The products don’t have the same terms and conditions hence it’s not strictly a one for one comparison.

Yes, you can put caveats into one vs another, but that merely proves the point that the products are not the same.
There never will be two exact same products with the exact coverage stipulations and terms and conditions sold by two different companies. But that doesn't negate the comparability aspect or the need for comparisons to be done. Which is why we have markers such as sum assured, inner limits etc. critical illness definitions to help guide us. Yes, we have to make an educated guess here and it is difficult, but it must be done as marketing departments are savvy to sell us, highlight coverage which may not be so necessary. The CI market is one of the best examples of how marketing departments have managed to sell us things which may not be so necessary. The CI products sold nowadays are so specialised and niche with all the various terminologies and stages that make it difficult for consumers to navigate this space. So a good hospital administrator/doctor in hospital management could help clarify what exactly are the financial difficulties faced in all the critical illness situations and their various stages. And we can then compare these products on a proximate basis.

All of us are not that different in terms of the risks we may face. Yes, lifestyle choices such as smoking/drinking/dietary/exercise habits do play a role but we are usually none the wiser as to how it would impact us on an individual basis. We can't say I'm not a smoker or drinker so I don't think cancer coverage at the various stages is necessary. We all view these risks seriously regardless of how remote we think we are susceptible to it.

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 11 2024, 04:23 PM
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 04:22 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2024, 03:58 PM)
:thumbsup:

Agree wholeheartedly.

Sometimes, the advice given by a certain person is framed and defined by that person”s individual life circumstances and experiences. For example, I invest heavily in bonds and blue chip dividend stocks and am happy with 5%-6% returns, because my total capital is large enough to ensure that I’ll never finish using the % of returns.

Bonds and dividend blue chips are safe bets, but you won’t see me ramming this axiom down everyone’s throat and singing songs of gloom and doom if others take a riskier approach in search of higher returns.

I also have 3 private bankers who do the monitoring and running for me, and while someone who DIYs like Ramjade feels he can easily handle his portfolio and investments himself, I simply prefer to pay my bankers to do it for me, since I can spend that extra time either making more money from my work, or enjoy doing the things I love (I’ve put my name down via both Porsche clubs in Australia and Singapore since I own Porsches in both countries for the Porsche on Ice experience in Finland next year…. And despite that, I’m only on the waiting list sigh) so, different strokes for different folks and what works for one, may not for another.

The world is big enough and varied enough for us to coexist without necessarily having to put the last word in.

Peace.
Wise words. But do we have to view it as putting the last word in or ramming axioms down people's throats? Could it not be seen as adding to the conversation, which hopefully benefits us all? Why must any viewpoint or differing opinion be viewed negatively? With regards to ILP, it is the main product that is sold to the public, but it has generally failed to live up to the reasonable expectations of policyholders. I would argue that it does more harm to not acknowledge the harms it has done to consumers via poor consumer outcomes

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 11 2024, 04:24 PM
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 05:25 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 11 2024, 05:14 PM)
It is the way he put his point. That are not "nice" to hear.
There are plenty of posters within this thread who can be fairly accused of being rude, brusque, inconsiderate, cynical, charlatanesque. I didn't get that from Ramjade. What I did observe is that he ruffled some feathers due to touching on some sacred cow
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 05:33 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(hafizmamak85 @ Jun 11 2024, 05:25 PM)
There are plenty of posters within this thread who can be fairly accused of being rude, brusque, inconsiderate, cynical, charlatanesque. I didn't get that from Ramjade. What I did observe is that he ruffled some feathers due to touching on some sacred cow
Buying insurance is no joke, like buying a car. It is not odd for middle income and above families to be spending between RM 300 - 600 per month for all types of life insurance and it even has a longer commitment(payment) period - decades even. Yet, the level of public discourse we have on this topic is abysmal compared to the level of discourse and analysis we have in the car space. We need to do and be better.
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 09:01 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 11 2024, 08:46 PM)
But if it's life insurance only, which pays upon death only, then there is no need to look into morbidity though. I was focusing my discussion on term life only for simplicity.

As for age factor and say smoker status  usually this would have separate price to reflect the risk. Age 40 will cost more than age 30, smoker cost more than non smoker... etc...

So in the case on honsiong, he ask for the exact same thing from SG and MY, so he can compare directly (it would have been same age, gender). Actually in real life there is more complexity la, the company still need to make money and running cost of the company and etc..

Note: most life insurance in malaysia (and probably singapore too, which i know nothing much about) usually provides death & total and permanent disability. But TPD cost is 10% to 15% of the death cost. Hence i focus my discussion on death.

Hope my explanation is good enough.
For long term life, morbidity will be assessed as part of underwriting. Pricing tables will usually be prepared based on sex (male/female), age and smoker status. Underwriting engine will be further prepped with loading factors. Underwriting may be simplified or dependent on health/lifestyle questionnaire and/or health check- loading factors will be applied directly (e.g. due to alcohol consumption), health condition (e.g. diabetes, blood sugar levels, cholesterol, BP etc.)

This is something I never really understood. Why 10% loading for TPD. No studies, as far as I am aware, to back this up, but seems to be practised widely.
hafizmamak85
post Jun 11 2024, 09:07 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2024, 08:21 PM)
Wouldn’t the actuarists take into account the very factors (age, mortality, morbidity etc)you just mentioned and price the policies accordingly?
Does it look like there is much difference between Singapore and Malaysia's mortality for insured lives? Btw Singapore prepares morbidity tables but not Malaysia

Singapore Insured Lives Mortality

Malaysia Insured Lives Mortality

This post has been edited by hafizmamak85: Jun 11 2024, 09:10 PM

21 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:37 AM