391 Pages « < 261 262 263 264 265 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

ycs
post Apr 19 2024, 04:50 PM

4,235 posts

QUOTE(Xflkekw @ Apr 19 2024, 04:38 PM)
So that means I should have sign up insurance first then only went for eye check up? walao eh.

Because the ophthalmologist say my cataract very minor. can ignore for now no need remove yet since I still very young. So even if I wait until like  40-50 years baru do cataract surgery also cannot claim ah?  bangwall.gif
everyone gets cataracts as you age, just matter of time; sure can claim if covered whistling.gif:
lifebalance
post Apr 19 2024, 04:54 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 19 2024, 04:50 PM)
everyone gets cataracts as you age, just matter of time; sure can claim if coveredĀ  whistling.gif:
Hence the reason to apply for insurance as early as you can than waiting for health problem symptom to appear only think about buying insurance.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 19 2024, 04:55 PM
Xflkekw
post Apr 19 2024, 05:31 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 19 2024, 04:50 PM)
everyone gets cataracts as you age, just matter of time; sure can claim if covered  whistling.gif:
Difference now is I only have cataract in one eye and I am only 25. Doctor say probably due to trauma or accident like kena football smacked or something.

And since I already went for check-up, I scare this means the record will show I have cataract and prevent me from claiming anything cataract related for that eye down the road which seems to be the case. bangwall.gif

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 19 2024, 04:54 PM)
Hence the reason to apply for insurance as early as you can than waiting for health problem symptom to appear only think about buying insurance.
I only started working so now only looking for insurance. But it didn't cross my mind to sign up for insurance first because the eye check up was free subsidized by my company. sad.gif
MUM
post Apr 19 2024, 05:37 PM

14,951 posts

I think Current cost of cataract treatment is abt $7k.

Hopefully it did not turn onto "age related marcular degeneration" issue.
1 injection costed abt $6k+ and need to it every month...
Currently no cure, just do injection to minimise from possible going blind

lifebalance
post Apr 19 2024, 05:47 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Xflkekw @ Apr 19 2024, 05:31 PM)
Difference now is I only have cataract in one eye and I am only 25. Doctor say probably due to trauma or accident like kena football smacked or something.

And since I already went for check-up, I scare this means the record will show I have cataract and prevent me from claiming anything cataract related for that eye down the road which seems to be the case.  bangwall.gif
I only started working so now only looking for insurance. But it didn't cross my mind to sign up for insurance first because the eye check up was free subsidized by my company.  sad.gif
It's good that you got it discovered early. It may help you to reduce your risk by getting preventive measures.

pharaoh5312
post Apr 20 2024, 05:33 PM

hi sifu can I ask a question?

Let's say if someone has done a genetic testing more than 10 years ago and was found to have a genetic mutation in BRCA (the one that increases risk of getting breast cancer in the future).

This said person had bought a medical insurance but did not declare about the BRCA gene.

If at all this person ever gets a breast cancer diagnosis in the future, will this person ever get to claim medical insurance?

Because from what I understand, having a BRCA mutation does not mean it is a 100% thing that the person will get breast cancer, just higher chance than normal people. Also, at the point of buying said medical insurance that person has not ever been diagnosed with breast cancer.

By this logic, it shouldn't be considered as a "pre-existing condition" related to breast matters and should not affect any claims related to breast matters, right?
MUM
post Apr 20 2024, 05:46 PM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(pharaoh5312 @ Apr 20 2024, 05:33 PM)

Let's say if someone has done a genetic testing more than 10 years ago and was found to have a genetic mutation in BRCA (the one that increases risk of getting breast cancer in the future).

This said person had bought a medical insurance but did not declare about the BRCA gene.

If at all this person ever gets a breast cancer diagnosis in the future, will this person ever get to claim medical insurance?

Because from what I understand, having a BRCA mutation does not mean it is a 100% thing that the person will get breast cancer, just higher chance than normal people. Also, at the point of buying said medical insurance that person has not ever been diagnosed with breast cancer.

By this logic, it shouldn't be considered as a "pre-existing condition" related to breast matters and should not affect any claims related to breast matters, right?
While waiting for real value added responses,
I kay poh abit.
You may have your claim denied.
As you did not tell you had a higher chances of claiming for that coverage.
The logic is , the same as telling that you are working as a white collar job while you are actually manually operating tools and machineries when you apply for PA plan.
The white collar job category will hv less premium to be paid than the manual tools and operating machineries category.

Just hope that I am wrong for your case.
pharaoh5312
post Apr 20 2024, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 20 2024, 05:46 PM)
While waiting for real value added responses,
I kay poh abit.
You may have your claim denied.
As you did not tell you had a higher chances of claiming for that coverage.
The logic is , the same as telling that you are working as a white collar job while you are actually manually operating tools and machineries when you apply for PA plan.
The white collar job category will hv less premium to be paid than the manual tools and operating machineries category.

Just hope that I am wrong for your case.
Thanks for the insight haha, appreciate your kay poh here.

If declare, 100% they will add into exclusion list even though it is not a "pre-existing condition" but just a RISK FACTOR.

During underwriting they did only tell us to declare all pre-existing conditions, right? Well BRCA doesn't count as one ahahaha.

It's sad that even in the US there are laws specifying that insurance cannot deny claims based on genetic predispositions. It's sad that Malaysia does not implement such things bangwall.gif
MUM
post Apr 20 2024, 06:16 PM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(pharaoh5312 @ Apr 20 2024, 06:03 PM)
Thanks for the insight haha, appreciate your kay poh here.

If declare, 100% they will add into exclusion list even though it is not a "pre-existing condition" but just a RISK FACTOR.

During underwriting they did only tell us to declare all pre-existing conditions, right? Well BRCA doesn't count as one ahahaha.

It's sad that even in the US there are laws specifying that insurance cannot deny claims based on genetic predispositions. It's sad that Malaysia does not implement such thingsĀ  bangwall.gif
Risk factors plays alot in insurance application.
Just like having high blood pressure or high cholesterol level.
Not necessarily mean one will sure die due to that.

If you declared, they may
Add loading, excludes or accept it as normal.

Just not sure how they phrased the questionnaires or what exactly were asked during your applications to subscribe to that insurance plan.
If they just asked, "Do you have high BP?"
If you did not check you won't know.
If you checked, you still does not know what is "high" too. Ha ha

I think malaysia has lesser consumer protection than the US. If malaysia has higher consumer protection then the medical cost would be higher.
In the US, I think consumer can sue Medical professional or hospitals for negligence.....
If Malaysia where to do that,....medical fees would be very high as the doctors or hospitals need to buy more insurance to covers themselves from being frequently sued by consumers.

If have it (BRCA gene mutation), please beware and do frequent test for early detection and early treatment.
https://www.cdc.gov/cancer/breast/young_wom...e_mutations.htm

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 20 2024, 07:14 PM

onthefly
post Apr 21 2024, 08:31 PM

1,315 posts

where you did this genetic testing ? hospital, clinic ?

pharaoh5312
post Apr 22 2024, 07:59 PM

QUOTE(onthefly @ Apr 21 2024, 08:31 PM)
where you did this genetic testing ? hospital, clinic ?
govt hospital...
Azuuu
post Apr 23 2024, 05:27 PM

Hi, underwriter here.

I dont think it will directly cause the exclusion or decline of the application.

Genetic testing is something i believe isnt really common here yet hence the legality to assess them is still debatable i'd say..

Currently for breast cancer risks, we would usually look at
1) own personal history of breast /ovarian tumour/growth
2) family history ( >2 close members at young age would warrant more concern)

If one has been tested positive for these gene mutation which raises concern for cancer, i would suggest to just declare on the test, whether any preventative treatment or monitoring is required from the dr.

Most likely, if your profile is just the dna testing, no family history, clean ultrasound/tumour marker, it would be just standard imo.

Back to your question, idk much how claims will handle this in terms of t&c etc. I have handled non disclosure cases tho, usually if during the proposal, had u provided further details , report etc and if decision by uw would remain standard , then there should be no issue with the claims.

MUM
post Apr 23 2024, 05:38 PM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(Azuuu @ Apr 23 2024, 05:27 PM)
Hi, underwriter here.

I dont think it will directly cause the exclusion or decline of the application.

Genetic testing is something i believe isnt really common here yet hence the legality to assess them is still debatable i'd say..

Currently for breast cancer risks, we would usually look at
1) own personal history of breast /ovarian tumour/growth
2) family history ( >2 close members at young age would warrant more concern)

If one has been tested positive for these gene mutation which raises concern for cancer, i would suggest to just declare on the test, whether any preventative treatment or monitoring is required from the dr.

Most likely, if your profile is just the dna testing, no family history, clean ultrasound/tumour marker, it would be just standard imo.

Back to your question, idk much how claims will handle this in terms of t&c etc. I have handled non disclosure cases tho, usually if during the proposal, had u provided further details , report etc and if decision by uw would remain standard , then there should be no issue with the claims.
What will happens to the claim if when the insurance company found out that she did not declare that she had that gene mutation issue during the application?

She posted earlier "This said person had bought a medical insurance but did not declare about the BRCA gene mutation ......"

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 23 2024, 05:38 PM
Azuuu
post Apr 23 2024, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 23 2024, 05:38 PM)
What will happens to the claim if when the insurance company found out that she did not declare that she had that gene mutation issue during the application?

She posted earlier "This said person had bought a medical insurance but did not declare about the BRCA gene mutation ......"
Idk how the claims would handle it, would they directly cancel from inception the policy or would they ask for more details or investigate with dr etc aka to reunderwrite.

If they chose to do the latter, all the medical reports/declaration would be assessed by uw and if decision remains as standard, the claim should be approved.
MUM
post Apr 23 2024, 06:36 PM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(Azuuu @ Apr 23 2024, 06:03 PM)
Idk how the claims would handle it, would they directly cancel from inception the policy or would they ask for more details or investigate with dr etc aka to reunderwrite.

If they chose to do the latter, all the medical reports/declaration would be assessed by uw and if decision remains as standard, the claim should be approved.
The insurance company could not cancel the application from inception since it was not declared by the applicant during the intial application to buy that insurance coverage..

The insurance company only found out that the claimant has "pre existing" knowledge about she are having having that medical condition/issues during processing the claim.

Will the insurance denied that claim since the application did not declare that diagnosed/ detected gene mutation issue during the initial application to buy that medical insurance plan?

This post has been edited by MUM: Apr 23 2024, 06:46 PM
joice11
post Apr 24 2024, 10:12 AM

877 posts

any good and cheap travel insurance to recomment?
MUM
post Apr 24 2024, 10:17 AM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Apr 24 2024, 10:12 AM)
Usually it is better to buy one that suits you .
Whati s good for them may not be good for you
adele123
post Apr 24 2024, 07:37 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Apr 24 2024, 10:12 AM)
You buy online, choose a few major companies and compare.

Cheap no good. Good most likely not cheap.

I have bought berjaya, etiqa, generali in the past. But can look into even Great eastern, aig.

allenpee85
post Apr 25 2024, 05:37 AM

95 posts

Any Allianz insurance taker for kids?

My son medical card monthly premium increase from RM150 to RM250, he is 10 years old, policy bought since new born. So far what I know from others insurance company the quantum of increase from few ringgit to RM30, anyone experice such exorbitant increase?
MUM
post Apr 25 2024, 05:46 AM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(allenpee85 @ Apr 25 2024, 05:37 AM)
Any Allianz insurance taker for kids?

My son medical card monthly premium increase from RM150 to RM250, he is 10 years old, policy bought since new born. So far what I know from others insurance company the quantum of increase from few ringgit to RM30, anyone experice such exorbitant increase?
Just asking, ...
Did the premium drops alot few years ago compared to "since new born"?

391 Pages « < 261 262 263 264 265 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:37 AM