17,013 posts

WSB achieve what they want?

Gamestop shorts squeeze is game over.

GameStop Short Interest Plunges in Sign Traders Are Covering
james.6831
post Feb 2 2021, 09:36 AM

937 posts

Short sellers managed to close their positions? sounds like game over then...but quite dirty the tactics they used..lol limit normal ppl from purchasing the shares, no choice but to sell...read that etoro even forced sell those non-margin shares wtf
TSQuazacolt
post Feb 2 2021, 09:41 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

Paper hands don't yield to lies from suits
epsilon_chinwk86
post Feb 2 2021, 10:05 AM

603 posts

/u DFV still holding
Stusssy
post Feb 2 2021, 10:29 AM

67 posts

so the game has stopped ?
Pewufod
post Feb 2 2021, 10:31 AM

1,536 posts

its just another pump and dump operation
but they use the narrative that makes retailers feel good

get out while its still high, else no one would want the hot potato at the end of the day
TSQuazacolt
post Feb 2 2021, 10:41 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Feb 2 2021, 10:31 AM)
its just another pump and dump operation
but they use the narrative that makes retailers feel good

get out while its still high, else no one would want the hot potato at the end of the day
No u paper hand
Stusssy
post Feb 2 2021, 10:45 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 2 2021, 10:41 AM)
No u paper hand
you're still holding ? what was your EP and how much have you invested?
TSQuazacolt
post Feb 2 2021, 10:49 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(Stusssy @ Feb 2 2021, 10:45 AM)
you're still holding ? what was your EP and how much have you invested?
Only Whacked 900 USD, no earning, only red. But I'll still HODL

GME to the moon is not investing.
grim.fandango
post Feb 2 2021, 11:06 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Feb 2 2021, 10:05 AM)
/u DFV still holding
it's a win win situation for him even if he sells those at $150.

reddit treat him like god, while he make tens of million selling it at $150
ChAOoz
post Feb 2 2021, 11:14 AM

3,496 posts

QUOTE(grim.fandango @ Feb 2 2021, 11:06 AM)
it's a win win situation for him even if he sells those at $150.

reddit treat him like god, while he make tens of million selling it at $150
He is the real diamond hand. Did you know his position started almost at the same time as Burry, around 2019.

I'm wondering are they associated or even are they the same guy.

If he is he will be charged, so it's normal i guess for burry to dissociate himself from reddit early on in the short squeeze.
eXTaTine
post Feb 2 2021, 11:22 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Feb 2 2021, 11:14 AM)
He is the real diamond hand. Did you know his position started almost at the same time as Burry, around 2019.

I'm wondering are they associated or even are they the same guy.

If he is he will be charged, so it's normal i guess for burry to dissociate himself from reddit early on in the short squeeze.
No he isn't the same person. He has a YouTube channel, it's here:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0patpmwYbhcEUap0bTX3JQ
ChAOoz
post Feb 2 2021, 11:31 AM

3,496 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Feb 2 2021, 11:22 AM)
No he isn't the same person. He has a YouTube channel, it's here:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0patpmwYbhcEUap0bTX3JQ
Ic ic, maybe next time i should take wsb DD more seriously haha. This dude has posting his YOLOs and mentioning about short squeeze so many rounds that we just expect he come back with loss porn.
eXTaTine
post Feb 2 2021, 12:23 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Not sure if it will still go up but my profits from GME so far equals my current investment so if everything crashes and burns I have lost nothing. I may cash out some more if it goes back up and leave a small portion for holding.
ozak
post Feb 2 2021, 12:45 PM

17,013 posts

That is a hefty lesson to learn to shorts. biggrin.gif

Melvin Capital, hedge fund that bet against GameStop, lost more than 50% in January

Hedge fund Melvin Capital Management lost 53% in January amid a record rally in GameStop and other stocks the fund was betting against, a source familiar with the matter told CNBC.

The heavy losses come as retail investors piled into popular hedge fund short targets, including the struggling video game retailer. Shares of GameStop finished last week with a gain of 400%, bringing its total return this year to 1,625%. The stock closed Friday’s session at $325. As recently as October it traded under $10.

CNBC’s Andrew Ross Sorkin reported last week that Melvin Capital closed out its short position in GameStop on Tuesday afternoon after sustaining heavy losses.

Citadel and Point72 infused close to $3 billion into the fund to shore up its finances. Point72 slid 10% in January, according to a source with knowledge of the fund’s returns. Point72 declined to comment.

Citadel lost 3% in January, according to a source with knowledge of the fund’s returns. Citadel declined to comment. The source said the hedge fund was down 1% on its Melvin investment, which it made last week.

Melvin’s assets under management now stand at more than $8 billion — including the emergency funding — down from roughly $12.5 billion at the beginning of the year, after certain current investors committed additional capital at the end of the month.

The fund’s liquidity is strong and its use of leverage is at the lowest level since the fund’s inception in 2014, according to the source.

The Wall Street Journal first reported Melvin’s January losses.

Last week’s activity in GameStop extended to other popular short targets, including Bed Bath & Beyond and AMC Entertainment, with retail investors turning to Reddit’s WallStreetBets forum to discuss various trades. The forum has seen its members more than triple in just a week to north of 7 million.

Amid the short squeeze, Robinhood and other brokerages restricted trading in some of the most volatile names, sparking frustration for users who were unable to trade at will.

Robinhood said in a blog post that the central Wall Street clearinghouse mandated a tenfold increase in the firm’s deposit requirements on the week in order to ensure smooth settlement in trades involving the securities experiencing unprecedented volatility.

The meteoric rise in GameStop’s shares has prompted some lawmakers to call on regulatory bodies to intervene.

“We need an SEC that has clear rules about market manipulation and then has the backbone to get in and enforce those rules,” Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass., told CNBC Wednesday. “To have a healthy stock market, you’ve got to have a cop on the beat.”
Melvin Capital, hedge fund that bet against GameStop, lost more than 50% in January
epsilon_chinwk86
post Feb 2 2021, 12:58 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 2 2021, 12:45 PM)
CNBC?

Probably false news to HODLers to let their guard down.

WE HOLD!
erni3
post Feb 2 2021, 03:51 PM

396 posts

cnbc cant be trusted seem like a media siding with melvin capital
honsiong
post Feb 2 2021, 03:54 PM

3,182 posts

Suggest yall calm down and read wallstreetbets due diligence, yes we may be suffering huge loss, but the potential frauds get better.

I downloaded the SEC fail to delivers data and confirmed some of the posts aren't lying. GME is an anomaly and have huge lots of fake shares trading activities.

wildshot_willy
post Feb 2 2021, 05:21 PM

55 posts

kek.

Hold as much as you want.

It is just a concerted pump and dump scheme, with a very strong story facade fronting it (hedge funds fraud, yada yada yada).

Remember this, stock investing / trading, it's a zero sum game. You make off someone's losses. And the house always wins.

This post has been edited by wildshot_willy: Feb 2 2021, 05:25 PM
waghyu
post Feb 2 2021, 05:30 PM

3,389 posts

Today further dump, good luck.

24 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:58 PM