File complaint Noisy Neighbours in Strata Tribunal

augusta23
post Feb 11 2021, 05:37 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Jan 16 2021, 03:07 PM)
I suggest you do some surveillance
I also had the same issue, complain about the floor above me.
then the floor above me, said they did everything possible to stop the sounds.
after they moved out, I thought there was peace.
Then the sound came back, furniture screeching, loud stompings.
I took the staircase, went up 2 floors above me, no sound
3 floors above me, no sound
4 floors, - turns out to be this idiot who was doing all that noise at 4 am.
I complained again n again.
Finally the sound stopped.

Make sure you are complaining the right person, because sound can travel several floors.
I am surprised the two floors above you didn't complain about the noise?
Maria Takagi
post Feb 11 2021, 05:51 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(augusta23 @ Feb 11 2021, 05:37 PM)
I am surprised the two floors above you didn't complain about the noise?
nobody live above me.
mataharih
post Feb 11 2021, 06:01 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Feb 6 2021, 03:50 PM)
Google ceiling thumper for a laugh.
I need this!

QUOTE(noobieneub @ Feb 11 2021, 03:41 PM)
Great minds think alike.  tongue.gif Here's mine. As a last resort have to fight fire with fire.

You use this to hit the ceiling? I’ve resorted to hitting the ceiling with my mop when I hear them stomping. Stubborn brats and idiotic parents. doh.gif

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Feb 11 2021, 05:51 PM)
nobody live above me.
Amazing how shitty the soundproofing is in our condos that you can hear noises a few floors above you. For me, the culprits are definitely my next door and upstairs neighbors.
Maria Takagi
post Feb 11 2021, 06:08 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(mataharih @ Feb 11 2021, 06:01 PM)
I need this!
You use this to hit the ceiling? I’ve resorted to hitting the ceiling with my mop when I hear them stomping. Stubborn brats and idiotic parents.  doh.gif
Amazing how shitty the soundproofing is in our condos that you can hear noises a few floors above you. For me, the culprits are definitely my next door and upstairs neighbors.
don't be surprise that you can hear your downstair neighbor slam the door too.

last time I stayed in my uncle condo, he offered me for free to stay, as no one was staying there at that time.

Damn, I suffered days n days of sleepless night. There was a mad neighbor upstairs jogging and stomping on the floor from 1 am to 4 am.

Nowadays condos got intercom, can call the guard to sound that person.
mataharih
post Feb 11 2021, 06:41 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Feb 11 2021, 06:08 PM)
don't be surprise that you can hear your downstair neighbor slam the door too.

last time I stayed in my uncle condo, he offered me for free to stay, as no one was staying there at that time.

Damn, I suffered days n days of sleepless night. There was a mad neighbor upstairs jogging and stomping on the floor from 1 am to 4 am.

Nowadays condos got intercom, can call the guard to sound that person.
Wow, your neighbor sounded crazy! Who even works out at that time unless they worked the night shift.

How do you handle stubborn neighbors though? Slamming the door is okay since it’s once in awhile but the stomping noises is just annoying and sounds like hammering. Been calling the guards to sound them and even went up there myself, when it got so bad.

Maybe I’ll need to file another complaint with MO or go up there with one of the JMB members.
SUSceo684
post Feb 11 2021, 06:51 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(noobieneub @ Feb 11 2021, 03:45 PM)
Oh, thanks... hmmmm but somehow I don't think this solution would work. Sound also travels from ceiling to walls. Have you tried this before?
Am looking into it for the purpose of heat insulation. Not so much as noise reduction, but rockwool does have noise insulation properties.
Concrete walls do allow sound to travel.

Conductor of Impact Noise
While many people choose concrete as their designated building material based on its hardness and durability, it’s this very quality that prevents concrete from improving acoustical performance.
If you have a concrete floor, you may notice that every step produces an audible sound. Impact noises are a byproduct of concrete’s rigidity, which transforms movement into an audible experience. While undesirable, these noisy manifestations can be eliminated with a few soundproofing measures.
https://www.soundproofcow.com/soundproof-concrete-walls/
Maria Takagi
post Feb 12 2021, 10:22 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(mataharih @ Feb 11 2021, 06:41 PM)
Wow, your neighbor sounded crazy! Who even works out at that time unless they worked the night shift.

How do you handle stubborn neighbors though? Slamming the door is okay since it’s once in awhile but the stomping noises is just annoying and sounds like hammering. Been calling the guards to sound them and even went up there myself, when it got so bad.

Maybe I’ll need to file another complaint with MO or go up there with one of the JMB members.
sometimes could be kids.

hard to control lah

but stomping middle of this night could even be adults partying.

or some crazy dude to lazy to go down to the gym, wanna jogging in his unit
SUSceo684
post Feb 12 2021, 03:12 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(mataharih @ Feb 11 2021, 06:41 PM)

This one just adjust two screw of the door closer (assume this is standard for condo main door/fire code) and it will be soft close.
Its also not good to have it close fast.. finger smashed once, then will be lifelong lesson.
Zidanefish
post Feb 12 2021, 09:49 PM

169 posts

You may do so, but you may need lawyers to help you out with the documentation.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0156sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:43 PM